Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 7, 9 & 11 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Amendment
Claims 7, 9 & 11 have been amended.
Rejections to claims 7 & 11 under 35 USC 112(b) made in the Final Rejection dated 2/24/2026 have been withdrawn based on amendments to these claims, but new grounds of rejections to claims 7 & 11 under 35 USC 112(b) have been introduced.
Rejections to claims 7, 9 & 11 under 35 USC 103 made in the Final Rejection dated 2/24/2026 have been withdrawn based on amendments to these claims, but new grounds of rejections to claims 7, 9 & 11 under 35 USC 103 have been made in view of new references Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2023/0208598)(herein after “Khoshnevisan”) and Bharmi et al. (US 2024/0137087)(herein after “Bharmi”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 5/20/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 7 & 11 under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Amendments to these claims to remove the limitation “in a case where the CFR is not configured” clarifies the claimed invention. Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections under 35 USC 112(b) have been made.
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 5/20/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 7, 9 & 11 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections are made under 35 USC 103 in view of new references Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2023/0208598)(herein after “Khoshnevisan”) and Bharmi et al. (US 2024/0137087)(herein after “Bharmi”).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 7, 9 & 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 & 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 & 11 recite the limitation “among CORESETs included in the CFR in the latest slot”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting this claim as “among CORESETs included in the CFR in a latest slot”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 9 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2023/0071767)(herein after “Zhou”) in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2023/0208598)(herein after “Khoshnevisan”), and further in view of Bharmi et al. (US 2024/0137087)(herein after “Bharmi”) and 3GPP et al. (OPPO, R1-2100119, “Enhancements on Multi-TRP for PDCCH, PUCCH and PUSCH”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #104-e, 1/19/2021.)(herein after “3GPP”).
Regarding claims 7 & 11, Zhou discloses a method ([0050] discloses methods for a base station to communicate with a mix of wireless devices), and a terminal comprising: a receiver (Fig 15 & [0220] disclose a wireless device 1502 with a reception processing system 1522), that receives a higher-layer parameter associated with a Common Frequency Resource (CFR) related to a multicast/broadcast service (MBS) that distributes data to a plurality of terminals, and receives first downlink control information (DCI) that schedules a first downlink data channel (PDSCH) related to the MBS ([0331] discloses a base station transmitting to a wireless device (i.e. a wireless device receiving) an RRC message comprising group common parameters (i.e. higher layer parameters) comprising a common frequency resource (CFR) of an MBS configuration. [0331] discloses that the base station transmission may be to a group of wireless devices for configuring MBS (i.e. for distributing MBS data to a plurality of terminals). [0331]-[0333] discloses that, when the CFR configuration parameters of the MBS configuration are received, the parameters may include time domain resource assignments indicating slot offsets between a group-common DCI activating an MBS SPS transmitted to the wireless device (i.e. a first DCI received by the wireless device) and a corresponding group-common PDSCH resource (i.e. a first PDSCH related to the MBS) that the wireless device uses to receive MBS TBs based on receiving the group common DCI that schedules the group-common PDSCH resource.); and
a processor (Fig 15 & [0222] disclose a wireless device 1502 with a processing system 1518.), and a method, that determines, when the CFR is configured with CORESETs included in the CFR in the latest slot, a time offset between a reception of the first DCI and the first PDSCH ([0331]-[0333] discloses that the wireless device receives the RRC message comprising group common parameters of an MBS configuration, including CFR configuration parameters (i.e. when CFR is configured), and the group common parameters may include a value of slot offset (i.e. time offset) between a DCI (i.e. the first DCI) and a corresponding PDSCH (i.e. the first PDSCH), which allows the wireless device to determine the slot offset between the DCI and the corresponding PDSCH. Fig 14A & [0208] disclose that the CFR may be frequency resources within a time-frequency domain in a slot with CORESETS included in the time-frequency resources (and thus within the CFR).),
wherein the processor, and the method, determines, when the CFR is configured with CORESETs included in the CFR in the latest slot, a time offset between a reception of second DCI that schedules a second PDSCH, and the second PDSCH ([0331]-[0333] discloses that the wireless device receives the RRC message comprising group common parameters of an MBS configuration, including CFR configuration parameters (i.e. when CFR is configured), and the group common parameters may include a value of slot offset (i.e. time offset) between a DCI (i.e. a second DCI) and a corresponding PDSCH (i.e. a second PDSCH), which allows the wireless device to determine the slot offset between the DCI and the corresponding PDSCH. Fig 14A & [0208] disclose that the CFR may be frequency resources within a time-frequency domain in a slot with CORESETS included in the time-frequency resources (and thus within the CFR), and that the base station may transmit a DCI on one or more of the CORESETS. Thus, a first CORESET (e.g. CORESET 1403) may include the first DCI and first PDSCH and a second CORESET (e.g. CORESET 1404) may include a second DCI and second PDSCH.).
Zhou fails to disclose but Khoshnevisan teaches when a time offset between a reception of a DCI and a PDSCH is less than a specific time, that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port of the PDSCH is in the same state as quasi co-location of a control resource set (CORESET) with the lowest controlResourceSetID ([0058] discloses that when the offset between the reception of a DCI and a corresponding PDSCH is less than a threshold timeDurationForQCL, then the UE may assume that the demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located (i.e. in the same state as) with the RS(s) of the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest controlResourceSetId in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs within an active bandwidth part (BWP) (e.g. a CFR).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method, or a terminal comprising: a receiver, that receives a higher-layer parameter associated with a Common Frequency Resource (CFR) related to a multicast/broadcast service (MBS) that distributes data to a plurality of terminals, and receives first downlink control information (DCI) that schedules a first downlink data channel (PDSCH) related to the MBS; and a processor, or a method, that determines, when the CFR is configured with CORESETs included in the CFR in the latest slot, a time offset between a reception of the first DCI and the first PDSCH, as disclosed by Zhou, and when a time offset between a reception of a DCI and a PDSCH is less than a specific time, that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port of the PDSCH is in the same state as quasi co-location of a control resource set (CORESET) with the lowest controlResourceSetID, as taught by Khoshnevisan. The motivation to do so would have been to have a wireless device, or a method for a wireless device, capable of receiving a CFR configuration for MBS such that, when the wireless device receives a first DCI within a configured CFR scheduling a first PDSCH, and a second DCI within the configured CFR scheduling a second PDSCH, the wireless device can determine when the offset between the first DCI and the first PDSCH is less than a time duration and make a QCL assumption between a DMRS port of the first PDSCH and a CORESET with the lowest CORESET ID included in the MBS CFR configuration in a slot, and when the offset between the second DCI and the second PDSCH is less than a time duration and make a QCL assumption between a DMRS port of the second PDSCH and a CORESET with the lowest CORESET ID included in the MBS CFR configuration in the slot, in order to improve network performance and reduce signaling overhead across multiple MBS transmissions by enabling the wireless device to reuse channel information from other CORESETs to assist in decoding the scheduled PDSCHs.
Zhou fails to disclose but Bhamri further teaches wherein the specific time is determined based on a subcarrier spacing of the scheduled first PDSCH ([0074] discloses a QCL assumption based on a offset between the reception of a DCI and corresponding PDSCH being less than a threshold timeDurationForQCL (i.e. a specific time), wherein timeDurationFor QCL is determined based on the subcarrier spacing of the scheduled PDSCH (e.g. the first PDSCH).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method, or a terminal comprising: a receiver, that receives a higher-layer parameter associated with a Common Frequency Resource (CFR) related to a multicast/broadcast service (MBS) that distributes data to a plurality of terminals, and receives first downlink control information (DCI) that schedules a first downlink data channel (PDSCH) related to the MBS; and a processor, or a method, that determines, when the CFR is configured with CORESETs included in the CFR in the latest slot, a time offset between a reception of the first DCI and the first PDSCH, and when a time offset between a reception of a DCI and a PDSCH is less than a specific time, that quasi co-location of a demodulation reference signal port of the PDSCH is in the same state as quasi co-location of a control resource set (CORESET) with the lowest controlResourceSetID, as disclosed by Zhou in view of Khoshnevisan, wherein the specific time is determined based on a subcarrier spacing of the scheduled first PDSCH, as further taught by Bhamri . The motivation to do so would have been to have a wireless device, or a method for a wireless device, that bases a threshold, for comparing a time offset between a DCI and PDSCH scheduled by the DCI against for determination of QCL assumptions, on subcarrier spacing of the scheduled PDSCH because the subcarrier spacing of the PDSCH is directly related to the time duration of the PDSCH symbols and slots and thus basing the threshold on the subcarrier spacing would provide a more effective threshold for determining QCL assumptions.
Zhou fails to disclose but 3GPP further teaches wherein the DCI does not have a TCI state field (Section 2.1, 2nd page, proposal 2 & the table disclose a DCI with no TCI field.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method, or a terminal comprising: a receiver, that receives a higher-layer parameter associated with a Common Frequency Resource (CFR) related to a multicast/broadcast service (MBS) that distributes data to a plurality of terminals, and receives downlink control information (DCI) that schedules a first downlink data channel (PDSCH) related to the MBS, as disclosed by Zhou, wherein the DCI does not include a TCI state, as further taught by 3GPP. The motivation to do so would be to have a terminal, or a method for a terminal, that receives a PDSCH based on MBS which was scheduled by a DCI not having a TCI state, be able to use pre-configured or default spatial assumptions for reception of the PDSCH that can improve reception with reduced overhead signaling in the network.
Regarding claim 9, Zhou in view of Khoshnevisan and Bharmi and 3GPP disclose the terminal according to claim 7.
Zhou discloses wherein the receiver receives, within the CFR, a third PDSCH related to the MBS scheduled by third DCI including the TCI state field, using the TCI state field ([0333] discloses the wireless device, in response to receiving a DCI, may determine to receive TBs using group-common PDSCH resources (i.e. related to MBS). [0331]-[0333] discloses that, when CFR configuration parameters of an MBS configuration are received, the parameters may include time domain resource assignments indicating slot offsets between a DCI (i.e. a third DCI) and a corresponding PDSCH (i.e. a third PDSCH) that the wireless device uses to receive MBS TBs based on receiving the DCI when transmitted by a base station within the CFR. Thus, the wireless device may receive the PDSCH related to MBS within the CFR. [0331] discloses that the CFR may contain TCI states. [0176] discloses that the UE may receive a downlink transmission based on the TCI state (i.e. use the TCI to receive the PDSCH). Fig 14A & [0208] disclose that the CFR may be frequency resources within a time-frequency domain in a slot with CORESETS included in the time-frequency resources (and thus within the CFR), and that the base station may transmit a DCI on one or more of the CORESETS. Thus, a third CORESET (e.g. CORESET 1402) may include the third DCI which may include a TCI state used by the wireless device to receive the third PDSCH.).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Fu et al. (US 2024/0178957) discloses a Method and Apparatus for Configuring Downlink Control Channel, Method and Apparatus for Determining Downlink Control Channel, and Device and Medium.
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419