DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 15 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2 and 5 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kalemba (CN1889881 A) – see attached Machine translation in view of Rau et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2006/0048331 A1) and De Wit (WO 2017071727 A1) as cited by Applicant.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Kalemba teaches a suction head (sweeper, 1) configured to be applied in a vacuum cleaner (Paragraph [0036]) and to perform a cleaning action on a surface to be cleaned (Paragraph [0007]), the suction head (1) comprising: a housing (chassis, 2) that includes a coupling area configured to enable coupling of the housing (2) to an air suction source of the vacuum cleaner (Paragraph [0007]), two brushes in a substantially parallel arrangement in the housing, wherein each of the two brushes (sweeping brush, 6 with cleaning roller, 15) is rotatable about a rotation axis
( + as sown in Fig. 3) and is configured to interact with the surface to be cleaned (Fig. 3), and a wetting arrangement (liquid application device, 10) that is arranged and configured to enable a direct supply of liquid from at least one liquid supplying position to at least one area of the surface to be cleaned (Paragraphs [0023] and [0024]), wherein the at least one liquid supplying position (Annotated Fig. 3) is in an area between the two brushes (6 and 15) and at a level of the rotation axes of the one brush (6) or at a lower level than the level of the rotation axis of the brush (Annotated Fig. 3) and an elongated intermediate component (tank, 11) that is located in the area between the two brushes (6 and 15)
Kalemba does not teach the at least one liquid supplying position is at a level of the rotation axes of the two brushes or at a lower level than the level of the rotation axis of the brushes or the elongated intermediate component comprises two portions configured to cover portions of the two brushes.
Rau, however, teaches a wetting arrangement (sprat manifold with nozzles, 32; Fig. 6) and the at least one liquid supplying position (outlet of nozzle, 32) is at a level of the rotation axes of the two brushes or at a lower level than the level of the rotation axis of the brushes (11 and 131; Annotated Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid supplying position to further include the at least one liquid supplying position is at a level of the rotation axes of the two brushes or at a lower level than the level of the rotation axis of the brush, as taught by Rau, to provide a suction head that improves cleaning by increasing airflow velocity, enhancing dirt dislodging, boosting impact force, ensuring uniform coverage, and reducing airflow distortion thus resulting in an effective and thorough cleaning.
DeWit further teaches the elongated intermediate component (50) comprises two portions (40 on the left and right) configured to cover portions of the two brushes (23 and 24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid supplying position to further the elongated intermediate component comprises two portions configured to cover portions of the two brushes, as taught by DeWit, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 – VI. - C)
Regarding Claim 2, Kalemba, as modified, teaches the suction head (sweeper, 1) wherein the at least one liquid supplying position (Annotated Fig. 3) is at a bottom surface portion (Annotated Fig. 3) of the suction head (1) and wherein the at least liquid supplying position (Annotated Fig. 3) is arranged and configured to face the surface to be cleaned (Fig. 3).
Kalemba does not explicitly teach to face the surface to be cleaned at a distance of at least 2 mm and at most 6 mm to the surface; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid supplying position to further include to face the surface to be cleaned at a distance of at least 2 mm and at most 6 mm to the surface, as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size/distance of a component. A change in size/distance is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 5, Kalemba, as modified, teaches the suction head (sweeper, 1) wherein the elongated intermediate component (11) at the position of a top side (top portion of tank, 11) thereof, is suspended from a portion of the housing (2; Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 6, Kalemba, as modified, teaches the suction head (sweeper, 1) wherein the at least one liquid supplying position (Annotated Fig. 3) is at a bottom surface portion of the elongated intermediate component (11; Fig. 3), and wherein the bottom surface portion of the elongated intermediate component (11) is arranged and configured to face the surface to be cleaned (Fig. 3).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalemba (CN1889881 A) in view of Rau et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2006/0048331 A1), De Wit (WO 2017071727 A1) as cited by Applicant and Moes (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0180105 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Kalemba, as modified, teaches the suction head according to claim 1, as discussed above.
Kalemba does not teach wherein the wetting arrangement is arranged and configured to enable the direct supply of liquid from at least two liquid supplying positions distributed over the suction head in a direction in which the rotation axes of the two brushes extend.
Moes, however, teaches a suction head (Fig. 1)) wherein the wetting arrangement (liquid channels, 210) is arranged and configured to enable the direct supply of liquid from at least two liquid supplying positions (outfalls, 214) distributed over the suction head in a direction in which the rotation axes of the two brushes extend (112 and 114; Claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wetting arrangement to further include the wetting arrangement is arranged and configured to enable the direct supply of liquid from at least two liquid supplying positions distributed over the suction head in a direction in which the rotation axes of the two brushes extend, as taught by Moes, to provide a suction head that prevents cleaning solution residue in the form of a trail or a series of small puddles of cleaning solution from occurring, thus providing an improved cleaned surface.
Claims 7 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalemba (CN1889881 A) in view of Rau et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2006/0048331 A1), De Wit (WO 2017071727 A1) as cited by Applicant and Gordon et al. (U. S. Patent No. 7,392,566 B2).
Regarding Claim 7, Kalemba, as modified, teaches the suction head according to claim 6, as discussed above.
Kalemba does not explicitly teach the wetting arrangement comprises a conduit system configured to transport the direct supply of liquid and to let out the direct supply of liquid at the at least one liquid supplying position.
Gordon, however, teaches a cleaning machine and a wetting arrangement (Fig. 5) comprising a conduit system (Fig. 5) configured to transport the direct supply of liquid (Claim 1) and to let out the direct supply of liquid at the at least one liquid supplying position (120 and 122; Figs. 4 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wetting arrangement to further include a conduit system configured to transport the direct supply of liquid and to let out the direct supply of liquid at the at least one liquid supplying position, as taught by Gordon, to provide a suction head that provides enhances security by protecting wires from physical damage and shock.
Regarding Claim 8, Kalemba, as modified, teaches the suction head according to claim 7, as discussed above.
Kalemba does not explicitly teach the conduit system comprises at least one conduit extending through the elongated intermediate component.
Gordon, however, teaches the conduit system comprises at least one conduit (794) extending through the elongated intermediate component (Annotated Fig. 4; the spray bar, 122 is directly connected to conduit 794, thus the at least one conduit extending through the elongated intermediate component.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wetting arrangement to further include the conduit system comprises at least one conduit extending through the elongated intermediate component, as taught by Gordon, to provide a suction head that provides enhances security by protecting wires from physical damage and shock.
Regarding Claim 9, Kalemba, as modified, teaches the suction head according to claim 7, as discussed above.
Kalemba does not explicitly teach the conduit system comprises at least one main conduit and at least one branch conduit and wherein the at least one branch conduit is coupled to the at least one main conduit
Gordon, however, teaches the conduit system (Fig. 5) comprises at least one main conduit (790) and at least one branch conduit (815) and wherein the at least one branch conduit (790) is coupled to the at least one main conduit (790) and extends from the at least one main conduit (790) towards the at least one liquid supplying position (120; Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wetting arrangement to further include the conduit system comprises at least one main conduit and at least one branch conduit and wherein the at least one branch conduit is coupled to the at least one main conduit
Regarding Claim 10, Kalemba, as modified, teaches the suction head according to claim 9, as discussed above.
Kalemba does not explicitly teach a restriction element in fluid communication with the at least one main conduit and the at least one branch conduit wherein the restriction element is provided with a restriction opening configured to allow the direct supply of liquid to pass in a direction from the at least one main conduit towards the at least one branch conduit , and wherein the restriction element or an assembly of components in which the restriction element is included is removably arranged in the suction head.
Gordon, however, teaches a restriction element (main shut off valve, 820) in fluid communication with the at least one main conduit (790) and the at least one branch conduit (815) wherein the restriction element (820) is provided with a restriction opening configured to allow the direct supply of liquid to pass in a direction from the at least one main conduit (790) towards the at least one branch conduit (815) , and wherein the restriction element (820) or an assembly of components in which the restriction element is included is removably arranged in the suction head (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wetting arrangement to further include a restriction element in fluid communication with the at least one main conduit and the at least one branch conduit wherein the restriction element is provided with a restriction opening configured to allow the direct supply of liquid to pass in a direction from the at least one main conduit towards the at least one branch conduit , and wherein the restriction element or an assembly of components in which the restriction element is included is removably arranged in the suction head, as taught by Gordon, to provide a suction head that allows for components to be easily accessed, thus saving time for replacements.
Claims 11 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalemba (CN1889881 A) in view of Rau et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2006/0048331 A1) De Wit (WO 2017071727 A1) as cited by Applicant and Xuefeng (CN111839380 A) – see attached Machine translation.
Regarding Claim 11, Kalemba, as modified, teaches the suction head according to claim 1, as discussed above.
Kalemba does not teach at least one wheel that is rotatably arranged on the suction head,
Xuefeng, however, teaches at least one wheel (roller, 33) that is rotatably arranged on the head (Fig. 2) , wherein the at least one wheel (33) is configured to be in contact with the surface to be cleaned (Paragraph [0024]), and wherein the wetting arrangement (wetting component, 30 with liquid tank, 31) is further arranged and configured to enable the direct supply of liquid to the at least one wheel (Paragraph [0025] and [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wetting arrangement to further include at least one wheel that is rotatably arranged on the suction head,
Regarding Claim 12, Kalemba, as modified, teaches the suction head according to claim 11, as discussed above.
Kalemba does not teach the wetting arrangement is arranged and configured to enable the direct supply of liquid to the at least one wheel at the position of the at least one wheel from outside of the at least one wheel.
Xuefeng, however, teaches the wetting arrangement is arranged and configured to enable the direct supply of liquid to the at least one wheel (33) at the position of the at least one wheel (Fig. 2) from outside of the at least one wheel (Paragraph [0025] and [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wetting arrangement to further include the wetting arrangement is arranged and configured to enable the direct supply of liquid to the at least one wheel at the position of the at least one wheel from outside of the at least one wheel, as taught by Xuefeng, to provide a suction head that improves cleaning efficiency.
Xuefeng does not explicitly teach the wheel having a tread; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid supplying position to further include the wheel having a tread, as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 13, Kalemba, as modified, teaches the suction head according to claim 11, as discussed above.
Kalemba does not teach the at least one wheel is arranged so that the two rotating brushes are enabled to interact with the wheel during operation of the head.
Xuefeng, however, teaches the at least one wheel (33) is arranged so that the two rotating brushes (cleaning disks,42 and 43 with wiping roller, 54; Fig. 2) and are enabled to interact with the wheel (33) during operation of the head (Paragraphs [0025] and [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wetting arrangement to further include the at least one wheel is arranged so that the two rotating brushes are enabled to interact with the wheel during operation of the head, as taught by Xuefeng, to provide a suction head that improves cleaning efficiency.
Regarding Claim 14, Kalemba, as modified, teaches the suction head according to claim 11, as discussed above.
Kalemba as modified by Xuefeng does not teach the at least one wheel is located in the area between the two brushes; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid supplying position to further include at least one wheel is located in the area between the two brushes, as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalemba (CN1889881 A) in view of Rau et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2006/0048331 A1) De Wit (WO 2017071727 A1) as cited by Applicant and Nguyen (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0069137 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Kalemba, as modified, teaches the suction head according to claim 1, as discussed above.
Kalemba does not explicitly teach a cordless vacuum cleaner.
Nguyen, however, teaches a cordless vacuum cleaner (Paragraph [0097]) and a suction head (base assembly, 120; Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wetting arrangement to further include a cordless vacuum cleaner, as taught by Nguyen, to provide a cleaner which allows complete freedom of movement, thus enhancing the mobility of the cleaner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated September 21, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 – 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive; therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, after further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of De Wit.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723