DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claim recites “controlling an operation of the lithium-sulfur battery based on the state of health,” but said limitation is not supported in the original disclosure. Further explaining, the Fig. 3 describes estimating the SOH, but it is the final step, and there is no further support for controlling as claimed.
Previous 112(b) rejection is withdrawn in view of the Applicant’ amendment filed on 05/19/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
4. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without being integrated into a practical application and do not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Utilizing the two-step process adopted by the Supreme Court (Alice Corp vs CLS Bank Int'l, US Supreme Court, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014) and the recent 101 guideline, Federal Register Vol. 84, No., Jan 2019)), determination of the subject matter eligibility under the 35 USC 101 is as follows: Specifically, the Step 1 requires claim belongs to one of the four statutory categories (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). If Step 1 is satisfied, then in the first part of Step 2A (Prong one), identification of any judicial recognized exceptions in the claim is made. If any limitation in the claim is identified as judicial recognized exception, then proceeding to the second part of Step 2A (Prong two), determination is made whether the identified judicial exception is being integrated into practical application. If the identified judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, then in Step 2B, the claim is further evaluated to see if the additional elements, individually and in combination, provide “inventive concept” that would amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. If the element and combination of elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial recognized exception itself, then the claim is ineligible under the 35 USC 101.
Looking at the claims, the claims satisfy the first part of the test 1A, namely the claims are directed to one of the four statutory class, method. In Step 2A Prong one, we next identify any judicial exceptions in the claims. In Claim 1 (as a representative example), we recognize that the limitations “calculating ΔОСV by subtracting the OCV (det) from OCV (ini) previously measured in the same manner as in steps a) and b) at an initial stage of use of the target battery, and d) estimating a state of health (%) of the battery from a magnitude of the ΔОСV,” are abstract ideas as they involve mental process, under the BRI. Similar rejections are made for other dependent claims. Additionally, the dependent claims 2, 4 and 7, 8 are abstract ideas as they recite mathematical concepts (e.g. equations, etc). With the identification of abstract ideas, we proceed to Step 2A, Prong two, where with additional elements and taken as a whole, we evaluate whether the identified abstract idea is being integrated into a practical application.
In Step 2A, Prong two, the claims additionally recite “a) maintaining a rest state for 0.01 seconds or more in a state in which a target battery for estimating the state of health is fully charged; b) measuring OCV (det) in a state in which a voltage drop is made during the rest state,” but said limitations, recited at high level of generality, are merely directed to insignificant data collection activity. The claims also recite “controlling an operation of the lithium-sulfur battery based on the state of health,” but said limitation, recited at high level of generality, is an insignificant post-solution activity. The claims do not improve the functioning of any computers or devices and do not improve other technology. At most, the claims are an improvement in the abstract idea of estimating the SOH. However, improved or new abstract ideas are still abstract ideas, and not eligible. As such, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application. Consequently, with the identified abstract idea not being integrated into a practical application, we proceed to Step 2B and evaluate whether the additional elements provide “inventive concept” that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
In Step 2B, the claims additionally recite “a) maintaining a rest state for 0.01 seconds or more in a state in which a target battery for estimating the state of health is fully charged; b) measuring OCV(det) in a state in which a voltage drop is made during the rest state,” but said limitations, recited at high level of generality, are merely directed to insignificant data collection activity, that are well-understood, routine and conventional. The claims also recite “controlling an operation of the lithium-sulfur battery based on the state of health,” but said limitation, recited at high level of generality, is an insignificant post-solution activity, without a particular end use, that is also well-understood, routine and conventional. As such, the claims do not provide additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
In Summary, the claims recite abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application, and do not provide additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As such, taken as a whole, the claims are ineligible under the 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al., US-PGPUB 2020/0088807 (hereinafter Ikeda) in view of Naha et al., US-PGPUB 2021/0063490 (hereinafter Naha) and Zuo, US-PGPUB 2024/0319307 (hereinafter Zuo)
Regarding Claim 1. Ikeda discloses a) maintaining a rest state for 0.01 seconds or more in a state in which a target battery for estimating the state of health is fully charged (Fig. 3, charging period followed by the resting period in time (h));
b) measuring OCV (det) in a state in which a voltage drop is made during the rest state (Fig. 3, OCVs during the resting period), c) calculating ΔОСV by subtracting the OCV (det) from OCV (ini) previously measured in the same manner as in steps a) and b) at an initial stage of use of the target battery (Fig. 3, ΔОСV during the resting period),
Ikeda does not disclose estimating a state of health (%) of the battery from a magnitude of the ΔОСV, and controlling an operation of the lithium-sulfur battery based on the state of health.
Naha discloses estimating a state of health (%) of the battery from a magnitude of the ΔОСV (Paragraphs [0064]-[0070], equations 5 and 6 and Paragraph [0071], SOH may be a percentage value; Abstract; Paragraph [0004]).
Zuo discloses controlling an operation of the lithium-sulfur battery based on the state of health (Paragraph [0052], lithium sulfur battery; Paragraph [0046])
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Naha and Zuo in Ikeda and estimate a state of health (%) of the battery from a magnitude of the ΔОСV, with accuracy and control an operation of the lithium-sulfur battery based on the state of health, so as to enhance stability of battery performance and extend battery’s service life.
Regarding Claim 2. Ikeda discloses the negative correlation function between ΔОСV and SOC (Figs. 4A, 7A), where it’s obvious that SOH would behave similarly
Ikeda does not explicitly disclose negative correlation function between the state of health (%) of the lithium-sulfur battery and the magnitude of ΔОСV.
Naha discloses estimating of the state of health (%) of the battery in step d) is performed using a negative correlation function between the state of health (%) of the lithium-sulfur battery and the magnitude of ОСV (Paragraph [0071], Fig. 2D, SOH decreasing with changing in OCV increase. Paragraphs [0064]-[0069], where ΔОСV(n)=OCV(kn)-OCV(ko), and ΔОСV(1)=OCV(k1)-OCV(ko), ΔОСV(2)=OCV(k2)-OCV(ko), and plotting the increasing ΔОСV(n)’s, against the decreasing SOH, where n = 1, 2, 3….. would result in figure such as Fig. 2D, a negative correlation function)
As such, it would have been obvious to use the teachings of Naha and Ikeda and show negative correlation function between the state of health (%) of the lithium-sulfur battery and the magnitude of ΔОСV and determine SOH with accuracy.
Regarding Claim 6. Ikeda discloses the initial stage in step c) is from the first use of the battery to a timepoint when a deterioration rate of the battery is within 10% (Paragraph [0059], discharged is performed by 10%).
Regarding Claim 8. Ikeda discloses OCV(ini) is OCV measured after the battery is maintained in the rest state for 0.01 seconds or more in the state in which the battery is fully charged at the initial stage of the use of the battery, the OCV(det) is OCV measured after the target battery is maintained in the rest state for the same period as the rest state maintaining period in the state in which the target battery is fully charged (Fig. 3)
Okeda does not disclose wherein the estimating of the state of health (%) of the
battery from the magnitude of ΔОСV in step d) is performed by the following Equation 2:
[Equation 2]
where j is the highest dimension of a polynomial function, aᵢ is a coefficient of an i-th order term, and c is a value of SoH (%) corresponding to OCV (ini).
Naha discloses ΔОСV(n)=OCV(kn)-OCV(ko), and ΔОСV(1)=OCV(k1)-OCV(ko), ΔОСV(2)=OCV(k2)-OCV(ko), where n = 1, 2, 3….. to determine SOH, and Fig. 2D (Paragraphs [0063]-[0071]). In other words, the cumulative ΔОСV(n)s are used, as a whole to determine SOH. As such, it would have been obvious to arrive at Equation [2], since said equation is merely a mathematical expression of the overall ΔОСV(n)s to arrive at SOH, taking into account initial SOH corresponding to OCV(ini) that obviously exists.
Regarding Claim 9. Ikeda discloses the rest state in step a) is maintained for 0.01 seconds to 3 minutes (Fig. 3)
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al., US-PGPUB 2020/0088807 in views of Naha, US-PGPUB 2021/0063490 and Zuo, US-PGPUB 2024/0319307 and Han et al., US-PGPUB 2021/0255246 (hereinafter Han) (cited by the Applicant)
Regarding Claim 3. Ikeda discloses wherein the estimating of the state of health (%) of the battery in step d) is performed by a method of comparing the measured ΔОСV with SOC.
The modified Ikeda does not disclose comparing the measured a state of health (%) mapping reference of the battery prepared in advance and corresponding to the magnitude of ΔОСV
Naja discloses comparing the measured a state of health (%) mapping reference of the battery prepared in advance and corresponding to the magnitude of ΔОСV (Paragraphs [0064]-[0071]; Fig. 2D). As further evidence, Han also discloses “mapping” reference of the battery prepared in advance and corresponding to the magnitude of ΔОСV (Paragraph [0132], mapping SOH to ΔОСV (Paragraph [0132], mapping relationship between variation in OCV with SOH, Fig. 6, Paragraph [0144])
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Naha (and Han) in the modified Ikeda and compare the measured a state of health (%) mapping reference of the battery prepared in advance and corresponding to the magnitude of ΔОСV, and determine SOH with accuracy.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al., US-PGPUB 2020/0088807 in views of Naha, US-PGPUB 2021/0063490 Zuo, US-PGPUB 2024/0319307 and Han, US-PGPUB 2021/0255246 as applied to Claim 3 above, and further in view of Kim, US-PGPUB 2015/0120225 (hereinafter Kim)
Regarding Claim 4. Ikeda discloses repeating full charging and full discharging of a battery manufactured in the same manner (Paragraph [0074], repeating charging-discharging)
The modified Ikeda does not explicitly disclose wherein the state of health (%) mapping reference of the battery corresponding to the magnitude of ΔОСV is data created by repeating full charging and full discharging of a battery manufactured in the same manner as the target battery for estimating the state of health to obtain state of health (%) (SoH (%)) data of the battery according to Equation 1 in each charging/discharging cycle, obtaining ΔОСV data in the same manner as the above manner, and matching these data to each other in a one-to-one manner,
[Equation 1] SoH (%) = [C(det)/C(ini)] X 100
wherein C(ini) refers to a usable capacity of the battery before being deteriorated, and
C(det) refers to a usable capacity of the battery after being deteriorated.
Kim discloses [Equation 1] SoH (%) = [C(det)/C(ini)] X 100 (Fig. 4; Abstract; Paragraphs [0061]-[0081])
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Kim in the modified Ikeda and wherein the state of health (%) mapping reference of the battery corresponding to the magnitude of ΔОСV is data created by repeating full charging and full discharging of a battery manufactured in the same manner as the target battery for estimating the state of health to obtain state of health (%) (SoH (%)) data of the battery according to Equation 1 in each charging/discharging cycle, obtaining ΔОСV data in the same manner as the above manner, and matching these data to each other in a one-to-one manner,
[Equation 1] SoH (%) = [C(det)/C(ini)] X 100, wherein C(ini) refers to a usable capacity of the battery before being deteriorated, and C(det) refers to a usable capacity of the battery after being deteriorated, so as to determine SOH with accuracy.
Regarding Claim 5. Naha discloses wherein the state of health mapping reference is a graph showing SoH (%) on a y-axis and the magnitude of ΔОСV on an x-axis or a lookup table in which SoH (%) and the magnitude of ΔОСV corresponding to SoH (%) are matched to each other in a one-to-one manner (Paragraphs [0063]-[0071]; Fig. 2D). Note: while Naha does not explicitly disclose a graph showing SOH on a y-axis and the ΔОСV in x-axis, it would have been obvious to do so, as said graph is merely a visual representation of the relationship between SOH and ΔОСV, absent criticality, based on one’s designer’s choice.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response in regard to the 101, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Section 101 provides that anyone who “invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof" may obtain a patent. The Supreme Court has repeatedly emphasized that patent protection should not extend to claims that monopolize “the basic tools of scientific and technological work.” Gottschalk vs Benson, 409 US 63, 67, 93 S. Ct. 253, 34 L. Edd. 2d 273 [175 USPQ 673] (1972)). Accordingly, laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are not patent-eligible subject matter. Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2354.
The 101 subject matter eligibility analysis begins with the claimed language (see Synopsis vs Mentor Graphics, 120 USPQ2d 1473 839 F.3d 1138 (Fed. Cir. 2016), Id., at 1481 “The 101 inquiry must focus on the language of the Asserted Claims themselves.”), followed by identifying the focus or underlying invention (see Bancorp Servs., LLC v. Sun Life Assurance Co. of Can., 687 F.3d 1266, 1278 [103 USPQ2d 1425] (Fed. Cir. 2012), Id., at 1431-1432, “Subsequently, however, we explained in CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc. that we look not just to the type of claim but also “to the underlying invention for patent-eligibility purposes.” 654 F.3d 1366, 1374 [99 USPQ2d 1690] (Fed. Cir. 2011). Looking at the claims in the instant application, the claim recites the abstract idea of “estimating a state of health of a lithium sulfur battery,”
Here, note that the Supreme Court has emphatically rejected the idea that claims become patent eligible simply because they disclose a specific solution to a particular problem (Supreme Court, Alice Corp v CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ 2d 1976 at 1985; DDR Holding, 773 F.3d at 1265)). In other words, even if the claims had recited specific abstract ideas for “estimating a state of health of a lithium sulfur battery,” would not have made the claims eligible under 35 USC 101 on its own.
Additionally, note that the novelty of the abstract idea itself, also does not help in overcoming the 101 rejection (see Flook, In Gottschalk vs Benson, Id., at 195, “we held that the discovery of a novel and useful mathematical formula may not be patented,” Indeed, the novelty of the mathematical algorithm is not a determining factor at all.”). This means that any novelty or non-conventionality in the abstract idea of “estimating a state of health of a lithium sulfur battery,” will not be a determining factor. New abstract idea is still an abstract idea (see Synopsis, 839 F.3d 1138, 120 USPQ2d, 1473 (2016), Id., at 1483, “a claim for a new abstract idea is still an abstract idea. The search for a 101 inventive concept is thus distinct from demonstrating 102 novelty.”).
Having said that, the subject matter eligibility analysis continues with the examination of the additional elements with respect to the practical application and significantly more criteria. Looking at the claimed invention, the claims additionally recite
limitations that are merely directed to insignificant data collection activity, recited at high level of generality that are also well-understood, routine and conventional. Furthermore, the claims do not even recite any measuring sensors or any machines (unlike Thales 85- F.3d 1343, 121 USPQ2d 1898 (2017), Id., at 1898 where the inertial sensors are used in non-conventional manner for measuring position and orientation). In other words, the Applicant is basically claiming the algorithm itself.
Furthermore, the claim recites “controlling an operation of the lithium-sulfur battery based on the state of health,” but said limitation, recited at high level of generality, is merely directed to applying the abstract idea in a broad manner recited at high level of generality without “particular end use”, which therefore would not be considered significantly more to transform the claimed invention to patent-eligible application (see Univ of Utah Research Found. vs Ambry Genetics Corp, F774 F.3d 755, 113 USPQ2d 1241 (2014), Id., at 1245) and Gottschalk vs Benson, 409 US 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972), Id., at 674)
Furthermore, the claims also do not improve any technology. At most, the claim is an improvement in the abstract idea of estimating a state of health of a lithium-sulfur battery. However, improved or new abstract idea is still an abstract idea and not eligible.
Finally, limiting the claims to the particular technological environment of lithium-sulfur battery, without the abstract idea being integrated into a practical application or without the additional elements amounting to significantly more than the abstract idea, is insufficient to transform them into patent-eligible applications of the abstract ideas (Flook established that limiting an abstract idea to one field of use or adding token post-solution components did not make the concept patentable” Bilski v. Kappos, 95 USPQ2d 1001, 1010 (U.S. 2010).
For the reasons given above, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application and the additional elements do not amount significantly more than the abstract idea.
In Summary, the claims recite the abstract idea of “estimating a state of health of a lithium sulfur battery,” without being integrated into a practical application, and do not provide additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As such, taken as a whole, the claims are ineligible under the 35 USC 101.
For the prior art rejection, in response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Claim recites using difference in the OCV values to determine SOH, and the claim does not recite any other limitations and calculations that would differentiate lithium sulfur battery from the lithium-ion battery, including taking into account non-linearity in OCV values encountered in lithium sulfur battery. As such, despite the difference in the type of battery, it would have been obvious to estimate the SOC and SOH for lithium sulfur battery as well, since using the difference in OCV is a well-known concept that can be used to estimate the aging of pretty much any batteries, including lithium sulfur type.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HYUN D PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857