A Preliminary Amendment was filed on September 18, 2023 amending the Specification.
A Response to a Restriction Requirement was filed on January 7, 2026 electing Group I, drawn to Claims 1-9 and 17-20, classified in CPC F24F11/63 and F24F11/52. Accordingly, claims 10-16 are withdrawn from consideration. Claims 10 and 20 were amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending, of which claims 10-16 are withdrawn. Claims 1-9 and 17-20 are considered for examination, of which claims 1 and 17 are independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on September 18, 2023 and March 24, 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
The comparison provided on pages 8-9 of independent claim 1 and independent claim 10 in order to be able to demonstrate a correspondence or overlap between the claims is not properly presented. The Office respectfully submits that the mapping is not in accord with the actual recitations of the claims. The features of independent claims 1 and 10 considered for the Restriction Requirement are as follow:
Independent claim 1
Independent claim 10 (As amended)
An adaptive logic board for a variable speed drive (VSD) of a heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration (HVAC&R) system, comprising:
A method of operating a variable speed drive (VSD) of a heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration (HVAC&R) system using an adaptive logic board, comprising:
determining a size of the VSD,
wherein the size of the VSD is based at least in part on a power output range of the VSD;
determining a target cutoff frequency for a filter of a signal sensing circuit of the adaptive logic board based on the size of the VSD;
a signal sensing circuit configured to receive an input signal from a sensor of the VSD,
wherein the signal sensing circuit comprises:
a filter configured to condition the input signal; and
a variable resistance element of the filter, wherein the variable resistance element is configured to adjust a cutoff frequency of the filter, and
adjusting a variable resistance element of the signal sensing circuit to achieve the target cutoff frequency of the filter; and
the filter is configured to attenuate waveforms in the input signal having frequencies that exceed the cutoff frequency to generate a conditioned signal; and
filtering an input signal received from a sensor of the VSD via the filter to attenuate electrical waveforms in the input signal having a frequency that exceeds the target cutoff frequency and to generate a conditioned signal corresponding to the input signal.
a controller configured to receive the conditioned signal, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the variable resistance element to adjust the cutoff frequency of the filter based on a parameter of the HVAC&R system.
As shown in the table above, the core inventive concept recited in both independent claims are distinct. At least paragraphs [0055]-[0069] of the Specification the embodiment recited in the features of independent claim 10, distinct from the embodiment recited in the features of independent claim 1.
Contrary to the contentions made in on pages 8 through 10 Amendment, the Office did indicate that subcombinations are distinct if they do not overlap in scope and are not obvious variants, and if it is shown that at least one subcombination is separately usable. In the instant case, subcombinations I has separate utility such as a controller to adjust a cutoff frequency for HVAC systems. In the instant case, subcombination II has separate utility such as a variable speed drive to attenuate electrical waveforms in an input signal in the variable speed drive. See MPEP § 806.05(d). Amending the preamble of independent claim 10 is not sufficient to withdraw the Restriction Requirement. For similar reasons, the recitations of independent claim 17 are of a different subcombination and distinct as those of independent claim 10.
As also explained in the Restriction Requirement, Group I, drawn to Claims 1-9 and 17-20, classified in CPC F24F11/63 and F24F11/52. Group I is directed to a controller adjusting variable resistance for a variable speed drive of a heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration system. Group II, drawn to Claims 10-16, classified in CPC H02P23/14, H02P27/04, and G01R15/146. Group II is directed to determining a size of a variable resistance drive based on a power output range to determine a target cutoff frequency for a filter, and adjusting the variable resistance drive to the target cutoff frequency. The arguments presented in the Amendment are not persuasive and the restriction of Groups I and II is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 recites, in part, “…the controller is configured to adjust the variable resistance element to adjust the cutoff frequency of the filter based on a parameter of the HVAC&R system.” However, it is unclear how the variable resistance element is adjusted to alter the cutoff frequency based on a parameter of the HVAC&R system. Based on the description provided in various portions of the published Specification, including paragraphs [0020]-[0027], [0037], and [0043]-[0047], the adjustment of the variable resistance element to alter the cutoff frequency of the filter appears to be based on the operational parameter of the VSD, not on a parameter of the HVAC&R system. Claim 2 recites “the parameter comprises a size of the VSD”, which further supports that the parameter is not of the HVAC&R system, but of the VSD. Thus, for purposes of examination, “a parameter of the HVAC&R system” will be construed as “a parameter of the VSD”. Appropriate correction through claim amendment is respectfully requested.
In view of their dependencies to a rejected base claim, claims 2-9 are also rejected.
Independent claim 17 recites, in part, “…an operational parameter of the VSD… a controller configured to adjust the variable resistance element to alter the cutoff frequency of the filter based on a parameter of the HVAC&R system.” However, it is unclear how the variable resistance element is adjusted to alter the cutoff frequency based on a parameter of the HVAC&R system. Based on the description provided in various portions of the published Specification, including paragraphs [0020]-[0027], [0037], and [0043]-[0047], the adjustment of the variable resistance element to alter the cutoff frequency of the filter appears to be based on the operational parameter of the VSD, not on a parameter of the HVAC&R system. For purposes of examination, “a parameter of the HVAC&R system” will be construed as “the operational parameter of the VSD”. Appropriate correction through claim amendment is respectfully requested.
In view of their dependencies to a rejected base claim, claims 18-20 are also rejected.
In addition, claim 18 recites “the parameter comprises a size of the VSD”. However, independent claim 17, from which claim 18 depends, recites “an operational parameter of the VSD” and “a parameter of the HVAC&R system”. Is the parameter recited in claim 18 referring to the operational parameter of the VSD or to the parameter of the HVAC&R system? If such is the case, claim 18 should be amended to “the operational parameter comprises a size of the VSD”. Appropriate correction through claim amendment is respectfully requested. For purposes of examination, claim 18 will be construed to recite “the operational parameter comprises a size of the VSD”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nemit (US Patent Publication No. 2014/0196490 A1) (“Nemit”) in view of Bhattacharyya et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2013/0021092) (“Bhattacharyya”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Nemit teaches:
An adaptive logic board for a variable speed drive (VSD) of a heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration (HVAC&R) system, comprising: Nemit: Paragraph [0034] (“FIG. 16 shows an exemplary embodiment of a control process executed by the control panel to vary the V/f ratio of a VSD. The process begins by measuring one or more operating parameters from the HVAC&R system (step 302). In one embodiment, the measured operating parameter can be the motor's power consumption (kW). However, in other embodiments, different operating parameters, e.g., compressor discharge temperature, motor temperature or motor current, can be used in addition to or instead of the motor's power consumption. Next, a V/f ratio for the VSD is determined from the measured operating parameter (step 304).”)
a signal sensing circuit configured to receive an input signal from a sensor of the VSD, Nemit: Paragraph [0005] [As described above.] Nemit: Paragraph [0032] (“The VSD 52 can provide a variable magnitude output voltage and a variable frequency to the motor 50, to permit effective operation of the motor 50 in response to particular load conditions. The control panel 40 can provide control signals to the VSD 52 to operate the VSD 52 and the motor 50 at appropriate operational settings for the particular sensor readings received by the control panel 40.”) Nemit: Claim 1 (“…a sensor to measure an operational parameter of the system, the sensor being operable to communicate the measured operational parameter to the control panel; and the control panel being operable to execute a control algorithm to determine a voltage-to-frequency ratio to be output by the variable speed drive using the measured operational parameter …”) [The control panel reads on “a signal sensing circuit”.]
Nemit does not expressly teach that the signal sensing circuit comprises: a filter configured to condition the input signal; and a variable resistance element of the filter, wherein the variable resistance element is configured to adjust a cutoff frequency of the filter, and the filter is configured to attenuate waveforms in the input signal having frequencies that exceed the cutoff frequency to generate a conditioned signal; and a controller configured to receive the conditioned signal, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the variable resistance element to adjust the cutoff frequency of the filter based on a parameter of the HVAC&R system. However, Bhattacharyya describes an ultra-low cut-off frequency filter. Bhattacharyya teaches:
…wherein the signal sensing circuit comprises: a filter configured to condition the input signal; and a variable resistance element of the filter, wherein the variable resistance element is configured to adjust a cutoff frequency of the filter, and Bhattacharyya: Paragraph [0003] (“The cut-off frequency is inversely proportional to product of resistance value of a resistor and capacitance value of a capacitor of the low-pass filter. It is desired to have a large value of resistance and capacitance for generating a low cut-off frequency.”) Bhattacharyya: Paragraph [0017] (“Referring to FIG. 2 now, … filter circuit 200 includes a control block 205. The control block 205, hereinafter referred to as the control circuit 205 includes a first input terminal 210, hereinafter referred to as terminal 210, a second input terminal 215, hereinafter referred to as terminal 215, and an output terminal 220, hereinafter referred to as terminal 220. The control circuit 205 is coupled to a controllable resistor 225. The controllable resistor 225 includes a first terminal 230, hereinafter referred to as terminal 230, a second terminal 235, hereinafter referred to as terminal 235, and a third terminal 240, hereinafter referred to as terminal 240. The filter circuit 200 includes a feedback path 245 that couples the control circuit 205 to the controllable resistor 225.”) Bhattacharyya: Paragraph [0022] (“The controllable resistor 225 is responsive to a reference signal and the control signal to generate the feedback signal. The terminal 235 is configured to receive the reference signal. The reference signal is generated from a signal source, for example a source 280. The terminal 230 is configured to receive the control signal from the control circuit 205. The controllable resistor 225 is operable to remove noise from at least one of the input signal and the reference signal, to generate a signal at the terminal 240. It is noted that the signal at the terminal 240 can be referred to as the feedback signal. The feedback path 245 couples the signal from the terminal 240 to the terminal 215. The control circuit 205 is operable to control resistance of the controllable resistor 225.”) [The filter circuit reads on “a signal sensing circuit comprises: a filter”. The filter including a controllable resistor receiving the input signal reads on “a variable resistance element” that receives the input signal and generates a low cut-off frequency reads on “adjust a cutoff frequency of the filter”. The generated signal reads on “condition the input signal”.]
the filter is configured to attenuate waveforms in the input signal having frequencies that exceed the cutoff frequency to generate a conditioned signal; and Bhattacharyya: Paragraphs [0017] and [0022] [As described above.] Bhattacharyya: Paragraph [0002] (“A low-pass filter allows signals with frequencies lower than a cut-off frequency and attenuate signals with frequencies higher than the cut-off frequency.”) Bhattacharyya: Paragraph [0016] (“An ultra low cut-off frequency filter that can be fabricated on the integrated circuit and that reduces noise due to leakage currents and prevents voltage error is explained in conjunction with FIG. 2.”) [Filtering out noise signals with frequencies that exceed the cut-off frequency reads on “attenuate electrical waveforms”. The generated signal reads on “a conditioned signal”.]
a controller configured to receive the conditioned signal, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the variable resistance element to adjust the cutoff frequency of the filter based on a parameter of the HVAC&R system. Bhattacharyya: Paragraphs [0017] and [0022] [As described above.] Bhattacharyya: Paragraph [0020] (“The control circuit 205 is responsive to an input signal and a feedback signal to generate a control signal.”) [The control circuit transmitting the control signal to the controllable resistor to remove noise reads on “the controller configured to adjust the variable resistance element to alter the cutoff frequency of the filter”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Nemit and Bhattacharyya before them, to include the signal sensing circuit comprises: a filter configured to condition the input signal; and a variable resistance element of the filter, wherein the variable resistance element is configured to adjust a cutoff frequency of the filter, and the filter is configured to attenuate waveforms in the input signal having frequencies that exceed the cutoff frequency to generate a conditioned signal; and a controller configured to receive the conditioned signal, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the variable resistance element to adjust the cutoff frequency of the filter based on a parameter of the HVAC&R system because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would provide a variable low-pass frequency filtering operation and low-pass noise filtering operation. The filter circuit is area efficient and reduces external pin requirements on a circuit board. The filter circuit can also be used in one of a peak detector and a crest detector if the input signal is time-varying. Bhattacharyya: Paragraph [0028]
Regarding independent claim 17, Nemit teaches:
A heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration (HVAC&R) system, comprising: Nemit: Paragraph [0034] (“FIG. 16 shows an exemplary embodiment of a control process executed by the control panel to vary the V/f ratio of a VSD. The process begins by measuring one or more operating parameters from the HVAC&R system (step 302). In one embodiment, the measured operating parameter can be the motor's power consumption (kW). However, in other embodiments, different operating parameters, e.g., compressor discharge temperature, motor temperature or motor current, can be used in addition to or instead of the motor's power consumption. Next, a V/f ratio for the VSD is determined from the measured operating parameter (step 304).”)
a variable speed drive (VSD) coupled to a motor of a compressor and configured to control an operational speed of the motor; Nemit: Paragraph [0005] (“The system includes a motor connected to the compressor to power the compressor and a variable speed drive connected to the motor to power the motor. The variable speed drive is operable to provide a variable voltage to the motor and a variable frequency to the motor. The system also includes a control panel to control operation of the variable speed drive and one or more components of the system and a sensor to measure an operational parameter of the system. The sensor is operable to communicate the measured operational parameter to the control panel.”) Nemit: Paragraph [0006] (“The method includes measuring an operating parameter of an HVAC&R system and determining a voltage to frequency ratio to be output by a variable speed drive using the measured operational parameter. The variable speed drive powers a compressor motor of the HVAC&R system. The method also includes generating control instructions for the variable speed drive based on the determined voltage to frequency ratio and adjusting the output voltage to frequency ratio provided by the variable speed drive to the compressor motor with the generated control instructions.”)
a sensor configured to generate an input signal indicative of an operational parameter of the VSD; and Nemit: Paragraph [0005] [As described above.] Nemit: Paragraph [0032] (“The VSD 52 can provide a variable magnitude output voltage and a variable frequency to the motor 50, to permit effective operation of the motor 50 in response to particular load conditions. The control panel 40 can provide control signals to the VSD 52 to operate the VSD 52 and the motor 50 at appropriate operational settings for the particular sensor readings received by the control panel 40.”) Nemit: Claim 1 (“…a sensor to measure an operational parameter of the system, the sensor being operable to communicate the measured operational parameter to the control panel; and the control panel being operable to execute a control algorithm to determine a voltage-to-frequency ratio to be output by the variable speed drive using the measured operational parameter …”)
an adaptive logic board communicatively coupled to the sensor and the VSD, wherein the adaptive logic board comprises: Nemit: Paragraphs [0005] and [0032] and Claim 1 [As described above.] Nemit: FIG. 3 and Paragraph [0023] (“The vapor compression system 14 can also include a control panel 40 that can include an analog to digital (A/D) converter 42, a microprocessor 44, a non-volatile memory 46, and an interface board 48.”) [The control panel including the microprocessor reads on “an adaptive logic board”, which is coupled to the sensor and the VSD.]
Nemit does not expressly teach a signal sensing circuit comprising a filter configured to receive the input signal from the sensor and to condition the input signal, wherein the filter comprises a variable resistance element adjustable to alter a cutoff frequency of the filter, and the filter is configured to attenuate electrical waveforms of the input signal having frequencies that exceed the cutoff frequency; and a controller configured to adjust the variable resistance element to alter the cutoff frequency of the filter. However, Bhattacharyya describes an ultra low cut-off frequency filter. Bhattacharyya teaches:
a signal sensing circuit comprising a filter configured to receive the input signal from the sensor and to condition the input signal, wherein the filter comprises a variable resistance element adjustable to alter a cutoff frequency of the filter, and Bhattacharyya: Paragraph [0003] (“The cut-off frequency is inversely proportional to product of resistance value of a resistor and capacitance value of a capacitor of the low-pass filter. It is desired to have a large value of resistance and capacitance for generating a low cut-off frequency.”) Bhattacharyya: Paragraph [0017] (“Referring to FIG. 2 now, … filter circuit 200 includes a control block 205. The control block 205, hereinafter referred to as the control circuit 205 includes a first input terminal 210, hereinafter referred to as terminal 210, a second input terminal 215, hereinafter referred to as terminal 215, and an output terminal 220, hereinafter referred to as terminal 220. The control circuit 205 is coupled to a controllable resistor 225. The controllable resistor 225 includes a first terminal 230, hereinafter referred to as terminal 230, a second terminal 235, hereinafter referred to as terminal 235, and a third terminal 240, hereinafter referred to as terminal 240. The filter circuit 200 includes a feedback path 245 that couples the control circuit 205 to the controllable resistor 225.”) Bhattacharyya: Paragraph [0022] (“The controllable resistor 225 is responsive to a reference signal and the control signal to generate the feedback signal. The terminal 235 is configured to receive the reference signal. The reference signal is generated from a signal source, for example a source 280. The terminal 230 is configured to receive the control signal from the control circuit 205. The controllable resistor 225 is operable to remove noise from at least one of the input signal and the reference signal, to generate a signal at the terminal 240. It is noted that the signal at the terminal 240 can be referred to as the feedback signal. The feedback path 245 couples the signal from the terminal 240 to the terminal 215. The control circuit 205 is operable to control resistance of the controllable resistor 225.”) [The filter circuit reads on “a signal sensing circuit comprising a filter”. The filter including a controllable resistor receiving the input signal reads on “a variable resistance element” that receives the input signal and generates a low cut-off frequency reads on “adjustable to alter a cutoff frequency of the filter”.]
the filter is configured to attenuate electrical waveforms of the input signal having frequencies that exceed the cutoff frequency; and Bhattacharyya: Paragraphs [0017] and [0022] [As described above.] Bhattacharyya: Paragraph [0002] (“A low-pass filter allows signals with frequencies lower than a cut-off frequency and attenuate signals with frequencies higher than the cut-off frequency.”) Bhattacharyya: Paragraph [0016] (“An ultra low cut-off frequency filter that can be fabricated on the integrated circuit and that reduces noise due to leakage currents and prevents voltage error is explained in conjunction with FIG. 2.”) [Filtering out noise signals with frequencies that exceed the cut-off frequency reads on “attenuate electrical waveforms”.]
a controller configured to adjust the variable resistance element to alter the cutoff frequency of the filter based on a parameter of the HVAC&R system. Bhattacharyya: Paragraphs [0017] and [0022] [As described above.] Bhattacharyya: Paragraph [0020] (“The control circuit 205 is responsive to an input signal and a feedback signal to generate a control signal.”) [The control circuit transmitting the control signal to the controllable resistor to remove noise reads on “a controller configured to adjust the variable resistance element to alter the cutoff frequency of the filter”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Nemit and Bhattacharyya before them, to include a signal sensing circuit comprising a filter configured to receive the input signal from the sensor and to condition the input signal, wherein the filter comprises a variable resistance element adjustable to alter a cutoff frequency of the filter, and the filter is configured to attenuate electrical waveforms of the input signal having frequencies that exceed the cutoff frequency; and a controller configured to adjust the variable resistance element to alter the cutoff frequency of the filter based on a parameter of the HVAC&R system because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would provide a variable low-pass frequency filtering operation and low-pass noise filtering operation. The filter circuit is area efficient and reduces external pin requirements on a circuit board. The filter circuit can also be used in one of a peak detector and a crest detector if the input signal is time-varying. Bhattacharyya: Paragraph [0028]
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nemit, in view of Bhattacharyya, and further in view of Baudesson et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2007/0296374 A1) (“Baudesson”).
Regarding claim 2, Nemit and Bhattacharyya teach all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 2 depends. Nemit and Bhattacharyya do not expressly teach the features of claim 2. However, Baudesson describes a filtering device in a variable speed drive. Baudesson teaches:
The adaptive logic board of claim 1, wherein the parameter comprises a size of the VSD, and wherein the controller is configured to adjust the variable resistance element to adjust the cutoff frequency to a target cutoff frequency corresponding to the size of the VSD. Baudesson: Paragraph [0003] (“The switching frequency for the PWM control of the power semiconductor components corresponds to the sampling frequency of the variable speed drive. Depending on the type and rating of the variable speed drive, this switching frequency generally varies between approximately 2 and 16 kHz, corresponding to sampling periods between 62 and 500 μs.”) Baudesson: Paragraph [0005] (“According to the size and type of the variable speed drive, the filter can be either incorporated in the housing of the variable speed drive, or external to the variable speed drive. To satisfy in particular the current European standards concerning electromagnetic compatibility, the EMC filter needs to be effective in a frequency zone situated between 150 kHz and 30 MHz.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Nemit, Bhattacharyya, and Baudesson before them, for the parameter to comprise a size of the VSD, and wherein the controller is configured to adjust the variable resistance element to adjust the cutoff frequency to a target cutoff frequency corresponding to the size of the VSD because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would provide a means that make it possible to very simply and cost-effectively prevent the saturation of the common-mode inductor of the EMC filter in the resonance frequency zone of the EMC filter (in the region of a few kHz), without in any way compromising the performance levels of the EMC filter in the normative filtering frequency zone, above 150 kHz. Baudesson: Paragraph [0010]
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nemit, in view of Bhattacharyya, in view of Baudesson, and further in view of Alvey et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2016/0197566 A1) (“Alvey”).
Regarding claim 3, Nemit, Bhattacharyya, and Baudesson teach all the claimed features of claim 2, from which claim 3 depends. Baudesson further teaches:
The adaptive logic board of claim 2, comprising a dual in-line package (DIP) switch communicatively coupled to the controller, wherein the controller is configured to determine the size of the VSD based on a configuration of one or more switches of the … switch. Baudesson: Paragraph [0007] (“The required cut-off frequency of the EMC filter sets the values of the common-mode capacitors and the inductor. The value of the common-mode capacitors is normally constant. However, the value of the common-mode inductor is strongly dependent on the common-mode currents passing through it. These currents are dependent on the common-mode voltage generated by the switching of the switches of the variable speed drive and of the stray capacitances from the main components, i.e. from the motor and the power cable. Depending on the accepted level of the common-mode currents, the common-mode inductor must be dimensioned not to saturate.”)
The motivation to combine Nemit, Bhattacharyya, and Baudesson as provided in claim 2 is incorporated herein.
Nemit, Bhattacharyya, and Baudesson do not expressly teach that the switch is a DIP switch. However, Alvey describes a method to control a motor. Alvey teaches:
a dual in-line package (DIP) switch… the DIP switch. Alvey: Paragraph [0056] (“Exemplary soft-capacity setting parameters include frequencies, voltages, phase-angles, duty-cycles and other power parameters configurable to control operation of single-phase motors. In one example, control logic 310 includes depress-in-place (DIP) switches, and the processor reads the DIP switches to identify the desired soft-capacity.”) Alvin: Paragraph [0026] (“The inverter converts the DC voltage to variable frequency AC voltage and transmits a variable voltage or current and frequency to the motor. By independently changing the voltage/current and frequency, the motor drive can adjust the torque produced by the motor as well as the speed at which it operates, respectively.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Nemit, Bhattacharyya, Baudesson, and Alvey before them, to use a DIP switch because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification by using a type of switch, such as a DIP switch. Alvey: Paragraphs [0059] and [0067]
Regarding claim 18, Nemit and Bhattacharyya teach all the claimed features of claim 17, from which claim 18 depends. Nemit and Bhattacharyya do not expressly teach the features of claim 18. However, Baudesson describes a filtering device in a variable speed drive. Baudesson teaches:
The HVAC&R system of claim 17, wherein the parameter comprises a size of the VSD, and the controller is configured to determine the size of the VSD based on: Baudesson: Paragraph [0003] (“The switching frequency for the PWM control of the power semiconductor components corresponds to the sampling frequency of the variable speed drive. Depending on the type and rating of the variable speed drive, this switching frequency generally varies between approximately 2 and 16 kHz, corresponding to sampling periods between 62 and 500 μs.”) Baudesson: Paragraph [0005] (“According to the size and type of the variable speed drive, the filter can be either incorporated in the housing of the variable speed drive, or external to the variable speed drive. To satisfy in particular the current European standards concerning electromagnetic compatibility, the EMC filter needs to be effective in a frequency zone situated between 150 kHz and 30 MHz.”)
a configuration of a … switch coupled to the adaptive logic board; Baudesson: Paragraph [0007] (“The required cut-off frequency of the EMC filter sets the values of the common-mode capacitors and the inductor. The value of the common-mode capacitors is normally constant. However, the value of the common-mode inductor is strongly dependent on the common-mode currents passing through it. These currents are dependent on the common-mode voltage generated by the switching of the switches of the variable speed drive and of the stray capacitances from the main components, i.e. from the motor and the power cable. Depending on the accepted level of the common-mode currents, the common-mode inductor must be dimensioned not to saturate.”) an operator input received via an external computing device communicatively coupled to the controller; or a structure of a harness coupling the adaptive logic board to the VSD.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Nemit, Bhattacharyya, and Baudesson before them, for the parameter to comprise a size of the VSD, based on a configuration of a switch because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would provide a means that make it possible to very simply and cost-effectively prevent the saturation of the common-mode inductor of the EMC filter in the resonance frequency zone of the EMC filter (in the region of a few kHz), without in any way compromising the performance levels of the EMC filter in the normative filtering frequency zone, above 150 kHz. Baudesson: Paragraph [0010]
Nemit, Bhattacharyya, and Baudesson do not expressly teach that the switch is a DIP switch. However, Alvey describes a method to control a motor. Alvey teaches:
… a dual in-line package (DIP) switch … Alvey: Paragraph [0056] (“Exemplary soft-capacity setting parameters include frequencies, voltages, phase-angles, duty-cycles and other power parameters configurable to control operation of single-phase motors. In one example, control logic 310 includes depress-in-place (DIP) switches, and the processor reads the DIP switches to identify the desired soft-capacity.”) Alvin: Paragraph [0026] (“The inverter converts the DC voltage to variable frequency AC voltage and transmits a variable voltage or current and frequency to the motor. By independently changing the voltage/current and frequency, the motor drive can adjust the torque produced by the motor as well as the speed at which it operates, respectively.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Nemit, Bhattacharyya, Baudesson, and Alvey before them, to use a DIP switch because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification by using a type of switch, such as a DIP switch. Alvey: Paragraphs [0059] and [0067]
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nemit, in view of Bhattacharyya, in view of Baudesson, and further in view of Takanuki et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2022/0115968 A1) (“Takanuki”).
Regarding claim 4, Nemit, Bhattacharyya, and Baudesson teach all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 2 depends. Nemit, Bhattacharyya, and Baudesson do not expressly teach the external computing device. However, Takanuki teaches:
The adaptive logic board of claim 2, comprising an external computing device communicatively coupled to the controller, wherein the controller is configured to receive an operator input from the external computing device indicative of the size of the VSD. Takanuki: Paragraph [0027] (“Further, in the present embodiment, the control unit 302 includes a communication I/F, and can transmit and receive control information or operation information between the communication I/F and the control unit 303 connected to a wired/wireless communication line. A type of control output by each control unit can be arbitrarily configured by the control units 302 and 303. As the communication line, for example, it is possible to apply a communication network including proximity, medium distance, remote wireless communication, LAN/WAN/Internet or a combination thereof. Further, as the control unit 303, it is possible to apply a PC, a server device, a mobile information terminal, etc.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Nemit, Bhattacharyya, Baudesson, and Takanuki before them, to use a DIP switch because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification to enable a user to input various operation instructions such as a pressure set value, and is configured to be able to output a discharge gas pressure, a rotation speed of the motor 101, etc., and an output frequency from the power converting device 202, etc. and report various types of error information, etc. (display, voice, vibration, etc.). Takanuki: Paragraph [0025]
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nemit, in view of Bhattacharyya, and further in view of Huthings (GB 2116388 A) (“Huthings”).
Regarding claim 6, Nemit and Bhattacharyya teach all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 6 depends.
Nemit and Bhattacharyya do not expressly teach the features of claim 6. However, Hutchings teaches:
The adaptive logic board of claim 1, wherein the controller comprises a data logging component configured to receive the conditioned signal and sample the conditioned signal at a sampling frequency to generate a digital output corresponding to the input signal. Hutchings: Page 1, lines 10-25 (“The invention arose in connection with the following problem: when analysing signals of a short duration, such as transient signals, a so called transient recorder is used to convert the analogue signal into a digital form convenient for storage and subsequent and/or repeated analysis. Analogue to digital conversion involves sampling the analogue signal at intervals, and it will be understood that the sampling rate cannot be equal to or less than the frequency of the signal of interest. In fact, the minimum acceptable sampling rate is twice the frequency of interest if aliasing (i.e. generation of interfering frequencies) is to be avoided. For this reason an input filter is required to exclude frequencies outside the range of interest.”) Hutchings: Page 1, lines 82-89 (“In the particular case of the filter network of a transient recorder such as described above, or more generally, any device in which the (filter) characteristics are to be varied in response to variations in another signal (sampling rate), there is another advantage in that adjustment of the mark/space ratio of the control signal may be effected automatically.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Nemit, Bhattacharyya, and Hutchings before them, for the controller comprises a data logging component configured to receive the conditioned signal and sample the conditioned signal at a sampling frequency to generate a digital output corresponding to the input signal because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification to enable variation of selected characteristics of an electrical or electronic circuit, and in particular multi-pole or multi-stage networks, such as filters, amplifiers etc., and furthermore to achieve such variations by remote control. Hutchings: Page 1, lines 32-45.
Regarding claim 7, Nemit, Bhattacharyya, and Hutchings teach all the claimed features of claim 6, from which claim 7 depends. Hutchings also teaches:
The adaptive logic board of claim 6, wherein the parameter comprises the sampling frequency of the data logging component. Hutchings: Page 1, lines 10-25 [As described in claim 6.]
The motivation to combine Nemit, Bhattacharyya, and Hutchings as provided in claim 6 is incorporated herein.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nemit, in view of Bhattacharyya, Huthings, Baudesson, and further in view of Lau et al. (US Patent Publication No.2012/0147922 A1) (“Lau”).
Regarding claim 8, Nemit, Bhattacharyya, and Hutchings teach all the claimed features of claim 7, from which claim 8 depends. Nemit, Bhattacharyya, and Hutchings do not expressly teach the features of claim 8. However, Baudesson describes a filtering device in a variable speed drive. Baudesson teaches:
The adaptive logic board of claim 7, wherein the controller is configured to determine, or receive feedback indicative of, a size of the VSD, to adjust the sampling frequency of the data logging component based on the size of the VSD, and . Baudesson: Paragraph [0003] (“The switching frequency for the PWM control of the power semiconductor components corresponds to the sampling frequency of the variable speed drive. Depending on the type and rating of the variable speed drive, this switching frequency generally varies between approximately 2 and 16 kHz, corresponding to sampling periods between 62 and 500 μs.”) Baudesson: Paragraph [0005] (“According to the size and type of the variable speed drive, the filter can be either incorporated in the housing of the variable speed drive, or external to the variable speed drive. To satisfy in particular the current European standards concerning electromagnetic compatibility, the EMC filter needs to be effective in a frequency zone situated between 150 kHz and 30 MHz.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Nemit, Bhattacharyya, and Baudesson before them, for the parameter to comprise a size of the VSD, and wherein the controller is configured to adjust the variable resistance element to adjust the cutoff frequency to a target cutoff frequency corresponding to the size of the VSD because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would provide a means that make it possible to very simply and cost-effectively prevent the saturation of the common-mode inductor of the EMC filter in the resonance frequency zone of the EMC filter (in the region of a few kHz), without in any way compromising the performance levels of the EMC filter in the normative filtering frequency zone, above 150 kHz. Baudesson: Paragraph [0010]
Nemit, Bhattacharyya, Hutchings, and Baudesson do not expressly teach “adjust the variable resistance element to adjust the cutoff frequency based on the sampling frequency such that the cutoff frequency is a predetermined percentage of the sampling frequency”. Lau describes a sensor device. Lau teaches:
to adjust the variable resistance element to adjust the cutoff frequency based on the sampling frequency such that the cutoff frequency is a predetermined percentage of the sampling frequency. Lau: Paragraph [0070] (“The integrator 13 includes the switch SW1, thereby having a function as a sampling filter. The sampling filter can adjust a cutoff frequency according to a sampling frequency. In this embodiment, noise components having high frequencies and included in an output signal output from the chopper amplifier unit 10 are removed by adjusting the sampling frequency, i.e. sampling cycle of the integrator 13. Further, in this embodiment, a signal which will become a basis for a digital signal is generated utilizing electric charges charged in the capacitor C1 of the integrator 13 during the predetermined sampling period. In other words, an output signal integrated by the integrator 13 is generated by causing the capacitor C1 of the integrator 13 to discharge after the lapse of the sampling period. The above operation is controlled by the controller 11.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Nemit, Bhattacharyya, Hutchings, Baudesson, and Lau before them, to adjust the variable resistance element to adjust the cutoff frequency based on the sampling frequency such that the cutoff frequency is a predetermined percentage of the sampling frequency because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would make the passage of the output signal Vout input to the integrator more difficult as the frequency of the output signal Vout increases beyond a certain frequency determined by the magnitude of the sampling frequency fs. Thus, the integrator can make the passage of noise components having frequencies exceeding the certain frequency determined by the magnitude of the sampling frequency fs difficult if the magnitude of the sampling frequency fs is determined. Lau: Paragraph [0057]
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nemit, in view of Bhattacharyya, and further in view of Ota (US Patent Publication No. 2008/0175506 A1) (“Ota”).
Regarding claim 9, Nemit and Bhattacharyya teach all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 9 depends.
Nemit and Bhattacharyya do not expressly teach the features of claim 9. However, Ota describes calibrating an anti-aliasing filter. Ota teaches:
The adaptive logic board of claim 1, wherein the variable resistance element comprises a digital potentiometer. Ota: Paragraph [0086] (“For example, a 256-position digital potentiometer conforming to an I.sup.2C bus interface may be used as the variable resistor 300, and the CPU 110 shown in FIG. 1 may transmit an 8-bit select signal to the variable resistor 300 (digital potentiometer) as the setting value through an I.sup.2C bus so that an arbitrary resistance R is selected and set from the 256 positions.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Nemit, Bhattacharyya, and Ota before them, to adjust the variable resistance element to adjust the cutoff frequency based on the sampling frequency such that the cutoff frequency is a predetermined percentage of the sampling frequency because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would make the passage of the output signal Vout input to the integrator more difficult as the frequency of the output signal Vout increases beyond a certain frequency determined by the magnitude of the sampling frequency fs. Thus, the integrator can make the passage of noise components having frequencies exceeding the certain frequency determined by the magnitude of the sampling frequency fs difficult if the magnitude of the sampling frequency fs is determined. Ota: Paragraph [0057]
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nemit, in view of Bhattacharyya, Huthings, and further in view of Baudesson.
Regarding claim 19, Nemit and Bhattacharyya teach all the claimed features of claim 17, from which claim 19 depends. Nemit and Bhattacharyya do not expressly teach the features of claim 17. However, Hutchings teaches:
The HVAC&R system of claim 17, wherein the controller comprises
a data logging component configured to sample the conditioned signal at a target sampling frequency to generate a digital output corresponding to the input signal, wherein the parameter comprises the target sampling frequency, and Hutchings: Page 1, lines 10-25 (“The invention arose in connection with the following problem: when analysing signals of a short duration, such as transient signals, a so called transient recorder is used to convert the analogue signal into a digital form convenient for storage and subsequent and/or repeated analysis. Analogue to digital conversion involves sampling the analogue signal at intervals, and it will be understood that the sampling rate cannot be equal to or less than the frequency of the signal of interest. In fact, the minimum acceptable sampling rate is twice the frequency of interest if aliasing (i.e. generation of interfering frequencies) is to be avoided. For this reason an input filter is required to exclude frequencies outside the range of interest.”) Hutchings: Page 1, lines 82-89 (“In the particular case of the filter network of a transient recorder such as described above, or more generally, any device in which the (filter) characteristics are to be varied in response to variations in another signal (sampling rate), there is another advantage in that adjustment of the mark/space ratio of the control signal may be effected automatically.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Nemit, Bhattacharyya, and Hutchings before them, for the controller to comprise a data logging component configured to sample the conditioned signal at a target sampling frequency to generate a digital output corresponding to the input signal, wherein the parameter comprises the target sampling frequency because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification to enable variation of selected characteristics of an electrical or electronic circuit, and in particular multi-pole or multi-stage networks, such as filters, amplifiers etc., and furthermore to achieve such variations by remote control. Hutchings: Page 1, lines 32-45.
Nemit, Bhattacharyya, and Hutchings does not expressly teach “adjust the variable resistance element to alter the cutoff frequency to achieve a target cutoff frequency that is determined based on the target sampling frequency”. However, Baudesson teaches:
the controller is configured to adjust the variable resistance element to alter the cutoff frequency to achieve a target cutoff frequency that is determined based on the target sampling frequency. Baudesson: Paragraph [0003] (“The switching frequency for the PWM control of the power semiconductor components corresponds to the sampling frequency of the variable speed drive. Depending on the type and rating of the variable speed drive, this switching frequency generally varies between approximately 2 and 16 kHz, corresponding to sampling periods between 62 and 500 μs.”) Baudesson: Paragraph [0005] (“According to the size and type of the variable speed drive, the filter can be either incorporated in the housing of the variable speed drive, or external to the variable speed drive. To satisfy in particular the current European standards concerning electromagnetic compatibility, the EMC filter needs to be effective in a frequency zone situated between 150 kHz and 30 MHz.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Nemit, Bhattacharyya, Huthings, and Baudesson before them, to adjust the variable resistance element to alter the cutoff frequency to achieve a target cutoff frequency that is determined based on the target sampling frequency because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would provide a variable low-pass frequency filtering operation and low-pass noise filtering operation. The filter circuit is area efficient and reduces external pin requirements on a circuit board. The filter circuit can also be used in one of a peak detector and a crest detector if the input signal is time-varying. Bhattacharyya: Paragraph [0028]
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nemit, in view of Bhattacharyya, and further in view of Borisov et al. (WO 2019161399 A1) (“Borisov”).
Regarding claim 20, Nemit and Bhattacharyya teach all the claimed features of claim 17, from which claim 20 depends. Nemit and Bhattacharyya do not expressly teach the features of claim 20. However, Borisov describes an adaptive logic board for variable speed drive. Borisov teaches:
The HVAC&R system of claim 17, wherein the VSD is configured to supply a phase of electrical power to the motor through a power line, and wherein the operational parameter comprises the phase of the electrical power. Borisov: Paragraph [0036] (“With the foregoing in mind, FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram of an embodiment of the VSD 52 including an adaptive logic board 100, which may be used to control the motor 50 of the vapor compression system 14 of FIGS. 1-4. As discussed above, an alternating current (AC) power source 102 may supply AC power to the VSD 52, which in turn, supplies AC power to the motor 50. The AC power source 102 may provide three-phase, fixed voltage, and fixed frequency AC power to the VSD 52 from an AC power grid or distribution system that is present near the system. For example, the AC power source 102 may provide a first phase of AC power, a second phase of AC power, and a third phase of AC power through a first receiving line 104, a second receiving line 106, and a third receiving line 108, respectively.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Nemit, Bhattacharyya, and Borisov before them, for the VSD to be configured to supply a phase of electrical power to the motor through a power line, and wherein the operational parameter comprises the phase of the electrical power because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would provide using a VSD and any type of motor that can be powered by the VSD or directly from an AC or DC power source, such as a switched reluctance motor, an induction motor, an electronically commutated permanent magnet motor, or another suitable motor. Borisov: Paragraph [0028]
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable over prior art if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jadric et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2020/0041185 A1) describes a compressor of a heating, ventilating, air conditioning, and refrigeration (HVAC&R) system configured to circulate a refrigerant through a refrigerant loop, a motor configured to drive the compressor of the HVAC&R system, a variable speed drive configured to provide power to the motor, where the variable speed drive includes a rectifier, a direct current (DC) bus, and an inverter, and a silicon carbide transistor disposed in the rectifier, or the inverter, or both, where the silicon carbide transistor is configured to adjust a voltage, or a frequency, or both of alternating current (AC) power in the variable speed drive.
McPhalen (US Patent Publication No. 2021/0111730 A1) describes a compressor of a heating, ventilating, air conditioning, and refrigeration (HVAC&R) system configured to circulate a refrigerant through a refrigerant loop, a motor configured to drive the compressor of the HVAC&R system, a variable speed drive configured to provide power to the motor, where the variable speed drive includes a rectifier, a direct current (DC) bus, and an inverter, and a silicon carbide transistor disposed in the rectifier, or the inverter, or both, where the silicon carbide transistor is configured to adjust a voltage, or a frequency, or both of alternating current (AC) power in the variable speed drive.
/ALICIA M. CHOI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117