DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites the term “for example” followed by a limitation. While the scope of the claim is understood in light of the disclosure, this term makes the claim difficult to follow. For examination, the following “latching behind a ridge, such as that the mounting ring is rotatably connected to the hollow body by means of a snap-fit connection” is seen to be an explicit requirement of the apparatus.
Claim 9 recites “a distinct second internal thread”. This raises confusion with the already required “second internal thread” (claim 1), as it appears they are the same. Interpreted as the same for examination. As such, the entire first paragraph of claim 9 is seen to be redundant to claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 18-20, 23-24, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Holroyd et al (US 20090266816).
Regarding claim 1, Holroyd (FIGs 1-6) discloses “A filling piece coupling assembly for filling a balloon (balloon understood to be an intended destination for the device, and not a part of the apparatus), configured to be connected to a gas tank (20) containing pressurized helium gas (device is for a gas cylinder, actual type of gas seen as intended use), comprising:
- a coupling piece (40), configured to be fixed to the gas tank (20) and comprising a circumferential wall (interior), which defines an interior of the coupling piece, wherein the circumferential wall comprises a first internal thread (surrounding 26) and a distinct second internal thread (surrounding 63), which are aligned parallel to each other and spaced from each other in an axial direction (see FIG 6, no overlap),
- a valve (26, FIG 1), comprising a hollow cylindrical housing (1, 2, 11) provided with a first outer thread (26), which substantially corresponds to the first internal thread of the coupling piece (see FIG 6), and with a shutter (7, 9) that is located in the housing (see FIG 1) and movable with respect to the housing (down from FIG 1; paragraph 39) between a closed position (FIG 1 position), in which the shutter is engaged with the housing (against 10) to be substantially gas tight, and an open position (down from FIG 1; paragraph 39), in which the shutter is at least partially positioned at a distance from the housing (space between 9 and 10) to allow gas to flow through the valve (paragraph 39),
wherein the first outer thread is configured to cooperate with the first internal thread (together in FIG 6) to form a gas-tight connection between the coupling piece and the valve (understood that leakage would not occur at 26), and wherein the valve is located inside the interior of the coupling piece (see FIG 1), and
- a filling piece (62, 73), separate from the valve (formed separately), comprising a hollow body (62) with an inflow opening (in 63) and an outflow opening (60), defining a gas passage (interior of 62) between the openings, an actuator (70-74), with a movable transfer element (70), and a second outer thread (at 63), which substantially corresponds to the second internal thread of the coupling piece (see FIG 6),
wherein the second outer thread is configured to cooperate with the second internal thread to releasably connect the filling piece to the coupling piece (see FIG 6), to form a gas-tight connection between the coupling piece and the inflow opening of the filling piece (via 64), and
wherein the transfer element (70) is engageable with the shutter of the valve (via 32), to transfer an actuation movement of the actuator to the shutter to move the shutter (32) to the open position (paragraph 51), such that the gas tank and the outflow opening of the filling piece are fluidly connected via the coupling piece (paragraph 51), and gas can flow out of the tank (from 60/61) and through the outflow opening to inflate a balloon (as gas is leaving the apparatus to a destination, understood to read on this intended use).”
Regarding claim 18, Holroyd (FIGs 1-6) discloses “wherein the first internal thread (surrounding 26) and the second internal thread (surrounding 63) are coaxially aligned with each other (see FIG 6).”
Regarding claim 19, Holroyd (FIGs 1-6) discloses “wherein an inner diameter of the first internal thread is smaller than an inner diameter of the second internal thread (see FIG 6).”
Regarding claim 20, Holroyd (FIGs 1-6) discloses “A gas tank (20) comprising the filling piece coupling assembly according to claim 1 (see FIG 6).”
Regarding claim 23, Holroyd (FIGs 1-6) discloses “wherein the valve forms the only pressure relief device (paragraph 22-25, burst disc seen to be optional) and/or wherein the safe rated pressure of the valve is less than a safe rated pressure of a burst disc pressure relief device of the gas tank.”
Regarding claim 24, Holroyd (FIGs 1-6) discloses “A method for providing overpressure protection to a gas tank comprising the steps of:
- providing the gas tank according to claim 20 (set forth above),
- connecting the valve to the coupling piece by means of the first internal thread and the first outer thread (at 26; FIG 6), and
- connecting the filling piece to the coupling piece by means of the second internal thread and the second outer thread (at 63; FIG 6).”
Regarding claim 26, Holroyd (FIGs 1-7) discloses “A method for refilling a gas tank comprising the steps of:
- providing the gas tank according to claim 20 (set forth above),
- disconnecting, if present, the filling piece (62) from the coupling piece (40) by releasing the threaded connection between the second internal thread and the second outer thread (unthreading seen to be possible at 63),
- filling the gas tank through the valve (in the scenario of FIG 7/Column 9 lines 40-53, where 62 is removed), and
- connecting the filling piece to the coupling piece by means of the second internal thread and the second outer thread (threaded connection/disconnection of 81 to 40 and 62 to 40 are seen to be repeatable) .”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holroyd in view of Chen (US 20100143028).
Regarding claim 2, Holroyd is silent regarding “wherein the filling piece comprises a mounting ring that is rotatable with respect to the hollow body, wherein the second outer thread is provided on the mounting ring.” In Holroyd the filling piece is one-piece.
However, Chen (FIGs 4-5) teaches a threaded gas tank connection (functionally analogous to Holroyd, where a filling piece 1 comprises a “hollow body” 21, 30 that functions as the fluid-passage and “mounting ring” 10-13 sleeved thereon, where connection is performed by rotating the ring relative to the hollow body (paragraphs 21-23) to screw the outer threads of the ring into female threads to ensure a mechanical gas connection (seen to be functionally analogous to the threaded gas connection of Holroyd).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date, to modify the filling piece of Holroyd such that “wherein the filling piece comprises a mounting ring that is rotatable with respect to the hollow body, wherein the second outer thread is provided on the mounting ring”, as taught by Chen, to provide a mechanism with an independent screw ring for ease of assembly/disassembly.
Regarding claim 5, the combination set forth in claim 2 further teaches “wherein, the coupling piece (Holroyd; 40) comprises at least one sealing surface (Holroyd; wall at 64), that extends from the circumferential wall at least partially in a radial direction (outward relative to threaded section), wherein the filling piece (Holroyd; 62) comprises a contra surface (Holroyd; 64) that substantially corresponds to the sealing surface to be pressed against each other during screwing the second outer thread in the second internal thread to form a gas-tight connection between the coupling piece and the filling piece (Holroyd; FIG 6), wherein the second sealing surface of the filing piece is arranged on the mounting ring (when modified with Chen, this sealing surface would be on the rotating ring as it is adjacent to the male threads).”
Regarding claim 25, Holroyd (FIGs 1-7) discloses “A method for coupling a filling piece and a valve to a coupling piece comprising the steps of:
- providing the filling piece coupling assembly according to claim 1 (set forth above),
- connecting the valve to the coupling piece by means of the first internal thread and the first outer thread (FIG 6)…”
Holroyd is silent regarding “connecting the filling piece to the coupling piece by means of the second internal thread and the second outer thread, by rotating a mounting ring of the filling piece, provided with the second outer thread, with respect to the coupling piece, whilst holding the hollow body of the filling piece stationary.”
However, Chen (FIGs 4-5) teaches a threaded gas tank connection (functionally analogous to Holroyd, where a filling piece 1 comprises a “hollow body” 21, 30 that functions as the fluid-passage and “mounting ring” 10-13 sleeved thereon, where connection is performed by rotating the ring relative to the hollow body (paragraphs 21-23) (in this step the hollow body is effectively stationary) to screw the outer threads of the ring into female threads to ensure a mechanical gas connection (seen to be functionally analogous to the threaded gas connection of Holroyd).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date, to modify the filling piece of Holroyd such that “connecting the filling piece to the coupling piece by means of the second internal thread and the second outer thread, by rotating a mounting ring of the filling piece, provided with the second outer thread, with respect to the coupling piece, whilst holding the hollow body of the filling piece stationary”, as taught by Chen, to provide a mechanism with an independent screw ring for ease of assembly/disassembly.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holroyd/Chen in view of Miller et al (US 20080067462).
Regarding claim 3, Chen as applied to claim 2 (FIGs 4-5) further teaches “wherein the mounting ring is rotatably connected to the hollow body by means of a form-fit connection, for example by latching behind a ridge (21)…”
Holroyd/Chen are further silent regarding “such as that the mounting ring is rotatably connected to the hollow body by means of a snap-fit connection.” Instead Chen shows 10 sandwiched between two ridges 21 and 30 to axially hold it in place.
However, Miller (FIGs 1, 12) teaches it is known in the art of assembling a ring around a tube (44 around 18) in an axially-secured, rotationally-free arrangement (analogous to Chen) by utilizing a snap-fit connection (paragraph 40).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date, to modify the assembly of the filling piece and rotating ring of Holroyd/Chen to be a snap-fit as taught by Miller, the combination teaching “such as that the mounting ring is rotatably connected to the hollow body by means of a snap-fit connection”, to utilize an alternate assembly that requires fewer steps and tools to perform (only axial force needed).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holroyd in view of Wu (US 20020084282).
Regarding claim 15, Holroyd is silent regarding “wherein the filling piece further comprises a nozzle for inflating balloons, which is attached to the hollow body at the outflow opening thereof.”
However, Wu (FIGs 1-3) teaches it is known in the art of gas container valve couplings (analogous to Holroyd) to outfit the outlet passage 14 with a nozzle 70 when inflation (“balloons” seen as intended destination and not part of the final apparatus) is desired.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date, to modify the device of Holroyd with “wherein the filling piece further comprises a nozzle for inflating balloons, which is attached to the hollow body at the outflow opening thereof”, as taught by Wu, to provide a feature that allows precise dispensing of the gas, for more user control of the direction the outputted gas travels.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-11, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, Chen as applied to claim 2 (FIGs 4-5) further teaches “wherein the mounting ring (10) comprises a grip part (12) and threaded part (11) that is distinct from the grip part (see FIG 4)…”
Holroyd/Chen are further silent regarding “wherein the grip part is movably connected to the threaded part via a transmission mechanism to transmit a rotation movement of the grip part to the threaded part via the transmission mechanism to rotate the second outer thread.”
While rotational transmissions are understood to be conventional in the art, enacting this modification to Holroyd/Chen would require undue hindsight reasoning, possibly overcomplicating the design. For at least this reason, claim 4 is nonobvious.
Regarding claim 6, closest art Holroyd is silent regarding “wherein the cylindrical housing comprises a stationary part provided with the first outer thread and an aperture, and a movable part that houses the shutter and that is located in the aperture, wherein the movable part is movable relative to the stationary part between a standard position, in which the movable part is engaged with the stationary part and/or the coupling piece to close-off the aperture in a substantially gas tight manner, and a release position, in which the movable part is at least partially positioned at a distance from the stationary part, respectively the coupling piece, to allow gas to flow through the aperture, wherein the movable part is biased in the standard position with a safe rated pressure to be moved towards the release position when a gas pressure exerted on the movable part exceeds the safe rated pressure” in the context of intervening claim 1.
No prior art remedies the deficiencies of Holroyd. For at least this reason, claim 1 is nonobvious.
Claims 7-10 are allowable by virtue of their dependency on claim 6.
Regarding claim 11, closest art Holroyd is silent regarding at least “wherein the actuator further comprises a lever that is pivotable with respect to the hollow body between a free position and an actuated position, wherein the lever comprises a contact surface configured to engage with the part of the transfer element that protrudes through the actuation opening to, wherein the lever is, upon movement from the free position to the actuated position, configured to push the transfer element to move the shutter to the open position, in particular against a gas pressure in the gas tank, and wherein the outflow opening is located in between the first end and the second end of the hollow body.”
While lever-actuated gas cylinder valves are shown in currently-cited Wu, this modification is seen to be unwelcome to Holroyd as Holroyd shows an adjustable regulator actuator 72/73. The modification of a lever could be detrimental to the intended operation of Holroyd, and claim 11 is nonobvious for at least this reason.
Regarding claim 16, closest art Holroyd is silent regarding “wherein the filling piece comprises a filling piece biasing element to bias the transfer element away from the inflow opening, away from the shutter.” Holroyd shows a biasing member 71 that urges the transfer member towards the shutter. In other words, Holroyd teaches against this feature.
While biased-away lost motion actuators are understood to be conventional in the art, enacting this modification to Holroyd is nonobvious as Holroyd teaches against this feature.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Devices similar to the application are disclosed by Gretka (US 20210018106), Lammers (US 20180195630), and Droppleman (US 20050001192).
/PATRICK C WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753