DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed 10/20/2025. The objections to drawings have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. The objections to the Abstract have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. The objections to the claims have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. Claim 11 has been canceled. Claims 1-10 and 12-20 remain pending for consideration on the merits
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. (CN 112428773 A, hereinafter “Dong”), and further in view of Hangzhou Sanhua Inst Co Ltd (CN 112129000 A, hereinafter “Hangzhou”).
Regarding Claim 1, Dong teaches a fluid management device [100; Figs. 1-20], comprising a heat exchange module [at least 60 and 70; ¶ 0038-0039], a fluid management module [at least 20 and the remainder of components described in ¶ 0032-0042 excluding 40, 50, 60 and 70] , and a connector [at least 40 and 50; ¶ 0036-0037; Fig. 13], wherein
the fluid management device has a communication channel [base 20 comprises at least a first sub-flow channel 412; ¶ 0074; Fig. 8], at least part of the communication channel is located in the connector [at least second sub-flow channel 413 in connecting body 40 communicates with channel 412 to form flowpath 42; ¶ 0074; Fig. 8], and the communication channel communicates with a flow channel of the heat exchange module [heat exchange channel 61 communicates with at least flow passage 42 ¶ 0079; Fig. 8 and 14-15];
the fluid management module comprises a block [at least 20] and a valve core [80 and 81; Fig. 6], the valve core has a through channel [valve 80 interacts with cavity 212 which communicates with flow channel 21; ¶ 0050; Figs. 8-9]; the fluid management module has a throttling chamber [¶ 0050; valves 80 and 81 may be throttling valves. Therefore, because the prior art is configured to accomplish the same throttling function, it is considered to have equivalent structure of a throttling chamber], a valve chamber [valve 80 interacts with the chamber downstream of port 211, intersecting with the valve at communication port 212; ¶ 0050, 0058; Figs. 8-9], the valve chamber is located inside the block [Figs. 8-12; apparent from inspection the valve chamber is within block 20], the valve chamber communicates with the communication channel [valve chamber communicates with at least flow passage 21; ¶ 0059; Fig. 8], the valve core is arranged in the valve chamber [valve 80 interacts with the flow passage 21 through disruption of the flow path from 211 via communication of the valve via cavity 212; ¶ 0050; Fig. 9]; in a working state of the fluid management device,
the connector [40] comprises a first side portion and a second side portion, the heat exchange module is fixedly connected or limitedly connected to the first side portion [Fig. 13; apparent from inspection heat exchanger 60 is disposed next to the left side of base 40], and the block is fixedly connected or limitedly connected to the second side portion [Fig. 13; apparent form inspection the block 20 is disposed on the right side of base 40; vice versa for base 50 with heat exchanger 70 and block 20]; and
the heat exchange module [60] comprises a plurality of stacked plates [Figs. 2-3; apparent from inspection], along a stacking direction of the plates, at least part of the heat exchange module is located at one side of the connector [Fig. 13; apparent from inspection 60 is on the left side of 40], at least part of the fluid management module is located at the other side of the connector [Fig. 13; apparent from inspection 20 is on the right side of 40], and the heat exchange module and the fluid management module are arranged at different sides of the connector [Fig. 13; apparent from inspection that 60 and 20 are each on respective sides of connector 40].
Dong does not explicitly teach a gas-liquid separation chamber located inside the block and wherein the valve core is configured to make the valve chamber be in communication with the gas-liquid separation chamber through the throttling chamber or the through channel.
However, Hangzhou teaches a thermal management system [Fig. 31; ¶ 0094] comprising at least fluid management assembly [10; Fig. 3] wherein the fluid management assembly comprises a plurality of channels through a block portion [valve body 3000], wherein the block portion contains a valve core [5000], the valve core in communication with a cavity 100 [Fig. 3; ¶ 0060-0062]. Hangzhou similarly discloses that the valve core may have at least a throttle passage [5100] and a conduction channel [5200] within a valve chamber [100] [¶ 0074, 0089; Fig. 39]. The valve core may be further configured to communicate with at least another chamber [valve cover 4000] as well as a second cavity [200], wherein the second cavity is configured to separate the gas-liquid mixed refrigerant, the second cavity being disposed within the block portion of the valve body [¶ 0096; Fig. 3]. Hangzhou discloses that this configuration of the gas-liquid separation system allows for the system to utilize not only the separated gas stream via channel 400, but as well as the separated liquid stream to channel 500 via throttle portion 510 [¶ 0088]. Hangzhou thus teaches that this configuration may utilize the separated liquid stream when the pressure at throttle portion 510 is greater than the pressure of the communication portion 520. Therefore, one would recognize that said configuration provides additional means to supply fluid to the passage 500 (i.e. separated fluid from portion 510, or fluid inputted via 520) [¶ 0087] thus increasing the control capabilities of the system through already known structural configurations.
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Dong to have a gas-liquid separation chamber located inside the block and wherein the valve core is configured to make the valve chamber be in communication with the gas-liquid separation chamber through the throttling chamber or the through channel, in view of the teachings of Hangzhou, where applying a known technique to a known device (i.e. disposing a gas-liquid separation means within a fluid control block) with no change in their respective function, would improve the known device in a similar manner (i.e. enable additional/alternative means to supply liquid to the valve) and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. the disclosed configuration provides additional means to supply fluid to the valve (i.e. separated fluid from portion 510, or fluid inputted via 520) thus increasing the control capabilities of the system through already known structural configurations.
Regarding claim 2, Dong, as modified, teaches the fluid management device according to claim 1 above and Dong teaches wherein
the connector [40] comprises a third side portion [at least upper portion of 40; Fig. 13], along the stacking direction of the plates, the heat exchange module [60] [left side of 40] is located at one side of the third side portion, and the fluid management module [right side of 40] is located at the other side of the third side portion [Fig. 13; apparent from inspection];
the fluid management device comprises a valve unit and a throttling unit [at least valves 84 and 85 may both be valves capable of throttling; ¶ 0076, 0080],
the connector comprises a mounting portion [top portion of connector 40], the mounting portion has a first mounting hole and a second mounting hole, each of the first mounting hole and the second mounting hole has an opening in a wall of the third side portion [valves 84 and 85 interact with the fluid in stream 42 through respective holes in the top of the connector 40; Figs. 8 and 14-16], at least part of the valve unit is located at the first mounting hole, and at least part of the throttling unit is located at the second mounting hole [¶ 0076, 0080; Figs. 8 and 14-16; apparent from inspection].
Regarding Claim 3, Dong, as modified, teaches the fluid management device according to claim 2 above and Dong teaches wherein
the connector comprises a fourth side portion [at least lower portion of 40 or 44; Fig. 13], along the stacking direction of the plates, the heat exchange module is located at one side of the fourth side portion, and the fluid management module is located at the other side, which is opposite to the one side, of the fourth side portion; the third side portion is arranged above the fourth side portion in a direction of gravity [Fig. 13; apparent from inspection that the bottom portion is opposite the top portion]; and
the fluid management device comprises a gas-liquid separation portion [30], wherein the gas-liquid separation portion is fixedly connected or limitedly connected to the fourth side portion [¶ 0100; cylinder 30 is installed on base 216 and connecting body is conversely installed on extension 217; Dong further acknowledges that various connection configurations are known within the art; Alternatively, fluid flows through connector 44 to block 20; See Fig. 15; ¶ 0072-0074], the gas-liquid separation portion has a separation cavity [301; ¶ 0061, 0064; Figs. 9-12], the communication channel has an opening [315], facing the gas-liquid separation portion [Fig. 9; apparent from inspection, 315 disposed within 30], in the fourth side portion, and the communication channel communicates with the separation cavity [Fig. 8; communication channel 41, communicating with opening 315, communicates with the flow path in connector 44; ¶ 0072-0074].
Regarding Claim 4, Dong, as modified, teaches the fluid management device according to claim 2, wherein
the heat exchange module comprises a first heat exchange module [60], and the first heat exchange module has a first flow channel [42 or 43; Fig. 15]; the communication channel comprises a first communication channel [at least 431; Fig. 15], and the first communication channel has an opening in the first side portion [Fig. 15; apparent from inspection path 42 extends towards the left side of connector 40 (45)]; the first flow channel of the first heat exchange module communicates with the first communication channel [Fig. 15; apparent from inspection at least path 61 and 42 communicate], and the first communication channel has an opening in the second side portion [Fig. 15; at least path 4312 of path 431 extends to the right side of connector 40 (45)]; and
Hangzhou teaches wherein the block [Fig. 3] comprises a first block [3100] and a second block [3200] [¶ 0081], the first block is fixedly connected or limitedly connected to the second block [¶ 0081; 3100 and 3200 are installed with one another]; the valve chamber [100] comprises a first valve chamber [100; Fig. 3; ¶ 0062-0063], the gas-liquid separation chamber [200] comprises a first gas-liquid separation chamber [200; Fig. 3; ¶ 0096], the first gas-liquid separation chamber is located inside the second block [chamber 200 is formed by the installation of 3100 and 3200, thereby abutting walls of gap 3150 and wall 3201 to form the chamber 200; Fig. 3; ¶ 0081], the first valve chamber is located inside the first block [Fig. 3; apparent from inspection valve chamber 100 is disposed within 3100];
the valve core [5000] comprises a first valve core [5000], the first valve core is arranged in the first valve chamber [100] [Fig. 3; apparent from inspection], the first valve core comprises a first through channel [5200], the throttling chamber comprises a first throttling chamber [5100; ¶ 0089; Figs. 39-42], the first valve core [5000] is configured to make the first valve chamber [100] be in communication with the first gas-liquid separation chamber [200] through the first throttling chamber or the first through channel [See at least Figs. 39, 41-42 showing airflow arrows into chamber 200; ¶ 0075];
and Dong further teaches wherein the first block [20] has an opening facing the second side portion [Fig. 13; apparent from inspection block 20 has at least an opening facing the second side portion of connector 40], and the first communication channel communicates with the first valve chamber [valve chamber communicates with at least flow passage 21; ¶ 0059; Fig. 8].
Regarding Claim 5, Dong, as modified, teaches the fluid management device according to claim 4 above and Dong teaches wherein
the communication channel comprises a second communication channel [at least channel 42; Fig. 8; ¶ 0077], the second communication channel has an opening in the third side portion [¶ 0077; channel 42 is formed by base 20 and the first connecting body 40; See Fig. 8], and the second communication channel comprises a first sub-channel [at least 421], a second sub-channel [at least 4312], and a third sub-channel [at least 4311] [Fig. 15; ¶ 0083]; and wherein
the first sub-channel, the second sub-channel, and the third sub-channel communicate with the opening of the second communication channel in the third side portion [Fig. 15; apparent from inspection that at least path 4312 opens in the right side portion of connector 45]; the first sub-channel has an opening in the first side portion [Fig. 15; apparent from inspection that at least path 42 opens in the left side portion of connector 45], the second sub-channel has an opening in the second side portion [Fig. 15; apparent from inspection that at least path 4312 opens in the right side portion of connector 45], the third sub-channel has an opening [Fig. 15; ¶ 0083; at least path 4311 communicates with 4312 and block 20], facing the gas-liquid separation portion, in the fourth side portion, and the third sub-channel communicates with the separation cavity [See at least Figs 21-22; liquid separator 37 is at least in communication with valves 85 and 87, therefore the pathways of said valves (i.e. 421, 4311, 4312) are necessarily communicating with the separation cavity; See also Fig. 15].
Regarding Claim 6, Dong, as modified, teaches the fluid management device according to claim 5 above and Dong teaches wherein
the heat exchange module further comprises a second heat exchange module [70], and the fluid management device further comprises a valve unit and a throttling unit [at least valves 84, 85, 86, 87 may be valves capable of throttling; ¶ 0076, 0080], wherein
the second heat exchange module has a first flow channel [52 or 53; Fig. 15], the opening of the first sub-channel in the first side portion faces the second heat exchange module, the first flow channel of the second heat exchange module communicates with the first sub-channel [heat exchange module 70 comprises an equivalent connector 50, wherein the first to fourth portions may be considered to be mirrored from that of connector 40 on the opposite side of block 20; See Fig. 13] [See Fig. 15; at least channels 52 and 53 communicate through the connector 55 and the heat exchanger 70]; a wall of the second mounting hole has an opening communicating with the first sub-channel, the throttling unit is configured to adjust an opening degree of the first sub-channel [valves 86 and 87 interact with the fluid in stream 52 through respective holes in the top of the connector 50; Figs. 8 and 14-16]; a wall of the first mounting hole has an opening communicating with the third sub-channel, and the valve unit is configured to open or close the third sub-channel [valves 86 and 87 interact with the fluid in stream 52 through respective holes in the top of the connector 50; Figs. 8 and 14-16].
Regarding Claim 7, Dong, as modified, teaches the fluid management device according to claim 5 above and Dong teaches wherein
the valve chamber comprises a second valve chamber [valve 81 interacts with the chamber downstream of port 231, intersecting with the valve at communication port 232; ¶ 0050, 0057-0058; Figs. 8-9], the gas-liquid separation chamber comprises a second gas-liquid separation chamber, the valve core comprises a second valve core [81], the second valve core is located in the second valve chamber [valve 81 interacts with the chamber downstream of port 231, intersecting with the valve at communication port 232; ¶ 0050, 0058; Figs. 8-9], the second valve core has a second through channel [Fig. 21; apparent from inspection that fluid flows from valve 81 to the accumulator 37], the throttling chamber comprises a second throttling chamber [¶ 0050; valves 80 and 81 may be throttling valves. Therefore, because the prior art is configured to accomplish the same throttling function, it is considered to have equivalent structure of a throttling chamber];
While Hangzhou teaches a first gas-liquid separation chamber [200], a first valve core [5000] and valve chamber [100] in communication with said core by means of a first throttling chamber [5100] or a first through channel [5200] [Fig. 3], Hangzhou does not explicitly teach wherein the gas-liquid separation chamber comprises a second gas-liquid separation chamber, and wherein the second valve core is configured to make the second valve chamber be in communication with the second gas-liquid separation chamber through the second throttling chamber or the second through channel; and wherein the block comprises a third block and a fourth block, the third block is fixedly connected or limitedly connected to the fourth block, the second valve chamber is located inside the third block, at least part of the second gas-liquid separation chamber is located in the fourth block, the third block has an opening facing the second side portion, and the second sub-channel communicates with the second valve chamber.
However, one must consider the prior art in their entirety, and all that they may imply to one of ordinary skill. Specifically, it is important to note that Dong teaches at least two heat exchange modules [60, 70] wherein the heat exchange modules appear to be accompanied with respective flow control devices, i.e. heat exchanger 60 is accompanied by at least connector 40, valves 80, 82, 84 and 85, as well as a uniformly structured fluid control block [20], wherein the components relevant to the first heat exchanger are all disposed on the same side as said heat exchanger. Conversely, heat exchanger 70 is accompanied by at least connector 50, valves 81, 83, 86 and 87, as well as a uniformly structured fluid control block [20], wherein the components relevant to the first heat exchanger are all disposed on the same side as said heat exchanger [Figs. 2-16]. Additionally, upon further review of Hangzhou, one would likely recognize that the block structure of Figure 3 comprises the gas-liquid separation chamber [200] being paired with only a single valve chamber [100] and valve core [5000]. Furthermore, every configuration disclosed by Hangzhou [at least Figs. 17-18, 21-22, 27-28, 30, and 39-42] shows a similar pattern of disposing a single gas-liquid separation chamber per single valve chamber. Therefore, when considering the combination of Dong and Hangzhou, one would likely implement the gas-liquid separation chamber in a similar manner as implemented in the prior art in order to arrive at the expected success. Accordingly, the limitations requiring a second gas-liquid separation chamber and the third block and fourth block may be considered to be obvious as a mere duplication of parts because they do not appear to amount to a new and unexpected result outside of the known capabilities of increasing performance or heat exchange potential. Specifically, because Hangzhou discloses a single gas-liquid separation chamber in communication with a single valve chamber, one would ordinarily provide two gas-liquid separation chambers to Dong in view of Hangzhou because Dong already discloses at least two valves [80 and 81] to be operated with different heat exchange modules [60, 70]. Therefore, when considering the second valve chamber in Dong as at least being part of the third block, a fourth block comprising a second gas-liquid separation chamber would be required, similarly to how Hangzhou requires a first and second block to complete the valve chamber/gas-liquid separation chamber assembly. Accordingly, the third block would face the second side portion of connector 50, similarly to how the first block would face the second side portion of the first connector 40.
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Dong to have wherein the gas-liquid separation chamber comprises a second gas-liquid separation chamber, and wherein the second valve core is configured to make the second valve chamber be in communication with the second gas-liquid separation chamber through the second throttling chamber or the second through channel; and wherein the block comprises a third block and a fourth block, the third block is fixedly connected or limitedly connected to the fourth block, the second valve chamber is located inside the third block, at least part of the second gas-liquid separation chamber is located in the fourth block, the third block has an opening facing the second side portion, and the second sub-channel communicates with the second valve chamber, in view of the teachings of Hangzhou, where applying a known technique to a known device (i.e. duplicating components) with no change in their respective function would improve the known device in a similar manner and the combination would have yielded predictable results because no new an unexpected result is produced.
Regarding Claim 8, Dong, as modified, teaches the fluid management device according to claim 7 above and Dong teaches wherein
the fluid management device is provided with a first opening [411], a second opening [211], a third opening [Hangzhou 2; see explanation below], a fourth opening [231], a fifth opening [Fig. 8; left side of 60], a sixth opening [315], and a seventh opening [311, 313],
the fifth opening is located in the first heat exchange module or in a tube or a block fixedly connected or limitedly connected to the first heat exchange module, and the fifth opening communicates with the first flow channel of the first heat exchange module [Fig. 8; apparent from inspection heat exchanger 60 comprises an opening at least in communication with path 421];
the second opening [211] is located in the first block, the first valve chamber is configured to communicate with the second opening through the first throttling chamber or the first through channel [¶ 0050; member 80 is partially mounted within cavity 212 to communicate with the flow passage],
and Hangzhou teaches wherein
the first gas-liquid separation chamber [200] communicates with the second opening [Hangzhou Fig. 3; ¶ 0063; valve port 3 (similar to the second opening) communicates with gas-liquid separation cavity 200 via at least passage 500];
and Dong further teaches wherein
the fourth opening [231] is located in the third block, the second valve chamber is configured to communicate with the fourth opening through the second throttling chamber or the second through channel, and the second gas-liquid separation chamber communicates with the fourth opening [¶ 0050; member 81 is partially mounted within cavity 232 to communicate with the flow passage];
and Hangzhou further teaches wherein
the third opening [2; Fig. 3] is located in the fluid management module, and the first gas-liquid separation chamber [200] and the second gas-liquid separation chamber communicate with the third opening [¶ 0063, 0096; when considering the mere duplication of a gas-liquid separation chamber as discussed in claim 7 above, said duplication inherently requires at least a duplication of the outlet for said duplicated chamber. Therefore, one of ordinary skill at the time would be presented with at least two obvious options (i.e. providing an entirely second outlet for the second chamber, or provide the second chamber to the already existing outlet). Therefore, when there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, i.e. to provide a second outlet for the second chamber or to provide the second chamber to the same outlet as the first chamber, a person of ordinary skill has a good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, i.e. a means to provide refrigerant to the inlet [42] of the compressor [Hangzhou ¶ 0096], it is likely the product is not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance, the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show it was obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103 (KSR Int' l Co. v. Teleflex Incl, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Dong and Hangzhou, by trying to position the third opening in communication with the second gas-liquid separation chamber, since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is within the abilities of one having ordinary skill. See MPEP 2143(I)(E)];
and Dong further teaches wherein
the first opening [411] is located in the third side portion [While Dong does not explicitly teach the first opening being in the third side portion, the location of the opening may be considered an obvious matter of design choice regarding a rearrangement of parts, because the opening of the prior art accomplishes the same function (i.e. communicating with the first heat exchange module via at least the throttling unit) [Fig. 14; ¶ 0074-0075]. Additionally, no criticality could be found in the specification regarding the location of the first opening], the valve unit [84, 85] is configured to open and close a communication channel between the first opening and the separation cavity [¶ 0074-0076; at least member 84 controls the flow through the connector 40];
the fourth opening [231] is configured to communicate with a second flow channel [52 or 53; Fig. 15] through the throttling unit [Figs. 21-22; opening 231 communicates with at least throttle valves 84, 85, 86 and 87 via cylinder 37], and the fourth opening communicates with the second sub-channel [connector 50 comprises equivalent first through third sub-channels [at least 521, 5312 and 5311 respectively; Fig. 15; ¶ 0096]; and
the seventh opening [311, 313] are located in the gas-liquid separation portion [Fig. 11], the seventh opening [311, 313] is an inlet of the gas-liquid separation portion [30], and the sixth opening [315] is an outlet of the gas-liquid separation portion [¶ 0064, 0070; Figs. 10-12].
Regarding Claim 9, Dong, as modified, teaches the fluid management device according to claim 8 above and Dong teaches wherein the first opening, the second opening, the third opening, the fourth opening, the fifth opening, the sixth opening, and the seventh opening face upwards along the direction of gravity [The limitation requiring the upwards facing direction may be considered an obvious design choice regarding a change in shape, as the direction of the openings do not appear to impact the operation of the device in any unexpected way. Furthermore, a review of the specification does not appear to describe any criticality regarding the opening orientation. Therefore, because the configuration of the openings in the prior art appears to fulfill the same function as that of the instant application (i.e. the openings provide a means to facilitate fluid connection throughout the system [See at least Figs. 21-22 of Dong; ¶ 0106-0109]), one would obviously provide the openings in an orientation compatible with the remainder of the system to facilitate the described communication].
Regarding Claim 10, Dong teaches a thermal management system [Figs. 21-22], comprising a compressor [10], a first heat exchanger [5], a second heat exchanger [4], and a fluid management device, wherein
the fluid management device [100; Figs. 1-20], comprising a heat exchange module [at least 60 and 70; ¶ 0038-0039], a fluid management module [at least 20 and the remainder of components described in ¶ 0032-0042 excluding 40, 50, 60 and 70] , and a connector [at least 40 and 50; ¶ 0036-0037; Fig. 13], wherein
the fluid management device has a communication channel [base 20 comprises at least a first sub-flow channel 412; ¶ 0074; Fig. 8], at least part of the communication channel is located in the connector [at least second sub-flow channel 413 in connecting body 40 communicates with channel 412 to form flowpath 42; ¶ 0074; Fig. 8], and the communication channel communicates with a flow channel of the heat exchange module [heat exchange channel 61 communicates with at least flow passage 42 ¶ 0079; Fig. 8 and 14-15];
the fluid management module comprises a block [at least 20] and a valve core [80 and 81; Fig. 6], the valve core has a through channel [valve 80 interacts with cavity 212 which communicates with flow channel 21; ¶ 0050; Figs. 8-9]; the fluid management module has a throttling chamber [¶ 0050; valves 80 and 81 may be throttling valves. Therefore, because the prior art is configured to accomplish the same throttling function, it is considered to have equivalent structure of a throttling chamber], a valve chamber [valve 80 interacts with the chamber downstream of port 211, intersecting with the valve at communication port 212; ¶ 0050, 0058; Figs. 8-9], the valve chamber is located inside the block [Figs. 8-12; apparent from inspection the valve chamber is within block 20], the valve chamber communicates with the communication channel [valve chamber communicates with at least flow passage 21; ¶ 0059; Fig. 8], the valve core is arranged in the valve chamber [valve 80 interacts with the flow passage 21 through disruption of the flow path from 211 via communication of the valve via cavity 212; ¶ 0050; Fig. 9]; in a working state of the fluid management device,
the connector [40] comprises a first side portion and a second side portion, the heat exchange module is fixedly connected or limitedly connected to the first side portion [Fig. 13; apparent from inspection heat exchanger 60 is disposed next to the left side of base 40], and the block is fixedly connected or limitedly connected to the second side portion [Fig. 13; apparent form inspection the block 20 is disposed on the right side of base 40; vice versa for base 50 with heat exchanger 70 and block 20]; and
the heat exchange module [60] comprises a plurality of stacked plates [Figs. 2-3; apparent from inspection], along a stacking direction of the plates, at least part of the heat exchange module is located at one side of the connector [Fig. 13; apparent from inspection 60 is on the left side of 40], at least part of the fluid management module is located at the other side of the connector [Fig. 13; apparent from inspection 20 is on the right side of 40], and the heat exchange module and the fluid management module are arranged at different sides of the connector [Fig. 13; apparent from inspection that 60 and 20 are each on respective sides of connector 40].
Dong does not explicitly teach a gas-liquid separation chamber located inside the block and wherein the valve core is configured to make the valve chamber be in communication with the gas-liquid separation chamber through the throttling chamber or the through channel.
However, Hangzhou teaches a thermal management system [Fig. 31; ¶ 0094] comprising at least fluid management assembly [10; Fig. 3] wherein the fluid management assembly comprises a plurality of channels through a block portion [valve body 3000], wherein the block portion contains a valve core [5000], the valve core in communication with a cavity 100 [Fig. 3; ¶ 0060-0062]. Hangzhou similarly discloses that the valve core may have at least a throttle passage [5100] and a conduction channel [5200] within a valve chamber [100] [¶ 0074, 0089; Fig. 39]. The valve core may be further configured to communicate with at least another chamber [valve cover 4000] as well as a second cavity [200], wherein the second cavity is configured to separate the gas-liquid mixed refrigerant, the second cavity being disposed within the block portion of the valve body [¶ 0096; Fig. 3]. Hangzhou discloses that this configuration of the gas-liquid separation system allows for the system to utilize not only the separated gas stream via channel 400, but as well as the separated liquid stream to channel 500 via throttle portion 510 [¶ 0088]. Hangzhou thus teaches that this configuration may utilize the separated liquid stream when the pressure at throttle portion 510 is greater than the pressure of the communication portion 520. Therefore, one would recognize that said configuration provides additional means to supply fluid to the passage 500 (i.e. separated fluid from portion 510, or fluid inputted via 520) [¶ 0087] thus increasing the control capabilities of the system through already known structural configurations.
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Dong to have a gas-liquid separation chamber located inside the block and wherein the valve core is configured to make the valve chamber be in communication with the gas-liquid separation chamber through the throttling chamber or the through channel., in view of the teachings of Hangzhou, where applying a known technique to a known device (i.e. disposing a gas-liquid separation means within a fluid control block) with no change in their respective function, would improve the known device in a similar manner (i.e. enable additional/alternative means to supply liquid to the valve) and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. the disclosed configuration provides additional means to supply fluid to the valve (i.e. separated fluid from portion 510, or fluid inputted via 520) thus increasing the control capabilities of the system through already known structural configurations.
Claim 11 canceled
Regarding Claim 12, Dong, as modified, teaches the fluid management device according to claim 3 above and Dong teaches wherein
the heat exchange module comprises a first heat exchange module [60], and the first heat exchange module has a first flow channel [42 or 43; Fig. 15]; the communication channel comprises a first communication channel [at least 431; Fig. 15], and the first communication channel has an opening in the first side portion [Fig. 15; apparent from inspection path 42 extends towards the left side of connector 40 (45)]; the first flow channel of the first heat exchange module communicates with the first communication channel [Fig. 15; apparent from inspection at least path 61 and 42 communicate], and the first communication channel has an opening in the second side portion [Fig. 15; at least path 4312 of path 431 extends to the right side of connector 40 (45)]; and
Hangzhou teaches wherein the block [Fig. 3] comprises a first block [3100] and a second block [3200] [¶ 0081], the first block is fixedly connected or limitedly connected to the second block [¶ 0081; 3100 and 3200 are installed with one another]; the valve chamber [100] comprises a first valve chamber [100; Fig. 3; ¶ 0062-0063], the gas-liquid separation chamber [200] comprises a first gas-liquid separation chamber [200; Fig. 3; ¶ 0096], the first gas-liquid separation chamber is located inside the second block [chamber 200 is formed by the installation of 3100 and 3200, thereby abutting walls of gap 3150 and wall 3201 to form the chamber 200; Fig. 3; ¶ 0081], the first valve chamber is located inside the first block [Fig. 3; apparent from inspection valve chamber 100 is disposed within 3100];
the valve core [5000] comprises a first valve core [5000], the first valve core is arranged in the first valve chamber [100] [Fig. 3; apparent from inspection], the first valve core comprises a first through channel [5200], the throttling chamber comprises a first throttling chamber [5100; ¶ 0089; Figs. 39-42], the first valve core [5000] is configured to make the first valve chamber [100] be in communication with the first gas-liquid separation chamber [200] through the first throttling chamber or the first through channel [See at least Figs. 39, 41-42 showing airflow arrows into chamber 200; ¶ 0075];
and Dong further teaches wherein the first block [20] has an opening facing the second side portion [Fig. 13; apparent from inspection block 20 has at least an opening facing the second side portion of connector 40], and the first communication channel communicates with the first valve chamber [valve chamber communicates with at least flow passage 21; ¶ 0059; Fig. 8].
Regarding Claim 13, Dong, as modified, teaches the fluid management device according to claim 6 above and Dong teaches wherein
the valve chamber comprises a second valve chamber [valve 81 interacts with the chamber downstream of port 231, intersecting with the valve at communication port 232; ¶ 0050, 0057-0058; Figs. 8-9], the gas-liquid separation chamber comprises a second gas-liquid separation chamber, the valve core comprises a second valve core [81], the second valve core is located in the second valve chamber [valve 81 interacts with the chamber downstream of port 231, intersecting with the valve at communication port 232; ¶ 0050, 0058; Figs. 8-9], the second valve core has a second through channel [Fig. 21; apparent from inspection that fluid flows from valve 81 to the accumulator 37], the throttling chamber comprises a second throttling chamber [¶ 0050; valves 80 and 81 may be throttling valves. Therefore, because the prior art is configured to accomplish the same throttling function, it is considered to have equivalent structure of a throttling chamber];
While Hangzhou teaches a first gas-liquid separation chamber [200], a first valve core [5000] and valve chamber [100] in communication with said core by means of a first throttling chamber [5100] or a first through channel [5200] [Fig. 3], Hangzhou does not explicitly teach wherein the gas-liquid separation chamber comprises a second gas-liquid separation chamber, and wherein the second valve core is configured to make the second valve chamber be in communication with the second gas-liquid separation chamber through the second throttling chamber or the second through channel; and wherein the block comprises a third block and a fourth block, the third block is fixedly connected or limitedly connected to the fourth block, the second valve chamber is located inside the third block, at least part of the second gas-liquid separation chamber is located in the fourth block, the third block has an opening facing the second side portion, and the second sub-channel communicates with the second valve chamber.
However, one must consider the prior art in their entirety, and all that they may imply to one of ordinary skill. Specifically, it is important to note that Dong teaches at least two heat exchange modules [60, 70] wherein the heat exchange modules appear to be accompanied with respective flow control devices, i.e. heat exchanger 60 is accompanied by at least connector 40, valves 80, 82, 84 and 85, as well as a uniformly structured fluid control block [20], wherein the components relevant to the first heat exchanger are all disposed on the same side as said heat exchanger. Conversely, heat exchanger 70 is accompanied by at least connector 50, valves 81, 83, 86 and 87, as well as a uniformly structured fluid control block [20], wherein the components relevant to the first heat exchanger are all disposed on the same side as said heat exchanger [Figs. 2-16]. Additionally, upon further review of Hangzhou, one would likely recognize that the block structure of Figure 3 comprises the gas-liquid separation chamber [200] being paired with only a single valve chamber [100] and valve core [5000]. Furthermore, every configuration disclosed by Hangzhou [at least Figs. 17-18, 21-22, 27-28, 30, and 39-42] shows a similar pattern of disposing a single gas-liquid separation chamber per single valve chamber. Therefore, when considering the combination of Dong and Hangzhou, one would likely implement the gas-liquid separation chamber in a similar manner as implemented in the prior art in order to arrive at the expected success. Therefore, because Dong discloses a plurality of valves (80 and 81), one would naturally provide a plurality of gas-liquid separation chambers. Accordingly, the limitations requiring a second gas-liquid separation chamber and the third block and fourth block may be considered to be obvious as a mere duplication of parts because they do not appear to amount to a new and unexpected result outside of the known capabilities of increasing performance or heat exchange potential. Specifically, because Hangzhou generally discloses a single gas-liquid separation chamber in communication with a single valve chamber through the use of connecting blocks, one would ordinarily provide two gas-liquid separation chambers to Dong in view of Hangzhou because Dong already discloses at least two valves [80 and 81] to be operated with different heat exchange modules [60, 70]. Therefore, when considering the second valve chamber in Dong as at least being part of the third block, a fourth block comprising a second gas-liquid separation chamber would be required, similarly to how Hangzhou requires a first and second block to complete the valve chamber/gas-liquid separation chamber assembly. Accordingly, the third block would face the second side portion of connector 50, similarly to how the first block would face the second side portion of the first connector 40.
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Dong to have wherein the gas-liquid separation chamber comprises a second gas-liquid separation chamber, and wherein the second valve core is configured to make the second valve chamber be in communication with the second gas-liquid separation chamber through the second throttling chamber or the second through channel; and wherein the block comprises a third block and a fourth block, the third block is fixedly connected or limitedly connected to the fourth block, the second valve chamber is located inside the third block, at least part of the second gas-liquid separation chamber is located in the fourth block, the third block has an opening facing the second side portion, and the second sub-channel communicates with the second valve chamber, in view of the teachings of Hangzhou, where applying a known technique to a known device (i.e. duplicating components) with no change in their respective function would improve the known device in a similar manner and the combination would have yielded predictable results because no new an unexpected result is produced.
Regarding Claim 14, Dong, as modified, teaches the thermal management system according to claim 10 above, wherein
the connector [40] comprises a third side portion [at least upper portion of 40; Fig. 13], along the stacking direction of the plates, the heat exchange module [60] [left side of 40] is located at one side of the third side portion, and the fluid management module [right side of 40] is located at the other side of the third side portion [Fig. 13; apparent from inspection];
the fluid management device comprises a valve unit and a throttling unit [at least valves 84 and 85 may both be valves capable of throttling; ¶ 0076, 0080],
the connector comprises a mounting portion [top portion of connector 40], the mounting portion has a first mounting hole and a second mounting hole, each of the first mounting hole and the second mounting hole has an opening in a wall of the third side portion [valves 84 and 85 interact with the fluid in stream 42 through respective holes in the top of the connector 40; Figs. 8 and 14-16], at least part of the valve unit is located at the first mounting hole, and at least part of the throttling unit is located at the second mounting hole [¶ 0076, 0080; Figs. 8 and 14-16; apparent from inspection].
Regarding Claim 15, Dong, as modified, teaches the thermal management system [Figs. 21-22] according to claim 14 above, wherein
the connector comprises a fourth side portion [at least lower portion of 40 or 44; Fig. 13], along the stacking direction of the plates, the heat exchange module is located at one side of the fourth side portion, and the fluid management module is located at the other side, which is opposite to the one side, of the fourth side portion; the third side portion is arranged above the fourth side portion in a direction of gravity [Fig. 13; apparent from inspection that the bottom portion is opposite the top portion]; and
the fluid management device comprises a gas-liquid separation portion [30], wherein the gas-liquid separation portion is fixedly connected or limitedly connected to the fourth side portion [¶ 0100; cylinder 30 is installed on base 216 and connecting body is conversely installed on extension 217; Dong further acknowledges that various connection configurations are known within the art; Alternatively, fluid flows through connector 44 to block 20; See Fig. 15; ¶ 0072-0074], the gas-liquid separation portion has a separation cavity [301; ¶ 0061, 0064; Figs. 9-12], the communication channel has an opening [315], facing the gas-liquid separation portion [Fig. 9; apparent from inspection, 315 disposed within 30], in the fourth side portion, and the communication channel communicates with the separation cavity [Fig. 8; communication channel 41, communicating with opening 315, communicates with the flow path in connector 44; ¶ 0072-0074].
Regarding Claim 16, Dong, as modified, teaches the thermal management system [Figs. 21-22] according to claim 1 above, wherein
the heat exchange module comprises a first heat exchange module [60], and the first heat exchange module has a first flow channel [42 or 43; Fig. 15]; the communication channel comprises a first communication channel [at least 431; Fig. 15], and the first communication channel has an opening in the first side portion [Fig. 15; apparent from inspection path 42 extends towards the left side of connector 40 (45)]; the first flow channel of the first heat exchange module communicates with the first communication channel [Fig. 15; apparent from inspection at least path 61 and 42 communicate], and the first communication channel has an opening in the second side portion [Fig. 15; at least path 4312 of path 431 extends to the right side of connector 40 (45)]; and
Hangzhou teaches wherein the block [Fig. 3] comprises a first block [3100] and a second block [3200] [¶ 0081], the first block is fixedly connected or limitedly connected to the second block [¶ 0081; 3100 and 3200 are installed with one another]; the valve chamber [100] comprises a first valve chamber [100; Fig. 3; ¶ 0062-0063], the gas-liquid separation chamber [200] comprises a first gas-liquid separation chamber [200; Fig. 3; ¶ 0096], the first gas-liquid separation chamber is located inside the second block [chamber 200 is formed by the installation of 3100 and 3200, thereby abutting walls of gap 3150 and wall 3201 to form the chamber 200; Fig. 3; ¶ 0081], the first valve chamber is located inside the first block [Fig. 3; apparent from inspection valve chamber 100 is disposed within 3100];
the valve core [5000] comprises a first valve core [5000], the first valve core is arranged in the first valve chamber [100] [Fig. 3; apparent from inspection], the first valve core comprises a first through channel [5200], the throttling chamber comprises a first throttling chamber [5100; ¶ 0089; Figs. 39-42], the first valve core [5000] is configured to make the first valve chamber [100] be in communication with the first gas-liquid separation chamber [200] through the first throttling chamber or the first through channel [See at least Figs. 39, 41-42 showing airflow arrows into chamber 200; ¶ 0075];
and Dong further teaches wherein the first block [20] has an opening facing the second side portion [Fig. 13; apparent from inspection block 20 has at least an opening facing the second side portion of connector 40], and the first communication channel communicates with the first valve chamber [valve chamber communicates with at least flow passage 21; ¶ 0059; Fig. 8].
Regarding Claim 17, Dong, as modified, teaches a thermal management system [Figs. 21-22] according to claim 16 above, wherein
the communication channel comprises a second communication channel [at least channel 42; Fig. 8; ¶ 0077], the second communication channel has an opening in the third side portion [¶ 0077; channel 42 is formed by base 20 and the first connecting body 40; See Fig. 8], and the second communication channel comprises a first sub-channel [at least 421], a second sub-channel [at least 4312], and a third sub-channel [at least 4311] [Fig. 15; ¶ 0083]; and wherein
the first sub-channel, the second sub-channel, and the third sub-channel communicate with the opening of the second communication channel in the third side portion [Fig. 15; apparent from inspection that at least path 4312 opens in the right side portion of connector 45]; the first sub-channel has an opening in the first side portion [Fig. 15; apparent from inspection that at least path 42 opens in the left side portion of connector 45], the second sub-channel has an opening in the second side portion [Fig. 15; apparent from inspection that at least path 4312 opens in the right side portion of connector 45], the third sub-channel has an opening [Fig. 15; ¶ 0083; at least path 4311 communicates with 4312 and block 20], facing the gas-liquid separation portion, in the fourth side portion, and the third sub-channel communicates with the separation cavity [See at least Figs 21-22; liquid separator 37 is at least in communication with valves 85 and 87, therefore the pathways of said valves (i.e. 421, 4311, 4312) are necessarily communicating with the separation cavity; See also Fig. 15].
Regarding Claim 18, Dong, as modified, teaches the thermal management system [Figs. 21-22] according to claim 17 above, wherein
the heat exchange module further comprises a second heat exchange module [70], and the fluid management device further comprises a valve unit and a throttling unit [at least valves 84, 85, 86, 87 may be valves capable of throttling; ¶ 0076, 0080], wherein
the second heat exchange module has a first flow channel [52 or 53; Fig. 15], the opening of the first sub-channel in the first side portion faces the second heat exchange module, the first flow channel of the second heat exchange module communicates with the first sub-channel [heat exchange module 70 comprises an equivalent connector 50, wherein the first to fourth portions may be considered to be mirrored from that of connector 40 on the opposite side of block 20; See Fig. 13] [See Fig. 15; at least channels 52 and 53 communicate through the connector 55 and the heat exchanger 70]; a wall of the second mounting hole has an opening communicating with the first sub-channel, the throttling unit is configured to adjust an opening degree of the first sub-channel [valves 86 and 87 interact with the fluid in stream 52 through respective holes in the top of the connector 50; Figs. 8 and 14-16]; a wall of the first mounting hole has an opening communicating with the third sub-channel, and the valve unit is configured to open or close the third sub-channel [valves 86 and 87 interact with the fluid in stream 52 through respective holes in the top of the connector 50; Figs. 8 and 14-16].
Regarding Claim 19, Dong, as modified, teaches the thermal management system [Figs. 21-22] according to claim 16 above, wherein
the valve chamber comprises a second valve chamber [valve 81 interacts with the chamber downstream of port 231, intersecting with the valve at communication port 232; ¶ 0050, 0057-0058; Figs. 8-9], the gas-liquid separation chamber comprises a second gas-liquid separation chamber, the valve core comprises a second valve core [81], the second valve core is located in the second valve chamber [valve 81 interacts with the chamber downstream of port 231, intersecting with the valve at communication port 232; ¶ 0050, 0058; Figs. 8-9], the second valve core has a second through channel [Fig. 21; apparent from inspection that fluid flows from valve 81 to the accumulator 37], the throttling chamber comprises a second throttling chamber [¶ 0050; valves 80 and 81 may be throttling valves. Therefore, because the prior art is configured to accomplish the same throttling function, it is considered to have equivalent structure of a throttling chamber];
While Hangzhou teaches a first gas-liquid separation chamber [200], a first valve core [5000] and valve chamber [100] in communication with said core by means of a first throttling chamber [5100] or a first through channel [5200] [Fig. 3], Hangzhou does not explicitly teach wherein the gas-liquid separation chamber comprises a second gas-liquid separation chamber, and wherein the second valve core is configured to make the second valve chamber be in communication with the second gas-liquid separation chamber through the second throttling chamber or the second through channel; and wherein the block comprises a third block and a fourth block, the third block is fixedly connected or limitedly connected to the fourth block, the second valve chamber is located inside the third block, at least part of the second gas-liquid separation chamber is located in the fourth block, the third block has an opening facing the second side portion, and the second sub-channel communicates with the second valve chamber.
However, one must consider the prior art in their entirety, and all that they may imply to one of ordinary skill. Specifically, it is important to note that Dong teaches at least two heat exchange modules [60, 70] wherein the heat exchange modules appear to be accompanied with respective flow control devices, i.e. heat exchanger 60 is accompanied by at least connector 40, valves 80, 82, 84 and 85, as well as a uniformly structured fluid control block [20], wherein the components relevant to the first heat exchanger are all disposed on the same side as said heat exchanger. Conversely, heat exchanger 70 is accompanied by at least connector 50, valves 81, 83, 86 and 87, as well as a uniformly structured fluid control block [20], wherein the components relevant to the first heat exchanger are all disposed on the same side as said heat exchanger [Figs. 2-16]. Additionally, upon further review of Hangzhou, one would likely recognize that the block structure of Figure 3 comprises the gas-liquid separation chamber [200] being paired with only a single valve chamber [100] and valve core [5000]. Furthermore, every configuration disclosed by Hangzhou [at least Figs. 17-18, 21-22, 27-28, 30, and 39-42] shows a similar pattern of disposing a single gas-liquid separation chamber per single valve chamber. Therefore, when considering the combination of Dong and Hangzhou, one would likely implement the gas-liquid separation chamber in a similar manner as implemented in the prior art in order to arrive at the expected success. Accordingly, the limitations requiring a second gas-liquid separation chamber and the third block and fourth block may be considered to be obvious as a mere duplication of parts because they do not appear to amount to a new and unexpected result outside of the known capabilities of increasing performance or heat exchange potential. Specifically, because Hangzhou discloses a single gas-liquid separation chamber in communication with a single valve chamber, one would ordinarily provide two gas-liquid separation chambers to Dong in view of Hangzhou because Dong already discloses at least two valves [80 and 81] to be operated with different heat exchange modules [60, 70]. Therefore, when considering the second valve chamber in Dong as at least being part of the third block, a fourth block comprising a second gas-liquid separation chamber would be required, similarly to how Hangzhou requires a first and second block to complete the valve chamber/gas-liquid separation chamber assembly. Accordingly, the third block would face the second side portion of connector 50, similarly to how the first block would face the second side portion of the first connector 40.
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Dong to have wherein the gas-liquid separation chamber comprises a second gas-liquid separation chamber, and wherein the second valve core is configured to make the second valve chamber be in communication with the second gas-liquid separation chamber through the second throttling chamber or the second through channel; and wherein the block comprises a third block and a fourth block, the third block is fixedly connected or limitedly connected to the fourth block, the second valve chamber is located inside the third block, at least part of the second gas-liquid separation chamber is located in the fourth block, the third block has an opening facing the second side portion, and the second sub-channel communicates with the second valve chamber, in view of the teachings of Hangzhou, where applying a known technique to a known device (i.e. duplicating components) with no change in their respective function would improve the known device in a similar manner and the combination would have yielded predictable results because no new an unexpected result is produced.
Regarding Claim 20, Dong, as modified, teaches the thermal management system [Figs. 21-22] according to claim 16 above, wherein
the fifth opening is located in the first heat exchange module or in a tube or a block fixedly connected or limitedly connected to the first heat exchange module, and the fifth opening communicates with the first flow channel of the first heat exchange module [Fig. 8; apparent from inspection heat exchanger 60 comprises an opening at least in communication with path 421];
the second opening [211] is located in the first block, the first valve chamber is configured to communicate with the second opening through the first throttling chamber or the first through channel [¶ 0050; member 80 is partially mounted within cavity 212 to communicate with the flow passage],
and Hangzhou teaches wherein
the first gas-liquid separation chamber [200] communicates with the second opening [Hangzhou Fig. 3; ¶ 0063; valve port 3 (similar to the second opening) communicates with gas-liquid separation cavity 200 via at least passage 500];
and Dong further teaches wherein
the fourth opening [231] is located in the fourth block, the second valve chamber is configured to communicate with the fourth opening through the second throttling chamber or the second through channel, and the second gas-liquid separation chamber communicates with the fourth opening [¶ 0050; member 81 is partially mounted within cavity 232 to communicate with the flow passage];
and Hangzhou further teaches wherein
the third opening [2; Fig. 3] is located in the fluid management module, and the first gas-liquid separation chamber [200] and the second gas-liquid separation chamber communicate with the third opening [¶ 0063, 0096; when considering the mere duplication of a gas-liquid separation chamber as discussed in claim 7 above, said duplication inherently requires at least a duplication of the outlet for said duplicated chamber. Therefore, one of ordinary skill at the time would be presented with at least two obvious options (i.e. providing an entirely second outlet for the second chamber, or provide the second chamber to the already existing outlet). Therefore, when there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, i.e. to provide a second outlet for the second chamber or to provide the second chamber to the same outlet as the first chamber, a person of ordinary skill has a good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, i.e. a means to provide refrigerant to the inlet [42] of the compressor [Hangzhou ¶ 0096], it is likely the product is not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance, the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show it was obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103 (KSR Int' l Co. v. Teleflex Incl, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Dong and Hangzhou, by trying to position the third opening in communication with the second gas-liquid separation chamber, since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is within the abilities of one having ordinary skill. See MPEP 2143(I)(E)];
and Dong further teaches wherein
the first opening [411] is located in the third side portion [While Dong does not explicitly teach the first opening being in the third side portion, the location of the opening may be considered an obvious matter of design choice regarding a rearrangement of parts, because the opening of the prior art accomplishes the same function (i.e. communicating with the first heat exchange module via at least the throttling unit) [Fig. 14; ¶ 0074-0075]. Additionally, no criticality could be found in the specification regarding the location of the first opening], the valve unit [84, 85] is configured to open and close a communication channel between the first opening and the separation cavity [¶ 0074-0076; at least member 84 controls the flow through the connector 40];
the fourth opening [231] is configured to communicate with a second flow channel [52 or 53; Fig. 15] through the throttling unit [Figs. 21-22; opening 231 communicates with at least throttle valves 84, 85, 86 and 87 via cylinder 37], and the fourth opening communicates with the second sub-channel [connector 50 comprises equivalent first through third sub-channels [at least 521, 5312 and 5311 respectively; Fig. 15; ¶ 0096]; and
the fifth opening [315] and the seventh opening [311, 313] are located in the gas-liquid separation portion [Fig. 11], the seventh opening [311, 313] is an inlet of the gas-liquid separation portion [30], and the sixth opening [315] is an outlet of the gas-liquid separation portion [¶ 0064, 0070; Figs. 10-12].
Response to Arguments
On pages 19-21 of the remarks, Applicant argues that the prior art, Dong, does not teach the liquid separation chamber as cited. Applicant’s arguments have been carefully considered and are somewhat persuasive in pointing out what the primary reference does not teach. Due to the improved clarity and understanding of the invention from the other amendments, the rejection of independent claim 1 has been reconstructed to more accurately describe what the primary art does not teach.
The Examiner agrees with Applicant’s statement in that cylinder 30 in Dong may not be construed as the liquid separation chamber in the device disposed within the block, as the claimed invention has a similar cylindrical separation chamber. The rejection of claim 1 has been accordingly modified to state that Dong does not teach a gas-liquid separation chamber located inside the block and wherein the valve core is configured to make the valve chamber be in communication with the gas-liquid separation chamber through the throttling chamber or the through channel. However, while Dong does not explicitly teach this separation chamber in the block, the remainder of the rejection relying on Hangzhou is still believed to teach the claimed separation chamber disposed within the block.
Specifically, Hangzhou teaches a plurality of channels through a block portion [valve body 3000], wherein the block portion contains a valve core [5000], the valve core in communication with a cavity 100 [Fig. 3; ¶ 0060-0062]. Hangzhou similarly discloses that the valve core may have at least a throttle passage [5100] and a conduction channel [5200] within a valve chamber [100] [¶ 0074, 0089; Fig. 39]. Hangzhou further discloses a second cavity [200] wherein the second cavity is configured to separate the gas-liquid mixed refrigerant, the second cavity being disposed within the block portion of the valve body, in communication with the openings in valve core 5000 [¶ 0096; Fig. 3; apparent from inspection]. Hangzhou discloses that this configuration of the gas-liquid separation system allows for the system to utilize not only the separated gas stream via channel 400, but as well as the separated liquid stream to channel 500 via throttle portion 510 [¶ 0088]. Hangzhou thus teaches that this configuration may utilize the separated liquid stream when the pressure at throttle portion 510 is greater than the pressure of the communication portion 520. Therefore, one would recognize that said configuration provides additional means to supply fluid to the passage 500 (i.e. separated fluid from portion 510, or fluid inputted via 520) [¶ 0087] thus increasing the control capabilities of the system through already known structural configurations.
On page 21 of the remarks, Applicant argues that the combination would provide the main prior art Dong to not operate normally. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Specifically, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). For example, both prior arts are drawn to a fluid management assembly of a thermal management system utilizing a block portion having a plurality of pathways or channels, in combination with at least heat exchangers and compressors, where both prior arts utilize phase separation as a necessity to operate. Therefore, the invention of Hangzhou is pertinent to the disclosure because it is within the same field of endeavor and is provided with rationale as to why adding further separation chambers may improve the device. Additionally, one must consider the teachings of structural similarity [MPEP 2144.08 4.(c)] wherein structurally similar species usually have similar properties and one of reasonable skill in the art would therefore expect that the claimed subject matter will function in an equivalent manner to the genus. Therefore, the claims remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEITH STANLEY MYERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763