DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The “data collection module” of claim 1 is being interpreted as a computer/software system that can receive beat-to-beat interval equivalent data from the biometric data on a subject
The “Lorenz plot generation module” of claim 1 is being interpreted as a computer/software system that can calculate a Lorenz plot from the beat-to-beat interval equivalent data at a predetermined period.
The “abnormal value chronic occurrence evaluation module” of claim 7 is being interpreted as a computer/software that can calculate a feature amount in a region defined in advance on the aggregate Lorenz plot, calculate a degree of occurrence of an arrhythmia-like abnormal value as abnormality degree data based on the feature amount, and output the abnormality degree data.
The “inadequate person determination module” of claim 8 is being interpreted as a software/computer system that can calculate an occurrence frequency of the arrhythmia-like abnormal value from the aggregate Lorenz plots in a third period equal to or longer than the first period, and determine whether the subject is adequate for autonomic nerve function evaluation.
The “autonomic nerve function index calculation module” of claim 9 is being interpreted as a computer/software system that can calculate an autonomic nerve function index based on the beat-to-beat interval equivalent data on the subject adequate for the autonomic nerve function evaluation based on a result of the determination performed by the inadequate person determination module, and output the autonomic nerve function index.
The “warning presentation module” of claim 10 is being interpreted as a computer/software system that can determine reliability of the autonomic nerve function index based on the arrhythmia-like abnormal value, and display the reliability of the autonomic nerve function index on an output device.
The “danger prediction module” of claim 11 is being interpreted as a computer/software system that can calculate, as an accident risk, a probability that the subject is to cause one of an accident or an incident after a predetermined time period, based on the autonomic nerve function index, wherein the warning presentation module is configured to issue an alert for warning about an increase in accident risk to the subject having the accident risk exceeding a predetermined threshold value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With respect to claims 1-15, the claims recite the steps of using several different modules to make determinations/predictions from obtained data. However, the specification does not provide any working examples, guidance, or steps as to how this function is achieved. Rather, the specification only mentions the use of computing/software means. For example, looking at claim 6, it recites “an abnormal value chronic occurrence evaluation module configured to calculate a feature amount in a region defined in advance on the aggregate Lorenz plot, calculate a degree of occurrence of an arrhythmia-like abnormal value as abnormality degree data based on the feature amount, and output the abnormality degree data.” However, is it not clear how this specific module is making these calculations or these outputs. This is the same for all of the claims and their various modules; there is no real description for how these modules are performing their claimed functions other than by using computing software.
As noted in the MPEP, original claims may lack written description when the claims define the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the specification does not sufficiently describe how the function is performed or the result is achieved. For software, this can occur when the algorithm or steps/procedure for performing the computer function are not explained at all or are not explained in sufficient detail (simply restating the function recited in the claim is not necessarily sufficient).
It is not enough that one skilled in the art could write a program to achieve the claimed function because the specification must explain how the inventor intends to achieve the claimed function to satisfy the written description requirement
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
3. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The independent claims 1, 12, and 14 recite systems comprising “data collection module configured to receive beat-to-beat interval equivalent data from the biometric data on a subject; and a Lorenz plot generation module configured to calculate a Lorenz plot from the beat-to-beat interval equivalent data at a predetermined period, and output the obtained Lorenz plots as an aggregate Lorenz plot a method for generating a treatment recommendation to a patient based on patient data” with these systems comprising processors, sensors, and memories. The limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, a user could look at heart rate data, such as beat to beat interval data, create a Lorenz plot of this data, and make determinations on the health of the user from this plot (as is being done in the dependent claims.) If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
The components are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than any structure that gather heart/biometric data and make plots and predictions. Further, the use of sensors, processors, and memories, are merely insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The additional elements, such as the sensor to gather patient data and a processor and memory to analyze and store data, while being mere structures for data gathering are also well-understood, routine, conventional activity that is widely prevalent or common use in the relevant industry. The use of sensors/processors/memories to gather/analyze/store patient information are well known in the art as disclosed by the following references: US 20150164349 A1 and US 20070032733 A1. Well-understood, routine and conventional activity cannot be significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-7 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gopalakrishnan (US 20150164349 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Gopalakrishnan discloses a biometric data evaluation server (Abstract and Par. 0009 teach a biometric system that can measure heart data) including a processor and a memory for evaluating biometric data (Par. 0060 teaches a processor and memory), the biometric data evaluation server comprising:
a data collection module configured to receive beat-to-beat interval equivalent data from the biometric data on a subject (Par. 0050 teaches providing heart rate signals and R-R intervals to a computing device, i.e. a data collection module); and
a Lorenz plot generation module configured to calculate a Lorenz plot from the beat-to-beat interval equivalent data at a predetermined period), and output the obtained Lorenz plots as an aggregate Lorenz plot (Par. 0052 teaches taking the data and using algorithms to create a Lorenz plot of the heart rate data).
In regards to claims 2 and 4, Gopalakrishnan discloses the biometric data evaluation server in accordance with claim 14 wherein the predetermined period includes a first period and a second period shorter than the first period, and wherein the Lorenz plot generation module is configured to calculate the Lorenz plot from the beat-to-beat interval equivalent data in units of the second period, subject the Lorenz plots calculated in units of the second period to aggregation processing in units of the first period to calculate the aggregate Lorenz plot corresponding to the first period, and output the aggregate Lorenz plot corresponding to the first period (Par. 0068 teaches that the heart beat data can be taken over periods, some being shorter than others; Par. 0052 teaches the Lorenz plotting and Par. 0010 further teaches plotting HRV on a display)
In regards to claims 3 and 5, Gopalakrishnan discloses the biometric data evaluation server in accordance with claim 2 wherein the Lorenz plot generation module is configured to determine presence or absence of a lack in the beat-to-beat interval equivalent data from the Lorenz plot calculated in units of the second period, and exclude a lacking portion of the beat-to-beat interval equivalent data in units of the second period, to thereby perform the aggregation processing to calculate the aggregate Lorenz plot corresponding to the first period (Par. 0070 teaches that irregular heart rate data or absence of P waves in the heart beats can be taken into account when making analyses. Par. 0052 teaches the Lorenz plotting and Par. 0010 further teaches plotting HRV on a display)
In regards to claim 6, Gopalakrishnan discloses the biometric data evaluation server in accordance with claim 2 wherein the Lorenz plot generation module is configured to calculate, as the aggregation processing, statistics in units of the first period for each of matrix components of Lorenz plot matrices representing a plurality of the Lorenz plots calculated in units of the second period (Par. 0052 teaches plotting R-R statistics woth adaptive weighting factors).
In regards to claim 7, Gopalakrishnan discloses the biometric data evaluation server in accordance with claim 2, further comprising an abnormal value chronic occurrence evaluation module configured to calculate a feature amount in a region defined in advance on the aggregate Lorenz plot, calculate a degree of occurrence of an arrhythmia-like abnormal value as abnormality degree data based on the feature amount, and output the abnormality degree data (Par. 0081-0086 teaches using a computing means to take in the heart rate variability (i.e. Lorenz plot data) and heart beat data to then determine if an arrhythmia is occurring).
In regards to claim 12, Gopalakrishnan discloses a biometric data evaluation system for evaluating biometric data (Abstract and Par. 0009 teach a biometric system that can measure heart data), the biometric data evaluation system comprising:
a biometric data evaluation server including a processor and a memory (Par. 0060); and
a moving object including a biometric sensor (Par. 009 and 0019 teaches a biometric sensor worn on a watch, i.e. moving object),
wherein the moving object includes a data collection device configured to cause the biometric sensor to detect biometric data including beat-to-beat interval equivalent data from a subject (Par. 0048 teaches collecting biometric data from the user; Par. 0050 teaches providing heart rate signals and R-R intervals), and
transmit the biometric data to the biometric data evaluation server (Par. 0050), and
wherein the biometric data evaluation server includes:
a data collection module configured to receive the biometric data, and receive the beat-to-beat interval equivalent data (Par. 0048 teaches collecting biometric data/heart rate/beat data from the user); and
a Lorenz plot generation module configured to calculate a Lorenz plot from the beat-to-beat interval equivalent data at a predetermined period, and output the obtained Lorenz plots as an aggregate Lorenz plot (Par. 0052 teaches taking the data and using algorithms to create a Lorenz plot of the heart rate data).
In regards to claim 13, Gopalakrishnan discloses the biometric data evaluation system in accordance with claim 12 wherein the predetermined period includes a first period and a second period shorter than the first period, and wherein the Lorenz plot generation module is configured to calculate the Lorenz plot from the beat-to-beat interval equivalent data in units of the second period, aggregate the Lorenz plots calculated in units of the second period in units of the first period to calculate the aggregate Lorenz plot corresponding to the first period, and output the aggregate Lorenz plot corresponding to the first period (Par. 0068 teaches that the heart beat data can be taken over periods, some being shorter than others; Par. 0052 teaches the Lorenz plotting and Par. 0010 further teaches plotting HRV on a display)
In regards to claim 14, Gopalakrishnan discloses a biometric data evaluation method performed by a computer including a processor and a memory to evaluate biometric data (Par. 0009 and 0060), the biometric data evaluation method comprising:
a data collection step of receiving, by the computer, beat-to-beat interval equivalent data from the biometric data on a subject (Par. 0050 teaches providing heart rate signals and R-R intervals to a computing device, i.e. a data collection module); and
a Lorenz plot generation step of calculating, by the computer, a Lorenz plot from the beat-to-beat interval equivalent data at a predetermined period, and output the obtained Lorenz plots as an aggregate Lorenz plot (Par. 0052 teaches the Lorenz plotting and Par. 0010 further teaches plotting HRV on a display).
In regards to claim 15, Gopalakrishnan discloses the biometric data evaluation method in accordance with claim 14 wherein the predetermined period includes a first period and a second period shorter than the first period, and wherein the Lorenz plot generation step includes calculating the Lorenz plot from the beat-to-beat interval equivalent data in units of the second period, aggregating the Lorenz plots calculated in units of the second period in units of the first period to calculate the aggregate Lorenz plot corresponding to the first period, and outputting the aggregate Lorenz plot corresponding to the first period (Par. 0068 teaches that the heart beat data can be taken over periods, some being shorter than others; Par. 0052 teaches the Lorenz plotting and Par. 0010 further teaches plotting HRV on a display)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopalakrishnan in view of Burton (US 20070032733 A1).
In regards to claims 8-11, Gopalakrishnan discloses the biometric data evaluation server in accordance with claim 7, except for it further comprising an inadequate person determination module configured to calculate an occurrence frequency of the arrhythmia-like abnormal value from the aggregate Lorenz plots in a third period equal to or longer than the first period, and determine whether the subject is adequate for autonomic nerve function evaluation; using an autonomic nerve function index calculation module configured to calculate an autonomic nerve function index based on the beat-to-beat interval equivalent data on the subject adequate for the autonomic nerve function evaluation based on a result of the determination performed by the inadequate person determination module, and output the autonomic nerve function index; using a warning presentation module configured to determine reliability of the autonomic nerve function index based on the arrhythmia-like abnormal value, and display the reliability of the autonomic nerve function index on an output device; and using a danger prediction module configured to calculate, as an accident risk, a probability that the subject is to cause one of an accident or an incident after a predetermined time period, based on the autonomic nerve function index, wherein the warning presentation module is configured to issue an alert for warning about an increase in accident risk to the subject having the accident risk exceeding a predetermined threshold value.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Burton teaches a system for monitoring HRV in subjects to detect cardiac abnormalities (Abstract) wherein the system can look at heart rate and HRV data and to determine if the autonomic activity is as desired or if it is abnormal, the system then determine that autonomic activity is abnormal and issue a warning via a display to the user (Par. 0074-0088) in order to help prevent arrhythmias (Par. 0076).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have taken the teachings of Gopalakrishnan and modified them by having the system observe the autonomic nerve/system for abnormalities, as taught and suggested by Burton, in order to help prevent arrhythmias (Par. 0076 of Burton).
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Niketa Patel can be reached at (571) 272-4156. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/S.L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/NIKETA PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792