DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed May 11, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, and 5-11 are pending; claims 4, 12, and 13 are cancelled.
Applicant’s amendments are sufficient to obviate the rejections to the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
A new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is necessitated in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“electronic control unit” in claim 1;
“communication unit” in claim 1;
“processing module” in claim 1;
The claim limitation “electronic control unit” is a generic placeholder for performing claimed functions (i.e. “for obtaining, from said measurement signals, a time succession of values of a physiological parameter (PF) representative of the skin conductance of the skin of the patient;” see also – functions of the processing module). The “electronic control unit” is modified by functional language, i.e., “for.” The “electronic control unit” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function; Examiner notes that being operatively connected to other structures does not delineate the structure of the “electronic control unit” which allows it to perform the claimed function(s). The corresponding structure for “electronic control unit” is “Advantageously, the electronic control unit 3 of the device 1 comprises an electronic processor (preferably a microprocessor), which is suitably programmed for carrying out the above-described functions” (Specification, page 13).
The claim limitation “communication unit” is a generic placeholder for performing the claimed function (“for controlling said communication unit"). The claim limitation “communication unit” is a generic placeholder for performing the claimed function (“emit at least one off-notification signal”). The term “communication unit” is implicitly modified by functional language since it must be configured to emit at least one off-notification signal. The term “communication unit” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function (see analysis of “electronic control unit” above regarding operative connection to other elements). The corresponding structure for a “communication unit” is “Advantageously, the communication unit 4 of the device 1 comprises a wireless communication module (such as a radio transmitter)…” (Specification, page 13).
The claim limitation “processing module” is a generic placeholder for performing multiple claimed functions (i.e., “for defining… updating… calculating… comparing… sending…”). The claim limitation “processing module” is a generic placeholder for performing the claimed functions identified above. The “electronic control unit” is modified by functional language, i.e., “for.” The term “processing module” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function (see analysis of “electronic control unit” above regarding operative connection to other elements). The corresponding structure for a “processing module” appears to be identical to that of the electronic control unit, and is interpretable as a generic computer processor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Ouwerkerk et al. (US 20170000398 A1) (hereinafter – Ouwerkerk) in view of
Hughes et al. (US 20080208016 A1) (hereinafter – Hughes).
Re. Claim 1: Ouwerkerk teaches a device (Fig. 3: device 18)
for predicting wearing-off conditions in a patient affected by Parkinson's disease (Examiner notes that this is a recitation of intended use – each limitation of the claims is fulfilled by citations of the prior art which follow),
said device comprising:
- an electrodermal activity sensor intended to be placed at the skin of a patient and arranged for detecting at least one electrical magnitude associated with the skin conductance of the patient and to generate corresponding measurement signals (Fig. 3: sensor unit 20; Paragraph 0047: “The sensor unit 20 is preferably configured as a galvanic conductivity sensor which is able to measure the conductivity of the skin of the living being”);
- an electronic control unit, which is operatively connected to said electrodermal activity sensor in order to receive said measurement signals, and is arranged for obtaining, from said measurement signals, a time succession of values of a physiological parameter representative of the skin conductance of the skin of the patient; wherein said physiological parameter corresponds with the skin conductance or the skin resistance (Fig. 3: processor 10 in communication with sensor unit 20; Figs. 5A, 7A: successive values of skin conductance data obtained over time);
- a communication unit operatively connected to said electronic control unit which is arranged for controlling said communication unit to emit at least one off-notification signal (Fig. 3: output unit 17; Paragraph 0043: “Preferably, the processor 10 further comprises an output unit 17 for outputting at least one signal indicating a certain stage of a predetermined stress state;” Paragraphs 0016-0018: output of various stages);
wherein said electronic control unit comprises at least one processing module (Fig. 3: calculating unit 14 and/or analyzing unit 16),
which is arranged for
- defining, in said time succession of values of said physiological parameter, a movable time window of duration greater than or equal to thirty seconds and less than or equal to five minutes (Paragraph 0042: “… the summation can also comprise determination of a number of the data peaks per time unit. The time unit is variable, i.e. a skin conductance peak data signal can be computed every minute, every five minutes or every hour, etc.;” Paragraph 0054: “Here, the time unit is chosen to be a day;”), and
- updating said movable time window by making it advance along said time succession of values (Paragraph 0013: cumulative sum per time unit requires moving along windows of time units to calculate a cumulative sum therefrom; Paragraph 0069: time segments comprised of plurality of time units);
wherein, for each update of said movable time window, said processing module is arranged for:
- calculating, within said movable time window, an overall time variation of said physiological parameter indicative of an increase of the skin conductance within said movable time window (an “overall time variation” within a time window can be encompassed by any of the following: Fig. 5B: cumulative sum of rising edges of skin conductance data peaks; Fig. 6: the graph of absolute value of the cumulative sum; Fig. 7: number of data peaks over time; Fig. 8: median value of data peak density distribution).
Ouwerkerk does not teach:
wherein said overall time variation of said physiological parameter is obtained as a ratio between an increase of the values of said physiological parameter detected in said time window and the duration of said time window;
wherein the overall time variation of said physiological parameter is indicative of a slope that a progression of said physiological parameter takes on within the entire said time window.
The overall time variation taught by Ouwerkerk is an cumulative summation of peaks.
Hughes teaches analogous art in the technology of skin conductance sensors (Abstract). Hughes further teaches:
wherein said overall time variation of said physiological parameter is obtained as a ratio between an increase of the values of said physiological parameter detected in said time window and the duration of said time window (Paragraph 0105: slope of electrodermal activity calculated over sliding windows; similarly recited in Paragraph 0118);
wherein the overall time variation of said physiological parameter is indicative of a slope that a progression of said physiological parameter takes on within the entire said time window (see prior citation).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Ouwerkerk to include calculation of a slope of skin conductance over a rolling window as taught by Hughes, the motivation being that such a technique allows for identification of signals strongly correlated with sympathetic arousal, which are also indicative of stress levels (Paragraph 0095), and pertinent to the goal of stress identification of Ouwerkerk.
Ouwerkerk as modified by Hughes further teaches:
- comparing said overall time variation with a specific threshold value (Figs. 6, 8; Paragraph 0008: “… wherein said analyzing unit is configured to compare the average and/or absolute value of said skin conductance peak data signal against two different thresholds…;” similarly recited in Paragraphs 0043, 0044, 0054-0061; additionally, see Hughes, Paragraph 0118: EDA slope calculation compared with series of threshold values);
- with said overall time variation greater than said threshold value, sending to said communication unit at least one control signal, which is adapted to enable said communication unit to emit said off-notification signal (Paragraphs 0008, 0016, 0017, 0043, 0055-0057, 0071-0072: output unit outputting stage dependent on comparison of peak data signal against thresholds).
Re. Claim 2: Ouwerkerk as modified by Hughes teaches the invention according to claim 1. Hughes further teaches the invention wherein said processing module is arranged for determining said overall time variation as a function of a time derivative of said physiological parameter in said movable time window (see citation of Hughes in rejection of claim 1 – determination of a slope per rolling window is a time derivative).
Re. Claim 3: Ouwerkerk as modified by Hughes teaches the invention according to claim 2. Ouwerkerk further teaches the invention wherein said processing module is arranged for determining said overall time variation as a function of an average value of the time derivative of said physiological parameter calculated within said movable time window (Fig. 8 as described in Paragraph 0069: overall a time segment may be the average value of peak data (i.e., comprised of rising edges indicative of changes in slope)).
Re. Claim 4: Ouwerkerk as modified by Hughes teaches the invention according to claim 1. Ouwerkerk further teaches the invention wherein said movable time window is less than or equal to about five minutes (Paragraph 0042: “The time unit is variable, i.e. a skin conductance peak data signal can be computed every minute, every five minutes…”).
Re. Claim 5: Ouwerkerk as modified by Hughes teaches the invention according to claim 1. Ouwerkerk further teaches the invention wherein said movable time window is substantially comprised between one minute and three minutes (Paragraph 0042: “The time unit is variable, i.e. a skin conductance peak data signal can be computed every minute… ).
Re. Claim 7: Ouwerkerk as modified by Hughes teaches the invention according to claim 1. Ouwerkerk further teaches the invention wherein said threshold value is determined as a function of peak values of said time succession of values of said physiological parameter (Paragraphs 0055: “The upper threshold 22 is chosen such that when the absolute value of the skin conductance peak data signal exceeds the upper threshold 22, the individual is in an early stage of a stress state;” Paragraphs 0056-0061: thresholds 0022, 0024, 0026 correspond to different stressor states and are defined by activity of the individual over time, i.e., dependent on the different data peaks of an individual; Paragraph 0070: similar process carried out for thresholds shown in Fig. 8).
Re. Claim 8: Ouwerkerk as modified by Hughes teaches the invention according to claim 7. Ouwerkerk further teaches the invention wherein said electronic control unit is arranged for being set in a calibration condition, wherein, in a specific calibration time interval, said processing module is arranged for detecting said peak values of said time succession of values, and for calculating said threshold value as a function of said peak values (Paragraph 0060: thresholds 22, 24, 26 change for individuals over time depending on different data peaks; since the invention of Ouwerkerk contemplates periods of time which intakes individual stress response data to change thresholds 22, 24, 26 as the individual’s stress response changes over time, at least one period of time within such periods can be identified as a “calibration time interval”).
Re. Claim 9: Ouwerkerk as modified by Hughes teaches the invention according to claim 8. Ouwerkerk further teaches the invention wherein said threshold value is a function of at least one average value of said peak values detected in said calibration time interval (Fig.8: thresholds defined by where median (average) value of the skin conductance peak marks a healthy state of an individual).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Ouwerkerk et al. (US 20170000398 A1) (hereinafter – Ouwerkerk) in view of
Hughes et al. (US 20080208016 A1) (hereinafter – Hughes) in further view of
Tanishima et al. (US 20210259617 A1) (hereinafter –Tanishima).
Re. Claim 6: Ouwerkerk as modified by Hughes teaches the invention according to claim 1, but does not teach the invention wherein said processing module is arranged for determining said time variation as a function of the difference between at least a maximum value and a minimum value of said physiological parameter in said movable time window.
Tanishima teaches analogous art in the technology of quantifying autonomic nerve dysfunctions (Abstract) using electrical signals of a user (Fig. 1: electrocardiogram sensor). Tanishima further teaches the invention wherein said processing module is arranged for determining said time variation as a function of the difference between at least a maximum value and a minimum value of said physiological parameter in said movable time window (Paragraphs 0059-0060: calculation of variation width of a parameter using the difference between a maximum value and a minimum value of the parameter).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Ouwerkerk as modified by Hughes to have also considered determining a difference between a maximum and minimum of a signal as a measure of its variation as taught by Tanishima, the motivation being that doing so assesses a trend which a third party (e.g., a medical worker) may not readily grasp in the data (Paragraph 0004) which may be useful in assessing the extent of how a particular signal changes over time.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 11 would be allowable if independent claim 1 is rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 10 recites:
wherein, in said calibration condition, said processing module (7) is arranged for determining
at least one rest reference value (VRR) as a function of the values of said time succession outside said peak periods (PP), and
at least one peak reference value (VRP) as a function of said peak values, and
for calculating said threshold value (VS) as a function of the difference between said peak reference value (VRP) and said rest reference value (VRR)
The closest prior art of record regarding the above identified limitation is as follows:
Loddenkemper et al. (US 20200383627 A1) (hereinafter – Loddenkemper);
Kazlausky et al. (US 20010029319 A1) (hereinafter – Kazlausky).
Loddenkemper teaches analogous art in the technology of analysis of electrical physiological data (Abstract). Loddenkemper further teaches identification of a baseline amplitude (Paragraph 0040) during periods in which spikes (i.e., significant peaks) do not occur, which are periods akin to the flat signal in the first portion of the skin conductance peak data of Ouwerkerk (Fig. 5B). Thus, Loddenkemper’s identification of a baseline amplitude reads upon the claim requirements of identification of at least one rest reference value (VRR). However, Loddenkemper does not teach calculation of a peak reference value as a function of said peak values since threshold determination in Loddenkemper is based on a multiple of a baseline value (Paragraph 0040).
Kazlausky teaches analysis of physiological signals (Abstract), and determines a baseline mean value of a signal (Paragraphs 0044, 0088); however, similarly to Loddenkemper, Kazlausky does not does calculation of a peak reference value as a function of said peak values since threshold determination in Kazlausky is based on a number of deviations from a baseline value.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN XU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791