DETAILED ACTION
Response to Submission
Applicant’s submission filed on 2026 June 10 has been entered. Claims 1-4 and 6-11 are pending. Claims 2, 4, 7, and 10-11 remain withdrawn.
Claims 1, 3, 6, and 8-9 are presently examined.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: in lines 9-13 under the subheadings “compare the resistance change…” and “control the core…”, the limitation “each of the plurality of preset threshold ranges corresponds to different… heating power” should be “each of the plurality of preset threshold ranges corresponds to each of a plurality of… heating powers”, or equivalent, to make clear that the heating powers are plural.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1: in lines 9-13 under the subheadings “compare the resistance change…” and “control the core…”, the term “optimal” is relative and renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. “Optimal” is omitted from further examination.
Claims 3, 6, and 8-9 are rejected by dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bilat (US 20180303161 A1).
Claim 1: Bilat teaches an electronic vaporization device (fig. 7 and [162], #100), comprising:
a vaporizer (113 and 119) configured to vaporize a liquid substrate (115) to generate an aerosol, and a power supply mechanism (107 and 109) configured to supply power to the vaporizer (113 and 119), wherein the vaporizer (113 and 119) comprises a heating element (119) configured to heat and vaporize the liquid substrate (115), and the power supply mechanism (107 and 109) comprises:
a core (107), configured to supply power to the heating element (119);
and a controller (109), configured to:
identify (fig. 9 and [178], Step #320: if a rate of change of resistance is within an acceptable range, then the device matches the heater and moves towards Step #340; if a rate of change of resistance is outside of the acceptable range, then the device does not match the heater and moves towards Step #330) the vaporizer based on electric power (power is supplied) provided by the core to the heating element and a resistance change (rate of change of resistance) generated by the heating element;
compare the resistance change ([178], rate of change of resistance) with a plurality of preset threshold ranges (below the acceptable range, within the acceptable range, and above the acceptable range), wherein each of the plurality of preset threshold ranges corresponds to each of a plurality of heating powers (when a rate of change of resistance is below or above the acceptable range, then a heating power is not supplied; when a rate of change of resistance is within the acceptable range, then a heating power is supplied);
and control the core to output corresponding heating power to the heating element based on a comparison result ([178], when a rate of change of resistance is below or above the acceptable range, then a heating power is not supplied; when a rate of change of resistance is within the acceptable range, then a heating power is supplied).
Claim 3: Bilat teaches the electronic vaporization device according to claim 1, wherein the resistance change ([178], rate of change of resistance) comprises a resistance change rate of the heating element.
Claim 6: Bilat teaches the electronic vaporization device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: compare a resistance change rate (fig. 9 and [178], rate of change of resistance) of the heating element with a threshold range (acceptable range), and prevent the core from supplying power (Step #330: power is not supplied) to the heating element when the resistance change rate (rate of change of resistance) is greater than a maximum value of the threshold range (outside of the acceptable range) or less than a minimum value of the threshold range (outside of the acceptable range).
Claim 8: Bilat teaches the electronic vaporization device according to claim 1, wherein the core (fig. 7 and [162], #107) is configured to provide predetermined electric power [62] to the heating element (119).
Claim 9: Bilat teaches the electronic vaporization device according to claim 8, wherein the core (fig. 7 and [162], #107) is configured to supply power to the heating element (119) in a manner of constant power output [89].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments of 2026 June 10 have been carefully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (p. 6) that Bilat does not teach comparing a resistance change against a plurality of preset threshold ranges. However, Bilat does teach comparing a resistance change against a plurality of preset threshold ranges ([178], below an acceptable range, within the acceptable range, and above an acceptable range). In the absence of limitations defining that the ranges are all closed-ended, if such limitations have written support, or defining how the ranges correspond to the heating powers, Bilat’s facts read on amended claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOBEY C LE/Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Michael H. Wilson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1747