DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the use of the legalese language “comprises”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hsu et al. (US 2019/0181122), of record by Applicant.
Regarding independent claim 1, Hsu (‘122) teaches in figures 3, 4A, and the corresponding text, a display device (100A), comprising: a plurality of light emitting elements (200U, 200R); a substrate (302) having the plurality of light emitting elements thereon, the plurality of light emitting elements forming an array (no number), each corresponding to a subpixel (A) constituting one picture element; and a cured resin film (304) connecting the plurality of light emitting elements and the substrate, wherein the cured resin film is composed of a plurality of individual pieces (no number, but seen in figure 3, the gap between part 304) and has an exposed portion in which the substrate is exposed between the plurality of individual pieces.
Regarding dependent claim 2, Hsu (‘122) teaches the individual pieces form an array in subpixel units on the substrate.
Regarding dependent claim 3, Hsu (‘122) teaches an amount of protrusion of the individual piece from the light emitting element is less than 30 microns (see paragraph 0057).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Hsu (‘122) teaches the substrate is transparent (glass substrate, see part 102, paragraph 0028).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Hsu (‘122) teaches a size of the light emitting element is less than 200 microns (not specifically disclosed, but the device is a “microLED” which are about 5-50 microns by standard definition).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Hsu (‘122) teaches the cured resin film contains conductive particles (304p) therein, and the conductive particles are arranged in an array in a plane direction.
Regarding dependent claim 7, Hsu (‘122) teaches a method comprising forming a curable resin film on a base material; removing a portion of the curable resin film to form a plurality of individual pieces composed of the curable resin film on the base material; adhering the plurality of individual pieces onto a substrate; and mounting light emitting elements on the plurality of individual pieces adhered to the substrate, so that each light emitting element is mounted on each individual piece and corresponds to a subpixel constituting one picture element, to obtain the display device.
Regarding dependent claim 8, Hsu (‘122) teaches the plurality of individual pieces are formed on the base material so that each individual piece corresponds to the subpixel and the plurality of individual pieces on the base material are adhered onto the substrate by transferring.
Regarding dependent claim 9, Hsu (‘122) teaches the substrate is transparent (glass substrate, see part 102, paragraph 0028).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Hsu (‘122) teaches the substrate and the adherence layer is glass and thus the transmittance would be greater than 20%
Regarding dependent claim 11, Hsu (‘122) teaches a size of the light emitting element is less than 200 microns (not specifically disclosed, but the device is a “microLED” which are about 5-50 microns by standard definition).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Hsu (‘122) teaches a ratio of surface area of the plurality of individual pieces to surface area of the light emitting elements is from 0.5 to 5.0. (4 are shown)
Regarding dependent claim 13, Hsu (‘122) teaches the curable resin film contains conductive particles therein, and the conductive particles are arranged in an array in a plane direction.
Regarding independent claim 14, Hsu (‘122) teaches a light emitting device (100A) comprising a plurality of light emitting elements (200U, 200R) a substrate (302) having the plurality of light emitting elements arrayed thereon, and a cured resin film (304) connecting the plurality of light emitting elements and the substrate, wherein the cured resin film is composed of a plurality of individual pieces (no numbers but see figure 3, the gap between part 304) and has an exposed portion in which the substrate is exposed between the plurality of individual pieces.
Regarding dependent claim 15, Hsu (‘122) teaches forming a curable resin film on a base material; removing a portion of the curable resin film to form a plurality of individual pieces composed of curable resin film on the base material; adhering the plurality of individual pieces onto a substrate; and mounting light emitting elements on the plurality of individual pieces adhered to the substrate, son that each light emitting element is mounted on each individual piece, to obtain the light emitting device.
Regarding independent claim 16, Hsu (‘122) teaches in figures 3-4 and paragraphs 0039 and 0047) an adhesive film (304) comprising: a base material (no number); and a plurality of individual pieces composed of a curable resin film formed on the base material, wherein a distance between the plurality of individual pieces is 3 microns or more and 3,000 microns or less.(definition of a microLED display).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Hsu (‘122) teaches a method of forming a curable resin film on a base material; irradiating a removing portion of the curable resin film with laser light; to form a plurality of individual pieces composed of the curable resin film formed on the base material, to obtain the adhesive film.
Contact Information
JOSEPH L. WILLIAMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/JOSEPH L WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875