DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it should be amended to replace “insatiably” with “insertably.” A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
¶ 27 of the as-filed specification should be amended to recite “a housing body.”
¶¶ 44 (once) and 45 (twice) of the as-filed specification should be amended to recite “the induction heating circuit 104.”
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The incremental ingression insert adjustment device in claims 4 and 12 (element 102 in the disclosure; the interpretation does not apply to the same limitation in claim 6 because that claim provides sufficient structure).
The administration device in claims 6 and 11 (element 120 in the disclosure).
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 3 provides for “a housing body.” However, claim 2 from which it depends already provides for “a housing.” The claim is indefinite because it’s not clear on the difference between the “housing” and the “housing body.” The specification makes clear that the housing is a larger overall structure that encompasses the housing body, but as this claim stands, it seems that the base of the housing is coupled to a separate housing body.
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 102
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (WO 2019/104576 A1, cited by Applicant, the Office supplies its own translation).
Claim 10: Liu discloses an induction heater module housing comprising:
a base (100) with an electrical coupling (110, 112), the base also couplable to a housing body (200) on a first end of the housing body (via 113 and 114, see fig. 1), and a cover (800) couplable to the housing body on a second end of the housing body (see fig. 1 and ¶ 49).
Claim 11: Liu discloses that the housing receives an induction heating circuit (321, 322) and coil (320), and at least a portion of a receptacle (310) configured for receipt of an administration device (310, having a hollow space, is broadly capable of receiving an element that would qualify as an administration device, said administration device not being positively recited; see MPEP § 2144).
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (WO 2019/104576 A1, cited by Applicant, the Office supplies its own translation) in view of Rose (US Pub. 2019/0380387 A1).
Claim 1: Liu discloses an induction heater module comprising:
a threaded connector (112 of 100, see fig. 1) couplable to a power source (¶ 34, “the electrode assembly 100 is used to supply power to the heating assembly 300”; ¶ 50, “the outer electrode 110 includes a first mounting portion 111 and a second mounting portion 112”);
an induction circuit (321, 322) electrically connected to the threaded connector (¶ 37, “the induction coil 320 further includes a first induction coil connection pin 321 and a second induction coil connection pin 322 respectively corresponding to the connection electrode assembly 100”); and
an induction coil (320) electrically connected to the induction circuit.
Liu does not disclose a 510 threaded connector.
However, such a connector is well-known in the art, as for example shown in Rose (116, see ¶¶ 45 and 46, and figs. 1–3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select a 510 threaded connector, as taught by Rose, for the threaded connector of Liu since it has the benefit of being universal, as taught by Rose.
Claim 2: Liu modified by Rose discloses a housing (200) with a base (100) having the 510 threaded connector thereon (i.e. 110, 112).
Claim 3: Liu discloses that the base is configured for coupling to a housing body (200, via 113 and 114) which is couplable to a cover (800).
Claim 5: Liu discloses a base of an induction heater (110) module comprising:
a threaded connector (112) couplable to a power source (¶ 34, “the electrode assembly 100 is used to supply power to the heating assembly 300”; ¶ 50, “the outer electrode 110 includes a first mounting portion 111 and a second mounting portion 112”) and electrically couplable to an induction heating circuit (321, 322) and induction coil (320);
wherein the base comprises a geometry (via 114) which enables press tit attachment of a housing body (200; ¶ 54, “the outer peripheral wall of the first mounting portion 111 that is inserted into the housing 200 is provided with an annular groove that is circumferentially surrounded, and the annular groove is sleeved with a sealing ring 114, which is outside the sealing ring 114. The surface protrudes from the annular groove for achieving an interference fit between the outer electrode 110 and the housing 200”).
Liu does not disclose a 510 threaded connector.
However, such a connector is well-known in the art, as for example shown in Rose (116, see ¶¶ 45 and 46, and figs. 1–3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select a 510 threaded connector, as taught by Rose, for the threaded connector of Liu since it has the benefit of being universal, as taught by Rose.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6–9 are allowed.
Claims 4 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 4, 6, and 12 each concern the same sort of limitations. Claims 7–9 each depend from claim 6.
The prior art does not show an incremental ingression insert adjustment device insertable into an induction coil.
Prior art that adjusts a position of an induction heater is known. See Batista et al. (US Pub. 2022/0338545), Yoon et al. (US Pub. 2022/0295888), Reevell (US Pub. 2020/0245682), Moloney et al. (US Pub. 2022/0408823), and Worm et al. (US Pub. 2019/0289908)
Prior art with induction coils that mesh with thread-like structures are also known. See Monsalud et al. (US Pub. 2020/0077703), Zhou et al. (CN 212233104 U, cited by the Office), and Warren et al. (WO 2020/239812 A1, cited by the Office).
The prior art does not show or suggest these structures combined to arrive at the claimed invention.
Moorman (US Pub. 2020/0128879), Wu et al. (US Pub. 2024/0057673), Kwon (WO 2020/130752 A1, cited by Applicant), and Wu et al. (JP 2019-134701 A, cited by the Office) are also relevant prior art.
Conclusion
/JOHN J NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761