DETAILED ACTION
In response to remarks filed on 19 December 2025
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 are pending;
Claim 1 is currently amended;
Claims 2-18 were previously presented;
Claims 1-18 are rejected herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 19 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are moot since a new base reference is being used to reject the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 1, the claim recites “for supporting at least two tanks”. It is unclear if these tanks are part of the “plurality of rigid tanks” claimed before. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites “for supporting a tank from below”. It is unclear if this tank is part of the “plurality of rigid tanks” and “at least two tanks” claimed before. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites “positioning a tank from above”. It is unclear if this tank is part of the “plurality of rigid tanks” and “at least two tanks” claimed before. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites “secure a tank”. It is unclear if this tank is part of the “plurality of rigid tanks” and “at least two tanks” claimed before. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites “and with tanks positioned”. It is unclear if this tank is part of the “plurality of rigid tanks” and “at least two tanks” claimed before. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites “the frame structure”. It is unclear if this refers to the “first frame structure”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites “at least a frame structure”. It is unclear if applicant means “at least one frame structure”. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 2, the claim recites “a tank”. It is unclear if this tank is part of the “plurality of rigid tanks” in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 recites “comprises at least two cradles”. It is unclear if this refers to the “at least one rigid cradle” of claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 12, the claim recites “a tank”. It is unclear if this tank is part of the “plurality of rigid tanks” in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 16, the claim recites “a number of tanks”. It is unclear if this tank is part of the “plurality of rigid tanks” in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
The dependent claims are also rejected for depending on a rejected independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Northcott et al (U.S. Patent No. 6,254,309) in view of Fernandez et al (U.S. Patent No. 4,190,072).
As to Claim 1, Northcott discloses a subsea system comprising:
At least a first frame structure (24) for horizontal storage of a rigid tank (22) subsea, the tank having positive buoyancy in water;
Wherein the first frame structure (24) has a negative buoyancy in water and comprises at least two storage positions (28) for supporting a tank (22);
Wherein the storage positions (28) are arranged side by side (Figure 6) in one level and each storage position comprises at least one rigid cradle (28) for supporting a tank from below; and
Wherein in use of the subsea system, the tank (22) is secured to the frame (24) by a fastening device (30) having a first state and a second state, wherein:
When in the first state (When 30 is open), the fastening device (30) is configured to permit positioning of a tank (22) from above into the at least one cradle (28); and
When in the second state (When 30 is closed and around the tank), the fastening device (30) is configured to secure a tank (22) positioned in the at least one cradle (28) in a radial direction of the tank (22) to prevent movement of the tank in a vertical upward direction; and
Wherein a total buoyancy of the system when submerged in water, and with the tank (22) positioned in each of the storage positions (28), is negative.
However, Northcott is silent about wherein the first frame structure has a negative buoyancy in water and comprises at least two storage positions for supporting at least two tanks; wherein the storage positions are arranged side by side in one level and each storage position comprises at least one rigid cradle for supporting a tank from below, and wherein in use of the subsea system, the tanks are secured to the frame structure by a fastening device. Fernandez discloses a first frame structure with a negative buoyancy in water that comprises at least two storage positions (Annotated figure A, “storage positions / cradles”) for supporting at least two tanks (40, 42, 44); wherein the storage positions are arranged side by side in one level and each storage position comprises at least one rigid cradle (Annotated figure A, “storage positions / cradles”) for supporting a tank (40, 42, 44) from below and wherein in use of the subsea system, the tanks are secured to the frame structure by a fastening device (54). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have first frame structure comprise at least two storage positions for supporting at least two tanks; wherein the storage positions are arranged side by side in one level and each storage position comprising at least one rigid cradle for supporting a tank from below, and wherein in use of the subsea system, the tanks are secured to the frame structure by a fastening device. The modification would be made by duplicating the structure of Northcott joined side by side. The motivation would have been to increase the storage capacity of the system.
As to Claim 2, Northcott as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Northcott as modified also teaches wherein each storage position comprises at least two cradles (28) arranged at a distance from each other in a longitudinal direction of a tank (22) supported by the cradles.
As to Claim 3, Northcott as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Northcott as modified also teaches wherein the at least one cradle (28) has a semi-circular shape.
As to Claim 4, Northcott as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Northcott as modified also teaches wherein one of said at least one cradle (28) and the fastening device (30) when connected (indirectly), form a closed opening with a circular cross-section (Figure 5).
As to Claim 5, Northcott as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Northcott as modified also teaches wherein the fastening device (30) is fixedly connected to one a first end of the at least one cradle (28) and releasably connectable to another a second end of the at least one cradle (All elements are connected to one another, indirectly or directly).
As to Claim 6, Northcott as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). However, Northcott as modified is silent about a support surface for supporting a second frame structure thereon and one or more guiding devices for assisting in installing the second frame structure vertically onto the support surface. Fernandez further discloses further comprising a support surface (Top surface of 46) for supporting a second frame structure (58) thereon and one or more guiding devices for assisting in installing the second frame structure vertically onto the support surface (Column 3, Lines 28-34: “Typically, the entire storage assembly may be lowered in place by using a derrick mounted on a barge. Alternatively, the skid may be first lowered in place and each tank lowered separately. Once the entire assembly is on the bottom of the sea, the piles are driven into place to secure it against movement due, for example, to waves or other water disturbances”. The device used to lower is the guiding device). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a support surface for supporting a second frame structure thereon and one or more guiding devices for assisting in installing the second frame structure vertically onto the support surface. The motivation would have been to increase the structural quality of the apparatus.
As to Claim 7, Northcott as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Northcott as modified also teaches wherein each storage position comprises a stopping device (54, 56) for securing the tank (22) in a longitudinal direction of the tank.
As to Claim 8, Northcott as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Northcott as modified also teaches further comprising a second frame structure (46) arranged on top of the first frame structure (24); wherein the second frame structure is secured to the first frame structure (via 42).
As to Claim 9, Northcott as modified teaches the invention of Claim 8 (Refer to Claim 8 discussion). Northcott as modified also teaches wherein the second frame structure (46) is equal (They are both submarine structures) to the first frame structure (24).
As to Claim 10, Northcott as modified teaches the invention of Claim 8 (Refer to Claim 8 discussion). Northcott as modified also teaches wherein the fastening device (30) is provided on an underside of the second frame structure (46).
As to Claim 11, Northcott as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Northcott as modified also teaches further comprising a cover (81) on an uppermost one of said at least one frame structure.
As to Claim 12, Northcott as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Northcott as modified also teaches wherein the fastening device comprises a first protection sleeve (64) configured to be fixedly connected both to a first end of a tank positioned in one of the cradles and to the first frame structure (They are indirectly fixedly connected); and a second protection sleeve (62) configured to be slidably connected relative a second end of the tank positioned in the cradle and fixedly connected to the first frame structure (They are indirectly fixedly connected).
As to Claim 13, Northcott as modified teaches the invention of Claim 12 (Refer to Claim 12 discussion). Northcott as modified also teaches wherein the second protection sleeve (62) is configured to be slidably connected to a flange (66) which is fixedly connected to the second end of the tank (They are indirectly fixedly connected).
As to Claim 14, Northcott as modified teaches the invention of Claim 12 (Refer to Claim 12 discussion). Northcott as modified also teaches wherein the first protection sleeve (64) is formed of a first part (Half of 64) and a second part (Other half of 64) and wherein the first part and the second part form a circular opening when connected (They provide a circular opening while connected to accommodate the tank).
As to Claim 15, Northcott as modified teaches the invention of Claim 14 (Refer to Claim 14 discussion). Northcott as modified also teaches wherein the second protection sleeve (62) is formed of a first part (Half of 62) and a second part (Other half of 62), and wherein the first part and the second part form a circle when connected (They provide a circular opening while connected to accommodate the tank).
As to Claim 16, Northcott discloses a method of storing a number of tanks on a seabed, comprising positioning and securing the tanks (22) in corresponding storage positions in a system according to Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion); and submerging the system, with the tanks secured therein, into water and down onto a seabed (Figure 1).
As to Claim 17, Northcott as modified teaches the invention of Claim 16 (Refer to Claim 16 discussion). However, Northcott as modified is silent about further comprising submerging a second frame structure into the water and positioning the second frame structure on top of the first frame structure. Fernandez further discloses further comprising submerging a second frame structure into the water and positioning the second frame structure (58) on top of the first frame structure (46). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to submerge a second frame structure into the water and positioning the second frame structure on top of the first frame structure. The motivation would have been to increase the structural quality of the apparatus.
As to Claim 18, Northcott as modified teaches the invention of Claim 16 (Refer to Claim 16 discussion). However, Northcott as modified is silent about prior to the step of submerging the first frame structure into the water, the steps of positioning a second frame structure onto the first frame structure; and connecting the second frame structure to the first frame structure. Fernandez further discloses further comprising, prior to the step of submerging the first frame structure into the water, the steps of positioning a second frame structure (58) onto the first frame structure; and connecting the second frame structure to the first frame structure (Column 3, Lines 28-34: “Typically, the entire storage assembly may be lowered in place by using a derrick mounted on a barge. Alternatively, the skid may be first lowered in place and each tank lowered separately. Once the entire assembly is on the bottom of the sea, the piles are driven into place to secure it against movement due, for example, to waves or other water disturbances”). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the step of submerging the first frame structure into the water, position a second frame structure (58) onto the first frame structure; and connect the second frame structure to the first frame structure. The motivation would have been to increase the structural quality of the apparatus.
Figure A. Underwater storage system (Fernandez)
Conclusion
/EDWIN J TOLEDO-DURAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678