DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 9/15/2023. Claims 11-30 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/9/2024 and 10/18/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11,13, 21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lau (US 20210099085).
As to claims 11 and 21, Lau discloses An electronic device, comprising a voltage conversion circuit (Fig. 1 switch capacitor converter 100), the voltage conversion circuit comprising:
a first switch unit, wherein a first end of the first switch unit is coupled to an input end (S1 coupled to Vin);
a second switch unit, wherein a first end of the second switch unit is coupled to a second end of the first switch unit (S3);
a first capacitor unit, wherein a first end of the first capacitor unit is coupled to the second end of the first switch unit (C1);
a second capacitor unit, wherein a first end of the second capacitor unit is coupled to a second end of the second switch unit (C2);
a third switch unit, wherein a first end of the third switch unit is coupled to a second end of the first capacitor unit(S5);
a fourth switch unit, wherein a first end of the fourth switch unit is coupled to the second end of the first capacitor unit, and a second end of the fourth switch unit is coupled to a ground end (S2);
a fifth switch unit, wherein a first end of the fifth switch unit is coupled to a second end of the third switch unit (S9);
a third capacitor unit, wherein a first end of the third capacitor unit is coupled to the second end of the third switch unit (C3);
a sixth switch unit, wherein a first end of the sixth switch unit is coupled to a second end of the third capacitor unit, and a second end of the sixth switch unit is coupled to a second end of the fifth switch unit (S10);
a seventh switch unit, wherein a first end of the seventh switch unit is coupled to the second end of the third capacitor unit, and a second end of the seventh switch unit is coupled to the ground end (S6);
an eighth switch unit, wherein a first end of the eighth switch unit is coupled to the second end of the second switch unit, and a second end of the eighth switch unit is coupled to an output end (S7);
a ninth switch unit, wherein a first end of the ninth switch unit is coupled to a second end of the second capacitor unit, and a second end of the ninth switch unit is coupled to the output end (S8); and
a tenth switch unit, wherein a first end of the tenth switch unit is coupled to the second end of the second capacitor unit, and a second end of the tenth switch unit is coupled to the ground end (S4).
As to claims 13 and 23, Lau discloses the voltage conversion circuit of claim 11 and the electronic device of claim 21, wherein the first switch unit, the second switch unit, the third switch unit, the fourth switch unit, the fifth switch unit, the sixth switch unit, the seventh switch unit, the eighth switch unit, the ninth switch unit, and the tenth switch unit are metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistors MOSFETs, gallium nitride GaN transistors, silicon carbide SiC transistors, insulated gate bipolar transistors IGBTs, or relays ([0070] The first switch S1 to the tenth switch S10 can be implemented as typical semiconductor switching components. For example, the first switch S1 to the tenth switch S10 can be implemented as semiconductor switching components capable of operating with a high speed, such as FET, IGBT, MCT, GTO, BJT, and the like).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-20,22 and 24-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lau (US 20210099085) in view of Hou (WO 2019076280). Note Examiner uses Hao (WO 2019076280) to make the rejection but relies on machine translation to clarify position.
As to claims 12 and 22, Lau discloses the voltage conversion circuit of claim 11, and the electronic device of claim 21. Lau teaches the first switch unit, the third switch unit, the sixth switch unit, the eighth switch unit, and the tenth switch unit are turned on, and the second switch unit, the fourth switch unit, the fifth switch unit, the seventh switch unit, and the ninth switch unit are turned off ([0073] Referring to FIG. 2a, in the first state of the 4:1 mode, a first switch S1, a fourth switch S4, a fifth switch S5, a seventh switch S7, and a tenth switch S10 can be turned on, and a second switch S2, a third switch S3, a sixth switch S6, an eighth switch S8, and a ninth switch S9 can be turned off); and teaches, the first switch unit, the third switch unit, the sixth switch unit, the eighth switch unit, and the tenth switch unit are turned off, and the second switch unit, the fourth switch unit, the fifth switch unit, the seventh switch unit, and the ninth switch unit are turned on ( [0076] Referring to FIG. 3a, in the second state of the 4:1 mode, a second switch S2, a third switch S3, a sixth switch S6, an eighth switch S8, and a ninth switch S9 can be turned on, and a first switch S1, a fourth switch S4, a fifth switch S5, a seventh switch S7, and a tenth switch S10 can be turned off).
Lau does not disclose/teach wherein when the voltage conversion circuit is in a working state, the voltage conversion circuit works in a plurality of cyclic time periods, wherein each time period sequentially comprises a first time period and a second time period; in the first time period, the first switch unit, the third switch unit, the sixth switch unit, the eighth switch unit, and the tenth switch unit are turned on, and the second switch unit, the fourth switch unit, the fifth switch unit, the seventh switch unit, and the ninth switch unit are turned off and in the second time period, the first switch unit, the third switch unit, the sixth switch unit, the eighth switch unit, and the tenth switch unit are turned off, and the second switch unit, the fourth switch unit, the fifth switch unit, the seventh switch unit, and the ninth switch unit are turned on.
Hou teaches wherein when the voltage conversion circuit is in a working state, the voltage conversion circuit works in a plurality of cyclic time periods, wherein each time period sequentially comprises a first time period and a second time period; in the first time period, the first switch unit, the third switch unit, the sixth switch unit, the eighth switch unit, and the tenth switch unit are turned on, and the second switch unit, the fourth switch unit, the fifth switch unit, the seventh switch unit, and the ninth switch unit are turned off and in the second time period, the first switch unit, the third switch unit, the sixth switch unit, the eighth switch unit, and the tenth switch unit are turned off, and the second switch unit, the fourth switch unit, the fifth switch unit, the seventh switch unit, and the ninth switch unit are turned on ([0057] and [0059])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the voltage conversion circuit of Lau to include wherein when the voltage conversion circuit is in a working state, the voltage conversion circuit works in a plurality of cyclic time periods, wherein each time period sequentially comprises a first time period and a second time period; in the first time period, the first switch unit, the third switch unit, the sixth switch unit, the eighth switch unit, and the tenth switch unit are turned on, and the second switch unit, the fourth switch unit, the fifth switch unit, the seventh switch unit, and the ninth switch unit are turned off and in the second time period, the first switch unit, the third switch unit, the sixth switch unit, the eighth switch unit, and the tenth switch unit are turned off, and the second switch unit, the fourth switch unit, the fifth switch unit, the seventh switch unit, and the ninth switch unit are turned on in order to improve the voltage gain conversion ratio of a switched capacitor converter, thereby improving the conversion efficiency without increasing the overall loss ([0008]).
As to claim 14 and 24, Lau discloses the voltage conversion circuit of claim 13 and the electronic device of claim 21.
Lau does not disclose/teach an anti-backflow transistor connected in series between the input end and the first switch unit, wherein a direction of a parasitic diode of the anti-backflow transistor is a first direction, a direction of a parasitic diode of the first switch unit is a second direction, and the first direction is opposite to the second direction.
Hou teaches an anti-backflow transistor connected in series between the input end and the first switch unit, ([0083] Fig. 8 …the second end of Qf is connected to the input of the switched capacitor converter circuit 210. Qf is used to prevent reverse current from the battery).
In regards to a direction of a parasitic diode of the anti-backflow transistor is a first direction, a direction of a parasitic diode of the first switch unit is a second direction, and the first direction is opposite to the second direction, Examine takes official notice that opposing directions of parasitic diodes to prevent reverse current is old and well known common engineering practice using two transistors in series to prevent reverse current.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the voltage conversion circuit of Lau to include an anti-backflow transistor connected in series between the input end and the first switch unit, wherein a direction of a parasitic diode of the anti-backflow transistor is a first direction, a direction of a parasitic diode of the first switch unit is a second direction, and the first direction is opposite to the second direction in order to prevent reverse current from the battery ([0083]).
As to claims 15, Lau discloses a charging management module , comprising a voltage conversion circuit (Fig. 1 switch capacitor converter 100), wherein the voltage conversion circuit comprises a first switch unit, wherein a first end of the first switch unit is coupled to an input end (S1 coupled to Vin);
a second switch unit, wherein a first end of the second switch unit is coupled to a second end of the first switch unit (S3);
a first capacitor unit, wherein a first end of the first capacitor unit is coupled to the second end of the first switch unit (C1);
a second capacitor unit, wherein a first end of the second capacitor unit is coupled to a second end of the second switch unit (C2);
a third switch unit, wherein a first end of the third switch unit is coupled to a second end of the first capacitor unit(S5);
a fourth switch unit, wherein a first end of the fourth switch unit is coupled to the second end of the first capacitor unit, and a second end of the fourth switch unit is coupled to a ground end (S2);
a fifth switch unit, wherein a first end of the fifth switch unit is coupled to a second end of the third switch unit (S9);
a third capacitor unit, wherein a first end of the third capacitor unit is coupled to the second end of the third switch unit (C3);
a sixth switch unit, wherein a first end of the sixth switch unit is coupled to a second end of the third capacitor unit, and a second end of the sixth switch unit is coupled to a second end of the fifth switch unit (S10);
a seventh switch unit, wherein a first end of the seventh switch unit is coupled to the second end of the third capacitor unit, and a second end of the seventh switch unit is coupled to the ground end (S6);
an eighth switch unit, wherein a first end of the eighth switch unit is coupled to the second end of the second switch unit, and a second end of the eighth switch unit is coupled to an output end (S7);
a ninth switch unit, wherein a first end of the ninth switch unit is coupled to a second end of the second capacitor unit, and a second end of the ninth switch unit is coupled to the output end (S8); and
a tenth switch unit, wherein a first end of the tenth switch unit is coupled to the second end of the second capacitor unit, and a second end of the tenth switch unit is coupled to the ground end (S4);
Lau does not disclose/teach wherein an output end of the voltage conversion circuit is coupled to a battery charging/discharging end ([0094] the rechargeable battery 330) nor teaches a charging control unit, wherein the charging control unit is coupled to a control end of each switch unit in the voltage conversion circuit, and the charging control unit is configured to control the voltage conversion circuit to be in a working state or a non-working state
Hou teaches wherein an output end of the voltage conversion circuit is coupled to a battery charging/discharging end ([0094] The input terminal of the switched capacitor converter circuit 310 has Vin, and the output vterminal is connected to the rechargeable battery 330 and other circuits 340).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the voltage conversion circuit of Lau to include wherein an output end of the voltage conversion circuit is coupled to a battery charging/discharging end in order to charge the rechargeable battery when a large current is required, thereby increasing the charging speed without increasing power consumption [0018].
Hou further teaches a charging control unit, wherein the charging control unit is coupled to a control end of each switch unit in the voltage conversion circuit, and the charging control unit is configured to control the voltage conversion circuit to be in a working state or a non-working state ([0057] [0059] [0103]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the voltage conversion circuit of Lau to include a charging control unit, wherein the charging control unit is coupled to a control end of each switch unit in the voltage conversion circuit, and the charging control unit is configured to control the voltage conversion circuit to be in a working state or a non-working state in order to charge the rechargeable battery when a large current is required, thereby increasing the charging speed without increasing power consumption [0018].
As to claims 16 and 26, Lau in view of Hou teaches the charging management module of claim 15 and the electronic device of claim 25.
Lau does not disclose/teach wherein when the voltage conversion circuit is in the non-working state, the charging control unit is configured to provide a cutoff electrical level for control ends of the first switch unit, the second switch unit, the third switch unit, the fourth switch unit, the fifth switch unit, the sixth switch unit, the seventh switch unit, the eighth switch unit, the ninth switch unit, and the tenth switch unit.
Hou teaches wherein when the voltage conversion circuit is in the non-working state, the charging control unit is configured to provide a cutoff electrical level for control ends of the first switch unit, the second switch unit, the third switch unit, the fourth switch unit, the fifth switch unit, the sixth switch unit, the seventh switch unit, the eighth switch unit, the ninth switch unit, and the tenth switch unit ([0059][0103] When the control module 321 determines that the switched capacitor converter circuit 310 needs to be controlled to be turned off, it controls the drive module 322 to output an enable drive signal "OFF", that is, not to output Q1 and Q2, thereby enabling the switched capacitor converter circuit to not work.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the voltage conversion circuit of Lau to wherein when the voltage conversion circuit is in the non-working state, the charging control unit is configured to provide a cutoff electrical level for control ends of the first switch unit, the second switch unit, the third switch unit, the fourth switch unit, the fifth switch unit, the sixth switch unit, the seventh switch unit, the eighth switch unit, the ninth switch unit, and the tenth switch unit in order to charge the rechargeable battery when a large current is required, thereby increasing the charging speed without increasing power consumption [0018].
As to claims 17 and 27, Lau in view of Hou teaches the charging management module of claim 15 and the electronic device of claim 25.
Lau does not disclose/teach a charging circuit, wherein the charging circuit is coupled to an input end, the battery charging/discharging end, a system working voltage end, and the charging control unit; and the charging control unit is configured to control, in a constant current charging mode, the voltage conversion circuit to be in the working state, and the charging control unit is further configured to control, in a constant voltage charging mode, the voltage conversion circuit to be in the non-working state and the charging circuit to provide a charging voltage for the battery charging/discharging end.
Hou teaches a charging circuit ([0081] charging integrated circuit 220,Fig. 8-9), wherein the charging circuit is coupled to an input end (Fig. 9), the battery charging/discharging end, a system working voltage end, and the charging control unit (Fig. 9); and the charging control unit is configured to control, in a constant current charging mode, the voltage conversion circuit to be in the working state ([0088] when the rechargeable battery 230 needs to operate in constant current charging mode, the charging integrated circuit 220 supplies power to other circuits within the mobile terminal. At the same time, the switched capacitor conversion circuit 210 charges the rechargeable battery 230), and the charging control unit is further configured to control, in a constant voltage charging mode, the voltage conversion circuit to be in the non-working state and the charging circuit to provide a charging voltage for the battery charging/discharging end ([0088] When it is detected that the rechargeable battery 230 needs to operate in trickle charging mode or constant voltage charging mode, the charging integrated circuit 220 charges the rechargeable battery and supplies power to other circuits of the mobile terminal at the same time, while the switched capacitor conversion circuit does not work).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging management module and the electronic device of Lau to include a charging circuit, wherein the charging circuit is coupled to an input end, the battery charging/discharging end, a system working voltage end, and the charging control unit; and the charging control unit is configured to control, in a constant current charging mode, the voltage conversion circuit to be in the working state, and the charging control unit is further configured to control, in a constant voltage charging mode, the voltage conversion circuit to be in the non-working state and the charging circuit to provide a charging voltage for the battery charging/discharging end in order to charge the rechargeable battery when a large current is required, thereby increasing the charging speed without increasing power consumption [0018].
As to claims 18 and 28, Lau in view of Hou teaches the charging management module of claim 15 and the electronic device of claim 25.
Lau does not disclose/teach a charging circuit wherein the charging circuit is coupled to an input end, the battery charging/discharging end; and the charging control unit, wherein the charging control unit is configured to control, in a constant current charging mode and when a charging current is greater than a preset value, the voltage conversion circuit to be in the working state and the charging control unit is further configured to control, in the constant current charging mode, when the charging current is not greater than the preset value, and in a constant voltage charging mode, the voltage conversion circuit to be in the non-working state and the charging circuit to provide a charging voltage for the battery charging/discharging end.
Hou teaches a charging circuit ([0081] charging integrated circuit 220,Fig. 8), wherein the charging circuit is coupled to an input end, the battery charging/discharging end (Fig. 8); and the charging control unit, wherein the charging control unit is configured to control, in a constant current charging mode and when a charging current is greater than a preset value, the voltage conversion circuit to be in the working state ([0092] When the rechargeable battery is in constant current charging mode or the charging current is greater than or equal to the current threshold the switched capacitor converter circuit charges the rechargeable battery), and the charging control unit is further configured to control, in the constant current charging mode, when the charging current is not greater than the preset value, and in a constant voltage charging mode, the voltage conversion circuit to be in the non-working state and the charging circuit to provide a charging voltage for the battery charging/discharging end ([0092] When the rechargeable battery is in constant voltage charging mode or the charging current is less than the current threshold, the charging integrated circuit works, the switched capacitor converter circuit does not work, and the charging integrated circuit supplies power to the rechargeable battery and other circuits in the mobile terminal).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging management module and the electronic device of Lau to include a charging circuit wherein the charging circuit is coupled to an input end, the battery charging/discharging end; and the charging control unit, wherein the charging control unit is configured to control, in a constant current charging mode and when a charging current is greater than a preset value, the voltage conversion circuit to be in the working state and the charging control unit is further configured to control, in the constant current charging mode, when the charging current is not greater than the preset value, and in a constant voltage charging mode, the voltage conversion circuit to be in the non-working state and the charging circuit to provide a charging voltage for the battery charging/discharging end in order to charge the rechargeable battery when a large current is required, thereby increasing the charging speed without increasing power consumption [0018].
As to claims 19, 20, 29 and 30, Lau in view of Hou teaches the charging management module of claims 17 and 18 and the electronic device of claims 27 and 28.
Lau does not disclose/teach wherein the charging circuit is further coupled to the system working voltage end, and the charging circuit is further configured to provide a working voltage for the system working voltage end
Hou teaches wherein the charging circuit is further coupled to the system working voltage end, and the charging circuit is further configured to provide a working voltage for the system working voltage end ([0088] when the rechargeable battery 230 needs to operate in constant current charging mode, the charging integrated circuit 220 supplies power to other circuits within the mobile terminal)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging management module and the electronic device of Lau to wherein the charging circuit is further coupled to the system working voltage end, and the charging circuit is further configured to provide a working voltage for the system working voltage end in order to charge the rechargeable battery when a large current is required, thereby increasing the charging speed without increasing power consumption [0018].
As to claim 25. Lau discloses the electronic device of claim 21.
Lau does not disclose/teach wherein an output end of the voltage conversion circuit is coupled to a battery charging/discharging end ([0094] the rechargeable battery 330) nor teaches a charging control unit, wherein the charging control unit is coupled to a control end of each switch unit in the voltage conversion circuit, and the charging control unit is configured to control the voltage conversion circuit to be in a working state or a non-working state
Hou teaches wherein an output end of the voltage conversion circuit is coupled to a battery charging/discharging end ([0094] The input terminal of the switched capacitor converter circuit 310 has Vin, and the output vterminal is connected to the rechargeable battery 330 and other circuits 340).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the voltage conversion circuit of Lau to include wherein an output end of the voltage conversion circuit is coupled to a battery charging/discharging end in order to charge the rechargeable battery when a large current is required, thereby increasing the charging speed without increasing power consumption [0018].
Hou further teaches a charging control unit, wherein the charging control unit is coupled to a control end of each switch unit in the voltage conversion circuit, and the charging control unit is configured to control the voltage conversion circuit to be in a working state or a non-working state ([0057] [0059] [0103]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the voltage conversion circuit of Lau to include a charging control unit, wherein the charging control unit is coupled to a control end of each switch unit in the voltage conversion circuit, and the charging control unit is configured to control the voltage conversion circuit to be in a working state or a non-working state in order to charge the rechargeable battery when a large current is required, thereby increasing the charging speed without increasing power consumption [0018].
Conclusion and Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PUGGELLI et al (US 20170300078) is cited for having SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR RECONFIGURABLE DICKSON STAR SWITCHED CAPACITOR VOLTAGE REGULATOR..
Hu et al (US 20250253695) is cited for having CHARGING/DISCHARGING CIRCUIT AND ELECTRONIC DEVICE.
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859