DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “comprising :” (line 1) appears that it should be “comprising:”.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “individual ;” (line 2) appears that it should be “individual;”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claim 1, the claim language “the pad being arranged on the inner face of the sensor close to a microneedle” is ambiguous. It is unclear what the maximum amount of space or distance is necessary for the pad to be considered “close” to the microneedle. The claim is examined as meaning that the pad is arranged on the inner face of the sensor with the needle.
For claim 9, the claim term “said at least one passage” lacks antecedent basis. The claim is examined as depending from claim 8.
Dependent claim(s) 2-16 fail to cure the ambiguity of independent claim 1, thus claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0004989 to Dhillon.
For claim 1, Dhillon discloses a sensor for a body monitoring device (Abstract) comprising:
an inner face (face of 10/12 and 50 that contact the skin, see Fig. 8 and para [0039]) designed to come into contact with the skin of an individual (Fig. 8 and para [0039]);
at least one microneedle (18) (Figs. 1 and 7A-B) (para [0024]) arranged on the inner face (as can be seen in Figs. 1 and 7A-B);
at least one pad (50) (Fig. 8) (para [0039]) of moisture-absorbing material (para [0040]), the pad being arranged on the inner face of the sensor (para [0039]) close to a microneedle (Fig. 8) (also see Figs. 7A-B) so as to absorb moisture when the sensor is on the skin (para [0039]).
For claim 5, Dhillon further discloses wherein the pad consists of at least one absorbent material (para [0040]).
For claim 7, Dhillon further discloses wherein the pad comprises one of the shapes selected from the following group: polygonal, rounded, parallelepiped, triangle, round (see Fig. 8).
For claim 10, Dhillon further discloses at least one housing (60), at least one deck supporting (12) at least one microneedle (as can be seen in Fig. 1), each deck being fixedly mounted in a housing (as can be seen in Fig. 8).
For claim 11, Dhillon further discloses a body monitoring device comprising a sensor (para [0001]) according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1).
For claim 12, Dhillon further discloses wherein the absorbent material is selected from the following group: fiber, foam, textile fiber or artificial fiber, hydrogel, silica gel, magnesium sulfate, calcium chloride, calcium sulfate, lithium chloride, zeolites; or a non-woven pad or a woven pad consisting of woven hydrophilic gauze (para [0040], which refers to U.S. Patent No. 4,077,407, and the relevant disclosure of that patent being col. 17, lines 42-51).
For claim 13, Dhillon further discloses wherein the non-woven pad consists of a mixture of viscose and polyester (Examiner’s Note: this claim further limiting an alternative limitation not previously relied upon for the teaching in Dhillon).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhillon in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0069482 to Ryu et al. (hereinafter “Ryu”).
For claim 4, Dhillon further discloses a plurality of microneedles distributed in a determined zone of the inner face (as can be seen in Fig. 2).
Dhillon does not expressly disclose at least two pads, each arranged at the ends of said zone.
However, Ryu teaches at least two pads (see Figs. 3A-B, the microneedles being arranged on the mesh layer between the two base layers shown in those figures) (also see para [0020], which teaches that the base layer is water-soluble), each arranged at the ends of a zone (see Figs. 3A-B).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Dhillon to include at least two pads, each arranged at the ends of said zone, in view of the teachings of Ryu, because such a modification would be the simple substitution of the arrangement of the microneedles to the pad(s) that would yield the predictable result of absorbing sweat from a person’s skin while the needles are puncturing the skin. Additionally, it has been held that the mere re-arrangement of parts is obvious to a skilled artisan. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
For claim 14, Dhillon does not expressly disclose wherein the pad has a thickness of between 0.1 and 2mm.
However, Ryu teaches wherein the pad has a thickness of between 0.1 and 2mm (para [0119]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Dhillon wherein the pad has a thickness of between 0.1 and 2mm, in view of the teachings of Ryu, for the obvious advantage of having the device stay sufficiently flexible so that it can be applied to a curved surface (see para [0119] of Ryu).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhillon in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0163656 to Velev et al. (hereinafter “Velev”).
For claim 6, Dhillon does not expressly disclose wherein the pad has a surface area of between 1 and 500 mm2.
However, Velev teaches wherein the pad has a surface area of between 1 and 500 mm2 (para [0060] and/or [0062]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Dhillon wherein the pad has a surface area of between 1 and 500 mm2, in view of the teachings of Velev, because such a dimension is a suitable dimension for the pad in Dhillon that would lead to the predictable result of absorbing sweat at the device is placed on a person’s skin.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhillon in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0330008 to Sjostedt.
For claim 8, Dhillon does not expressly disclose at least one passage formed in the thickness of the sensor and in communication with the outside, said passage being configured to supply air to at least one microneedle.
However, Sjostedt teaches at least one passage (6) formed in the thickness of the sensor (as can be seen in Figs. 4, 5, or 7) and in communication with the outside (para [0041], [0064], and [0067]), said passage being configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) supply air to at least one microneedle (para [0040]-[0041]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Dhillon to include at least one passage formed in the thickness of the sensor and in communication with the outside, said passage being configured to supply air to at least one microneedle, in view of the teachings of Sjostedt, for the obvious advantage of evaporating fluid that has been collected by the pad (see para [0041] of Sjostedt).
For claim 9, Dhillon, as modified, further discloses wherein said at least one passage is arranged between the microneedles (as can be seen in Figs. 4, 5, or 7 of Sjostedt).
For claim 16, Dhillon, as modified, further discloses wherein the passage is permeable to water (para [0043] of Sjostedt).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhillon in view of Velev and Ryu.
For claim 15, Dhillon does not expressly disclose wherein the pad has a surface area of between 1 and 500 mm2 and a thickness between 0.1 and 2mm.
However, Velev teaches wherein the pad has a surface area of between 1 and 500 mm2 (para [0060] and/or [0062]).
Additionally, Ryu teaches wherein the pad has a thickness of between 0.1 and 2mm (para [0119]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Dhillon wherein the pad has a surface area of between 1 and 500 mm2 and a thickness between 0.1 and 2mm, in view of the teachings of Velev and Ryu, because such a dimension is a suitable dimension for the pad in Dhillon that would lead to the predictable result of absorbing sweat at the device is placed on a person’s skin and for the obvious advantage of having the device stay sufficiently flexible so that it can be applied to a curved surface (see para [0119] of Ryu).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DANIEL L CERIONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791