DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12-13, and 15-23 are pending.
Claims 6, 11, 14, and 24 are cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but it is moot in light of a new ground of rejection. See discussion below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12-13, 15-16, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prince (US 20170000677 A1, 2017-01-05) in view of Brassil et al. (US 6106288 A, 2000-08-22) (hereinafter “Brassil”), Humayun et al. (US 20100174415 A1, 2010-07-08) (hereinafter “Humayun”), and Hood et al. (US 6488029 B1, 2002-12-03) (hereinafter “Hood”).
Regarding claims 1-5, 12-13, 15, and 20-24, Prince teaches a mobile self-powered medical services trolley for use in an operating theatre, the trolley including: a portable power supply (e.g., [0057]); a plurality of instruments integrated onto the trolley and powered by the power supply for use in medical procedures (e.g., [0057]), the plurality of instruments including: a suction instrument (e.g., [0047]); a gas supply apparatus (e.g., [0035], [0046]); and wireless data communication unit in communication with a central computer network (e.g., [0044], [0075]-[0077]); and a multimedia input (e.g., [0063]) (as recited in claim 1); wherein the power supply includes at least one battery (as recited in claim 2); wherein the power supply includes a plurality of batteries connected in parallel (as recited in claim 3); wherein the at least one battery is rechargeable (e.g., [0057]) (as recited in claim 4); wherein the suction instrument includes a vacuum pump (e.g., [0026]) (as recited in claim 5); wherein the multimedia input includes an integrated video capture device (e.g., [0026], [0096]) (as recited in claim 12); wherein the integrated video capture device includes at least one video camera (as recited in claim 13); wherein the wireless data communication unit utilizes a wireless ethernet connection (e.g., [0076]) (as recited in claim 15); a mobile self-powered medical services trolley for use in a surgical theatre, the trolley including: a portable power supply; and a plurality of devices integrated onto the trolley and powered by the power supply for use in medical procedures, the plurality of instruments to supply the following functions: suction; gas supply; video capture input; and wireless data communication (as recited in claim 20); a method for providing self-powered suction, gas supply and video capture to a surgical theatre including providing a medical services trolley according to claim 1 any one of the preceding claims (as recited in claim 21).
However, Prince does not teach use of carbon dioxide. Brassil teaches use of carbon dioxide for dental procedures. See, e.g., 4:32-55; Fig. 5 and associated text.
Prince also does not expressly teach output power connectors. Humayun teaches output power connectors to power external instruments and devices. See, e.g., [0071].
Prince also does not expressly teach use of multiple gas storage cylinders, specific video connectors, and a central computer network. Humayun also teaches use of multiple cylinders (e.g., [0082]), a central computer network (e.g., [0112]; Fig. 14 and associated text). Official Notice is given that HDMI and SDI ports are widely used in the art.
Prince does not teach delivering three essential services—power; gas; and video—entirely from on-board resources. Hood teaches delivering three essential services—power (e.g., 38); gas (e.g., 52); and video (e.g., video device 813, communication circuit 817)—entirely from on-board resources. Hood teaches that such self-contained system is critical to “the bringing of life support systems quickly to the scene of an accident or other medical emergency.” See 2:17-19.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Brassil, Humayun, and Hood with the invention taught by Prince such that the invention further comprises a plurality of instruments integrated onto the trolley and powered by the power supply for use in medical procedures, the plurality of instruments including a gas supply apparatus, the gas supply apparatus including a carbon dioxide supply apparatus to supply carbon dioxide gas to an insufflator for the insufflation of a patient: a wireless data communication unit; and a multimedia input configured to receive data from a video source, wherein the wireless data communication unit is configured to wirelessly transmit the data from the video source received via the multimedia input to a standalone video routing system for display within the operating theatre, and wherein the portable power supply powers a device load, the device load including one or more external components of the group including: a video source; a light source associated with the video source; an insufflator irrigation unit; a printer; a diathermy apparatus; an external smoke evacuator; an irrigation pump; a patient warmer; or an infusion device, wherein the portable power supply, the gas supply apparatus, and the wireless data communication unit are configured to supply power, gas, and video communication services, respectively, to the device load without requiring a physical connection of the trolley to operating theatre infrastructure (as recited in claims 1 and 20); wherein the plurality of instruments comprises a suction instrument, wherein the suction instrument includes a vacuum pump (as recited in claim 5); wherein the wireless data communication unit utilises a wireless ethernet connection (as recited in claim 15); wherein the plurality of instruments includes a suction instrument (as recited in claim 23) in order to configure and operate more effectively the device for the particular operational requirements of a specific treatment.
It would also have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Humayun with the invention taught by Prince such that the invention further comprises wherein the carbon dioxide supply apparatus includes a carbon dioxide storage cylinder (as recited in claim 7); wherein the gas supply apparatus includes at least two gas storage cylinders containing the same medical gas such that the gas supply apparatus is initially connected to one of the at least two gas storage cylinders, the gas supply apparatus configured to automatically change connection to another of the at least two gas storage cylinders when the initially connected gas storage cylinder is depleted (as recited in claim 8); wherein the gas supply apparatus includes a plurality of gas storage cylinders, each cylinder containing a different medical gas (as recited in claim 9); wherein the multimedia input includes a connector port for connecting to an external video capture device, wherein the connector port is one of: an HDMI port; and an SDI port (as recited in claim 10); wherein the plurality of instruments comprises a wireless data communication unit, wherein the wireless data communication unit includes a transmitter for communicating with a remote receiver connected to the central computer network, wherein the central computer network includes the standalone video routing system such that data from the video capture device is inputted into the standalone video routing system for display within the operating theatre (as recited in claim 16); a central computer network for displaying a visual input on at least one monitor within a surgical theatre, the network including a standalone video routing system for receiving video data from a medical services trolley according to claim 1 any one of the preceding claims (as recited in claim 21) in order to improve the usability of the invention for the particular requirements of specific treatments.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prince in view of Brassil, Humayun, and Hood, and further in view of Meglan et al. (US 20210046637 A1, 2021-02-18) (hereinafter “Meglan”).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Prince teaches a mobile self-powered medical services trolley for use in an operating theatre, as discussed above. However, Prince does not expressly teach a location positioning system for allowing location detection of the trolley. Meglan teaches a location positioning system for allowing location detection of the trolley. See, e.g., [0060]-[0065] (disclosing radio-based location determination).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Meglan with the invention taught by Prince such that the invention further comprises a location positioning system for allowing location detection of the trolley (as recited in claim 17); wherein the location positioning system includes an integrated radio receiver (as recited in claim 18) in order to improve the usability of the invention.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prince in view of Brassil, Humayun, and Hood and further in view of Hershey et al. (US 20130049687 A1, 2013-02-28) (hereinafter “Hershey”).
Regarding claim 19, Prince teaches a mobile self-powered medical services trolley for use in an operating theatre, as discussed above. However, Prince does not expressly teach monitoring leakage current. Hershey teaches monitoring leakage current. See, e.g., [0031].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hershey with the invention taught by Prince such that the invention further comprises a line isolation safety monitor for monitoring leakage to ground current in order enhance safety and the charging process.
Conclusion
Scott Luan
/SCOTT LUAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792