This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 1/6/2026, 1/14/2026 & 1/15/2026.
Claims 7, 9 & 11 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Amendment
Claims 8 & 10 have been cancelled. Claims 1-6 were previously cancelled.
Claims 7, 9 & 11 have been amended.
New rejections to claims 7 & 11 under 35 USC 112(b) have been introduced based on amendments to these claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 1/6/2026, 1/14/2026 & 1/15/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Regarding claims 7 & 9, replacement of “reception unit” with “receiver” and “control unit” with “processor” eliminates the generic placeholder “unit” such that these claims no longer invoke 35 USC 112(f). The 35 USC 112(f) Claim Interpretations of claims 7 & 9 have been withdrawn.
Regarding claims 7 & 11, minor corrections in amendments to claims 7 & 11 per remarks filed on 1/14/2026 and 1/15/2026 have been made.
Regarding claims 7, 8 & 11, replacement of “assumes” with “determines” clarifies the functions in the limitations of these claims. The 35 USC 112(b) rejections of claims 7 & 11 have been withdrawn. The 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 8 is moot because claim 8 has been cancelled.
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 1/6/2026, 1/14/2026 & 1/15/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 7, 9 & 11 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections are made under 35 USC 103 in view of new references Zhou et al. (US 2023/0071767)(herein after “Zhou”) in view of Yu et al. (US 10917212)(herein after “Yu”).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 7, 9 & 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicants arguments with respect to claims 8 & 10 are moot because these claims have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 & 11 recite the limitation determines (or determining), “when a time offset between a reception of the DCI that schedules a PDSCH in a case where the CFR is not configured and the PDSCH is less than the specific time, that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port of the PDSCH is in the same state as quasi-colocation quasi co-location of a CORESET with the lowest controlResourceSetId among CORESETs in the latest slot”. These claims also recite receives (or receiving) “a higher-layer parameter associated with a Common Frequency Resource (CFR) related to a multicast/broadcast service (MBS) that distributes data to a plurality of terminals, and when the CFR is configured, receives, within the CFR, downlink control information (DCI) that schedules a downlink data channel (PDSCH) related to the MBS and does not include a TCI state field”. These limitations are conflicting by defining a DCI within a configured CFR, then defining a limitation related to a time offset between reception of the DCI and PDSCH being less than a specific time when a CFR is not configured. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting these limitations as determines (or determining), “when a CFR is not configured, when a time offset between a reception of a DCI that schedules a PDSCH and the PDSCH is less than the specific time, that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port of the PDSCH is in the same state as quasi co- location of a CORESET with the lowest controlResourceSetId among CORESETs in the latest slot”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2023/0071767)(herein after “Zhou”) in view of Yu et al. (US 10917212)(herein after “Yu”), and further in view of 3GPP et al. (OPPO, R1-2100119, “Enhancements on Multi-TRP for PDCCH, PUCCH and PUSCH”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #104-e, 1/19/2021.)(herein after “3GPP”).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou discloses a terminal comprising: a receiver (Fig 15 & [0220] disclose a wireless device 1502 with a reception processing system 1522) that receives a higher-layer parameter associated with a Common Frequency Resource (CFR) related to a multicast/broadcast service (MBS) that distributes data to a plurality of terminals, and when the CFR is configured, receives, within the CFR, downlink control information (DCI) that schedules a downlink data channel (PDSCH) related to the MBS ([0331] discloses a base station transmitting to a wireless device (i.e. a wireless device receiving) an RRC message comprising group common parameters (i.e. higher layer parameters) a common frequency resource (CFR) of an MBS configuration. [0331] discloses that the base station transmission may be to a group of wireless devices for configuring MBS (i.e. for distributing MBS data to a plurality of terminals). [0331]-[0333] discloses that, when the CFR configuration parameters of the MBS configuration are received, the parameters may include time domain resource assignments indicating slot offsets between a DCI and a corresponding PDSCH that the wireless device uses to receive MBS TBs based on receiving the DCI when transmitted by a base station within the CFR.); and
a processor (Fig 15 & [0222] disclose a wireless device 1502 with a processing system 1518.) that determines a time offset between a reception of the DCI and the PDSCH, and that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port is in the same state as quasi co-location of a control resource set (CORESET) among CORESETs included in the CFR (Fig 14B & [0209] disclose that a wireless device may determine, through receiving a DCI transmission from a base station, that a CORESET is configured with an antenna port quasi co-location (QCL) parameter indicating QCL information of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for reception in the CORESET. [0210] discloses that the search space set of the CORESET may be a common search space set (i.e. including CORESETS included in a CFR).),
wherein the processor determines a time offset between a reception of the DCI that schedules a PDSCH in a case where the CFR is not configured, and that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port of the PDSCH is in the same state as quasi co-location of a CORESET (Fig 14B & [0209] disclose that a wireless device may determine, through receiving a DCI transmission from a base station, that a CORESET is configured with an antenna port quasi co-location (QCL) parameter indicating QCL information of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for reception in the CORESET. [0210] discloses that the search space set of the CORESET may be a UE-specific search space set (i.e. among UE-specific CORESETS configured by the base station).) .
Zhou fails to disclose wherein the DCI does not include a TCI state field.
However, 3GPP further teaches wherein the DCI does not have a TCI state field (Section 2.1, 2nd page, proposal 2 & the table disclose a DCI with no TCI field.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a terminal comprising: a receiver that receives a higher-layer parameter associated with a Common Frequency Resource (CFR) related to a multicast/broadcast service (MBS) that distributes data to a plurality of terminals, and when the CFR is configured, receives, within the CFR, downlink control information (DCI) that schedules a downlink data channel (PDSCH) related to the MBS, as disclosed by Zhou, wherein the DCI does not include a TCI state, as further taught by 3GPP. The motivation to do so would be to have a terminal, that receives a PDSCH based on MBS which was scheduled by a DCI not having a TCI state, be able to use pre-configured or default spatial assumptions for reception of the PDSCH that can improve reception with reduced overhead signaling in the network.
Zhou fails to disclose wherein the processor’s determining is when the time offset between a reception of the DCI and the PDSCH is less than a specific time, and wherein the processors determining that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port of the PDSCH is in the same state as quasi co-location of a control resource set (CORESET) included in the CFR is based on the lowest controlResourceSetId among CORESETs in the latest slot, and wherein the processor’s determining, when no CFR is configured, is when the time offset between a reception of the DCI that schedules a PDSCH and the PDSCH is less than the specific time, and wherein the processor’s determining that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port of the PDSCH is in the same state as quasi co- location of a CORESET is based on the lowest controlResourceSetId among CORESETs in the latest slot.
However, Yu teaches wherein the processor’s determining is when the time offset between a reception of the DCI and the PDSCH is less than a specific time, and wherein the processors determining that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port of the PDSCH is in the same state as quasi co-location of a control resource set (CORESET) included in the CFR is based on the lowest controlResourceSetId among CORESETs in the latest slot (Col 4, lines 35-52 disclose a default quasi-co-location (QCL) assumption based on a scheduling offset for a PDSCH reception scheduled by a DCI being less than a time duration. Col 4, lines 53-62 disclose that based on the QCL assumption, demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports of a PDSCH are QCLed with (i.e. in the same state as) a CORESET with the lowest CORESET-ID (i.e. controlResourceSetId) associated with a monitored search space in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs are monitored by the UE (i.e. in the case of configured CFG, the monitored CORESETS would be the CORESETS configured in the CFG in the latest slot).),
wherein the processor’s determining, when no CFR is configured, is when the time offset between a reception of the DCI that schedules a PDSCH and the PDSCH is less than the specific time, and wherein the processor’s determining that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port of the PDSCH is in the same state as quasi co- location of a CORESET is based on the lowest controlResourceSetId among CORESETs in the latest slot (Col 4, lines 35-52 disclose a default quasi-co-location (QCL) assumption based on a scheduling offset for a PDSCH reception scheduled by a DCI being less than a time duration. Col 4, lines 53-62 disclose that based on the QCL assumption, demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports of a PDSCH are QCLed with (i.e. in the same state as) a CORESET with the lowest CORESET-ID (i.e. controlResourceSetId) associated with a monitored search space in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs are monitored by the UE (i.e. in the case of configured CFG, the monitored CORESETS would be the CORESETS configured in the latest slot).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a terminal comprising: a receiver that receives a higher-layer parameter associated with a Common Frequency Resource (CFR) related to a multicast/broadcast service (MBS) that distributes data to a plurality of terminals, and when the CFR is configured, receives, within the CFR, downlink control information (DCI) that schedules a downlink data channel (PDSCH) related to the MBS; and a processor that determines a time offset between a reception of the DCI and the PDSCH, and that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port is in the same state as quasi co-location of a control resource set (CORESET), wherein the processor determines a time offset between a reception of the DCI that schedules a PDSCH in a case where the CFR is not configured, and that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port of the PDSCH is in the same state as quasi co-location of a CORESET, as disclosed by Zhou, wherein the processor’s determining is when the time offset between a reception of the DCI and the PDSCH is less than a specific time, and wherein the processors determining that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port of the PDSCH is in the same state as quasi co-location of a control resource set (CORESET) included in the CFR is based on the lowest controlResourceSetId among CORESETs in the latest slot, and wherein the processor’s determining, when no CFR is configured, is when the time offset between a reception of the DCI that schedules a PDSCH and the PDSCH is less than the specific time, and wherein the processor’s determining that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port of the PDSCH is in the same state as quasi co- location of a CORESET is based on the lowest controlResourceSetId among CORESETs in the latest slot, as taught by Yu. The motivation to do so would have been to have a wireless device capable of receiving a CFR configuration for MBS such that, when the wireless device receives a DCI within a configured CFR scheduling a PDSCH, the wireless device can determine when the offset between the DCI and the scheduled PDSCH is less than a time duration and make a QCL assumption between a DMRS port of the PDSCH and a CORESET with the lowest CORESET ID included in the MBS CFR configuration in the latest slot, and when the wireless device does not have a CFR configured for MBS and receives a DCI scheduling a PDSCH, the wireless device can determine when the offset between the DCI and the scheduled PDSCH is less than a time duration and make a QCL assumption between a DMRS port of the PDSCH and a CORESET with the lowest CORESET ID in the latest slot, in order to improve network performance and reduce signaling overhead across both MBS and unicast services by enabling the wireless device to reuse channel information from other CORESETs to assist in decoding the scheduled PDSCH.
Regarding claim 9, Zhou in view of Yu and 3GPP disclose the terminal according to claim 7.
Zhou discloses wherein the receiver receives, within the CFR, the PDSCH related to the MBS scheduled by another DCI including the TCI state field, using the TCI state field ([0333] discloses the wireless device, in response to receiving a DCI, may determine to receive TBs using group-common PDSCH resources (i.e. related to MBS). [0331]-[0333] discloses that, when CFR configuration parameters of an MBS configuration are received, the parameters may include time domain resource assignments indicating slot offsets between a DCI and a corresponding PDSCH that the wireless device uses to receive MBS TBs based on receiving the DCI when transmitted by a base station within the CFR. Thus, the wireless device may receive the PDSCH related to MBS within the CFR. [0331] discloses that the CFR may contain TCI states and that group-common parameters within the CFG may include a plurality of time domain resource allocation parameter sets, each comprising a slot offset between a DCI and corresponding PDSCH. Thus disclosed is a terminal device that may receive multiple PDSCHs associated with multiple DCIs within a CFR, which may include TCI states used by the wireless device.).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou discloses a radio communication method comprising the steps of ([0050] discloses methods for a base station to communicate with a mix of wireless devices): receiving a higher-layer parameter associated with a Common Frequency Resource (CFR) related to a multicast/broadcast service (MBS) that distributes data to a plurality of terminals, and when the CFR is configured, receives, within the CFR, downlink control information (DCI) that schedules a downlink data channel (PDSCH) related to the MBS ([0331] discloses a base station transmitting to a wireless device (i.e. a wireless device receiving) an RRC message comprising group common parameters (i.e. higher layer parameters) a common frequency resource (CFR) of an MBS configuration. [0331] discloses that the base station transmission may be to a group of wireless devices for configuring MBS (i.e. for distributing MBS data to a plurality of terminals). [0331]-[0333] discloses that, when the CFR configuration parameters of the MBS configuration are received, the parameters may include time domain resource assignments indicating slot offsets between a DCI and a corresponding PDSCH that the wireless device uses to receive MBS TBs based on receiving the DCI when transmitted by a base station within the CFR.); and
determining a time offset between a reception of the DCI and the PDSCH, and that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port is in the same state as quasi co-location of a control resource set (CORESET) among CORESETs included in the CFR (Fig 14B & [0209] disclose that a wireless device may determine, through receiving a DCI transmission from a base station, that a CORESET is configured with an antenna port quasi co-location (QCL) parameter indicating QCL information of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for reception in the CORESET. [0210] discloses that the search space set of the CORESET may be a common search space set (i.e. including CORESETS included in a CFR).),
determining a time offset between a reception of the DCI that schedules a PDSCH in a case where the CFR is not configured, and that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port of the PDSCH is in the same state as quasi co-location of a CORESET with the lowest controlResourceSetId among CORESETs (Fig 14B & [0209] disclose that a wireless device may determine, through receiving a DCI transmission from a base station, that a CORESET is configured with an antenna port quasi co-location (QCL) parameter indicating QCL information of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for reception in the CORESET. [0210] discloses that the search space set of the CORESET may be a UE-specific search space set (i.e. among UE-specific CORESETS configured by the base station).) .
Zhou fails to disclose wherein the DCI does not include a TCI state field.
However, 3GPP further teaches wherein the DCI does not have a TCI state field (Section 2.1, 2nd page, proposal 2 & the table disclose a DCI with no TCI field.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a radio communication method comprising the steps of: receiving a higher-layer parameter associated with a Common Frequency Resource (CFR) related to a multicast/broadcast service (MBS) that distributes data to a plurality of terminals, and when the CFR is configured, receives, within the CFR, downlink control information (DCI) that schedules a downlink data channel (PDSCH) related to the MBS, as disclosed by Zhou, wherein the DCI does not include a TCI state, as further taught by 3GPP. The motivation to do so would be to have radio communication method where a terminal, that receives a PDSCH based on MBS which was scheduled by a DCI not having a TCI state, is able to use pre-configured or default spatial assumptions for reception of the PDSCH that can improve reception with reduced overhead signaling in the network.
Zhou fails to disclose wherein the determining is when the time offset between a reception of the DCI and the PDSCH is less than a specific time, and wherein the processors determining that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port of the PDSCH is in the same state as quasi co-location of a control resource set (CORESET) included in the CFR is based on the lowest controlResourceSetId among CORESETs in the latest slot, and wherein the processor’s determining, when no CFR is configured, is when the time offset between a reception of the DCI that schedules a PDSCH and the PDSCH is less than the specific time, and wherein the processor’s determining that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port of the PDSCH is in the same state as quasi co- location of a CORESET is based on the lowest controlResourceSetId among CORESETs in the latest slot.
However, Yu teaches wherein the determining is when the time offset between a reception of the DCI and the PDSCH is less than a specific time, and wherein the processors determining that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port of the PDSCH is in the same state as quasi co-location of a control resource set (CORESET) included in the CFR is based on the lowest controlResourceSetId among CORESETs in the latest slot (Col 4, lines 35-52 disclose a default quasi-co-location (QCL) assumption based on a scheduling offset for a PDSCH reception scheduled by a DCI being less than a time duration. Col 4, lines 53-62 disclose that based on the QCL assumption, demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports of a PDSCH are QCLed with (i.e. in the same state as) a CORESET with the lowest CORESET-ID (i.e. controlResourceSetId) associated with a monitored search space in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs are monitored by the UE (i.e. in the case of configured CFG, the monitored CORESETS would be the CORESETS configured in the CFG in the latest slot).),
wherein the determining, when no CFR is configured, is when the time offset between a reception of the DCI that schedules a PDSCH and the PDSCH is less than the specific time, and wherein the determining that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port of the PDSCH is in the same state as quasi co- location of a CORESET is based on the lowest controlResourceSetId among CORESETs in the latest slot (Col 4, lines 35-52 disclose a default quasi-co-location (QCL) assumption based on a scheduling offset for a PDSCH reception scheduled by a DCI being less than a time duration. Col 4, lines 53-62 disclose that based on the QCL assumption, demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports of a PDSCH are QCLed with (i.e. in the same state as) a CORESET with the lowest CORESET-ID (i.e. controlResourceSetId) associated with a monitored search space in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs are monitored by the UE (i.e. in the case of configured CFG, the monitored CORESETS would be the CORESETS configured in the latest slot).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a radio communication method comprising the steps of: receiving a higher-layer parameter associated with a Common Frequency Resource (CFR) related to a multicast/broadcast service (MBS) that distributes data to a plurality of terminals, and when the CFR is configured, receiving within the CFR, downlink control information (DCI) that schedules a downlink data channel (PDSCH) related to the MBS; and determining a time offset between a reception of the DCI and the PDSCH, and that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port is in the same state as quasi co-location of a control resource set (CORESET) among CORESETs included in the CFR, wherein the determining a time offset between a reception of the DCI that schedules a PDSCH in a case where the CFR is not configured, and that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port of the PDSCH is in the same state as quasi co-location of a CORESET, as disclosed by Zhou, wherein the processor’s determining is when the time offset between a reception of the DCI and the PDSCH is less than a specific time, and wherein the processors determining that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port of the PDSCH is in the same state as quasi co-location of a control resource set (CORESET) included in the CFR is based on the lowest controlResourceSetId among CORESETs in the latest slot, and wherein the determining, when no CFR is configured, is when the time offset between a reception of the DCI that schedules a PDSCH and the PDSCH is less than the specific time, and wherein the determining that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port of the PDSCH is in the same state as quasi co- location of a CORESET is based on the lowest controlResourceSetId among CORESETs in the latest slot, as taught by Yu. The motivation to do so would have been to have a radio communication method comprising the steps of receiving a CFR configuration for MBS such that, when the wireless device receives a DCI within a configured CFR scheduling a PDSCH, the wireless device can determine when the offset between the DCI and the scheduled PDSCH is less than a time duration and make a QCL assumption between a DMRS port of the PDSCH and a CORESET with the lowest CORESET ID included in the MBS CFR configuration in the latest slot, and when the wireless device does not have a CFR configured for MBS and receives a DCI scheduling a PDSCH, the wireless device can determine when the offset between the DCI and the scheduled PDSCH is less than a time duration and make a QCL assumption between a DMRS port of the PDSCH and a CORESET with the lowest CORESET ID in the latest slot, in order to improve network performance and reduce signaling overhead across both MBS and unicast services by enabling the wireless device to reuse channel information from other CORESETs to assist in decoding the scheduled PDSCH.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419