DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/18/2023 and 11/15/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 US.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to nonstatutory subject matter.
Regarding claim 16, the claim calls for a “a non-volatile or non-transitory computer-readable storage medium”. The specification regards the “a non-volatile or non-transitory computer-readable storage medium” as the following: “a non-volatile or non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having computer instructions stored therein is provided… [t]he storage medium may be a computer-readable storage medium, such as a non-volatile memory or a non-transitory memory… [t]he storage medium may include a ROM, a RAM, a magnetic disk or an optical disk.” (Applicant’s Spec. ¶ 0087)
Thus, applying the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the Specification and taking into account the meaning of the words in their ordinary usage as they would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP §2111.01), the claim as a whole covers a transitory signal, as such, does not fall within the definition of a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP §2106.01). Here, “a non-volatile computer readable medium” covers a transitory signal.
Therefore, claim(s) 16 is/are directed towards non-statutory subject matter (See MPEP section 2106, Seventh Edition, Revision No. dated February 2000, at page 2100-10 and 2100-11). Other dependent claims, which are not specifically cited above are also rejected because of the deficiencies of their respective parent claims.
Examiner’s comment: A claim drawn to such a computer readable medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 by adding the limitation “non-transitory” to the claim term (Kappos memo dated January 26, 2010 available at http://www.uspto.gov/patents/law/notices/101_crm_20100127.pdf).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 16-17, 19-20, 22-23, 25-26, and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao et al. (US 2020/0367083 A1; “Hao”) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2023/0145057 A1; “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1, Hao teaches a method for feeding back a type II port selection codebook, comprising:
acquiring a to-be-measured reference signal [Hao ¶ 0118, Fig. 4: UE 115-c may receive CSI-RS transmitted by base station 105-c, wherein the CSI-RS may include a set of CSI-RS transmitted over multiple antenna ports], and
determining the type II port selection codebook based on a measurement result of the to-be-measured reference signal [Hao ¶¶ 0119-0120, Fig. 4: UE 115-c may perform channel measurements based at least in part on the CSI-RS, and may identify relevant CSI parameters for one or more spatial layers for inclusion in a CSI report; ¶ 0088: UE 115-a may receive a configuration indicating use of the Type II port selection codebook and may identify a combination of antenna ports 205 to be communicated to base station 105-a in the CSI report based on the precoded CSI-RS 215];
generating feedback parameters based on the type II port selection codebook [Hao ¶ 0120, Fig. 4: UE 115-c may determine the number of non-zero-power beams and/or antenna ports and their indices based on the derived CSI parameters, wherein the non-zero-power beams may be identified based at least in part on the configuration received at 405; ¶ 0088: UE 115-a may receive a configuration indicating use of the Type II port selection codebook and may identify a combination of antenna ports 205 to be communicated to base station 105-a in the CSI report based on the precoded CSI-RS 215 (here, the UE determines parameter feedback based on Type II port selection codebook configuration)], and
transmitting the feedback parameters [Hao ¶ 0121, Fig. 4: UE 115-c may transmit a CSI report at step 425].
However, Hao does not explicitly disclose wherein the feedback parameters comprise a strongest coefficient index, amplitudes of all coefficients, and phases of at least a portion of coefficients in a weighting coefficient matrix in the type II port selection codebook.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Grossmann teaches wherein the feedback parameters comprise a strongest coefficient index, amplitudes of all coefficients, and phases of at least a portion of coefficients in a weighting coefficient matrix in the type II port selection codebook [Zhang ¶ 0048: CSI report contains index of strongest coefficient, each phase φ(l,m) quantized to 16PSK (4-bit), and quantized amplitude associated with non-zero coefficients that are quantized in compression matrix M (i.e. only non-zero amplitudes are reported in a compressed/weighting matrix)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of generating a type II port selection codebook CSI feedback report based on measured reference signals as taught by Hao, with the method of indicating a strongest coefficient, and amplitude and phase of coefficients for a type II port selection codebook configurations as taught by Zhang. The motivation to combine these references would be to allow for CSI-RS feedback reporting. The motivation to do so would be to reduce codebook overhead for CSI feedback reporting [Zhang ¶ 0047].
Regarding claim 2, Hao in view of Zhang teaches the method according to claim 1, however, Hao does not explicitly disclose wherein the phases of at least a portion of the coefficients refer to phases of non-zero coefficients in the weighting coefficient matrix, or phases of all the coefficients in the weighting coefficient matrix.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the phases of at least a portion of the coefficients refer to phases of non-zero coefficients in the weighting coefficient matrix, or phases of all the coefficients in the weighting coefficient matrix [Zhang ¶ 0048: each phase φ(l,m) quantized to 16PSK (4-bit) (here, the quantized phase is associated with compression matrix, i.e., weighted matrix, M); Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, e.g., use of the word “or”, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Hao in view of Zhang teaches the method according to claim 2, however, Hao does not explicitly disclose wherein based on that the phases of at least a portion of the coefficients refer to phases of non-zero coefficients in the weighting coefficient matrix, for any coefficient in the weighting coefficient matrix, whether the coefficient is a non-zero coefficient is determined based on a quantized value of an amplitude of the coefficient.
However, Zhang teaches wherein based on that the phases of at least a portion of the coefficients refer to phases of non-zero coefficients in the weighting coefficient matrix [Zhang ¶ 0048: each phase φ(l,m) quantized to 16PSK (4-bit)], for any coefficient in the weighting coefficient matrix, whether the coefficient is a non-zero coefficient is determined based on a quantized value of an amplitude of the coefficient [Zhang ¶ 0048: quantized amplitude associated with non-zero coefficients that are quantized in compression matrix M (i.e. any amplitude value in the compression matrix corresponds to a non-zero coefficient)].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, Hao in view of Zhang teaches the method according claim 1, wherein the feedback parameters further comprise each selected port in a port selection matrix in the type II port selection codebook [Hao ¶ 0088: for a Type II port selection codebook; ¶ 0095: UE 115-b may transmit a CSI report 315 which includes an indication of the L selected antenna ports (e.g., a port selection matrix) as well as the beam coefficients used to combine them].
Regarding claim 6, Hao in view of Zhang teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the feedback parameters further comprise each selected frequency domain beam in a frequency domain beam matrix in the type II port selection codebook [Hao ¶ ¶ 0088: for a Type II port selection codebook; ¶ 0095: UE 115-b may transmit a CSI report 315 which includes an indication of the L selected antenna ports as well as the beam coefficients used to combine them (i.e. a beam matrix)].
Regarding claim 16, Hao teaches a non-volatile or non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising computer instructions [Hao ¶ 0205: software executed by a processor, the functions may be stored on or transmitted over as one or more instructions or code on a computer-readable medium], which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to:
acquire a to-be-measured reference signal [Hao ¶ 0118, Fig. 4: UE 115-c may receive CSI-RS transmitted by base station 105-c, wherein the CSI-RS may include a set of CSI-RS transmitted over multiple antenna ports], and
determine a type II port selection codebook based on a measurement result of the to-be-measured reference signal [Hao ¶¶ 0119-0120, Fig. 4: UE 115-c may perform channel measurements based at least in part on the CSI-RS, and may identify relevant CSI parameters for one or more spatial layers for inclusion in a CSI report; ¶ 0088: UE 115-a may receive a configuration indicating use of the Type II port selection codebook and may identify a combination of antenna ports 205 to be communicated to base station 105-a in the CSI report based on the precoded CSI-RS 215];
generate feedback parameters based on the type II port selection codebook [Hao ¶ 0120, Fig. 4: UE 115-c may determine the number of non-zero-power beams and/or antenna ports and their indices based on the derived CSI parameters, wherein the non-zero-power beams may be identified based at least in part on the configuration received at 405; ¶ 0088: UE 115-a may receive a configuration indicating use of the Type II port selection codebook and may identify a combination of antenna ports 205 to be communicated to base station 105-a in the CSI report based on the precoded CSI-RS 215 (here, the UE determines parameter feedback based on Type II port selection codebook configuration)],
transmit the feedback parameters [Hao ¶ 0121, Fig. 4: UE 115-c may transmit a CSI report at step 425].
However, Hao does not explicitly disclose wherein the feedback parameters comprise a strongest coefficient index, amplitudes of all coefficients, and phases of at least a portion of coefficients in a weighting coefficient matrix in the type II port selection codebook.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Grossmann teaches wherein the feedback parameters comprise a strongest coefficient index, amplitudes of all coefficients, and phases of at least a portion of coefficients in a weighting coefficient matrix in the type II port selection codebook [Zhang ¶ 0048: CSI report contains index of strongest coefficient, each phase φ(l,m) quantized to 16PSK (4-bit), and quantized amplitude associated with non-zero coefficients that are quantized in compression matrix M (i.e. only non-zero amplitudes are reported in a compressed/weighting matrix)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of generating a type II port selection codebook CSI feedback report based on measured reference signals as taught by Hao, with the method of indicating a strongest coefficient, and amplitude and phase of coefficients for a type II port selection codebook configurations as taught by Zhang. The motivation to combine these references would be to allow for CSI-RS feedback reporting. The motivation to do so would be to reduce codebook overhead for CSI feedback reporting [Zhang ¶ 0047].
Regarding claim 17, Hao teaches an apparatus for feeding back a type II port selection codebook, comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the memory stores one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising computer instructions, which, when executed by the processor [Hao ¶ 0205: software executed by a processor, the functions may be stored on or transmitted over as one or more instructions or code on a computer-readable medium; ¶ 204: implemented or performed with a general-purpose processor], cause the processor to:
acquire a to-be-measured reference signal [Hao ¶ 0118, Fig. 4: UE 115-c may receive CSI-RS transmitted by base station 105-c, wherein the CSI-RS may include a set of CSI-RS transmitted over multiple antenna ports], and
determine a type II port selection codebook based on a measurement result of the to-be-measured reference signal [Hao ¶¶ 0119-0120, Fig. 4: UE 115-c may perform channel measurements based at least in part on the CSI-RS, and may identify relevant CSI parameters for one or more spatial layers for inclusion in a CSI report; ¶ 0088: UE 115-a may receive a configuration indicating use of the Type II port selection codebook and may identify a combination of antenna ports 205 to be communicated to base station 105-a in the CSI report based on the precoded CSI-RS 215];
generate feedback parameters based on the type II port selection codebook [Hao ¶ 0120, Fig. 4: UE 115-c may determine the number of non-zero-power beams and/or antenna ports and their indices based on the derived CSI parameters, wherein the non-zero-power beams may be identified based at least in part on the configuration received at 405; ¶ 0088: UE 115-a may receive a configuration indicating use of the Type II port selection codebook and may identify a combination of antenna ports 205 to be communicated to base station 105-a in the CSI report based on the precoded CSI-RS 215 (here, the UE determines parameter feedback based on Type II port selection codebook configuration)], and
transmit the feedback parameters [Hao ¶ 0121, Fig. 4: UE 115-c may transmit a CSI report at step 425].
However, Hao does not explicitly disclose wherein the feedback parameters comprise a strongest coefficient index, amplitudes of all coefficients, and phases of at least a portion of coefficients in a weighting coefficient matrix in the type II port selection codebook.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Grossmann teaches wherein the feedback parameters comprise a strongest coefficient index, amplitudes of all coefficients, and phases of at least a portion of coefficients in a weighting coefficient matrix in the type II port selection codebook [Zhang ¶ 0048: CSI report contains index of strongest coefficient, each phase φ(l,m) quantized to 16PSK (4-bit), and quantized amplitude associated with non-zero coefficients that are quantized in compression matrix M (i.e. only non-zero amplitudes are reported in a compressed/weighting matrix)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of generating a type II port selection codebook CSI feedback report based on measured reference signals as taught by Hao, with the method of indicating a strongest coefficient, and amplitude and phase of coefficients for a type II port selection codebook configurations as taught by Zhang. The motivation to combine these references would be to allow for CSI-RS feedback reporting. The motivation to do so would be to reduce codebook overhead for CSI feedback reporting [Zhang ¶ 0047].
Regarding claim 19, Hao in view of Zhang teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the feedback parameters further comprise each selected port in a port selection matrix in the type II port selection codebook [Hao ¶ 0088: for a Type II port selection codebook; ¶ 0095: UE 115-b may transmit a CSI report 315 which includes an indication of the L selected antenna ports (e.g., a port selection matrix) as well as the beam coefficients used to combine them].
Regarding claim 20, Hao in view of Zhang teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the feedback parameters further comprise each selected port in a port selection matrix in the type II port selection codebook [Hao ¶ 0088: for a Type II port selection codebook; ¶ 0095: UE 115-b may transmit a CSI report 315 which includes an indication of the L selected antenna ports (e.g., a port selection matrix) as well as the beam coefficients used to combine them].
Regarding claim 22, Hao in view of Zhang teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the feedback parameters further comprise each selected frequency domain beam in a frequency domain beam matrix in the type II port selection codebook [Hao ¶ ¶ 0088: for a Type II port selection codebook; ¶ 0095: UE 115-b may transmit a CSI report 315 which includes an indication of the L selected antenna ports as well as the beam coefficients used to combine them (i.e. a beam matrix)].
Regarding claim 23, Hao in view of Zhang teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the feedback parameters further comprise each selected frequency domain beam in a frequency domain beam matrix in the type II port selection codebook [Hao ¶ ¶ 0088: for a Type II port selection codebook; ¶ 0095: UE 115-b may transmit a CSI report 315 which includes an indication of the L selected antenna ports as well as the beam coefficients used to combine them (i.e. a beam matrix)].
Regarding claim 25, Hao in view of Zhang teaches the apparatus according to claim 17, however, Hao does not explicitly disclose wherein the phases of at least a portion of the coefficients refer to phases of non-zero coefficients in the weighting coefficient matrix, or phases of all the coefficients in the weighting coefficient matrix.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the phases of at least a portion of the coefficients refer to phases of non-zero coefficients in the weighting coefficient matrix, or phases of all the coefficients in the weighting coefficient matrix [Zhang ¶ 0048: each phase φ(l,m) quantized to 16PSK (4-bit) (here, the quantized phase is associated with compression matrix, i.e., weighted matrix, M); Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, e.g., use of the word “or”, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Regarding claim 26, Hao in view of Zhang teaches the apparatus according to claim 25, however, Hao does not explicitly disclose wherein based on that the phases of at least a portion of the coefficients refer to phases of non-zero coefficients in the weighting coefficient matrix, for any coefficient in the weighting coefficient matrix, whether the coefficient is a non-zero coefficient is determined based on a quantized value of an amplitude of the coefficient.
However, Zhang teaches wherein based on that the phases of at least a portion of the coefficients refer to phases of non-zero coefficients in the weighting coefficient matrix [Zhang ¶ 0048: each phase φ(l,m) quantized to 16PSK (4-bit)], for any coefficient in the weighting coefficient matrix, whether the coefficient is a non-zero coefficient is determined based on a quantized value of an amplitude of the coefficient [Zhang ¶ 0048: quantized amplitude associated with non-zero coefficients that are quantized in compression matrix M (i.e. any amplitude value in the compression matrix corresponds to a non-zero coefficient)].
The motivation to combine these references is illustrated in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Regarding claim 28, Hao in view of Zhang teaches the apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the feedback parameters further comprise each selected port in a port selection matrix in the type II port selection codebook [Hao ¶ 0088: for a Type II port selection codebook; ¶ 0095: UE 115-b may transmit a CSI report 315 which includes an indication of the L selected antenna ports (e.g., a port selection matrix) as well as the beam coefficients used to combine them].
Regarding claim 29, Hao in view of Zhang teaches the apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the feedback parameters further comprise each selected frequency domain beam in a frequency domain beam matrix in the type II port selection codebook [Hao ¶ ¶ 0088: for a Type II port selection codebook; ¶ 0095: UE 115-b may transmit a CSI report 315 which includes an indication of the L selected antenna ports as well as the beam coefficients used to combine them (i.e. a beam matrix)].
Claim(s) 4, 21, 24, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao in view of Zhang in view of Rahman et al. (US 2021/0211173 A1; “Rahman”).
Regarding claim 4, Hao in view of Zhang teaches the method according to claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein the strongest coefficient index is selected from all the coefficients in the weighting coefficient matrix, or from all the non- zero coefficients in the weighting coefficient matrix.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Rahman teaches wherein the strongest coefficient index is selected from all the coefficients in the weighting coefficient matrix, or from all the non- zero coefficients in the weighting coefficient matrix [Rahman ¶ 0137: strongest coefficient is reported out of the K.sub.NZ non-zero (NZ) coefficients that is reported using a bitmap (i.e. out of the weighting matrix of non-zero coefficients)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of generating a type II port selection codebook CSI feedback report based on measured reference signals as taught by Hao, with the method of indicating a strongest coefficient selected from reported non-zero coefficients as taught by Rahman. The motivation to do so would be to implement efficient communication parameters by reducing CSR report overhead [Rahman ¶ 0003].
Regarding claim 21, Hao in view of Zhang in view of Rahman teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the feedback parameters further comprise each selected port in a port selection matrix in the type II port selection codebook [Hao ¶ 0088: for a Type II port selection codebook; ¶ 0095: UE 115-b may transmit a CSI report 315 which includes an indication of the L selected antenna ports (e.g., a port selection matrix) as well as the beam coefficients used to combine them].
Regarding claim 24, Hao in view of Zhang in view of Rahman teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the feedback parameters further comprise each selected frequency domain beam in a frequency domain beam matrix in the type II port selection codebook [Hao ¶ ¶ 0088: for a Type II port selection codebook; ¶ 0095: UE 115-b may transmit a CSI report 315 which includes an indication of the L selected antenna ports as well as the beam coefficients used to combine them (i.e. a beam matrix)].
Regarding claim 27, Hao in view of Zhang teaches the apparatus according to claim 17, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein the strongest coefficient index is selected from all the coefficients in the weighting coefficient matrix, or from all the non- zero coefficients in the weighting coefficient matrix.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Rahman teaches wherein the strongest coefficient index is selected from all the coefficients in the weighting coefficient matrix, or from all the non- zero coefficients in the weighting coefficient matrix [Rahman ¶ 0137: strongest coefficient is reported out of the K.sub.NZ non-zero (NZ) coefficients that is reported using a bitmap (i.e. out of the weighting matrix of non-zero coefficients)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of generating a type II port selection codebook CSI feedback report based on measured reference signals as taught by Hao, with the method of indicating a strongest coefficient selected from reported non-zero coefficients as taught by Rahman. The motivation to do so would be to implement efficient communication parameters by reducing CSR report overhead [Rahman ¶ 0003].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. ETSI TS 138 214 v16.4.0, 5G; NR; Physical layer procedures for data, 2021-01 (“ETSI 138.214”) pages 85-86. Sec. 5.2.2.2.4.
/BRIAN P COX/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474