DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
This office action is responsive to the preliminary amendment filed on 9/18/23. As directed by the amendment: no claims have been amended, claims 1-15 have been canceled, and new claims 16-32 have been added. Thus, claims 16-32 are presently pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 16, 20, 23, 25-26 and 29-30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 30 has a period in the 3rd to last line suggested to be changed to a semi-colon.
Claims 16, 20, 23, 25 and 29 recite “the planar carrier member” suggested to be changed to --the at least one planar air permeable carrier member-- for consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 26 and 30 recite “the carrier member” suggested to be changed to --the at least one planar air permeable carrier member-- for consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-19, 24 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites “5 µm to 20 µm and/or of 8 µm to 12 µm” however it is unclear how two ranges can be claimed at once if “and” is applied in the “and/or statement.
Claim 19 recites “1 µm to 100 µm and/or of 5 µm to 20 µm and/or of 10 µm” however it is unclear how two ranges and a single value can be claimed at once if “and” is applied in the “and/or statement.
Claim 24 recites “0.1 V to 10 V and/or of 0.5 V to 5 V and/or of 1 V” however it is unclear how two ranges and a single value can be claimed at once if “and” is applied in the “and/or statement.
Claim 27 recites “the electrical conductors are arranged between the planar protective member and/or the at least one planar protective member” however it is unclear what is meant by this limitation. It appears that applicant intended to claim that the electrical conductors are arranged between two air permeable protective members of the at least one air permeable protective member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Charlot (DE 102010006883 see English translation provided by examiner).
Regarding claim 30, in fig. 1 Charlot discloses a method of operating a filter device 10 for rendering viruses harmless (Page 3, lines 29-31), comprising: providing a filter device 10 having at least one planar air permeable carrier member (10 and 12) configured as a face mask (Page 4, lines 10-12); arranging electrical conductors (14 and 16, Page 3, line 7) on the carrier member between which an electrical potential is applied (Page 3, lines 8-11); flowing through the carrier member and thus through intermediate spaces between the electrical conductors a flow of air (Page 3, lines 8-11). acting by the electrical potential on viruses that are moved between the electrical conductors by the flow of air (Page 3, lines 29-31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18, 20, 23-25, 27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charlot (DE 102010006883 see English translation provided by examiner) in view of Al Ahmad et al. (11,071,337).
Regarding claim 16, in fig. 1 Charlot discloses a filter device 10 for rendering viruses harmless (Page 3, lines 29-31), comprising: at least one planar air permeable carrier member (10 and 12) configured as a face mask (Page 4, lines 10-12); electrical conductors (14 and 16, Page 3, line 7) applied to the planar carrier member between which an electrical potential is applied (Page 3, lines 8-11), the electrical conductors being spaced apart, but is silent that the electrical conductors are spaced apart by a distance of 1 µm to 100 µm. However, Al Ahmad teaches electrical conductors are spaced apart by a distance of 0.004 µm to 0.5 µm (4 nm to 500 nm Col. 5, ll. 66-67). Al Ahmad discloses the claimed invention except for a distance of 1 µm to 100 µm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the distance to 1 µm to 100 µm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and it appears that a distance of 1 µm to 100 µm would perform equally as well at protecting a user from viruses. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 17, the modified Charlot discloses that the electrical conductors are electrical wires (Page 3, line 7 Charlot).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Charlot is silent regarding that the electrical conductors are spaced apart by a distance of 5 µm to 20 µm and/or of 8 µm to 12 µm. The modified Charlot discloses the claimed invention except for a distance of 5 µm to 20 µm and/or of 8 µm to 12 µm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the distance to 5 µm to 20 µm and/or of 8 µm to 12 µm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and it appears that a distance of 5 µm to 20 µm and/or of 8 µm to 12 µm would perform equally as well at protecting a user from viruses. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 20, the modified Charlot discloses that the electrical conductors between which the electrical potential is applied are applied to the planar carrier member in parallel with one another and/or extending in a linear manner with respect to one another (Fig. 1 shows some portions of 14 and 16 extending in a linear manner with respect to one another, Charlot).
Regarding claim 23, the modified Charlot discloses a voltage source (18, Charlot), the electrical conductors between which the electrical potential is applied (Page 3, line 7 Charlot), being connected to respective separate poles of the voltage source on the planar carrier member (Fig. 1, Charlot).
Regarding claim 24, the modified Charlot discloses that the voltage source has a voltage of 0.1 V to 10 V and/or of 0.5 V to 5 V (Page 3, lines 8-9 Charlot) and/or of 1 V; and/or the voltage source is a battery (Page 3, line 14, Charlot), a rechargeable battery, or an electrical capacitor (Page 3, line 14, Charlot); and/or the voltage source is arranged at (near) the face mask (near the face mask, fig. 1 Charlot) or is integrated in the face mask.
Regarding claim 25, the modified Charlot discloses that at least one air permeable protective member (22 and 20, see fig. 3 Charlot) that extends in a planar manner and is applied in front of and/or behind the planar carrier member (22 and 20, see fig. 3 Charlot).
Regarding claim 27, the modified Charlot discloses that the electrical conductors are arranged between the planar protective member and/or the at least one planar protective member (see fig. 3, Charlot).
Regarding claim 29, the modified Charlot discloses a protective member (20 and 22, Fig. 3 Charlot) arranged at both sides of the planar carrier member (20 and 22, Fig. 3 Charlot), but is silent regarding that a flexible sandwich structure is formed. However, Al Ahmad teaches a flexible sandwich structure (Col. 5, ll. 6-8, abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the modified Charlot’s sandwich with a flexible sandwich, as taught by Al Ahmad, for the purpose of providing adaptability to the user’s face during use.
Claims 19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charlot and Al Ahmad, as applied to claim 16 above, in further view of Jeon (KR 20150115589 see English translation provided by examiner).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Charlot is silent regarding that the electrical conductors have cross-sectional dimensions of 1 µm to 100 µm and/or of 5 µm to 20 µm and/or of 10 µm. However, Jeon teaches electrical conductors having cross-sectional dimensions of 1 µm to 100 µm (10 to 500 microns, page 7, second to last paragraph, 20 to 100 microns, page 7, last paragraph) and/or of 5 µm to 20 µm and/or of 10 µm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the modified Charlot’s cross-sectional dimensions with cross-sectional dimensions of 1 µm to 100 µm, as taught by Jeon, for the purpose of providing an alternate wire size having the predictable results of providing an electrical conductor for denaturing viruses.
Regarding claim 21, the modified Charlot is silent regarding that the electrical conductors each have a coating and are woven to one another. However, Jeon teaches that the electrical conductors each have a coating (page 7, second to last paragraph and last paragraph) and are woven to one another (Page 4, 5th full paragraph). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the modified Charlot’s electrical conductors with electrical conductors with coatings that are woven together, as taught by Jeon, for the purpose of providing an alternate electrical conductor structure and configuration having the predictable results of providing a structure for denaturing viruses.
Regarding claim 22, the modified Charlot is silent regarding that the electrical conductors are woven with polymer threads to form a conductor lattice on the carrier member. However, Jeon teaches that the electrical conductors are woven with polymer threads (polyurethan yarn, Page 8, paragraph 2) to form a conductor lattice on the carrier member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the modified Charlot’s electrical conductors with the addition of polymer threads, as taught by Jeon, for the purpose of providing an alternate electrical conductor structure having the predictable results of providing a structure for denaturing viruses.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charlot and Al Ahmad, as applied to claim 25 above, in further view of Yidi (10,808,338).
Regarding claim 26, the modified Charlot discloses that the carrier member and/or the at least one protective member is/are a filter layer (20, Charlot), but is silent regarding that the carrier member and/or the at least one protective member is/are formed from a textile or from a fiber mat. However, Yidi teaches that the carrier member and/or the at least one protective member is/are formed from a textile or from a fiber mat Col. 4, ll. 15-24). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the modified Charlot’s at least one protective member behind the planar carrier member with a textile or fiber mat, as taught by Yidi, for the purpose of providing an alternate filtering structure having the predictable results of filtering out particulates for a user.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charlot and Al Ahmad, as applied to claim 23 above, in further view of Fabian et al. (2018/0078798).
Regarding claim 28, the modified Charlot is silent regarding a solar cell that is electrically connected to the voltage source, the solar cell being arranged at the face mask or being integrated in the face mask. However, Fabian teaches a solar cell [0140] that is electrically connected to the voltage source [0140], the solar cell being arranged at the face mask or being integrated in the face mask ([0140] the solar cell is located with the battery in a housing of the face mask [0119]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the modified Charlot’s voltage source with the addition of a solar cell, as taught by Fabian, for the purpose of providing charging to the voltage source.
Claims 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charlot, as applied to claim 30 above, in view of Petrovic et al. (2021/0369903).
Regarding claim 31, Charlot does not explicitly recite that that an interaction of electrical voltage or of the electrical potential or of an electrical field is performed on an outer structure of the viruses by the action of the electrical potential between the electrical conductors on the viruses. However, Petrovic teaches that an interaction of electrical voltage or of the electrical potential or of an electrical field is performed on an outer structure of the viruses by the action of the electrical potential between the electrical conductors on the viruses [0023]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Charlot’s method with the addition of interaction of electrical voltage or of the electrical potential or of an electrical field is performed on an outer structure of the viruses by the action of the electrical potential between the electrical conductors on the viruses, as taught by Petrovic, for the purpose of destroying or denaturing viruses.
Regarding claim 32, Charlot discloses that the viruses have spike proteins ([0023] Petrovic), the spike proteins being manipulated by the action of the electrical potential between the electrical conductors on the viruses such that a subsequent attachment of the viruses to human or animal cells is prevented ([0023] Petrovic, due to the denaturization of the viruses).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Doyle (2021/0386133) directed towards a molecular imprinted face mask and Zilberstein et al. (2016/0317848) directed towards an electronic respirator mask.
/RACHEL T SIPPEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785