Amendments
In the reply filed 8/18/2026, Applicant has amended Claims 1 & 6 to define the abbreviation of a “Cbh” promoter as a CMV early enhancer fused to a modified chicken b-actin promoter.
Claims 11-19 are pending but withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-10 are under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/18/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final Office action on 4/29/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Withdrawn Claim Objections
The objection to Claim 1 has been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment to define the abbreviation “Cbh”.
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fuller et al., (US 2023/0129893, filed 3/30/2021, published 4/27/2023, with priority to US provisional 63/002,541, filed 3/31/2020).
In regard to claims 1, 6 and 9, Fuller claims an AAVrh10 vector comprising a nucleic acid that encodes either propionyl-CoA carboxylase alpha (PCCA) or fragment thereof or beta (PCCB) or fragment thereof, operably linked to a CMV enhancer/chicken beta-actin (CAG) hybrid promoter (alias Cbh promoter) (Claims 1, 2, and 9 of 2023/0129893, see Claims 1, 2 and 9 of Fuller’s provisional document). Note in regard to claim 6, because Fuller claims use the transitional phrase “comprising” and the disjunctive term “or”, the Examiner has interpreted the claims of Fuller to encompass both PCCA and PCCB.
In regard to claims 2 and 7, Fuller claims the PCCA and/or PCCB nucleotide sequence or fragments thereof, are codon-optimized for humans (Claims 31-32 and 35-36 of 2023/0129893, see Claims 31-32 and 35-36 of Fuller’s provisional document).
In regard to claims 3 and 8, Fuller claims the 2,184 base nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2 (Claim 30 of 2023/0129893, see Claim 30 of Fuller’s provisional document), which when translated is identical to the 728 human PCCA amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:3.
In regard to claims 4 and 8, Fuller claims the 1,617 base nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:8 (Claim 34 of 2023/0129893, see Claim 34 of Fuller’s provisional document), which when translated is identical to the 539 human PCCB amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:6.
Accordingly, Fuller anticipates instant claims.
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant's arguments filed on 8/18/2026 are acknowledged.
Applicant argues that Fuller does not teach a Cbh promoter. By contrast, Applicant argues that Fuller teaches a CAG promoter, which is defined by Fuller as using a CMV enhancer, with the promoter, first exon, and first intron of the chicken beta-actin gene, followed by the splice acceptor of the rabbit beta-globin gene. Applicant asserts that the CAG promoter disclosed by Fuller is not an alias for the Cbh promoter.
Applicant argues that a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have understood that the Cbh promoter has a different sequence from the CAG promoter, wherein the longer chicken beta-actin exon/intron and rabbit beta-globin splice acceptor intronic sequence is replaced with a shorter chicken beta-actin region and the MVM splice acceptor intronic sequence, and cites the prior art of Gray et al. (Human Gene Ther, 2011, 22(9)), which provides a detailed discussion of the Cbh promoter. Thus, Applicant argues that Cbh is not simply another name for CAG, and that although the Cbh promoter comprises some elements of the CAG promoter, it has a different sequence (i.e., the MVM intron) and is of a different size.
Furthermore, Applicant cites the prior art of Gray (2011) to evidence that the CAG (i.e., CAGGS) promoter and Cbh promoter are not functionally equivalent with respect to strength and cell-type of transgene expression. Thus, Applicant argues that although the CAG promoter and Cbh promoter share sequence with respect to the CMV enhancer and chicken beta-actin promoter, they are not structurally nor functionally equivalent.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
MPEP 2111.01 states that “Under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time. The ordinary and customary meaning of a term may be evidenced by a variety of sources, including the words of the claims themselves, the specification, drawings, and prior art.“
In regard to the claims themselves, instant claims 1 and 6 define the abbreviation Cbh as a “CMV early enhancer fused to a modified chicken b-actin promoter”. Clearly, the claims themselves do not limit the “Cbh” promoter to a particular size, nor do they require that it contains an abbreviated chicken beta-acting promoter with the MVM intron, and essentially define the promoter as comprising the CMV early enhancer and the chicken beta-actin promoter, which are the same two elements taught by the promoter of Fuller.
In regard to the specification and drawings, as noted by Applicant, the figure legend for Fig. 4A defines the abbreviation Cbh as “a CMV early enhancer fused to a modified chicken b-actin promoter” (p. 6, lines 19-20). At no other point does the written specification address the structure of the Cbh promoter, nor does the specification cite the prior art of Gray et al. (2011) as an example of a Cbh promoter. In regard to the drawings, Fig. 4A depicts an embodiment where the Cbh promoter comprises “CMV enhancers”, and “CAG”, and depicts the promoter regions as initiating at about 300 bp and ending at about 1100 bp in the AAV-2 genome (see below):
Thus, the written specification and associated drawing indicate that the “Cbh” promoter comprises a CMV enhancer, and a chicken beta-actin globin (CAG) region, and may be an approximate length of 800 bp. However, they do not require that it contains an abbreviated chicken beta-actin promoter with the MVM intron, and essentially define the promoter as comprising the CMV early enhancer and the chicken beta-actin promoter, which are the same two elements taught by the promoter of Fuller.
Finally, Applicant discloses Figures 4B & 4C, which present SEQ ID NOs:7 & 8, respectively. The sequences will be discussed below in relation to Gray et al. (2011); nevertheless, they both comprise a promoter region comprising a CMV enhancer sequence that is nearly identical to the 304 bp CMV enhancer of Fuller, and a chicken beta-actin promoter sequence that is nearly identical to the 276 bp chicken beta-actin promoter of Fuller. However, as noted by Applicant, the teachings of Fuller deviate from SEQ ID NOs:7 & 8 with respect to the MVM intronic sequence.
In regard to the prior art, it must first be noted that the phrase “Cbh promoter” is not a term of art that is restricted to a CMV early enhancer fused to a modified chicken b-actin promoter. For example, the prior art of Emalfarb (WO 2001/79507, published 10/25/20010) discloses a Cbh promoter, but is not the CMV/beta-chicken actin hybrid promoter of Gray et al. (2011) (see excerpt from p.27, 2nd para. of Emalfarb)
Thus, contrary to Applicant assertion, the abbreviation of “Cbh” promoter would not have been immediately understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to be the promoter as described by Gray et al. (2011).
As a second matter, the definition of “CMV early enhancer fused to a modified chicken b-actin promoter” encompasses the promoter of Fuller. For example, when searching the phrase “CMV early enhancer fused to a modified chicken b-actin promoter”, the internet indicates that this is a from of the CAG promoter (see Google search result below).
Importantly, prior art sources that use the phrase of “CMV early enhancer fused to a modified chicken b-actin promoter” to refer to CAG based promoters (see NovoPro Product Data Sheet, 2018, excerpt below):
Non-patent literature also use the phrase of “CMV early enhancer fused to a modified chicken b-actin promoter” to refer to CAG based promoters (see Ghanemi et al., (Metabolites, 2022 (12)125, p. 16 , 1st para., see excerpt below):
Thus, contrary to Applicant assertion, the phrase “CMV early enhancer fused to a modified chicken b-actin promoter” would not have been immediately understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to be the promoter as described by Gray et al. (2011).
Finally, as noted by Applicant, the prior art of Gray (2011) teaches in Table 1 that the Cbh promoter is composed of the CMV early enhancer of GenBank Acc# NC_006273.2, nt 175625-175294; the chicken beta-actin promoter of GenBank Acc# X00182.1, nt 280-540, the chimeric chicken beta-actin construct of Levitt et al. (1989) and the mouse minute virus (MVM) intron of GenBank Acc# NC_001510.1, nt 2312-2403 (VP intron). As stated supra, SEQ ID NOs:7 & 8 do appear to have a similar MVM intron sequence of Gray. However, the MVM intron sequence disclosed by Applicant is not the same sequence as NC_001510.2 nt 2312-2403 disclosed by Gray (2011). See the alignment below of Applicant’s SEQ ID NO:7 (top) with NC_001510.2 (bottom) of Gray:
Thus, contrary to Applicant assertion, the figures presenting SEQ ID NOs:7 & 8 would not have been immediately understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to be the promoter as described by Gray et al. (2011).
Moreover, for Applicant to assert that their disclosure affords them possession of the Cbh promoter of Gray et al. (2011), as noted by the MPEP, new matter includes not only the addition of wholly unsupported subject matter, but may also include the introduction of claim or specification changes which involve narrowing the claim invention by introducing elements or limitations which are not supported by the as-filed disclosure is a violation of the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. See, e.g., Fujikawa v. Wattanasin, 93 F.3d 1559, 1571, 39 USPQ2d 1895, 1905 (Fed. Cir. 1996). In Ex parte Ohshiro, 14 USPQ2d 1750 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989), the Board affirmed the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, of claims to an internal combustion engine which recited "at least one of said piston and said cylinder (head) having a recessed channel." The Board held that the application which disclosed a cylinder head with a recessed channel and a piston without a recessed channel did not specifically disclose the "species" of a channeled piston (see MPEP 2163.05 (II) Narrowing or Subgeneric Claim).
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 10 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuller et al., (US 2023/0129893), in view of Chua (US 2015/0074847, filed 3/13/2013) and Heessen et al. (Mol Cell, 2005, 18:225-235)
As discussed previously, Fuller anticipates an AAVrh10 vector comprising PCCA or PCCB gene operably linked to a Cbh promoter.
However, although Fuller suggests the vector further comprise “sequences that enhance protein stability” ([0106] of 2023/0129893, see [0096] of provisional document), they are silent with respect to further including a portion of Rad23 to increase the stability of the PCC transgene.
With respect to claims 5 and 10, Chua teaches and claims a nucleic acid constructs comprising a fusion protein of a transgene of interest and the ubiquitin-like (Ubl) domain of Rad23 in order to prevent ubiquitination and improve the stability of the transgene in a plant cell (Abstract, Summary of the Invention, see Claim 1 of Chua).
However in regard to claim 5, Chua is directed to using the domain of Rad23 to enhance the transgenic protein in plants (see Title of Chua). Nevertheless, Chua discloses that similar experiments have done in mammalian cells and cites the prior art of Heessen et al. (2005) [0007, 0104-0105, 0119].
Heessen et al. teaches that the Ubl domain of Rad23 is a “cis-acting transferable stabilization signal” (Abstract, Introduction, last para.), and demonstrates the Rad23 domain works in mammalian cells when fused to a transgene of interest (see HeLa experiments expressing a GFP-Rad23 domain fusion (p. 231, last para. of Results).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to prepare the AAV vector comprising the PCCA and/or PCCB transgene as taught by Fuller and combine a portion of the Rad23 protein as taught by Chua and Heessen with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so as taught by Heessen because this domain would improve the stability of the PCC transgene by protecting the protein from proteasomal degradation (Abstract, Introduction, last para.).
Hence, the claimed invention as a whole was prima facie obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant's arguments filed on 8/18/2026 are acknowledged and have been addressed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
No claims are allowed.
Examiner Contact Information
/ARTHUR S LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1631