DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) was/were submitted on 2/18/26. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see section titled “Independent Claims 1, 8, and 14”, with respect to claims 1 and 8 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As shown in the rejection below, claims 1 and 8 are rejected in view of Zhang.
Applicant’s arguments, see section titled “Independent Claims 1, 8, and 14”, with respect to claim 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments, see section titled “Dependent Claims 2, 4-5, 9, 11-12, and 15”, with respect to claims 2, 4-5, 9, and 11-12 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. For at least the reasoning above with respect to claims 1 and 8 and as shown in the rejection below, claims 2, 4-5, 9, and 11-12 are rejected.
Applicant’s arguments, see section titled “Dependent Claims 2, 4-5, 9, 11-12, and 15”, with respect to claim 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments, see section IV, with respect to claims 3, 6, 10, and 13 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. For at least the reasoning above with respect to claims 1 and 8 and as shown in the rejection below, claims 3, 6, 10, and 13 are rejected.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 14 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: change “An” in line 1 to “A”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 5, 12, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 5, Applicant has amended claim 5 to now recite “a reception beam (e.g., one single reception beam) associated with each of the at least one CLI measurement result (e.g., two or more CLI measurement result)”. Applicant does not provide support for this amendment within the specification nor has the Examiner found support for this amendment within the specification. The specification recites/similarly recite a measurement (apparently one measurement) of a reception/receive beam (which would result in one measurement result for that reception/receive beam). Claim 12 recite similar limitations of claim 5 and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 14, this claim has been amended to now recite “at least one transceiver” (e.g., at least two or more transceivers) and “at least one memory” (e.g., at least two or more memories). Applicant does not provide support for these amendments within the specification nor has the Examiner found support for these amendments within the specification. Claim 15 fails to resolve the deficiency of claim 14 and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 2-3, 6, 9, 12-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the CLI measurement resources" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 3, in view of “identifying…comprises” which indicates further limiting an already recited limitation, it is unclear what “identifying the reception beam…” in lines 1-2 is referring to since there are two instances of “identifying” in claim 1. Claim 4 fails to resolve the deficiency of claim 3 and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the CLI measurement result" in lines 1-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the CLI measurement resources" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 12, it is unclear what “the CLI measurement report” in lines 1-2 is referring to since claim 8 recite two instances of a CLI measurement report
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the CLI measurement result" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the CLI measurement resources" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210289374 by Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang) in view of US 20230179279 by Huang et al. (hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a method of performing a cross link interference (CLI) measurement by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, higher layer signaling comprising configuration information for one or more CLI measurement resources (¶ 117, the base station 105 may transmit an interference measurement configuration, (e.g., a CLI measurement configuration) to UE 115, which may include a resource ID. The base station 105 may transmit the interference measurement configuration using…RRC signaling. In some examples, the interference measurement configuration may be an SRS measurement configuration 310; ¶ 116, an SRS measurement configuration 310 (e.g., an SRS RSRP measurement configuration); ¶ 110, base station 105-a may transmit an SRS configuration to UE 115-a, so UE 115-a may perform SRS RSRP measurements…UE 115-a may measure the SRS RSRP over configured resource elements (e.g., specified in the SRS configuration); ¶ 185, measure the CLI, which may include an SRS RSRP measurement),
in case that information associated with one or more reception beams for the CLI measurement is configured in the configuration information for the one or more CLI measurement resources (¶ 117, the base station 105 may transmit an interference measurement configuration; ¶ 118, the interference measurement configuration may indicate a corresponding TCI state. For example, the interference measurement configuration may include a measurement direction configuration, which may include one or more QCL configurations for one or more receive beams for interference measurements…; ¶ 113, an interference measurement (e.g., a CLI measurement)),
identifying, a reception beam for a CLI measurement resource, as indicated by the information associated with the one or more reception beams for the CLI measurement (¶ 134, UE 115-d may select a measurement direction configuration, such as a QCL configuration, for measuring interference (e.g., CLI) based on the measurement configuration; ¶ 64, the measurement configuration may include a direction configuration for measuring the interference (e.g., a specified QCL configuration); ¶ 125, the measurement configuration may include an indication of a measurement direction configuration, such as a QCL configuration…the measurement direction configuration may indicate a TCI indicating a receive beam direction for measuring interference (e.g., CLI); ¶ 116, UE 115 may measure interference according to an SRS measurement configuration 310 (e.g., an SRS RSRP measurement configuration)…based on a measurement direction configuration (e.g., a QCL configuration); ¶ 110, base station 105-a may transmit an SRS configuration to UE 115-a, so UE 115-a may perform SRS RSRP measurements…UE 115-a may measure the SRS RSRP over configured resource elements (e.g., specified in the SRS configuration); ¶ 185, measure the CLI, which may include an SRS RSRP measurement); and
performing the CLI measurement, based on the CLI measurement resource and through the identified reception beam (¶ 135, at 530, UE 115-d may measure the CLI based on the measurement configuration after receiving the measurement trigger signal at 525. In some cases, measuring the CLI may include measuring an SRS RSRP or a CLI RSSI; ¶ 134, UE 115-d may select a measurement direction configuration, such as a QCL configuration, for measuring interference (e.g., CLI) based on the measurement configuration; ¶ 125, the measurement configuration may include an indication of a measurement direction configuration, such as a QCL configuration…the measurement direction configuration may indicate a TCI indicating a receive beam direction for measuring interference (e.g., CLI));
in case that the information associated with one or more reception beams for the CLI measurement is not configured in the configuration information for the one or more CLI measurement resources, identifying, the reception beam for the CLI measurement resource, as a beam associated with a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception; and performing the CLI measurement, based on the CLI measurement resource and through the identified reception beam (given non-patentable weight since the condition is not required to be met. See MPEP 2111.04(II)); and
transmitting, to the base station, a CLI measurement report comprising at least one CLI measurement result (fig. 5, shows UE 115-d transmitting a measurement report to base station 105-c at 535; ¶ 136, transmit a measurement report based on measuring the interference (e.g., CLI); ¶ 32, a measurement report indicating a measurement of the CLI based on the measurement configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang’s teachings with Zhang’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is reducing interference and latency at a UE (Zhang ¶ 5).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the CLI measurement resources are sounding reference signals (SRSs) (Zhang ¶ 118, the interference measurement configuration may indicate a corresponding TCI state. For example, the interference measurement configuration may include a measurement direction configuration, which may include one or more QCL configurations for…receive beams for interference measurements…; ¶ 110, base station 105-a may transmit an SRS configuration to UE 115-a, so UE 115-a may perform SRS RSRP measurements. In view of ¶ 118 and 110, there is a SRS in each receive beam of receive beams (and thus multiple SRSs one for each receive beam) for SRS RSRP measurement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang’s teachings with Zhang’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is reducing interference and latency at a UE (Zhang ¶ 5).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein identifying the reception beam for the CLI measurement resource comprises: identifying a reception beam for receiving a reference signal as the reception beam for the CLI measurement resource (Zhang ¶ 134, UE 115-d may select a measurement direction configuration, such as a QCL configuration, for measuring interference (e.g., CLI) based on the measurement configuration; ¶ 64, the measurement configuration may include a direction configuration for measuring the interference (e.g., a specified QCL configuration); ¶ 125, the measurement configuration may include an indication of a measurement direction configuration, such as a QCL configuration…the measurement direction configuration may indicate a TCI indicating a receive beam direction for measuring interference (e.g., CLI); ¶ 116, UE 115 may measure interference according to an SRS measurement configuration 310 (e.g., an SRS RSRP measurement configuration)…based on a measurement direction configuration (e.g., a QCL configuration); ¶ 110, base station 105-a may transmit an SRS configuration to UE 115-a, so UE 115-a may perform SRS RSRP measurements…UE 115-a may measure the SRS RSRP over configured resource elements (e.g., specified in the SRS configuration); ¶ 185, measure the CLI, which may include an SRS RSRP measurement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang’s teachings with Zhang’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is reducing interference and latency at a UE (Zhang ¶ 5).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the CLI measurement report comprises information regarding a reception beam associated with each of the at least one CLI measurement result (Zhang fig. 5, shows UE 115-d transmitting a measurement report to base station 105-c at 535; ¶ 136, transmit a measurement report based on measuring the interference (e.g., CLI); ¶ 118, the interference measurement configuration may indicate a corresponding TCI state. For example, the interference measurement configuration may include a measurement direction configuration, which may include one or more QCL configurations for one or more receive beams for interference measurements; ¶ 125, the measurement configuration may include an indication of a measurement direction configuration, such as a QCL configuration…the measurement direction configuration may indicate a TCI indicating a receive beam direction for measuring interference (e.g., CLI); ¶ abstract, measurement report may include an indication of the selected measurement direction configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang’s teachings with Zhang’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is reducing interference and latency at a UE (Zhang ¶ 5).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches a method of receiving a cross link interference (CLI) measurement report from a terminal by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting, to the terminal, higher layer signaling comprising configuration information for one or more CLI measurement resources (¶ 117, the base station 105 may transmit an interference measurement configuration, (e.g., a CLI measurement configuration) to UE 115, which may include a resource ID. The base station 105 may transmit the interference measurement configuration using…RRC signaling. In some examples, the interference measurement configuration may be an SRS measurement configuration 310; ¶ 116, an SRS measurement configuration 310 (e.g., an SRS RSRP measurement configuration); ¶ 110, base station 105-a may transmit an SRS configuration to UE 115-a, so UE 115-a may perform SRS RSRP measurements…UE 115-a may measure the SRS RSRP over configured resource elements (e.g., specified in the SRS configuration); ¶ 185, measure the CLI, which may include an SRS RSRP measurement),
wherein in case that information associated with one or more reception beams for the CLI measurement is configured in the configuration information for the one or more CLI measurement resources (¶ 117, the base station 105 may transmit an interference measurement configuration; ¶ 118, the interference measurement configuration may indicate a corresponding TCI state. For example, the interference measurement configuration may include a measurement direction configuration, which may include one or more QCL configurations for one or more receive beams for interference measurements…; ¶ 113, an interference measurement (e.g., a CLI measurement)),
a reception beam for a CLI measurement resource is identified as a beam indicated by the information associated with the one or more reception beams for the CLI measurement (¶ 134, UE 115-d may select a measurement direction configuration, such as a QCL configuration, for measuring interference (e.g., CLI) based on the measurement configuration; ¶ 64, the measurement configuration may include a direction configuration for measuring the interference (e.g., a specified QCL configuration); ¶ 125, the measurement configuration may include an indication of a measurement direction configuration, such as a QCL configuration…the measurement direction configuration may indicate a TCI indicating a receive beam direction for measuring interference (e.g., CLI); ¶ 116, UE 115 may measure interference according to an SRS measurement configuration 310 (e.g., an SRS RSRP measurement configuration)…based on a measurement direction configuration (e.g., a QCL configuration); ¶ 110, base station 105-a may transmit an SRS configuration to UE 115-a, so UE 115-a may perform SRS RSRP measurements…UE 115-a may measure the SRS RSRP over configured resource elements (e.g., specified in the SRS configuration); ¶ 185, measure the CLI, which may include an SRS RSRP measurement),
wherein in case that the information associated with one or more reception beams for the CLI measurement is not configured in the configuration information for the one or more CLI measurement resources, the reception beam for the CLI measurement resource is identified as a beam associated with a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception (given non-patentable weight since the condition is not required to be met. See MPEP 2111.04(II)); and
receiving, from the terminal, a CLI measurement report comprising at least one CLI measurement result (fig. 5, shows UE 115-d transmitting a measurement report to base station 105-c at 535; ¶ 136, transmit a measurement report based on measuring the interference (e.g., CLI); ¶ 32, a measurement report indicating a measurement of the CLI based on the measurement configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang’s teachings with Zhang’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is reducing interference and latency at a UE (Zhang ¶ 5).
Claims 9-10 and 12 recite similar limitations of claims 2-3 and 5, respectively and are thus rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 4 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of US 20240147463 by Matsumura et al. (hereinafter Matsumura).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches the method of claim 3.
Although Zhang teaches the reference signal, Zhang does not explicitly disclose but Matsumura in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the reference signal is a reference signal configured as a quasi co-location, QCL, type D and corresponding to a QCL assumption of a control resource set, CORESET, having a lowest index in an active downlink bandwidth part, BWP, of a cell (¶ 98, In Rel. 16…a QCL type D RS corresponding to QCL assumption for a CORESET having the lowest ID in an active DL BWP in the above-described cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang’s teachings with Matsumura’s above teachings. The motivation is applying a well known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability. Known work in one field of endeavor (Matsumura prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Zhang prior art) based on design incentives (applying a well known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 11 recite similar limitations of claim 4 and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of US Patent 12132528 by Ying et al. (hereinafter Ying).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the CLI measurement result comprising CLI measured for a time period using the reception beam associated with the CLI measurement result (Zhang fig. 5, shows UE 115-d transmitting a measurement report to base station 105-c at 535; ¶ 136, transmit a measurement report based on measuring the interference (e.g., CLI); ¶ 32, a measurement report indicating a measurement of the CLI based on the measurement configuration; ¶ 116, UE 115 may measure interference…during a symbol 305 based on a measurement direction configuration (e.g., a QCL configuration); ¶ 134, UE 115-d may select a measurement direction configuration, such as a QCL configuration, for measuring interference (e.g., CLI) based on the measurement configuration; ¶ 64, the measurement configuration may include a direction configuration for measuring the interference (e.g., a specified QCL configuration); ¶ 125, the measurement configuration may include an indication of a measurement direction configuration, such as a QCL configuration…the measurement direction configuration may indicate a TCI indicating a receive beam direction for measuring interference (e.g., CLI)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang’s teachings with Zhang’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is reducing interference and latency at a UE (Zhang ¶ 5).
Although Zhang teaches the CLI measurement result comprising CLI measured for a time period using the reception beam associated with the CLI measurement result, Zhang does not explicitly disclose the CLI measurement result comprises an average value of values measured for a time period using the using the reception beam associated with the CLI measurement result.
Ying in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches at least one CLI measurement result comprises an average value of values measured using a reception beam associated with the at least one CLI measurement result (col. 1 lines 56-60, reporting of the measured CLI includes an average of a first CLI value measured from the first CLI-RS corresponding to the first transmission beam and a second CLI value measured from the second CLI-RS corresponding to the second transmission beam; fig. 12, shows beam(s) having a direction; col. 5 lines 4-7, CLI-RS transmit and receive beam(s) are also be used; col. 10 lines 9-10, A UE may use the receive beam(s) of the QCL source as the received beam(s) for CLI measurement). By modifying Zhang’s teachings of the CLI measurement result comprising CLI measured for a time period using the reception beam associated with the CLI measurement result with Ying’s teachings of at least one CLI measurement result comprises an average value of values measured using a reception beam associated with the at least one CLI measurement result, the modification results in the CLI measurement result comprises an average value of values measured for a time period using the using the reception beam associated with the CLI measurement result.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang’s teachings with Ying’s above teachings. The motivation is mitigating effects of CLI (Ying col. 2 line 45). Known work in one field of endeavor (Ying prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Zhang prior art) based on design incentives (mitigating effects of CLI) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 13 recite similar limitations of claim 6 and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210289374 by Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang) in view of US 20230188229 by Xu et al. (hereinafter Xu).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang teaches an terminal for performing a cross link interference (CLI) measurement in a wireless communication system (fig. 9, device 905; ¶ 160, device 905 may be an example of…a UE 115 as described herein), the terminal comprising:
at least one transceiver (fig. 9, transceiver 920; ¶ 163);
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver (fig. 9, shows processor 940 connected to transceiver 920);
and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the terminal to (fig. 9, memory 930, connected to processor 940, storing code 935; ¶ 166-168):
receive, from a base station, higher layer signaling comprising configuration information for one or more CLI measurement resources (¶ 117, the base station 105 may transmit an interference measurement configuration, (e.g., a CLI measurement configuration) to UE 115, which may include a resource ID. The base station 105 may transmit the interference measurement configuration using…RRC signaling. In some examples, the interference measurement configuration may be an SRS measurement configuration 310; ¶ 116, an SRS measurement configuration 310 (e.g., an SRS RSRP measurement configuration); ¶ 110, base station 105-a may transmit an SRS configuration to UE 115-a, so UE 115-a may perform SRS RSRP measurements…UE 115-a may measure the SRS RSRP over configured resource elements (e.g., specified in the SRS configuration); ¶ 185, measure the CLI, which may include an SRS RSRP measurement),
in case that information associated with one or more reception beams for the CLI measurement is configured in the configuration information for the one or more CLI measurement resources (¶ 117, the base station 105 may transmit an interference measurement configuration; ¶ 118, the interference measurement configuration may indicate a corresponding TCI state. For example, the interference measurement configuration may include a measurement direction configuration, which may include one or more QCL configurations for one or more receive beams for interference measurements…; ¶ 113, an interference measurement (e.g., a CLI measurement); ¶ 125, Base station 105-b may send the measurement configuration via RRC signaling, a MAC-CE, or DCI. In some cases, the measurement configuration may include an indication of a measurement direction configuration, such as a QCL configuration….the measurement direction configuration may indicate a TCI indicating a receive beam direction for measuring interference (e.g., CLI)),
identify, a reception beam for a CLI measurement resource, as indicated by the information associated with the one or more reception beams for the CLI measurement (¶ 134, UE 115-d may select a measurement direction configuration, such as a QCL configuration, for measuring interference (e.g., CLI) based on the measurement configuration; ¶ 64, the measurement configuration may include a direction configuration for measuring the interference (e.g., a specified QCL configuration); ¶ 125, the measurement configuration may include an indication of a measurement direction configuration, such as a QCL configuration…the measurement direction configuration may indicate a TCI indicating a receive beam direction for measuring interference (e.g., CLI); ¶ 116, UE 115 may measure interference according to an SRS measurement configuration 310 (e.g., an SRS RSRP measurement configuration)…based on a measurement direction configuration (e.g., a QCL configuration); ¶ 110, base station 105-a may transmit an SRS configuration to UE 115-a, so UE 115-a may perform SRS RSRP measurements…UE 115-a may measure the SRS RSRP over configured resource elements (e.g., specified in the SRS configuration); ¶ 185, measure the CLI, which may include an SRS RSRP measurement), and
perform the CLI measurement, based on the CLI measurement resource and through the identified reception beam (¶ 135, at 530, UE 115-d may measure the CLI based on the measurement configuration after receiving the measurement trigger signal at 525. In some cases, measuring the CLI may include measuring an SRS RSRP or a CLI RSSI; ¶ 134, UE 115-d may select a measurement direction configuration, such as a QCL configuration, for measuring interference (e.g., CLI) based on the measurement configuration; ¶ 125, the measurement configuration may include an indication of a measurement direction configuration, such as a QCL configuration…the measurement direction configuration may indicate a TCI indicating a receive beam direction for measuring interference (e.g., CLI)),
and transmit, to the base station, a CLI measurement report comprising at least one CLI measurement result (fig. 5, shows UE 115-d transmitting a measurement report to base station 105-c at 535; ¶ 136, transmit a measurement report based on measuring the interference (e.g., CLI); ¶ 32, a measurement report indicating a measurement of the CLI based on the measurement configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang’s teachings with Zhang’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is reducing interference and latency at a UE (Zhang ¶ 5).
Although Zhang teaches in case that the information associated with one or more reception beams for the CLI measurement is not configured in the configuration information for the one or more CLI measurement resources (Zhang (¶ 117, the base station 105 may transmit an interference measurement configuration; ¶ 118, the interference measurement configuration may indicate a corresponding TCI state. For example, the interference measurement configuration may include a measurement direction configuration, which may include one or more QCL configurations for one or more receive beams for interference measurements…; ¶ 113, an interference measurement (e.g., a CLI measurement); ¶ 125, Base station 105-b may send the measurement configuration via RRC signaling, a MAC-CE, or DCI. In some cases, the measurement configuration may include an indication of a measurement direction configuration, such as a QCL configuration….the measurement direction configuration may indicate a TCI indicating a receive beam direction for measuring interference (e.g., CLI). As shown in bold, interference measurement configuration may (may not) include measurement direction configuration which may (may not) include one or more QCL configuration for one or more receive beams for interference measurement or may (may not) indicate a TCI indicating a receive beam direction for measuring interference (e.g., CLI)), the reception beam for the CLI measurement resource, and perform the CLI measurement, Zhang does not explicitly disclose in case that the information associated with one or more reception beams for the CLI measurement is not configured in the configuration information for the one or more CLI measurement resources, identify, the reception beam for the CLI measurement resource, as a beam associated with a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception, and perform the CLI measurement, based on the CLI measurement resource and through the identified reception beam.
Xu in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches in case that information associated with one or more reception beams for CLI measurement is not configured in configuration information for one or more CLI measurement resources, identify, a reception beam for CLI measurement resource, as a beam associated with a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception, and perform the CLI measurement, based on the CLI measurement resource and through the identified reception beam (¶ 217, UE may identify a first set of resources for performing cross-link interference measurements. For example, the base station may transmit, to the UE, an RRC message configuring the first set of resources; ¶ 60, A base station may configure one or more CLI measurement resources on which a UE is to measure CLI…UE may determine which receive beams on which to measure CLI implicitly, based on which receive beams the UE uses for receiving one or more downlink signals (e.g., …reference signals associated with receiving physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) or physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs)…The victim UE may thus identify receive beams on which it receives other signal types, and use those receive beams to measure CLI. In some examples, the base station may explicitly indicate to the UE which receive beams it is to use for CLI measurements. For instance, the base station may indicate a list of reference signal indices for reference signals associated with receive beams, and the UE may use the associated receive beams in accordance with an indicated or preconfigured time-domain beam sweeping pattern to perform CLI measurements. In some examples, the base station may configure each CLI measurement resource, and may indicate an index for a reference signal (e.g., a CSI-RS or SSB) associated with a receive beam for each configured CLI measurement resource. In such examples, the UE may measure CLI on each CLI measurement resource using the indicated receive beam; ¶ 105, A base station 105 may configure one or more CLI measurement resources on which a UE 115 is to measure CLI…The UE 115 may determine which receive beams on which to measure CLI implicitly, based on which receive beams the UE 115 uses for receiving one or more downlink signals (e.g.,…reference signals associated with receiving physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) or physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs)…The victim UE 115 may thus identify receive beams on which it receives other signal types, and use those receive beams to measure CLI. In some examples, the base station 105 may explicitly indicate to the UE 115 which receive beams it is to use for CLI measurements. For instance, the base station 105 may indicate a list of reference signal (e.g., CSI-RS or SSB) indices for reference signals associated with receive beams, and the UE 115 may use the associated receive beams in accordance with an indicated or preconfigured time-domain beam sweeping pattern to perform CLI measurements. In some examples, the base station 105 may configure each CLI measurement resource, and may indicate an index for a reference signal (e.g., a CSI-RS or SSB) associated with a receive beam for each configured CLI measurement resource. In such examples, the UE 115 may measure CLI on each CLI measurement resource using the indicated receive beam; ¶ 126, UE 515 may determine which receive beams 525 to use for measuring CLI on CLI measurement resources implicitly…UE 515 may determine which receive beams 525 it uses for monitoring PDSCH, PDCCH…and may select the same receive beams 525 for performing CLI measurements. In some examples, base station 505 may explicitly indicate, to UE 515, which receive beams UE 515 is to use for performing multi-directional CLI measurements. For instance, base station 505 may indicate (e.g., for each CLI measurement resource), beam directions in which the UE 515 monitors for RSs or SSBs, and UE 515 may use the same receive beam 525 uses or previously used for monitoring for RSs or SSBs. In some examples, the explicit indication may include an index of a RS resource or an SSB, and UE 515 may select a receive beam 525 used for monitoring the indicated RS resource or SSB for performing CLI measurements; ¶ 111, base station 205 may then configure resources for measuring one or more metrics of the CLI 240 and transmit a message to the victim UE 215-b indicating the resources; ¶ 122, A UE 415 may perform CLI measurements in multiple directions over CLI measurement resources configured by base station 405. In some examples, UE 415 may determine which receive beams 425 to use for measuring CLI implicitly (e.g., using receive beams used to receive other signals), or based on an explicit indication received from base station 405; ¶ 129, UE 515 may simply measure CLI on each configured CLI measurement resource using receive beams 525 selected as described herein (e.g., implicitly selected or explicitly indicated by base station 505), and may report CLI measurement values for each configured CLI measurement resource; ¶ 132, base station 605 may transmit a CLI configuration message. The CLI configuration message may indicate CLI measurement resources…the CLI configuration information at 625-b may (may not) further include an indication (e.g., an index) associated with one or more CSI-RSs or SSBs configured at 620 associated with a particular receive beam UE 615 is to use for performing CLI measurements on the indicated CLI measurement resources; ¶ 143-145). By modifying Zhang’s teachings of in case that the information associated with one or more reception beams for the CLI measurement is not configured in the configuration information for the one or more CLI measurement resources, the reception beam for the CLI measurement resource, and perform the CLI measurement with Xu’s teachings of in case that information associated with one or more reception beams for CLI measurement is not configured in configuration information for one or more CLI measurement resources, identify, a reception beam for CLI measurement resource, as a beam associated with a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception, and perform the CLI measurement, based on the CLI measurement resource and through the identified reception beam, the modification results in in case that the information associated with one or more reception beams for the CLI measurement is not configured in the configuration information for the one or more CLI measurement resources, identify, the reception beam for the CLI measurement resource, as a beam associated with a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception, and perform the CLI measurement, based on the CLI measurement resource and through the identified reception beam.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang’s teachings with Xu’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting improvements in system efficiency such that a device may more effectively report CLI, resulting in improved configuration of TDD, reduced interference, improved adjustments in beam pairs, reduced system latency, and improved user experience (Xu ¶ 62). Known work in one field of endeavor (Xu prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Zhang prior art) based on design incentives (support improvements in system efficiency such that a device may more effectively report CLI, resulting in improved configuration of TDD, reduced interference, improved adjustments in beam pairs, reduced system latency, and improved user experience) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 15, the combination teaches the terminal of claim 14, wherein the CLI measurement resources are sounding reference signals (SRSs) (Zhang ¶ 118, the interference measurement configuration may indicate a corresponding TCI state. For example, the interference measurement configuration may include a measurement direction configuration, which may include one or more QCL configurations for…receive beams for interference measurements…; ¶ 110, base station 105-a may transmit an SRS configuration to UE 115-a, so UE 115-a may perform SRS RSRP measurements. In view of ¶ 118 and 110, there is a SRS in each receive beam of receive beams (and thus multiple SRSs one for each receive beam) for SRS RSRP measurement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Zhang’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is reducing interference and latency at a UE (Zhang ¶ 5).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER P CHAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476