DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-7 and 32 (submitted as “8”) are currently pending.
Independent claim(s) 1 has been amended by applicant’s amendments received 31 July 2026. Claim 32 (submitted as “8”) has been newly added. No new matter has been introduced.
Prior objections of the specification have been overcome by amendment and are therefore withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8 of Response, filed 31 July 2026, with
respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 4-6 under 35 USC § 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of amendments made to claim 1 which introduce a new limitation, the new limitation requiring an updated search and/or application of prior art reference. Applicant arguments discuss that the previously cited prior art references (Aso, US 20200072964 A1) do not teach the new limitation wherein the housing and support are not directly in contact with one another. Upon further review of Aso, neither the priorly cited nor additional sections of the above references teach the newly added limitation. However, upon further search and review, the rejections under 35 USC § 102 have been updated as can be found below in view of newly found prior art reference(s).
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claim 8 has been renumbered 32.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Pei (US 20180180721 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pei anticipates a sensor system adapted to be installed in a monitoring device, comprising:
a sensor configured to detect an object situating in a sensing direction ([0058]; Fig. 4 where scanning lidar system (400) includes photodetectors (370)).
a deflecting device configured to change the sensing direction cyclically ([0051], [0058]; Fig. 4 where first flexure (322), lenses (342, 344), mirrors, or other deflection components may be used for collimating, focusing and scanning the emission/detection of the system);
a housing accommodating the sensor and the deflecting device ([0053] - [0060]; Fig. 4, where sensor system in enclosed by frame (310), second platform (350) and second flexure (352));
and a vibration absorbing device adapted to be disposed between the housing and a support ([0069] - [0070], [0082]; Figs. 4, 10, where lidar sensor (730) sits within external frame (710)) that constitutes a part of the monitoring device, wherein the vibration absorbing device includes:
an intermediate member having a first surface adapted to face the housing with a first gap therebetween and a second surface adapted to face the support with a second gap therebetween ([0069] - [0072], [0082]; Fig. 10, where internal frame (720) sits between lidar sensor (730) and external frame (710));
a first vibration absorbing device disposed between the housing and the first surface of the intermediate member ([0049] - [0054]; Fig. 3, vibration absorbing member (24) is situated between detector body/cover (26A,B) and frame (56));
a second vibration absorbing device adapted to be disposed between the support and the second surface of the intermediate member ([0078] - [0082]; Fig. 10 where actuators (922, 924, 926, 928) and counter masses (910, 912) sit between lidar system (730) and internal frame (720) and act to counteract or dampen vibrations of the system),
and the housing and the support are spaced apart such that the housing and support do not directly contact each other ([0069] - [0072], [0082]; Fig. 10, where internal frame (720) sits between lidar sensor (730) and external frame (710) and prevents the housing (frame (310), second platform (350) and second flexure (352)) from directly contacting the external frame (710)).
Regarding claim 4, Pei anticipates the sensor system according to claim 1, wherein
the intermediate member has an opening communicating the first gap and the second gap (Fig. 9, where if cables connecting controller (990) are run to the sensors (752, 754) and actuators (922, 924), they pass through external frame (710) and internal frame (720) which will require an opening to communicate between gaps. These openings to run cables would not affect the operation of the system and would allow for the free movement of the frames without constraints by attached cables).
Regarding claim 5, Pei anticipates the sensor system according to claim 1, wherein
the second vibration absorbing device is disposed such that at least a portion thereof is not overlapped with the first vibration absorbing device when viewed from a normal direction of the first surface of the intermediate member (Fig. 10, where vibration isolation mounts (742, 744) do not overlap first actuator (922)).
Regarding claim 6, Pei anticipates the sensor system according to claim 1, wherein
the monitoring device is a mobile entity ([0069]; where the sensor has been incorporated into an autonomous vehicle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pei (US 20180180721 A1) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Ono (US 20060209466 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Pei teaches the sensor system according to claim 1, but does not discuss placing vibration absorbing devices at locations avoiding the nodes of odd vibration modes.
Ono teaches a head suspension mechanism which is capable of restraining sway and mode vibrations, where vibration absorbing devices are disposed at a position avoiding a node of a vibration mode of a resonance frequency included in vibrations generated in the housing with an operation of the deflecting device, and wherein the vibration mode includes an odd order vibration mode ([0020], [0027], [0059], [0065]; where the system suspension mechanism as part of the main frame (33) includes dynamic vibration absorbers such as a pair of dual tongue-shaped elastic plates (33c) positioned in locations aligned with antinodes of vibrational modes, such a s antinodes of the first and second-order).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Pei to incorporate the teachings of Ono to specifically orient dampeners or vibration absorbing devices at locations with maximize dampening with a reasonable expectation of success. To one of ordinary skill in the art, it would be known that anti-node locations, or locations avoiding nodes of resonant vibration, would be the locations where the largest amplitude of fluctuations would occur, and therefore would be the optimal place for placement of dampening components. Ono teaches this, stating that specifications of a system can be determined to best fit dynamic vibration absorption ([0065]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pei (US 20180180721 A1) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Steinberg (US 20190318177 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Pei teaches the sensor system according to claim 1, but does not teach specifically locating the sensor system within a lamp fixture.
Steinberg teaches a LIDAR system as a monitoring system which scans an environment for targets and obstacles, and where the monitoring device includes a lamp chamber accommodating a light source configured to emit visible light,
and wherein the housing and the vibration absorbing device are adapted to be accommodated in the lamp chamber ([0092] - [0093], [0365] - [0377]; Figs. 25A-C, where LIDAR systems may be incorporated into a headlight, for example, and may utilize position feedback sensors to determine deflector movements from vibration, in addition to ways of reduction of the vibration effects).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Pei to incorporate the teachings of Steinberg to incorporate a monitoring device within the headlight, or lamp chamber, of a vehicle with a reasonable expectation of success. Pei discusses that lidar sensors within vehicles, such as autonomous vehicles, may be located in locations where the external frame is the vehicle itself or the front bumper of the vehicle ([0069]), and Steinberg notes that LiDAR systems on vehicles can be placed any number of places, such as within a headlight, and therefore a combination would readily integrate the system of Pei into the headlight location of Steinberg.
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pei (US 20180180721 A1) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang (US 20190373173 A1) and Komori (US 20080029368 A1).
Regarding claim 32, Pei teaches the sensor system according to claim 1, but does not teach that the vibration absorbing devices are specifically magnetic in nature.
Wang teaches a system and method of operating a group of gimbals attached to platforms, which are directed to supporting payloads (which can include sensors of various types such as lidar, radar, or ultrasonic sensing devices, wherein vibration absorbing devices can comprise a spring, elastic, or magnetic dampener ([0074], [0087], [0199]; wherein platforms including vibration dampeners which hold payloads such as proximity sensors may comprise one or more dampening mechanisms such as springs, elastics, pneumatic dampeners, hydraulic dampeners, or magnetic dampeners), however Wang does not explicitly mention that the two magnetic members are not in contact within a magnetic dampener.
Komori teaches a system which utilizes damping coils to reduce vibrations of a conveying table, wherein magnetic dampeners include components which provide non-contact dampening by use of permanent magnets and electromagnets, such as seen in Figs. 5A-5B with dampening coil (35) and permanent magnets (16-19, 33, 34) which create a space between table (31) and guide (32).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Pei to incorporate the teachings of both Wang and Komori to incorporate a magnetic dampener which maintain non-contact in order to dampen vibrations within a sensor system with a reasonable expectation of success. The system of Pei includes spring dampeners (Fig. 10, 742, 744) as vibration dampening mounts, which would readily incorporate the magnetic dampeners as taught by Wang, which work on the non-contact/levitating principles as taught by Komori. Incorporation of these would have a predictable result of continued vibration dampening in the system, without physical contact between moving parts, which avoids wear and tear due to friction and therefore increases the lifespan of components.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takemoto et al. (US 20190389218 A1) teaches a liquid injecting head which includes a vibration plate as a part of a pressure chamber, where the system is formed by placing reinforcing films at locations of antinodes based on the natural vibrational modes of the system to mitigate damage caused by the vibrations.
Furui (US 20190283658 A1) teaches a vehicle lamp which is mounted on a vehicle, where the vehicle lamp housing also includes a sensor for detecting information about the environment surrounding the vehicle.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645