CTNF 18/282,470 CTNF 86558 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 4, 6, 7, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 4 recites the limitation “a first molar ratio of the at least two different monomers” in line 5, which is indefinite because a ratio is a first number divided by a second number, and is expressed as a ratio of the first number to the second number. The first number and the second number of the first molar ratio of the at least two different monomers are unclear. Based on the specification of the instant application (p. 15, l. 6), for further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “a first molar ratio of the at least two different monomers to a total amount of the at least one catalyst”. Claim 4 recites the limitation “a second molar ratio of the at least two different monomers” in lines 8-9, which is indefinite because a ratio is a first number divided by a second number, and is expressed as a ratio of the first number to the second number. The first number and the second number of the second molar ratio of the at least two different monomers are unclear. Based on the specification of the instant application (p. 15, l. 9), for further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “a second molar ratio of the at least two different monomers to a total amount of the at least one catalyst”. Claim 6 recites the limitation “a first molar ratio of the at least two different monomers” in line 4, which is indefinite because a ratio is a first number divided by a second number, and is expressed as a ratio of the first number to the second number. The first number and the second number of the first molar ratio of the at least two different monomers are unclear. Based on the specification of the instant application (p. 15, l. 6), for further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “a first molar ratio of the at least two different monomers to a total amount of the at least one catalyst”. Claim 6 recites the limitation “a second molar ratio of the at least two different monomers” in lines 8-9, which is indefinite because a ratio is a first number divided by a second number, and is expressed as a ratio of the first number to the second number. The first number and the second number of the second molar ratio of the at least two different monomers are unclear. Based on the specification of the instant application (p. 15, l. 9), for further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “a second molar ratio of the at least two different monomers to a total amount of the at least one catalyst”. Claim 7 recites the limitation “a first molar ratio of the at least two different monomers” in line 4, which is indefinite because a ratio is a first number divided by a second number, and is expressed as a ratio of the first number to the second number. The first number and the second number of the first molar ratio of the at least two different monomers are unclear. Based on the specification of the instant application (p. 15, l. 6), for further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “a first molar ratio of the at least two different monomers to a total amount of the at least one catalyst”. Claim 7 recites the limitation “a second molar ratio of the at least two different monomers” in line 8, which is indefinite because a ratio is a first number divided by a second number, and is expressed as a ratio of the first number to the second number. The first number and the second number of the second molar ratio of the at least two different monomers are unclear. Based on the specification of the instant application (p. 15, l. 9), for further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “a second molar ratio of the at least two different monomers to a total amount of the at least one catalyst”. Claim 7 recites the limitation “a third molar ratio of the at least two different monomers” in lines 12-13, which is indefinite because a ratio is a first number divided by a second number, and is expressed as a ratio of the first number to the second number. The first number and the second number of the third molar ratio of the at least two different monomers are unclear. Based on the specification of the instant application (p. 15, l. 13), for further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “a third molar ratio of the at least two different monomers to a total amount of the at least one catalyst”. Claim 10 recites the limitation “a first molar ratio of the two different monomers” in line 5, which is indefinite because a ratio is a first number divided by a second number, and is expressed as a ratio of the first number to the second number. The first number and the second number of the first molar ratio of the at least two different monomers are unclear. Based on the specification of the instant application (p. 15, l. 6), for further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “a first molar ratio of the at least two different monomers to a total amount of the at least one catalyst”. Claim 10 recites the limitation “a second molar ratio of the two different monomers” in lines 8-9, which is indefinite because a ratio is a first number divided by a second number, and is expressed as a ratio of the first number to the second number. The first number and the second number of the second molar ratio of the at least two different monomers are unclear. Based on the specification of the instant application (p. 15, l. 9), for further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “a second molar ratio of the at least two different monomers to a total amount of the at least one catalyst”. Claim 11 recites the limitation “a third molar ratio of the two different monomers” in lines 19-20, which is indefinite because a ratio is a first number divided by a second number, and is expressed as a ratio of the first number to the second number. The first number and the second number of the third molar ratio of the at least two different monomers are unclear. Based on the specification of the instant application (p. 15, l. 13), for further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “a third molar ratio of the two different monomers to a total amount of the at least one catalyst”. Claim 12 recites the limitation “at least one of the at least two different monomers is a cyclic ester selected from the group consisting of: lactide, glycolide, caprolactone, valerolactone, decanolactone, butyrolactone, dodecalactone, octanolactone, and any combination of two or more of the aforementioned compounds or is/are preferably selected from the group consisting of L-lactide, D-lactide, meso-lactide, lactide racemic mixture, glycolide, ε-caprolactone, γ-caprolactone, δ-valerolactone, γ-valerolactone, 5-decanolactone, δ-decanolactone, δ-butyrolactone, δ-dodecalactone, 5-dodecalactone, δ-octanolactone, and any combination thereof“ in lines 2-15, which is indefinite because the term “preferably” makes it unclear if “is/are” “selected from the group consisting of L-lactide, D-lactide, meso-lactide, lactide racemic mixture, glycolide, ε-caprolactone, γ-caprolactone, δ-valerolactone, γ-valerolactone, 5-decanolactone, δ-decanolactone, δ-butyrolactone, δ-dodecalactone, 5-dodecalactone, δ-octanolactone, and any combination thereof’ is required. For further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “at least one of the at least two different monomers is a cyclic ester selected from the group consisting of: lactide, glycolide, caprolactone, valerolactone, decanolactone, butyrolactone, dodecalactone, octanolactone, and any combination of two or more of the aforementioned compounds or is/are selected from the group consisting of L-lactide, D-lactide, meso-lactide, lactide racemic mixture, glycolide, ε-caprolactone, γ-caprolactone, δ-valerolactone, γ-valerolactone, 5-decanolactone, δ-decanolactone, δ-butyrolactone, δ-dodecalactone, 5-dodecalactone, δ-octanolactone, and any combination thereof”. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 3, 8, 9, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gobius Du Sart (US 2017/0240696 A1) . Regarding claims 1, 3, and 12, Gobius Du Sart teaches a method for producing a lactide block copolymer by melt polymerization in the presence of a catalyst from a first lactide monomer and a second lactide monomer, the first and second lactide monomers being different from each other and being selected from L-lactide and D-lactide, wherein the method comprises the following steps: [0020] a. polymerizing the first lactide monomer to provide a first polymerization mixture comprising a polymer of the first lactide monomer and a residual amount of the first lactide monomer [0021], b. adding a first amount of the second lactide monomer to the first polymerization mixture and polymerizing the resulting mixture to provide a second polymerization mixture comprising a copolymer having a polymeric block of the first lactide monomer and a copolymeric block of the first and second lactide monomers [0022], and c. adding a second amount of the second lactide monomer to the second polymerization mixture and polymerizing the resulting mixture to provide a third polymerization mixture comprising a copolymer having a polymeric block of the first lactide monomer, a copolymeric block of the first and second lactide monomers, and a polymeric block of the second lactide monomer [0023], wherein the melt polymerization method is carried out in the presence of a catalyst [0026], wherein it is within the competence of a person skilled in the art to select an appropriate amount of catalyst [0034], wherein the catalyst concentration during polymerization may typically be of at least 25 ppm, based on the total weight of the catalyst with respect to the total amount of monomer and polymer [0034], wherein the catalyst concentration may generally be of at most 1000 ppm [0034], wherein the use of Sn (II)-bis(2-ethylehxanoate) as the catalyst, also referred to as tin octoate, may be preferred [0035], wherein the method may be performed in continuous manner [0043], wherein a continuous method may be preferred [0043], wherein it is within the scope of a skilled person to select appropriate equipment and configurations suitable for performing melt polymerization of lactide in the method [0044], wherein as a mode of example, a method may be performed in several reactors, e.g. connected in series [0044], wherein suitable reactors may include for instance continuously stirred tanks, loop reactors, and plug-flow reactor [0044], wherein the polymerization of step a) is performed at a temperature at which the monomeric lactide and the polymeric lactide are in molten form, and is typically at a temperature form 110 to 275° C [0057[, wherein the lactide monomer is added to the reactor [0058] in step a) [0057], wherein the polymerization catalyst is added to the lactide monomer [0059] in step a) [0057], wherein a first amount of second lactide monomer may be added to the first polymerization mixture in any suitable mode of addition [0079], wherein a single addition may be performed in a continuous process by adding the whole first amount in a single point of addition [0081], wherein several additions may be performed in a continuous process by adding fractions of the first amount of second lactide monomer at different points in a reactor [0083], wherein the polymerization of step b) is performed at a temperature at which monomeric lactide and polymeric lactide are in molten form, and is typically, at a temperature from 110 to 275° C [0087], wherein the second amount of second lactide monomer may be added to the second polymerization mixture in any suitable mode of addition, e.g., in a single addition or over several additions [0097], which reads on a process of continuously manufacturing a poly(hydroxy acid) copolymer comprising: copolymerizing two different monomers, at least one of the two different monomers being a cyclic ester of hydroxy acid, in the presence of one catalyst in a reactor system by ring-opening-polymerization to form the poly(hydroxy acid) copolymer, a molar ratio of a total amount of the two different monomers to a total amount of the one catalyst applied during the ring-opening-polymerization being 2,811 to 112,436, the reactor system comprising in series at least two polymerization reactors being a continuous stirred-tank reactor, a loop reactor, or a plug flow reactor, at least one of the at least two polymerization reactors comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of: at least one mixer and at least one heat transfer element, the reactor system comprising in series at least two different feeding points through each of which a monomer composition is fed into the reactor system, and a first monomer composition being fed to the reactor system through one of the at least two feeding points being different from a second monomer composition being fed into the reactor system through at least one other of the at least two feeding points, wherein a monomer composition comprising a first monomer is fed though one of the at least two feeding points and a monomer composition comprising a second monomer is fed through at least another one of the at least two feeding points, and the first monomer has a different chemical nature than the second monomer, wherein at least one of the two different monomers is a cyclic ester selected from lactide, or is/are preferably selected from L-lactide, D-lactide, and any combination thereof. The molar ratio is based on the calculations (1,000,000 g lactide / 144.126 g/mol lactide) / (25 g Sn (II)-bis(2-ethylehxanoate) / 405.122 g/mol Sn (II)-bis(2-ethylehxanoate)) / = 112,436 and (1,000,000 g lactide / 144.126 g/mol lactide) / (1,000 g Sn (II)-bis(2-ethylehxanoate) / 405.122 g/mol Sn (II)-bis(2-ethylehxanoate)) = 2,811. Gobius Du Sart does not teach with sufficient specificity that a molar ratio of a total amount of the at least two different monomers to a total amount of the at least one catalyst applied during the ring-opening-polymerization being more than 10,000. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize Gobius Du Sart’s catalyst concentration during polymerization to be at least 25 ppm and at most 281 ppm, based on the total weight of Gobius Du Sart’s catalyst with respect to the total amount of Gobius Du Sart‘s monomer and polymer. The proposed modification would read on a molar ratio of a total amount of the two different monomers to a total amount of the one catalyst applied during the ring-opening-polymerization being more than 10,000 as claimed. The molar ratio is on the calculations (1,000,000 g lactide / 144.126 g/mol lactide) / (25 g Sn (II)-bis(2-ethylehxanoate) / 405.122 g/mol Sn (II)-bis(2-ethylehxanoate)) / = 112,436 and (1,000,000 g lactide / 144.126 g/mol lactide) / (281 g Sn (II)-bis(2-ethylehxanoate) / 405.122 g/mol Sn (II)-bis(2-ethylehxanoate)) / = 10,003. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for optimizing the desired rate of production of Gobius Du Sart’s lactide block copolymer in Gobius Du Sart’s method because Gobius Du Sart teaches that the catalyst concentration during polymerization may typically be of at least 25 ppm, based on the total weight of the catalyst with respect to the total amount of monomer and polymer [0034], that it is within the competence of a person skilled in the art to select an appropriate amount of catalyst [0034], that the catalyst concentration may generally be of at most 1000 ppm [0034], that the use of Sn (II)-bis(2-ethylehxanoate) as the catalyst, also referred to as tin octoate, may be preferred [0035], that the monomer is a first lactide monomer and a second lactide monomer [0020], and that the melt polymerization is in the presence of the catalyst [0020], which means that Gobius Du Sart’s catalyst concentration during polymerization in ppm, based on the total weight of Gobius Du Sart’s catalyst with respect to the total amount of Gobius Du Sart‘s monomer and polymer, would have affected the desired rate of production of Gobius Du Sart’s lactide block copolymer in Gobius Du Sart’s method. Regarding claim 8, Gobius Du Sart teaches that the method for producing a lactide block copolymer by melt polymerization in the presence of a catalyst from a first lactide monomer and a second lactide monomer, the first and second lactide monomers being different from each other and being selected from L-lactide and D-lactide, comprises the following steps: [0020] a. polymerizing the first lactide monomer to provide a first polymerization mixture comprising a polymer of the first lactide monomer and a residual amount of the first lactide monomer [0021], b. adding a first amount of the second lactide monomer to the first polymerization mixture and polymerizing the resulting mixture to provide a second polymerization mixture comprising a copolymer having a polymeric block of the first lactide monomer and a copolymeric block of the first and second lactide monomers [0022], and c. adding a second amount of the second lactide monomer to the second polymerization mixture and polymerizing the resulting mixture to provide a third polymerization mixture comprising a copolymer having a polymeric block of the first lactide monomer, a copolymeric block of the first and second lactide monomers, and a polymeric block of the second lactide monomer [0023], that it is within the scope of a skilled person to select appropriate equipment and configurations suitable for performing melt polymerization of lactide in the method [0044], that as a mode of example, a method may be performed in several reactors, e.g. connected in series [0044], that suitable reactors may include for instance continuously stirred tanks, loop reactors, and plug-flow reactor [0044], that the first polymerization mixture comprising a polymer of the first lactide monomer and a residual amount of the first lactide monomer of step a) may be obtained in a different site that the site where subsequent steps b) and c) may be performed [0069], and that the first polymerization mixture may be commercial lactide polymer of L-lactide or of D-lactide, having a residual amount of the lactide monomer used for its preparation [0069], which optionally reads on wherein the reactor system comprises a first feeding point upstream of a most upstream reactor and a second feeding point downstream of the first feeding point and upstream of a next downstream reactor as claimed. Gobius Du Sart does not teach a specific embodiment wherein the reactor system comprises a first feeding point upstream of a most upstream reactor and a second feeding point downstream of the first feeding point and upstream of a next downstream reactor. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select the equipment and configurations for performing melt polymerization of lactide in Gobius Du Sart’s method to be two reactors connected in series, wherein Gobius Du Sart’s first polymerization mixture is a commercial lactide polymer of L-lactide or of D-lactide having a residual amount of the lactide monomer used for its preparation, wherein Gobius Du Sart’s step b) is carried out in the first reactor, and Gobius Du Sart’s step c) is carried out in the second reactor, wherein the two reactors are a continuously stirred tank, loop reactor, or plug-flow reactor. The proposed modification would read on wherein a specific embodiment wherein the reactor system comprises a first feeding point upstream of a most upstream reactor and a second feeding point downstream of the first feeding point and upstream of a next downstream reactor as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for providing a suitable reactor for Gobius Du Sart’s steps b), and c) in Gobius Du Sart’s method, for eliminating the need to carry out Gobius Du Sart’s step a), for providing a suitable reactor that is devoted to each of Gobius Du Sart’s steps b) and c), and for making it easier for Gobius Du Sart’s method to be run continuously because Gobius Du Sart teaches that it is within the scope of a skilled person to select appropriate equipment and configurations suitable for performing melt polymerization of lactide in the method [0044], that as a mode of example, a method may be performed in several reactors, e.g. connected in series [0044], that suitable reactors may include for instance continuously stirred tanks, loop reactors, and plug-flow reactor [0044], that the first polymerization mixture comprising a polymer of the first lactide monomer and a residual amount of the first lactide monomer of step a) may be obtained in a different site that the site where subsequent steps b) and c) may be performed [0069], that the first polymerization mixture may be commercial lactide monomer of L-lactide or of D-lactide, having a residual amount of the lactide monomer used for its preparation [0069], that the method may be performed in continuous manner [0043], that a continuous method may be preferred [0043], that the method comprises the following steps: [0020] a. polymerizing the first lactide monomer to provide a first polymerization mixture comprising a polymer of the first lactide monomer and a residual amount of the first lactide monomer [0021], b. adding a first amount of the second lactide monomer to the first polymerization mixture and polymerizing the resulting mixture to provide a second polymerization mixture comprising a copolymer having a polymeric block of the first lactide monomer and a copolymeric block of the first and second lactide monomers [0022], and c. adding a second amount of the second lactide monomer to the second polymerization mixture and polymerizing the resulting mixture to provide a third polymerization mixture comprising a copolymer having a polymeric block of the first lactide monomer, a copolymeric block of the first and second lactide monomers, and a polymeric block of the second lactide monomer [0023]. Regarding claim 9, Gobius Du Sart teaches that the method for producing a lactide block copolymer by melt polymerization in the presence of a catalyst from a first lactide monomer and a second lactide monomer, the first and second lactide monomers being different from each other and being selected from L-lactide and D-lactide, comprises the following steps: [0020] a. polymerizing the first lactide monomer to provide a first polymerization mixture comprising a polymer of the first lactide monomer and a residual amount of the first lactide monomer [0021], b. adding a first amount of the second lactide monomer to the first polymerization mixture and polymerizing the resulting mixture to provide a second polymerization mixture comprising a copolymer having a polymeric block of the first lactide monomer and a copolymeric block of the first and second lactide monomers [0022], and c. adding a second amount of the second lactide monomer to the second polymerization mixture and polymerizing the resulting mixture to provide a third polymerization mixture comprising a copolymer having a polymeric block of the first lactide monomer, a copolymeric block of the first and second lactide monomers, and a polymeric block of the second lactide monomer [0023], that it is within the scope of a skilled person to select appropriate equipment and configurations suitable for performing melt polymerization of lactide in the method [0044], that as a mode of example, a method may be performed in several reactors, e.g. connected in series [0044], that suitable reactors may include for instance continuously stirred tanks, loop reactors, and plug-flow reactor [0044], that a first amount of second lactide monomer may be added to the first polymerization mixture in any suitable mode of addition [0079], that a single addition may be performed in a continuous process by adding the whole first amount in a single point of addition [0081], that several additions may be performed in a continuous process by adding fractions of the first amount of second lactide monomer at different points in a reactor [0083], and that wherein the second amount of second lactide monomer may be added to the second polymerization mixture in any suitable mode of addition, e.g., in a single addition or over several additions [0097], which optionally reads on wherein the reactor system comprises a first reactor, a second reactor downstream of the first reactor, and a third reactor downstream of the second reactor, a first feeding point is located upstream of the first reactor, a second feeding point is located downstream of the first reactor and upstream of the second reactor, a first feeding point is located upstream of the first reactor, a second feeding point is located downstream of the first reactor and upstream of the second reactor, and a third feeding point is located downstream of the second reactor and upstream of the third reactor as claimed. Gobius Du Sart does not teach a specific embodiment wherein the reactor system comprises a first reactor, a second reactor downstream of the first reactor, and a third reactor downstream of the second reactor, a first feeding point is located upstream of the first reactor, a second feeding point is located downstream of the first reactor and upstream of the second reactor, a first feeding point is located upstream of the first reactor, a second feeding point is located downstream of the first reactor and upstream of the second reactor, and a third feeding point is located downstream of the second reactor and upstream of the third reactor. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select the equipment and configurations for performing melt polymerization of lactide in Gobius Du Sart’s method to be three reactors connected in series, wherein Gobius Du Sart’s step a) is carried out in the first reactor, Gobius Du Sart’s first lactide monomer and catalyst are mixed with each other in a mixer before being added to the first reactor, Gobius Du Sart’s step b) is carried out in the second reactor, fractions of Gobius Du Sart’s first amount of second lactide monomer are added at different points in the second reactor, and Gobius Du Sart’s step c) is carried out in the third reactor, wherein the three reactors are a continuously stirred tank, loop reactor, or plug-flow reactor. The proposed modification would read on wherein the reactor system comprises a first reactor, a second reactor downstream of the first reactor, and a third reactor downstream of the second reactor, a first feeding point is located upstream of the first reactor, a second feeding point is located downstream of the first reactor and upstream of the second reactor, a first feeding point is located upstream of the first reactor, a second feeding point is located downstream of the first reactor and upstream of the second reactor, and a third feeding point is located downstream of the second reactor and upstream of the third reactor as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for providing a suitable reactor for Gobius Du Sart’s steps a), b), and c) in Gobius Du Sart’s method, for improving mixing of Gobius Du Sart’s first lactide monomer and catalyst for Gobius Du Sart’s step a), for providing a suitable reactor that is devoted to each of Gobius Du Sart’s steps a), b), and c), and for making it easier for Gobius Du Sart’s method to be run continuously because Gobius Du Sart teaches that it is within the scope of a skilled person to select appropriate equipment and configurations suitable for performing melt polymerization of lactide in the method [0044], that as a mode of example, a method may be performed in several reactors, e.g. connected in series [0044], that suitable reactors may include for instance continuously stirred tanks, loop reactors, and plug-flow reactor [0044], that the method for producing a lactide block copolymer by melt polymerization in the presence of a catalyst from a first lactide monomer and a second lactide monomer, the first and second lactide monomers being different from each other and being selected from L-lactide and D-lactide, comprises the following steps: [0020] a. polymerizing the first lactide monomer to provide a first polymerization mixture comprising a polymer of the first lactide monomer and a residual amount of the first lactide monomer [0021], b. adding a first amount of the second lactide monomer to the first polymerization mixture and polymerizing the resulting mixture to provide a second polymerization mixture comprising a copolymer having a polymeric block of the first lactide monomer and a copolymeric block of the first and second lactide monomers [0022], and c. adding a second amount of the second lactide monomer to the second polymerization mixture and polymerizing the resulting mixture to provide a third polymerization mixture comprising a copolymer having a polymeric block of the first lactide monomer, a copolymeric block of the first and second lactide monomers, and a polymeric block of the second lactide monomer [0023], that a first amount of second lactide monomer may be added to the first polymerization mixture in any suitable mode of addition [0079], that a single addition may be performed in a continuous process by adding the whole first amount in a single point of addition [0081], that several additions may be performed in a continuous process by adding fractions of the first amount of second lactide monomer at different points in a reactor [0083], and that wherein the second amount of second lactide monomer may be added to the second polymerization mixture in any suitable mode of addition, e.g., in a single addition or over several additions [0097]. Regarding claim 16, Gobius Du Sart teaches that the lactide block copolymer may generally have an absolute weight-average molecular weight from 30 000 to 200 000 g/mol as measured by gel permeation chromatography [0118], which reads on wherein the poly(hydroxy acid) copolymer produced during the ring-opening polymerization has at least one of a weight average molecular weight of 30,000 to 200,000 g/mol as determined by gel permeation chromatography as claimed . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2, 4-7, 10, 11, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gobius Du Sart (US 2017/0240696 A1) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Haan et al. (US 2011/0263799 A1) . Regarding claim 2, Gobius Du Sart renders obvious the process in accordance with claim 1 as explained above. Gobius Du Sart does not teach that a mixed monomer composition comprising a mixture of two or more of the at least two different monomers is fed through at least one of the at least two feeding points. However, Haan teaches cyclic ester monomers [0015] and that suitable monomers include lactide, glycolide, epsilon-caprolactone, p-dioxanone, and mixtures thereof [0033], wherein the cyclic ester monomers are used in a continuous process for the ring-opening polymerization of cyclic ester monomers comprising [0015] continuously providing cyclic ester monomer and polymerization catalyst in a continuous mixing reactor to form a pre-polymerized reaction mixture [0016], continuously removing the pre-polymerized reaction mixture from the continuous mixing reactor, continuously providing pre-polymerized reaction mixture to a plug flow reactor to polymerize the pre-polymerized reaction mixture [0017], and continuously removing polymer from the plug flow reactor [0018]. Gobius Du Sart and Haan are analogous art because both references are in the same field of endeavor of a process of continuously manufacturing a poly(hydroxy acid) polymer comprising polymerizing monomers that comprise a cyclic ester of hydroxy acid in the presence of at least one catalyst in a reactor system, the reactor system comprising in series at least two polymerization reactors. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Haan’s glycolide, epsilon-caprolactone, p-dioxanone, or a mixture thereof to substitute for a fraction of Gobius Du Sart’s first lactide monomer in Gobius Du Sart’s step a), and/or to substitute for a fraction of Gobius Du Sart’s first amount of second lactide monomer in Gobius Du Sart’s step b), and/or to substitute for a fraction of Gobius Du Sart’s second amount of second lactide monomer in Gobius Du Sart’s step c). The proposed modification would read on wherein a mixed monomer composition comprising a mixture of two or more of the at least two different monomers is fed through at least one of the at least two feeding points as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for modifying biocompatibility, resorbability, degradability, stiffness, heat resistance, and/or toughness of the resulting copolymer because Haan teaches that cyclic ester monomers [0015] that are lactide, glycolide, epsilon-caprolactone, p-dioxanone, or mixtures thereof [0033] are beneficial for being useful in a continuous process for the ring-opening polymerization of cyclic ester monomers [0015], that aliphatic polyester based on cyclic ester monomers such as lactide, glycolide, epsilon-caprolactone, p-dioxanone, and combinations thereof have many attractive properties [0004], that they often have high biocompatibility and attractive resorbability properties [0004], that in particular, polylactide is a promising material in the field of biobased polymers for packaging material [0004], and that the fact that it can be derived from renewable resources makes it particularly attractive as a sustainable alternative for polymers derived from oil [0004], and because Gobius Du Sart teaches that the method for producing a lactide block copolymer by melt polymerization in the presence of a catalyst from a first lactide monomer and a second lactide monomer comprises the following steps: [0020] a. polymerizing the first lactide monomer to provide a first polymerization mixture comprising a polymer of the first lactide monomer and a residual amount of the first lactide monomer [0021], b. adding a first amount of the second lactide monomer to the first polymerization mixture and polymerizing the resulting mixture to provide a second polymerization mixture comprising a copolymer having a polymeric block of the first lactide monomer and a copolymeric block of the first and second lactide monomers [0022], and c. adding a second amount of the second lactide monomer to the second polymerization mixture and polymerizing the resulting mixture to provide a third polymerization mixture comprising a copolymer having a polymeric block of the first lactide monomer, a copolymeric block of the first and second lactide monomers, and a polymeric block of the second lactide monomer [0023], that biobased polymers are interesting as alternatives to petroleum-derived materials [0002], that biobased polymers are attractive both for their degradability and for the factor that they can be obtained from renewable resources [0002], that polylactide has drawn particular attention as a polymer that can be degraded under industrial composting conditions [0002], that the raw material for producing polylactic acid can be obtained from sugars derived from the agricultural industry [0002], that polylactic acid has attractive properties, such as high stiffness and the factor that it can be melt processed [0003], and that polylactic acid generally suffers from low heat resistance and low toughness [0003]. Regarding claim 4, Gobius Du Sart renders obvious the process in accordance with claim 1 as explained above. Gobius Du Sart teaches that the method for producing a lactide block copolymer by melt polymerization in the presence of a catalyst from a first lactide monomer and a second lactide monomer, the first and second lactide monomers being different from each other and being selected from L-lactide and D-lactide, wherein the method comprises the following steps: [0020] a. polymerizing the first lactide monomer to provide a first polymerization mixture comprising a polymer of the first lactide monomer and a residual amount of the first lactide monomer [0021], b. adding a first amount of the second lactide monomer to the first polymerization mixture and polymerizing the resulting mixture to provide a second polymerization mixture comprising a copolymer having a polymeric block of the first lactide monomer and a copolymeric block of the first and second lactide monomers [0022], and c. adding a second amount of the second lactide monomer to the second polymerization mixture and polymerizing the resulting mixture to provide a third polymerization mixture comprising a copolymer having a polymeric block of the first lactide monomer, a copolymeric block of the first and second lactide monomers, and a polymeric block of the second lactide monomer [0023], that a first amount of the second lactide monomer in the method may be from 1 to 50 wt. % relative to the total amount of lactide monomer [0074], and that a second amount of the second lactide monomer may be from 1 to 50 wt. % relative to the total amount of lactide monomer [0092]. Gobius Du Sart does not teach that a first mixed monomer composition comprising a mixture of two or more of the at least two different monomers with a first molar ratio of at least two different monomers is fed through one of the at least two feeding points and a second mixed monomer composition comprising a mixture of the at least two different monomers with a second molar ratio of the at least two different monomers is fed through another one of the at least two feedings points, and the first molar ratio is different from the second molar ratio. However, Haan teaches cyclic ester monomers [0015] and that suitable monomers include lactide, glycolide, epsilon-caprolactone, p-dioxanone, and mixtures thereof [0033], wherein the cyclic ester monomers are used in a continuous process for the ring-opening polymerization of cyclic ester monomers comprising [0015] continuously providing cyclic ester monomer and polymerization catalyst in a continuous mixing reactor to form a pre-polymerized reaction mixture [0016], continuously removing the pre-polymerized reaction mixture from the continuous mixing reactor, continuously providing pre-polymerized reaction mixture to a plug flow reactor to polymerize the pre-polymerized reaction mixture [0017], and continuously removing polymer from the plug flow reactor [0018]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use a first of Haan’s glycolide, epsilon-caprolactone, or p-dioxanone to substitute for a fraction of Gobius Du Sart’s first lactide monomer in Gobius Du Sart’s step a), to use a second and different one of Haan’s glycolide, epsilon-caprolactone, or p-dioxanone to substitute for a fraction of Gobius Du Sart’s first amount of second lactide monomer in Gobius Du Sart’s step b), and to use a third and different one of Haan’s glycolide, epsilon-caprolactone, or p-dioxanone to substitute for a fraction of Gobius Du Sart’s second amount of second lactide monomer in Gobius Du Sart’s step c), such that the amount of the monomers in Gobius Du Sart’s steps a), b), and c) are different from each other. The proposed modification would read on wherein a first mixed monomer composition comprising a mixture of two or more of the at least two different monomers with a first molar ratio of the at least two different monomers is fed through one of the at least two feeding points, and a second mixed monomer composition comprising a mixture of the at least two different monomers with a second molar ratio of the at least two different monomers is fed through another one of the at least two feeding points, and the first molar ratio is different from the second molar ratio as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for modifying biocompatibility, resorbability, degradability, stiffness, heat resistance, and/or toughness of the resulting copolymer because Haan teaches that cyclic ester monomers [0015] that are lactide, glycolide, epsilon-caprolactone, p-dioxanone, or mixtures thereof [0033] are beneficial for being useful in a continuous process for the ring-opening polymerization of cyclic ester monomers [0015], that aliphatic polyester based on cyclic ester monomers such as lactide, glycolide, epsilon-caprolactone, p-dioxanone, and combinations thereof have many attractive properties [0004], that they often have high biocompatibility and attractive resorbability properties [0004], that in particular, polylactide is a promising material in the field of biobased polymers for packaging material [0004], and that the fact that it can be derived from renewable resources makes it particularly attractive as a sustainable alternative for polymers derived from oil [0004], and because Gobius Du Sart teaches that the method for producing a lactide block copolymer by melt polymerization in the presence of a catalyst from a first lactide monomer and a second lactide monomer comprises the following steps: [0020] a. polymerizing the first lactide monomer to provide a first polymerization mixture comprising a polymer of the first lactide monomer and a residual amount of the first lactide monomer [0021], b. adding a first amount of the second lactide monomer to the first polymerization mixture and polymerizing the resulting mixture to provide a second polymerization mixture comprising a copolymer having a polymeric block of the first lactide monomer and a copolymeric block of the first and second lactide monomers [0022], and c. adding a second amount of the second lactide monomer to the second polymerization mixture and polymerizing the resulting mixture to provide a third polymerization mixture comprising a copolymer having a polymeric block of the first lactide monomer, a copolymeric block of the first and second lactide monomers, and a polymeric block of the second lactide monomer [0023], that a first amount of the second lactide monomer in the method may be from 1 to 50 wt. % relative to the total amount of lactide monomer [0074], that a second amount of the second lactide monomer may be from 1 to 50 wt. % relative to the total amount of lactide monomer [0092], that biobased polymers are interesting as alternatives to petroleum-derived materials [0002], that biobased polymers are attractive both for their degradability and for the factor that they can be obtained from renewable resources [0002], that polylactide has drawn particular attention as a polymer that can be degraded under industrial composting conditions [0002], that the raw material for producing polylactic acid can be obtained from sugars derived from the agricultural industry [0002], that polylactic acid has attractive properties, such as high stiffness and the factor that it can be melt processed [0003], and that polylactic acid generally suffers from low heat resistance and low toughness [0003]. Regarding claim 5, Gobius Du Sart renders obvious the process in accordance with claim 1 as explained above. Gobius Du Sart teaches that the method for producing a lactide block copolymer by melt polymerization in the presence of a catalyst from a first lactide monomer and a second lactide monomer, the first and second lactide monomers being different from each other and being selected from L-lactide and D-lactide, wherein the method comprises the following steps: [0020] a. polymerizing the first lactide monomer to provide a first polymerization mixture comprising a polymer of the first lactide monomer and a residual amount of the first lactide monomer [0021], b. adding a first amount of the second lactide monomer to the first polymerization mixture and polymerizing the resulting mixture to provide a second polymerization mixture comprising a copolymer having a polymeric block of the first lactide monomer and a copolymeric block of the first and second lactide monomers [0022], and c. adding a second amount of the second lactide monomer to the second polymerization mixture and polymerizing the resulting mixture to provide a third polymerization mixture comprising a copolymer having a polymeric block of the first lactide monomer, a copolymeric block of the first and second lactide monomers, and a polymeric block of the second lactide monomer [0023], that the lactide monomer is added to the reactor [0058] in step a) [0057], that the polymerization catalyst is added to the lactide monomer [0059] in step a) [0057], that a first amount of second lactide monomer may be added to the first polymerization mixture in any suitable mode of addition [0079], that a single addition may be performed in a continuous process by adding the whole first amount in a single point of addition [0081], that several additions may be performed in a continuous process by adding fractions of the first amount of second lactide monomer at different points in a reactor [0083], and that the second amount of second lactide monomer may be added to the second polymerization mixture in any suitable mode of addition, e.g., in a single addition or over several additions [0097], which reads on wherein the reactor system comprises in series at least three different feeding points through each of which a monomer composition is fed into the reactor system as claimed. Gobius Du Sart does not teach that a mixed monomer composition is fed, which contains two or more of the at least two different monomers, through at least one of the at least three different feeding points. However, Haan teaches cyclic ester monomers [0015] and that suitable monomers include lactide, glycolide, epsilon-caprolactone, p-dioxanone, and mixtures thereof [0033], wherein the cyclic ester monomers are used in a continuous process for the ring-opening polymerization of cyclic ester monomers comprising [0015] continuously providing cyclic ester monomer and polymerization catalyst in a continuous mixing reactor to form a pre-polymerized reaction mixture [0016], continuously removing the pre-polymerized reaction mixture from the continuous mixing reactor, continuously providing pre-polymerized reaction mixture to a plug flow reactor to polymerize the pre-polymerized reaction mixture [0017], and continuously removing polymer from the plug flow reactor [0018]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Haan’s glycolide, epsilon-caprolactone, p-dioxanone, or a mixture thereof to substitute for a fraction of Gobius Du Sart’s first lactide monomer in Gobius Du Sart’s step a), and/or to substitute for a fraction of Gobius Du Sart’s first amount of second lactide monomer in Gobius Du Sart’s step b), and/or to substitute for a fraction of Gobius Du Sart’s second amount of second lactide monomer in Gobius Du Sart’s step c). The proposed modification would read on wherein a