DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112(a) of claims 15-31 are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) of claims 15-31 are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
Examiner acknowledges the amendments to the claims received on 4/22/2026 have been entered, and that no new matter has been added.
Response to Arguments
Argument 1: Applicant argues on page 20 in the filing on 4/22/2026 that “it is not possible to perform bidirectional screen sharing between the first device and the second device” in claim 15.
Response to Argument 1: Argument 1 is moot in view of new grounds of rejection. The scope of the amendment has changed and new art has been applied.
Argument 2: Applicant argues on page 20 in the filing on 4/22/2026 that “the first image corresponding to the first operation with respect to the image display processing device and the image corresponding to the first operation with respect to the other image display processing device are shared bidirectionally without requiring operations for starting image sharing,” in claim 15.
Response to Argument 2: Argument 2 is moot in view of new grounds of rejection. The scope of the amendment has changed and new art has been applied. Applicant’s Argument 2 focuses on sharing screens without requiring operation for starting image sharing. However, the claims require “the first image corresponding to the first operation with respect to the image display processing device,” which may be interpreted as an operation to start image sharing on the first device. And also “the image corresponding to the first operation with respect to the other image display processing device,” which may be interpreted as an operation to start image sharing on the other device. See rejection below for more details.
Argument 3: Applicant argues on page 20-21 in the filing on 4/22/2026 that “there is no motivation to modify the present application so as to employ the technical features disclosed in the [prior art],” in claim 15.
Response to Argument 3: Argument 3 is moot in view of new grounds of rejection. The scope of the amendment has changed and new art has been applied.
This meets the claim limitations as currently claimed, and Applicant's Arguments 1-3 filed on 4/22/2026 are moot in view of new grounds of rejection necessitated by the applicant’s amendment. Applicant’s remaining statements regarding the remaining independent and dependent claims are moot or not persuasive for the reasons stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites “to identify an image” and “enabling identification of an image.” What does it mean to identify an image? How is the image being identified? Is it to merely view the image, and identify it with the human mind? It is not clear who or what is doing the identifying. It is not clear how the identifying is taking place. The Examiner interprets this to means “to display an image.” Claims 16-20 recite similar limitations.
Claims 15-20, and 31 recite “can be” in multiple limitations. “Can be” phrasing leaves the claim open ended, and unclear. All claims need to be distinct and definite. Correction is required. The Examiner interprets this to mean “is/are.” Claims 16-20, and 31 recite similar limitations.
Claim 15 recites “a plurality of types of images.” But then lists that it may include “a first image… and a second image…”; a first image and a second image are not image “types.” They are images. The examiner is expecting a description of image “types.” Should this read “a plurality of images including a first image… and a second image…” instead? Clarification is required. The Examiner interprets this to mean “a plurality of images including a first image… and a second image…” Claims 16-20 recite similar limitations.
Claim 15 recites “shared bidirectionally.” What does it mean to “share bidirectionally?” The Examiner understands sharing User A’s screen and User B’s screen to each other “simultaneously.” But what does it mean to “share bidirectionally?” How does User A share something with himself and User B? Since it’s already on user A’s screen, isn’t this just merely sharing with User B? And how does User B share something with himself and User A? Since it’s already on user B’s screen, isn’t this just merely sharing with User A? Is this simultaneous screensharing or something different? Does this mean user A and user B can both edit both images? Does this mean user A and user B can both scroll both images? It is unclear to the Examiner what “shared bidirectionally” means. For the purposes of express examination, the Examiner interprets this to mean viewable on both devices. Claims 16-20 recite similar limitations.
Claims 21-31 depend on independent claim 15, and inherit the indefinite/lack of clarity issues of independent claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al., Patent Application Publication number US 20130254291 A1, (hereinafter “Park”), in view of Song et al., Patent Application Publication number US 20210149534 A1 (hereinafter “Song”).
Claim 15: Park teaches “A method for controlling an image display processing device that includes a processor (i.e. devices… such as tablet personal computers (PCs), desktop PCs, laptop PCs, and smart phones [Park 0021, Fig. 1] note: listed devices include processors), a memory (i.e. memory 50 may include a program memory and a data memory [Park 0025]), an input section, and a display section (i.e. display 60 may include a capacitive or resistive touch screen, and may support or replace a function of the key input unit 40 for controlling the N-screen device [Park 0026]), the method being executed in the image display processing device and comprising the steps of:
establishing a communication connection between the image display processing device and an other image display processing device in response to an initial operation (i.e. if a shared N-screen device 410 and first and second N-screen devices 420 and 430 are located in the same region with a predetermined radius of R. The shared N-screen device 410 and the first and second N-screen devices 420 and 430 are set to share home screens [Park 0045, Fig. 4] note: an initial operation of bringing the devices close to each other):
outputting information for enabling the other image display processing device to identify an image that is part of a given image and can be displayed on the display section in accordance with a first operation with respect to the input section (i.e. a user may set (select) a shared home screen he or she will share with a user of another N-screen device [Park 0038, Fig. 3A-3B] note: the screen currently on the user’s device is outputted, or shared, to another device);
receiving information for enabling identification of an image that can be displayed on a display section of the other image display processing device in accordance with a first operation with respect to an input section of the other image display processing device (i.e. in FIG. 6, N-screen devices may exchange shared home screens with one another [Park 0063, Fig. 6]) (i.e. a user may set (select) a shared home screen he or she will share with a user of another N-screen device [Park 0038, Fig. 3A-3B] note: the process is repeated on the other device. In other words, the screen currently on the other device is received on the current user’s device); and…
a first image that is part of the given image corresponding to the first operation with respect to the input section of the image display processing device (Park Fig. 3A-3B shows a shared home screen 3 and Fig. 6 shows a shared home screen from the first device) and
a second image identified based on the information received in the receiving step (Park Fig. 6 shows a shared home screen from the second device), wherein
112b - Claim recites “a plurality of types of images.” But then lists that it may include “a first image… and a second image…” a first image and a second image are not image “types.” They are images. The examiner is expecting a description of image “types.” Should this read “a plurality of images including a first image… and a second image…” instead? Clarification is required
in the output step, the information is outputted while the communication connection is established, and after the communication connection has been established, the information is outputted without requiring an operation for starting image sharing to be performed on the image display processing device (i.e. upon detecting a request for running of content of the displayed shared home screen, the shared N-screen device requests transmitting of data corresponding to the requested content of the first and second N-screen devices. In response, the first and second N-screen devices transmit the data corresponding to the requested content, and the shared N-screen device displays the data received from the first and second N-screen devices [Park 0064] note: the information is output, and no additional share button is clicked), and
in the receiving step, the information is received while the communication connection is established, and after the communication connection has been established, the information outputted from the other image display processing device is received without requiring an operation for starting image sharing to be performed on the other image display processing device (i.e. upon detecting a request for running of content of the displayed shared home screen, the shared N-screen device requests transmitting of data corresponding to the requested content of the first and second N-screen devices. In response, the first and second N-screen devices transmit the data corresponding to the requested content, and the shared N-screen device displays the data received from the first and second N-screen devices [Park 0064, Fig. 6] note: the same process can be repeated on the other device of Fig. 6. The information is received from the other device, and no additional share button is clicked),
whereby the first image corresponding to the first operation with respect to the image display processing device and the image corresponding to the first operation with respect to the other image display processing device are shared bidirectionally, (i.e. in FIG. 6, N-screen devices may exchange shared home screens with one another. As shown by reference numerals 610 and 620 in FIG. 6, the first N-screen device receives a shared home screen 621 from a shared N-screen device (or the second N-screen device) and displays the shared home screen 621 as a shared home screen 612, and the shared N-screen device (or the second N-screen device) receives a shared home screen 611 from the first N-screen device and displays the shared home screen 611 as a shared home screen 622, thereby exchanging shared home screens with each another [0063, Fig. 6] note: the Examiner interprets this as simultaneous sharing. See section 112) and …
…regardless of the presence or absence of an operation with respect to the input section of the other image display processing device (Once Park’s screen sharing is established in Park Fig. 2, no further operation of the remote/other device is required to maintain the sharing).”
Park discloses both devices with interface with multiple shared home page images in Fig. 3A-3B, and Fig. 6. Park discloses a first image in Fig. 3B (shared home screen 3) and Fig. 6 (shared home screen from first device). Park discloses a second image in Fig. 6 (shared home screen from second device). Park’s interfaces are silent regarding the multiple shared interfaces being switchable, or changeable. Song is introduced to teach the concept of switching/changing home pages:
Song teaches “switching, in accordance with a second operation with respect to the input section, an image displayed on the display section to any of a plurality of types of images (Song Fig. 1A-1E shows a swipe operation on the touch display input section, that changes the home screen. Regarding types of images, see section 112)…
in the switching step, when the display section displays an image different from the second image, the displayed image can be switched to the second image by performing the second operation with respect to the input section of the image display processing device at a timing when the second operation is performed (Song Fig. 1A-1E shows that a home pages can be changed/switched from one to another, at a timing of the swipe operation)…”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Park to include the feature of having the ability to switch from one image (home screen) to another, as disclosed by Song.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to be able to view more than what is currently on the display, expanding screen real estate, and allowing the user to be able to organize.
Claim 16: Park teaches “A method for controlling an image display processing device that includes a processor (i.e. devices… such as tablet personal computers (PCs), desktop PCs, laptop PCs, and smart phones [Park 0021, Fig. 1] note: listed devices include processors), a memory (i.e. memory 50 may include a program memory and a data memory [Park 0025]), an input section, and a display section (i.e. display 60 may include a capacitive or resistive touch screen, and may support or replace a function of the key input unit 40 for controlling the N-screen device [Park 0026]), the method being executed in the image display processing device and comprising the steps of:
establishing a communication connection between the image display processing device and an other image display processing device in response to an initial operation (i.e. if a shared N-screen device 410 and first and second N-screen devices 420 and 430 are located in the same region with a predetermined radius of R. The shared N-screen device 410 and the first and second N-screen devices 420 and 430 are set to share home screens [Park 0045, Fig. 4] note: an initial operation of bringing the devices close to each other);
outputting information for enabling the other image display processing device to identify an image that is part of a given image and can be displayed on the display section in accordance with a first operation with respect to the input section (i.e. a user may set (select) a shared home screen he or she will share with a user of another N-screen device [Park 0038, Fig. 3A-3B] note: the screen currently on the user’s device is outputted, or shared, to another device);
receiving information for enabling identification of an image that can be displayed on a display section of the other image display processing device in accordance with a first operation with respect to an input section of the other image display processing device (i.e. in FIG. 6, N-screen devices may exchange shared home screens with one another [Park 0063, Fig. 6]) (i.e. a user may set (select) a shared home screen he or she will share with a user of another N-screen device [Park 0038, Fig. 3A-3B] note: the process is repeated on the other device. In other words, the screen currently on the other device is received on the current user’s device); and…
a first image that is part of the given image corresponding to the first operation with respect to the input section of the image display processing device (Park Fig. 3A-3B shows a shared home screen 3 and Fig. 6 shows a shared home screen from the first device) and
a second image identified based on the information received in the receiving step (Park Fig. 6 shows a shared home screen from the second device), wherein
in the output step, the information is outputted while the communication connection is established, and after the communication connection has been established, the information is outputted without requiring an operation for starting image sharing to be performed on the image display processing device (i.e. upon detecting a request for running of content of the displayed shared home screen, the shared N-screen device requests transmitting of data corresponding to the requested content of the first and second N-screen devices. In response, the first and second N-screen devices transmit the data corresponding to the requested content, and the shared N-screen device displays the data received from the first and second N-screen devices [Park 0064] note: the information is output, and no additional share button is clicked), and
in the receiving step, the information is received while the communication connection is established, and after the communication connection has been established, the information outputted from the other image display processing device is received without requiring an operation for starting image sharing to be performed on the other image display processing device (i.e. upon detecting a request for running of content of the displayed shared home screen, the shared N-screen device requests transmitting of data corresponding to the requested content of the first and second N-screen devices. In response, the first and second N-screen devices transmit the data corresponding to the requested content, and the shared N-screen device displays the data received from the first and second N-screen devices [Park 0064, Fig. 6] note: the same process can be repeated on the other device of Fig. 6. The information is received from the other device, and no additional share button is clicked),
whereby the first image corresponding to the first operation with respect to the image display processing device and the image corresponding to the first operation with respect to the other image display processing device are shared bidirectionally, (i.e. in FIG. 6, N-screen devices may exchange shared home screens with one another. As shown by reference numerals 610 and 620 in FIG. 6, the first N-screen device receives a shared home screen 621 from a shared N-screen device (or the second N-screen device) and displays the shared home screen 621 as a shared home screen 612, and the shared N-screen device (or the second N-screen device) receives a shared home screen 611 from the first N-screen device and displays the shared home screen 611 as a shared home screen 622, thereby exchanging shared home screens with each another [0063, Fig. 6] note: the Examiner interprets this as simultaneous sharing. See section 112) and…
an image corresponding to the first operation with respect to the input section of the other image display processing device (Park Fig. 6 shows a shared home screen from the second device) and
a second image identified based on the information outputted in the output step (Park Fig. 3A-3B shows a shared home screen 3 and Fig. 6 shows a shared home screen from the first device), and
regardless of which of the images is displayed on the display section of the other image display processing device (Once Park’s screen sharing is established in Park Fig. 2, no further operation of the remote/other device is required to maintain the sharing),…
the first image (Park Fig. 6 shows a shared home screen from the second device) and
the second image (Park Fig. 3A-3B shows a shared home screen 3 and Fig. 6 shows a shared home screen from the first device).”
Park discloses both devices with interface with multiple shared home page images in Fig. 3A-3B, and Fig. 6. Park discloses a first image in Fig. 3B (shared home screen 3) and Fig. 6 (shared home screen from first device). Park discloses a second image in Fig. 6 (shared home screen from second device). Park’s interfaces are silent regarding the multiple shared interfaces being switchable, or changeable. Song is introduced to teach the concept of switching/changing home pages:
Song teaches “switching, in accordance with a second operation with respect to the input section, an image displayed on the display section to any of a plurality of types of images (Song Fig. 1A-1E shows a swipe operation on the touch display input section, that changes the home screen. Regarding types of images, see section 112)…
also in the other image display processing device, an image displayed can be switched, in accordance with a second operation with respect to the input section of the other image display processing device, to any of a plurality of types of images (Song Fig. 1A-1E shows a swipe operation on the touch display input section, that changes the home screen)…
in the switching step… the displayed image can be switched, in accordance with the second operation with respect to the input section, to any of the plurality of types of images (Song Fig. 1A-1E shows a swipe operation on the touch display input section, that changes the home screen)…”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Park to include the feature of having the ability to switch from one image (home screen) to another, as disclosed by Song.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to be able to view more than what is currently on the display, expanding screen real estate, and allowing the user to be able to organize.
Claim 17: Park teaches “A method for controlling an image display processing device that includes a processor (i.e. devices… such as tablet personal computers (PCs), desktop PCs, laptop PCs, and smart phones [Park 0021, Fig. 1] note: listed devices include processors), a memory (i.e. memory 50 may include a program memory and a data memory [Park 0025]), an input section, and a display section (i.e. display 60 may include a capacitive or resistive touch screen, and may support or replace a function of the key input unit 40 for controlling the N-screen device [Park 0026]), the method being executed in the image display processing device and comprising the steps of:
establishing a communication connection between the image display processing device and an other image display processing device in response to an initial operation (i.e. if a shared N-screen device 410 and first and second N-screen devices 420 and 430 are located in the same region with a predetermined radius of R. The shared N-screen device 410 and the first and second N-screen devices 420 and 430 are set to share home screens [Park 0045, Fig. 4] note: an initial operation of bringing the devices close to each other);
outputting information for enabling the other image display processing device to identify an image that is part of a given image and can be displayed on the display section in accordance with a first operation with respect to the input section (i.e. a user may set (select) a shared home screen he or she will share with a user of another N-screen device [Park 0038, Fig. 3A-3B] note: the screen currently on the user’s device is outputted, or shared, to another device);
receiving information for enabling identification of an image that can be displayed on a display section of the other image display processing device in accordance with a first operation with respect to an input section of the other image display processing device (i.e. in FIG. 6, N-screen devices may exchange shared home screens with one another [Park 0063, Fig. 6]) (i.e. a user may set (select) a shared home screen he or she will share with a user of another N-screen device [Park 0038, Fig. 3A-3B] note: the process is repeated on the other device. In other words, the screen currently on the other device is received on the current user’s device); and…
a first image that is part of the given image corresponding to the first operation with respect to the input section of the image display processing device (Park Fig. 3A-3B shows a shared home screen 3 and Fig. 6 shows a shared home screen from the first device) and
a second image identified based on the information received in the receiving step (Park Fig. 6 shows a shared home screen from the second device), wherein
in the output step, the information is outputted while the communication connection is established, and after the communication connection has been established, the information is outputted without requiring an operation for starting image sharing to be performed on the image display processing device (i.e. upon detecting a request for running of content of the displayed shared home screen, the shared N-screen device requests transmitting of data corresponding to the requested content of the first and second N-screen devices. In response, the first and second N-screen devices transmit the data corresponding to the requested content, and the shared N-screen device displays the data received from the first and second N-screen devices [Park 0064] note: the information is output, and no additional share button is clicked), and
in the receiving step, the information is received while the communication connection is established, and after the communication connection has been established, the information outputted from the other image display processing device is received without requiring an operation for starting image sharing to be performed on the other image display processing device (i.e. upon detecting a request for running of content of the displayed shared home screen, the shared N-screen device requests transmitting of data corresponding to the requested content of the first and second N-screen devices. In response, the first and second N-screen devices transmit the data corresponding to the requested content, and the shared N-screen device displays the data received from the first and second N-screen devices [Park 0064, Fig. 6] note: the same process can be repeated on the other device of Fig. 6. The information is received from the other device, and no additional share button is clicked),
whereby the first image corresponding to the first operation with respect to the image display processing device and the image corresponding to the first operation with respect to the other image display processing device are shared bidirectionally (i.e. in FIG. 6, N-screen devices may exchange shared home screens with one another. As shown by reference numerals 610 and 620 in FIG. 6, the first N-screen device receives a shared home screen 621 from a shared N-screen device (or the second N-screen device) and displays the shared home screen 621 as a shared home screen 612, and the shared N-screen device (or the second N-screen device) receives a shared home screen 611 from the first N-screen device and displays the shared home screen 611 as a shared home screen 622, thereby exchanging shared home screens with each another [0063, Fig. 6] note: the Examiner interprets this as simultaneous sharing. See section 112),
in the output step, the information for enabling the other image display processing device to identify the image that can be displayed on the display section of the image display processing device in accordance with the first operation with respect to the input section is outputted, regardless of which of the plurality of types of images is displayed on the display section of the image display processing device (Once Park’s screen sharing is established in Park Fig. 2, no further operation of the remote/other device is required to maintain the sharing), and
in the receiving step, the information for enabling identification of the image that can be displayed on the display section of the other image display processing device is received, regardless of which of the plurality of types of images is displayed on the display section of the image display processing device (Once Park’s screen sharing is established in Park Fig. 2, no further operation of the device is required to maintain the sharing).”
Park discloses both devices with interface with multiple shared home page images in Fig. 3A-3B, and Fig. 6. Park discloses a first image in Fig. 3B (shared home screen 3) and Fig. 6 (shared home screen from first device). Park discloses a second image in Fig. 6 (shared home screen from second device). Park’s interfaces are silent regarding the multiple shared interfaces being switchable, or changeable. Song is introduced to teach the concept of switching/changing home pages:
Song teaches “switching, in accordance with a second operation with respect to the input section, an image displayed on the display section to any of a plurality of types of images (Song Fig. 1A-1E shows a swipe operation on the touch display input section, that changes the home screen. Regarding types of images, see section 112)…”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Park to include the feature of having the ability to switch from one image (home screen) to another, as disclosed by Song.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to be able to view more than what is currently on the display, expanding screen real estate, and allowing the user to be able to organize.
Claim 18: Park and Song teach an image display processing device comprising: a processor;
a memory; an input section; and a display section, wherein the information processing device includes the steps corresponding to the method of claim 15; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 19: Park and Song teach an image display processing device comprising: a processor;
a memory; an input section; and a display section, wherein the information processing device includes the steps corresponding to the method of claim 16; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 20: Park and Song teach an image display processing device comprising: a processor;
a memory; an input section; and a display section, wherein the information processing device includes the steps corresponding to the method of claim 17; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 21, 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, in view of Song, in view of Screen captures from YouTube clip entitled “How to Use Zoom on your Phone (Android),” uploaded 4/7/2020 by user “Ben Finio,” retrieved from the internet: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TKHZuJlHLuk, (hereinafter “Finio”), in view of Screen captures from YouTube clip entitled “Zoom on your iPhone, iPad, or other Mobile Tutorial,” uploaded 4/7/2020 by user “Dottotech,” retrieved from the internet: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H2paLi-ECto, (hereinafter “Dottotech”). Finio and Dottotech are both included in the form 892 dated 7/30/2025.
Claim 21: Park and Song teach all the limitations of claim 15, above. Park and Song are silent regarding “wherein the plurality of types of images include a predetermined third image that is different from both the first image and the second image, and
the method includes the step of displaying a predetermined icon image for receiving an operation to permit the first image to be displayed in the other image display processing device when the displayed image is switched to the third image, whereas the predetermined icon image is not displayed when the displayed image is switched to the first image and the second image.”
Finio teaches “wherein the plurality of types of images include a predetermined third image that is different from both the first image and the second image (Finio Fig. 8-9 shows switching to a participants window, by tapping the “Participants” button. Participants window is different from the screen share image and the user profile image), and
the method includes the step of displaying a predetermined icon image for receiving an operation to permit the first image to be displayed in the… image display processing device when the displayed image is switched to the third image (Finio Fig. 9 shows a “close” button in the top left corner, which returns to the previous screen. In Fig. 8-9’s case, it would be the participants gallery view of Fig. 8. It is noted however, that in Fig. 4, the “Participants” button is displayed on the shared screen (first image), as well. Tapping to show the participants list, and then closing it, would return the user to the shared screen (first image) of Fig. 4. This is permitting the first image, the shared screen, to be displayed again), whereas the predetermined icon image is not displayed when the displayed image is switched to the first image and the second image (Finio Fig. 1-4 shows the close button of the participants window is not displayed when the shared screen or the user’s profile is displayed).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Park and Song to include the feature of having the ability to include a third image as disclosed by Finio.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit of providing more screen, which provides more information to the user.
Park and Song and Finio are silent regarding displayed in the “other” information processing device.
Dottotech teaches “the method includes the step of displaying a predetermined icon image for receiving an operation to permit the first image to be displayed in the other image display processing device when the displayed image is switched to the third image (Dottotech Fig. 5 close button in the top left corner is an icon to close the chat window, which permits the first image, the user’s face, to be fully displayed on the 2nd device again), whereas the predetermined icon image is not displayed when the displayed image is switched to the first image and the second image (Dottotech Fig. 1, 3 shows the close button of the chat window is not displayed when the shared screen or the user’s profile is displayed).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Park and Song and Finio to include the feature of having the ability to display information in an other device as disclosed by Dottotech.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to navigate the user to reveal the previously viewed window on other devices, which helps the user keep track of their navigation path, preventing users from getting lost during navigation.
Claim 28: Park and Song and Finio teach all the limitations of claim 27, below. Park and Song and Finio are silent regarding “in the control pattern setting step, according to a display size of the display section of the image display processing device, the first control pattern is set when the display size is smaller than a predetermined size and the second control pattern is set when the display size is equal to or larger than the predetermined size.”
Dottotech teaches “in the control pattern setting step, according to a display size of the display section of the image display processing device, the first control pattern is set when the display size is smaller than a predetermined size and the second control pattern is set when the display size is equal to or larger than the predetermined size (Dottotech Fig. 8-9 shows different control patterns in portrait mode with a smaller display width size, and shows landscape mode where the display width size is larger)”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Park and Song and Finio to include the feature of having the ability to change a control according to display size as disclosed by Dottotech.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit where images can be stretched to fit larger screen, increasing viewability.
Claim 29: Park and Song and Finio teach all the limitations of claim 27, below. Park and Song and Finio are silent regarding “in the control pattern setting step, any of the plurality of types of control patterns is set in accordance with a third operation with respect to the input section.”
Dottotech teaches “in the control pattern setting step, any of the plurality of types of control patterns is set in accordance with a third operation with respect to the input section (Dottotech Fig. 8-9 shows different control patterns in portrait mode with a smaller display size, and shows landscape mode where the display size is larger. This is with a third operation of rotating the touch screen device).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Park and Song and Finio to include the feature of having the ability to change a control as disclosed by Dottotech.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit where images can be stretched to fit larger screen, increasing viewability.
Claims 22-27 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, in view of Song, in view of Finio.
Claim 22: Park and Song teach all the limitations of claim 15, above. Park and Song are silent regarding “the plurality of types of images include a predetermined third image that is different from both the first image and the second image, and
in the switching step, switching from the first image to the second image and switching from the second image to the first image are regulated, whereas switching between the first image and the third image and switching between the second image and the third image are allowed.”
Finio teaches “the plurality of types of images include a predetermined third image that is different from both the first image and the second image (Finio Fig. 8-9 participant’s button brings up a participants’ window as a third image, different from the shared background and user’s profile), and
in the switching step, switching from the first image to the second image and switching from the second image to the first image are regulated (Finio Fig. 1-4 switches back and forth from a powerpoint image to a user profile), whereas switching between the first image and the third image and switching between the second image and the third image are allowed (Finio Fig. 8-9 participant’s button is displayed at every screen, which brings up a participants’ window as a third image, at any time regardless of what is shown on the screen).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Park and Song to include the feature of having the ability to include a third image as disclosed by Finio.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit of providing more screen, which provides more information to the user.
Claim 23: Park and Song teach all the limitations of claim 15, above. Park and Song are silent regarding “the method includes the step of displaying a plurality of types of corresponding images that correspond to the plurality of types of images, regardless of the type of the image displayed by switching in the switching step, with the corresponding image that corresponds to the image displayed by switching in the switching step being displayed in a different manner from those for the other corresponding images.”
Finio teaches “the method includes the step of displaying a plurality of types of corresponding images that correspond to the plurality of types of images, regardless of the type of the image displayed by switching in the switching step (Finio Fig. 1-4 shows a powerpoint image as a first type, and a user profile as a second type. These are shown regardless of which screen is displayed), with the corresponding image that corresponds to the image displayed by switching in the switching step being displayed in a different manner from those for the other corresponding images (Finio Fig. 1-4 shows a powerpoint image as a first type, displayed in a larger manner. Also shows a user profile image as a second type, displayed in a smaller manner).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Park and Song to include the feature of having the ability to change image types as disclosed by Finio.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to provide more types of images/files to the user, increasing user flexibility.
Claim 24: Park and Song teach all the limitations of claim 15, above. Park and Song are silent regarding “the information outputted in the output step and the information received in the receiving step are each region information for identifying a region of the given image corresponding to the first operation with respect to the input section.”
Finio teaches “the information outputted in the output step and the information received in the receiving step are each region information for identifying a region of the given image corresponding to the first operation with respect to the input section (Finio Fig. 1-4 show switching back and forth from a first image to a second image. Finio shows a powerpoint image shared from a 2nd laptop device as information output in the output step. Powerpoint image is also the information in the receiving step, as the image shared from the 2nd laptop device. The powerpoint image of both steps are each region information (region of image transmitted to be shared, as well as region of image received from sharing)).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Park and Song to include the feature of having the ability to view regions of the image as disclosed by Finio.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to view regions of the image, which reduces user distractions.
Claim 25: Park and Song teach all the limitations of claim 15, above. Park and Song are silent regarding “the input section is a touch panel,
the first operation includes an operation with respect to the touch panel, and
the information outputted in the output step and the information received in the receiving step are each operation mode information for enabling identification of a mode of the operation with respect to the touch panel.”
Finio teaches “the input section is a touch panel,
the first operation includes an operation with respect to the touch panel, and
the information outputted in the output step and the information received in the receiving step are each operation mode information for enabling identification of a mode of the operation with respect to the touch panel (Finio Fig. 1-4 34 show switching back and forth from a first image to a second image. These are operational modes of viewing a shared powerpoint and viewing the user’s profile).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Park and Song to include the feature of having the ability to switch between modes as disclosed by Finio.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to provide more types of images/files to the user, increasing user flexibility.
Claim 26: Park and Song teach all the limitations of claim 15, above. Park and Song are silent regarding “the information outputted in the output step and the information received in the receiving step are each image information for enabling display of an image of a region of the given image corresponding to the first operation with respect to the input section.”
Finio teaches “the information outputted in the output step and the information received in the receiving step are each image information for enabling display of an image of a region of the given image corresponding to the first operation with respect to the input section (Finio Fig. 1-4 show switching back and forth from a first image to a second image. Finio shows a powerpoint image shared from a 2nd laptop device as information output in the output step. Powerpoint image is also the information in the receiving step, as the image shared from the 2nd laptop device. The powerpoint image of both steps are each image information for the display of the powerpoint image of a background region).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Park and Song to include the feature of having the ability to display an image of a region as disclosed by Finio.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to view regions of the image, which reduces user distractions.
Claim 27: Park and Song teach all the limitations of claim 15, above. Park and Song are silent regarding “displaying, on the display section of the image display processing device, a composite image including at least the image that is part of the given image corresponding to the operation with respect to the input section of the image display processing device and the image identified based on the information received in the receiving step; and
setting a control pattern of the image display processing device from a plurality of types of control patterns, wherein
the plurality of types of control patterns include a first control pattern that causes the image display processing device to execute the output step, the receiving step, and the switching step and a second control pattern that causes the image display processing device to execute the output step, the receiving step, and the composite image displaying step.”
Finio teaches “displaying, on the display section of the image display processing device, a composite image including at least the image that is part of the given image corresponding to the operation with respect to the input section of the image display processing device and the image identified based on the information received in the receiving step (Finio Fig. 4 shows a composite image including both the powerpoint shared screen, and the user’s profile); and
setting a control pattern of the image display processing device from a plurality of types of control patterns (Finio Fig. 1-4 34 show switching back and forth from a first image to a second image; setting which control pattern by tapping), wherein
the plurality of types of control patterns include a first control pattern that causes the image display processing device to execute the output step, the receiving step, and the switching step (Finio Fig. 1-4 show switching back and forth from a first image to a second image) and a second control pattern that causes the image display processing device to execute the output step, the receiving step, and the composite image displaying step (Finio Fig. 1-4 show switching back and forth from a composite image with a larger first image to a composite image with a larger second image).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Park and Song to include the feature of having the ability to display a composite image as disclosed by Finio.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to view different images together at the same time, which provides more information to the user.
Claim 31: Park and Song teach all the limitations of claim 15, above. Park and Song are silent regarding “the input section is a touch panel,
the second operation is a moving gesture along a predetermined direction on the touch panel, and
in the switching step, in a state where the first image is displayed on the display section of the image display processing device, switching to another image included in the plurality of types of images is not achieved by a moving gesture toward a specific direction along the predetermined direction and can be achieved by a moving gesture toward a direction that is different from the specific direction along the predetermined direction.”
Finio teaches “the input section is a touch panel,
the second operation is a moving gesture along a predetermined direction on the touch panel (Finio Fig. 10 starts from powerpoint first image, and swipes to the left to show participants on the screen to the right), and
in the switching step, in a state where the first image is displayed on the display section of the image display processing device, switching to another image included in the plurality of types of images is not achieved by a moving gesture toward a specific direction along the predetermined direction and can be achieved by a moving gesture toward a direction that is different from the specific direction along the predetermined direction (Finio Fig. 7 starts from a screenshare of a professor image (see same moose user profile in bottom right indicating the same presenter), and swipes to the right to show a different image to the left).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Park and Song to include the feature of having the ability to switch to a different image as disclosed by Finio.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to view more image/file types, which increases user flexibility.
Claim 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, in view of Song, in view of Dottotech.
Claim 30: Park and Song teach all the limitations of claim 15, above. Park and Song are silent regarding “the given image that serves as a display target image to be displayed on the display section of the image display processing device is different from a given image that serves as a display target image to be displayed on the display section of the other image display processing device.”
Dottotech teaches “the given image that serves as a display target image to be displayed on the display section of the image display processing device (Dottotech Fig. 10 shows that the image to be displayed on the 1st mobile device is a chat screen) is different from a given image that serves as a display target image to be displayed on the display section of the other image display processing device (Dottotech Fig. 10 shows that the image to be displayed on the 2nd laptop device is a split screen user profile screen, which is different than the chat screen).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Park and Song to include the feature of having the ability to view different images as disclosed by Dottotech.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to view different images, which allows collaboration of different image/files, which increases productivity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi (US 20150339400 A1) listed on 892 is related to navigating to different home screens.
/S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2179
/IRETE F EHICHIOYA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2179