DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 are pending, and claims 1-4 and 14 are currently under review.
Claims 5-13 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I, claims 1-4 and 14, in the reply filed on 2/26/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the prior art does not teach the claimed microstructural features or properties. This is not found persuasive because the prior art teaches an overlapping steel composition and method of manufacture, such that overlapping, substantially similar properties would have naturally flowed absent concrete evidence to the contrary, which applicant has not presented. Applicant further argues that the claimed bending ratio is measured differently in the prior art vs. the instant application. The examiner cannot concur because the claims do not recite these features.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 5-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 2/26/2026.
Claim Interpretation
The term “high strength steel” is interpreted to merely require a tensile strength of 980 MPa or more as further recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. (US 2020/0063227) alone or further in view of Shingu et al. (JP2008056962, machine translation referred to herein).
Regarding claim 1, Yamazaki et al. discloses a steel sheet having a composition as seen in table 1 below [0045]. Yamazaki et al. does not expressly require any oxygen, such that one of ordinary skill would understand oxygen to be absent or merely present in impurity amounts, which meets the claimed range. Yamazaki et al. further teaches that the entire steel (ie. surface and interior) has a microstructure of up to 97 percent upper bainite having a grain size of less than 12 micrometers, with a remainder of martensite and austenite [abstract, 0071]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the steel composition and microstructure of Yamazaki et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Yamazaki et al. further teaches tensile strengths of at least 980 MPa (ie. high strength), elongation values of up to approximately 16%, and r/t values of less than approximately 1.15, which overlaps with the claimed ranges [table3].
Yamazaki et al. does not expressly teach a difference in hardness as claimed. However, the examiner submits that an overlapping, substantially similar range hardness difference would have naturally flowed from the disclosure of Yamazaki et al. One of ordinary skill would understand that steel properties (ie. difference in hardness) are directly affected by steel composition, microstructure, and processing. Yamazaki et al. discloses an overlapping steel composition and microstructure as already explained. Yamazaki et al. further teaches overlapping manufacturing parameters as also shown in table 1 below. Since Yamazaki et al. discloses an overlapping steel composition, microstructure, and method of manufacture, one of ordinary skill would have expected substantially similar, overlapping features of hardness difference to flow from the disclosure of Yamazaki et al. See MPEP 2112 & MPEP 2144.05(I).
Alternatively, Yamazaki et al. does not expressly teach a difference in hardness as claimed. Shingu et al. teaches that it is known to control a variation in hardness in the thickness direction of a steel sheet such that a difference between a surface and center portion is 40 HV or less in order to achieve desirable mechanical properties [0027]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the steel of Yamazaki et al. by specifying a hardness difference for the aforementioned benefit expressly taught by Shingu et al. The examiner notes that the hardness difference of Shingu et al. overlaps with the claimed hardness range that would result from tensile strength values of greater than 980 MPa taught by Yamazaki et al. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 1 (wt.%)
Yamazaki et al. (wt.%)
C
0.05 – 0.2
0.04 – 0.15
Si
0.5 – 1.2
0.4 – 2
Mn
1.5 – 4
1 – 3
P
0 – 0.1
0 – 0.1
S
0 – 0.03
0 – 0.01
Al
0.001 – 2
0.01 – 2
N
0 – 0.01
0 – 0.01
O
0 – 0.01
0
B
0.0005 – 0.01
0.0005 – 0.005
Fe & Impurities
Balance
Balance
Processing parameters
Instant specification [0059-0075]
Yamazaki et al. [0081-0098]
Slab heating at 1150 to 1350 degrees C
Slab heating at 1150 to 1350 degrees C
Hot rolling with rough rolling and finish rolling at RC2-50 to RC2+120 degrees C, with 25 to 50 percent of reduction at RC1 or less
Hot rolling with finish rolling at RC-100 to RC+100 degrees C, with 80 percent or less reduction at RC or less (overlapping with instant specification)
Cooling such that the difference between surface cooling and interior cooling is at least 10 degrees C per second or more at an interior speed of at least 15 degrees C or faster (achieved by water cooling) to a stop temperature of Trs to Trs+250 degrees C
Cooling at a rate of 30 degrees C per second or faster with water cooling (same as instant specification) to 600 degrees C or lower
Coiling at Trs to Trs+250 degrees C
Coiling at 600 degrees C or lower
Cooling to below 100 degrees C at 20 degrees C per second or less
Cooling to Ms-100 degrees C at 0.2 degrees C per minute or more
Regarding claim 2, the aforementioned prior art discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). Yamazaki et al. does not expressly teach a variation in martensite and/or austenite as claimed. However, as stated previously, since Yamazaki et al. discloses an overlapping steel composition and method of manufacture, one of ordinary skill would have expected substantially similar, overlapping features of microstructural variation to flow from the disclosure of Yamazaki et al. See MPEP 2112 & MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 3-4, the aforementioned prior art discloses the steel of claims 1-2 (see previous). Yamazaki et al. further discloses an inclusion of 0.1 to 2.5 weight percent Cr, for example, which overlaps with the claimed ranges [0026]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 14, the aforementioned prior art discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). The examiner notes that the aforementioned grain size of 12 micrometers or less taught by Yamazaki et al. further overlaps with the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/26/2026 regarding unity of invention have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as explained in the election/restriction section above.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734