DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amendments to claims 1 and 20-22 and the accompanying Remarks fail to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1).
Applicant’s primary contention is that HOLZ (US 2020/0294311 A1) fails to teach or suggest every element of the amended independent claims, including the newly added limitation “wherein the allowed region is calculated according to a posture of the user estimated at one or more time intervals,” and that the amendments clarify patentable distinctions. Applicant further asserts that HOLZ does not teach the original claim elements relating to classification of multiple planes into base and obstacle planes, identification of base/obstacle/hollow regions, and the logical operation integrating those regions.
These arguments are unpersuasive for the following reasons:
The Examiner’s prior mappings of the original claim elements to HOLZ remain applicable and are reiterated below with updated citations. Applicant’s Remarks largely restate the claim language without addressing the specific teachings, figures, and paragraph citations previously provided (e.g., plane classification via height-gradient processing, identification of base/navigable vs. obstacle/unknown/hollow regions, and flood-fill logical operation). Mere disagreement without pointing out specific errors in the mappings does not overcome the rejection. See MPEP § 2145.
With respect to the newly added limitation in claims 1, 21, and 22 (“wherein the allowed region is calculated according to a posture of the user estimated at one or more time intervals”), HOLZ expressly teaches continuous estimation of the user’s posture (HMD orientation/pose including pitch, yaw, and roll) via tracking sensors and rigid transforms, and iterative recalculation/updating of the allowed (path map/walkable) region starting from and limited by the current estimated posture/position at successive sensor/frame update intervals. See detailed mapping below. The amendment does not distinguish over these teachings.
Accordingly, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) are maintained and updated as set forth below. Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 12, 13, 17, and 20-32 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 12, 13, 17, 20-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HOLZ (US 2020/0294311 A1).
1. HOLZ discloses an information processing apparatus for automatically determining an allowed region where a user wearing a head-mounted display (HMD) can move safely, the information processing apparatus comprising: circuitry configured to (Figs. 6-7, 11, 13-14), [0054], [0085]
classify multiple planes in a three-dimensional space into at least a base plane corresponding to a surface for movement and an obstacle plane corresponding to at least one obstacle and identify a base region pertaining to the base plane and an obstacle region pertaining to each obstacle plane based on a classification result of the multiple planes (classifies and identify a flat planar ground as the base plane and classifies and identify any physical object taller than the ground (or having a height difference) as an obstacle plane), [0054], [0056], [0066], [0090],
identify a hollow region representing spatial discontinuity where the base plane is not present based on the identified base region and occupancy information of the three-dimensional space (determines that any other location (e.g., not classified as a navigable area or physical object) is unknown. These unknown areas are treated as spatial discontinuities/hollow regions where the base (floor) plane is absent or unconfirmed. The system uses occupancy-like height and depth-map information derived from the base-region classification), [0054], [0056], [0066], [0091]-[0092], and
calculate the allowed region for the user by performing a logical operation that integrates the identified base region, each identified obstacle region, and the identified hollow region (performs an iterative flood fill starting at the user’s location on the global height-gradient map. The flood fill only propagates through areas where color and height gradients are below a defined threshold (i.e., integrates the base/navigable region), excludes obstacle regions (wall map), and treats any area the flood fill cannot reach (hollow/unknown regions) as non-allowed by marking them in the wall map or preventing further propagation. This logical operation directly produces the final allowed/walkable region), [0085], [0090]-[0094], (Fig. 12),
wherein the allowed region is calculated according to a posture of the user estimated at one or more time intervals (HMD tracking component continuously estimates the user’s posture/orientation (pitch, yaw, roll) and position via tracking sensors (accelerometer, gyroscope, etc.) and produces a rigid transform T that maps locations and orientations; the path map/allowed region is iteratively recalculated and advanced (e.g., flood fill advanced 4 pixels per RGB depth update) starting from the current user location/pose derived from the estimated posture; updates occur at successive sensor/frame time intervals; surrounding/processing radius is restricted and dynamically adjusted based on the estimated posture/position; [0027], [0038], [0045], [0053], [0091]-[0094], [0098], [0112], [0116], [0130]-[0145], runtime sub-system 1130 and HMD tracking component 720).
2. HOLZ discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry calculates an angle between a normal line to each of the multiple planes and a direction of gravity, selects from the multiple planes one or more planes considered to be horizontal planes, based on the angles, and selects the base plane from the planes considered to be horizontal (via flat-planar-ground assumption and height-gradient processing relative to gravity), [0054], [0092].
5. HOLZ discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to control output of an image indicating the allowed region (roam area rendering component 760 renders a virtual navigable area/pathway/floor that corresponds exactly to the path map/walkable region determined by the roam area defining component 750; the rendered virtual pathway is displayed stereoscopically to the user via the HMD as the allowed/safe movement region), [0056]-[0058], (Fig. 7, 11).
6. HOLZ discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to control output of at least one of an image or a sound giving a warning in a case in which a distance between the user and a boundary of the allowed region is equal to or less than a predetermined value (runtime sub-system 1130 applies gradual visual corrections/redirection and renders virtual obstructions/doors/walls when the user approaches the boundary of the path map/walkable region; virtual pedestrians are spawned or repositioned with “personal space” thresholds to warn of proximity to wall-map boundaries or unknown areas), [0112], (Figs. 11, 13–14).
7. HOLZ discloses the information processing apparatus according claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to control output of an instruction as to a movement of the user, and adjust the instruction to keep the movement of the user within the allowed region (runtime sub-system 1130 generates graphical indicators/arrows overlaid on the virtual environment and uses virtual pedestrians/walls to guide/redirect the user along the path map; redirection and obstacle placement are dynamically adjusted in real time based on user position to keep the user inside the walkable region), [0118], (Figs. 11, 13–14).
9. HOLZ discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to generate space information from distance measurement information indicative of a distance from a surrounding object acquired by a distance measuring device attached to the user (environment sensing component 730 receives depth data from environmental sensors 620b attached to the HMD/user; depth images are projected into point clouds and used to generate the height map, color map, and height-gradient map that define the 3D space information), [0053]-[0058].
12. HOLZ discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to determine an unknown region based on the occupancy information indicated in an occupancy grid map, wherein the occupancy grid map represents the three-dimensional space by using multiple three-dimensional unit cells, wherein at least one of the multiple unit cells possesses unknown information indicating that it is unknown whether or not the unit cell is occupied by an object, wherein the circuitry determines the unknown region based on a position of the three-dimensional unit cell possessing the unknown information, and wherein the circuitry prevents the unknown region from being included in the allowed region (VR roam tracking device maintains a dynamic 2D map/grid (10 cm × 10 cm pixels) derived from height/gradient data; any other location (e.g., not classified as a navigable area or physical object) is unknown and is marked in the wall map; flood-fill never propagates into unknown pixels, so they are excluded from the path map/allowed region), [0091]-[0094].
13. HOLZ discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the circuitry includes into the unknown region a location in which at least a predetermined number of the three-dimensional unit cells possessing the unknown information are stacked in a vertical direction (height-gradient map computes maximum height differences across pixels and adjacent areas; vertical stacking/gaps in the height map that exceed the gradient threshold are treated as non-navigable/unknown and marked in the wall map, preventing inclusion in the allowed region), [0091]-[0094].
17. HOLZ discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to calculate as a surrounding region a region that constitutes a portion of the base region and includes a position of the user, based on at least the position of the user, and wherein the circuitry calculates the allowed region further based on the surrounding region (runtime sub-system 1130 restricts processing and flood-fill propagation to a radius around the current user position; the path map (allowed region) is iteratively updated starting from the user’s location within the navigable/base area), [0091]-[0094], [0112].
20. HOLZ discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the circuitry adjusts at least one of a shape or a size of the surrounding region according to the estimated posture of the user (HMD tracking component and runtime sub-system 1130 continuously update the user’s position/orientation via rigid transform T that accounts for head posture, movement, and perceptual changes; the surrounding radius and virtual rendering (including allowed-region boundaries) are dynamically resized or reshaped based on user posture and distance), [0027], [0038], [0045], [0053], [0098], [0116].
23. HOLZ discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to obtain a position of the user in the three-dimensional space, and specify a region occupied by the user as a peripheral region (location tracking component 920 and runtime sub-system 1130 compute the user’s accurate real-world position wherein the immediate area around the user (peripheral/surrounding region) is defined and used for path-map updates and obstacle placement), [0098].
24. HOLZ discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 23, wherein the allowed region is calculated by performing the logical operation using the peripheral region (flood fill for the path map/allowed region explicitly starts at the user’s peripheral position and propagates outward from that region using the gradient-threshold logic), [0091]-[0094].
25. HOLZ discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 23, wherein the peripheral region is determined as a part of the base region (user position is always located within the navigable/base/path-map area; the peripheral region is treated as a subset of the base region for all subsequent flood fill and rendering operations), [0091]-[0094].
32. HOLZ discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein each identified obstacle region is identified according to a difference in height between each identified obstacle region and the base region being greater than a predetermined value with respect to a height axis, [0056], [0058], [0066].
21, 26-28. HOLZ discloses an information processing method for automatically determining an allowed region where a user wearing a head-mounted display (HMD) can move safely, the method comprising: classifying multiple planes in a three-dimensional space into at least a base plane corresponding to a surface for movement and an obstacle plane corresponding to at least one obstacle; identifying a base region pertaining to the base plane and an obstacle region pertaining to each obstacle plane based on a classification result of the multiple planes; identifying a hollow region representing spatial discontinuity where the base plane is not present, based on the identified base region and occupancy information of the three-dimensional space; and calculating the allowed region for the user by performing a logical operation that integrates the identified base region, each identified obstacle region, and the identified hollow region, wherein the allowed region is calculated according to a posture of the user estimated at one or more time intervals as similarly discussed above.
22, 29-31. HOLZ discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having embodied thereon a program, which when executed by a computer causes the computer to execute a method, the method comprising: classifying multiple planes in a three-dimensional space into at least a base plane corresponding to a surface for movement and an obstacle plane corresponding to at least one obstacle; identifying a base region pertaining to the base plane and an obstacle region pertaining to each obstacle plane based on a classification result of the multiple planes; identifying a hollow region representing spatial discontinuity where the base plane is not present, based on the identified base region and occupancy information of the three-dimensional space; and calculating the allowed region for the user by performing a logical operation that integrates the identified base region, each identified obstacle region, and the identified hollow region, wherein the allowed region is calculated according to a posture of the user estimated at one or more time intervals as similarly discussed above.
Filing of New or Amended Claims
The examiner has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasoning to explain why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the original disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims. See Wertheim, 541 F.2d at 263, 191 USPQ at 97 (“[T]he PTO has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasons why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims.”). However, when filing an amendment an applicant should show support in the original disclosure for new or amended claims. See MPEP § 714.02 and § 2163.06 (“Applicant should specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure.”). Please see MPEP 2163 (II) 3. (b)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/Seng H Lim/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715