DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “outlet” of the sub-tube of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the ostium" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-4 are rejected by dependency.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the heart" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-4 are rejected by dependency.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the outer circumference" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-4 are rejected by dependency.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the boundary" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-4 are rejected by dependency.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the outer circumference" in line 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 3 is rejected by dependency.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the outer circumference" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the heart" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the outer wall" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the ostium" in lines 3 and 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the heart" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the inner wall" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Sahota (US Pat. No. 4983167), “Sahota”.
Regarding claim 1, Sahota teaches
A catheter for rapid stenting at the ostium of a blood vessel of the heart (Fig. 1, catheter 10), comprising
a main tube (Fig. 1, catheter shaft 14) through which a guide wire passes (Fig. 1, wire 16) and
a sub-tube of a predetermined length (Fig. 1, membrane forming tube that covers second wire 24 (col. 4, par. 9)) through which a support wire passes (Fig. 1, second wire 24) and
which is integrally attached to the outer circumference of the main tube (Fig. 1, membrane which holds second wire 24 in place is externally secured to catheter shaft 14 (col. 4, par. 9))
wherein the sub-tube (Fig. 1, membrane forming tube that covers second wire 24 (col. 4, par. 9)) has an outlet coupled to a balloon (Fig. 1, balloon 12) provided on the main tube at the boundary with the balloon (Fig. 3, balloon 12 comprises groove 26 which provides a sliding path for the second wire 24 with which it engages (col. 4-5, lines 62-9)).
Regarding claim 4, Sahota teaches
wherein the guide wire is introduced into a blood vessel of the heart (Fig. 1, wire 16 is designed for insertion into most distal arteries (col. 4, lines 32-36)) or a branch vessel with blood clots and
the support wire (Fig. 1, second wire 24) is supported in contact with the outer wall of the ostium of the blood vessel of the heart or the inner wall of the ostium of another one other than the branch vessel (Fig. 1, catheter 10 is meant for use in a stenotic region such as the coronary artery as well as other vessels (col. 1, par. 1)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahota (US Pat. No. 4983167), “Sahota” in view of Jahrmarkt (US 2016/0114138 A1), “Jahrmarkt”.
Regarding claim 2, Sahota teaches the balloon (Fig. 1, balloon 12), but fails to teach wherein a stent is attached to the outer circumference of the balloon.
Jahrmarkt teaches a guidewire and catheter system wherein a stent is attached to the outer circumference of the balloon (Fig. 11, balloon-expandable stent is provided around balloon 860 and its proximal end is attached fixedly to balloon 860 [0110]). Jahrmarkt discloses that the design of this guidewire subassembly comprises a small overall diameter in order to allow for its use in smaller vessels [0108]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the stent taught by Jahrmarkt with the balloon taught by Sahota in order to provide a device that is easily navigated through narrower vasculature.
Regarding claim 3, Sahota teaches the balloon (Fig. 1, balloon 12) and the outlet of the sub-tube (Fig. 1, membrane forming tube that covers second wire 24 (col. 4, par. 9) comprises end nearest balloon 12) but fails to teach wherein one end of the stent attached to the outer circumference of the balloon is adapted and coupled to the outlet of the sub-tube.
Jahrmarkt teaches a guidewire and catheter system wherein one end of the stent attached to the outer circumference of the balloon is adapted and coupled to the outlet of the sub-tube (Fig. 11, balloon-expandable stent is provided around ballon 860 and its proximal end is attached to distal end of transition tube 850 [0110]. Jahrmarkt discloses that the design of this guidewire subassembly comprises a small overall diameter in order to allow for its use in smaller vessels [0108]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the stent taught by Jahrmarkt with the balloon and sub-tube taught by Sahota in order to provide a device that is easily navigated through narrower vasculature.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2014/0188044 A1, JP 2001510072.
/G.G.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/THOMAS C BARRETT/SPE, Art Unit 3799