Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges receipt of Applicant's amendment filed 06/29/2026.
In the amendment, Applicant amended claims 1, 12, 13, and 16.
Claims 1, 3-16 are pending.
Claim 2 is canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claims 1, 12, and 16 (page 7-9) rejection under rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 filled on 06/29/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim 11 (page 9) rejection under rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 filled on 06/29/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1, 7-8, and 12-13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kittichokechai et al. (US 20190150016 A1), hereinafter, Kittichokechai) in view of Soldati et al. (US 20240098773 A1), hereinafter, Soldati).
Regarding Claim 1, Kittichokechai discloses, A method of operating a wireless communication device communicating data with a node of a communications network (Fig. 1), the method comprising:
communicating, to the node and from the wireless communication device, at least one setting to be used at the wireless communication device for determining a channel quality indicator (Fig. 3, Step 314, 316, "At step 314, the wireless device determines a first channel quality index using the signal to noise ratio and a first target BLER. (e.g., 10%). For example, wireless device 110 may look up a channel quality index in a first table associated with the first target BLER (e.g., 10%), or wireless device 100 may scale a value in a common channel quality index table by a scaling value associated with the first target BLER." [¶0080]), the channel quality indicator being indicative of at least one modulation and/or coding value for said communicating of the data in accordance with a target error rate of said communicating of the data ("...In particular embodiments at the UE, the CQI report includes one or multiple CQI values and a scaling factor, which can belong to one or multiple CQI processes. The CQI values of different CQI processes or multi-level CQI of one process correspond to different preconfigured BLER targets (e.g., 10% and 0.1%). The scaling factor information describes the factor used to scale the rate of the reported CQI. In particular embodiments at the gNB, given the desired BLER target and multiple BLER target CQIs, the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) is selected as a function of available CQI values and a scaling factor." [¶0009]),
monitoring of reference signals transmitted by the node to the wireless communication device, ("At step 312, the wireless device measures a reference signal to determine a signal to noise ratio. For example, wireless device 110 may measure a CSI-RS transmitted from network node 120 to determine a channel quality, such as a signal to noise ratio." [¶0079]), and
based on said monitoring of the reference signals: providing, from the wireless communication device to the node, the channel quality indicator determined in accordance with the communicated at least one setting (Fig.3, steps 314-318, "At step 316, the wireless device determines a second channel quality index using the signal to noise ratio and a second target BLER (e.g., 0.1%). For example, wireless device 110 may look up a channel quality index in a table associated with the second target BLER (e.g., 0.1%), wireless device 100 may scale a value in the common channel quality index table by a scaling value associated with the second target BLER, or wireless device 110 may scale the first CQI by a scaling factor." [¶0081], see also, "At step 318, the wireless device reports the first channel quality index and the second channel quality index to a network node..." [¶0083]).
Kittichokechai doesn’t explicitly disclose, wherein the at least one settinq comprises a pointer to a mapping table selected by the wireless communication device from a plurality of candidate mapping tables based on the target error rate, each candidate mapping table mappinq values of the channel quality indicator to a respective modulation and/or coding value, different ones of the plurality of candidate mapping tables beinq associated with different ones of multiple auxiliary target error rates, and wherein the pointer is communicated from the wireless communication device to the node.
Soldati in related art discloses, wherein the at least one settinq comprises a pointer to a mapping table selected by the wireless communication device from a plurality of candidate mapping tables based on the target error rate, each candidate mapping table mappinq values of the channel quality indicator to a respective modulation and/or coding value, different ones of the plurality of candidate mapping tables beinq associated with different ones of multiple auxiliary target error rates ("...FIG. 5 shows an illustration of the method. In FIG. 5, a network node 500, upon receiving a link adaptation report message from a user device 502, can determine an allocation of resources for the user device based on the link adaptation report." [¶0076], see also, "Therefore, the network node may use the reported link adaptation parameters values estimated or preferred by the user device, either in isolation or combined with other information available at the network node, for determining an allocation of radio resources for a communicating with the user device. In some embodiments, the network node selects one of the reported MCS index values reported by the user device for determining an allocation of physical resource blocks, code rate and transport block size for communicating with the user device, either in uplink or downlink, in a transmission time interval. In another example, the network node may combine the preference or estimates of MCS index values reported by the user device with another channel state information (CSI), such as the channel quality indicator (CQI), the rank and the precoding matrix indicator (PMI), for determining an allocation of radio resources for a communicating with the user device." [¶0086], see also, “In some embodiments, the link adaptation report may comprise a set of at least one MCS index values associated with different transmission rank values. For instance, one set of preferred or estimated one MCS index values associated with rank-1 transmission (i.e., in case the network node communicates with the user device using a single spatial layer), one set of preferred or estimated one MCS index values associated with rank-2 transmission (i.e., in case the network node communicates with the user device using two spatial layers), and so on…” [¶0091], see also, “Embodiment 24: The method of embodiment 1, wherein determining the scheduling grant comprises combining a preference or estimate of MCS index values reported by the user device with another channel state information (CSI), wherein the CSI comprise one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank, and a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) for determining an allocation of radio resources for communicating with the user device.” [¶0207], and
wherein the pointer is communicated from the wireless communication device to the node (“According to some embodiments, when the user device is capable of transmitting (in uplink) or receiving (in downlink) multiple spatial layers with a MIMO transmission, the link adaptation report may comprise one or more set of estimated or preferred link adaptation parameters, with each set of link adaptation parameter associated with a transmission rank value. Examples of link adaptation parameters that can be reported in association with a specific transmission rank may comprise one or more of the following: Modulation order; MCS index; Code rate.” [¶0087-¶0090]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Kittichokechai with the idea where wireless device dynamically selects and points to a specific channel quality look-up table based on an error rate target, then tells the network base station which table it is using as disclosed by Soldati. The rationale for using this approach is to make sure that dynamic link adaptation works with minimal signaling overhead, which allows a wireless device to quickly optimize its data throughput.
Regarding Claim 7, combination of Kittichokechai and Soldati disclose the method of claim 1.
Kittichokechai also discloses, wherein the at least one setting comprises an indicator indicative of the wireless communication device setting the target error rate of said communicating of the data ("Particular embodiments include a UE reporting multiple CQI levels. For example, a network may configure a UE for multiple CQI reporting processes with different target BLER levels. The configuration can be done semi-statically over radio resource control (RRC). The multiple processes may have different target BLERS, as well as other parameters, such as reporting periodicity, assumed transmission modes, or antenna usage, etc. The UE supporting multiple CQI processes may have multiple sets of SNR-to-CQI mappings for different BLER targets (see example in Table 1)..." [¶0055]).
Regarding Claim 8, combination of Kittichokechai and Soldati disclose the method of claim 7.
Kittichokechai further teaches, wherein the indicator indicative of the wireless communication device setting the target error rate is communicated from the node to the wireless communication device ("The method begins at step 412, where a network node sends a measurement configuration comprising configuration for at least two measurement processes to a wireless device. For example, network node 120 may send a first target BLER (e.g., 10%) and a second target BLER (e.g., 0.1%) to wireless device 110." [¶0086]).
Regarding Claim 12, Kittichokechai discloses, a method of operating a wireless communication device communicating data with a node of a communications network (Fig. 1), the method comprising:
monitoring of reference signals transmitted by the node to the wireless communication device, ("At step 312, the wireless device measures a reference signal to determine a signal to noise ratio. For example, wireless device 110 may measure a CSI-RS transmitted from network node 120 to determine a channel quality, such as a signal to noise ratio." [¶0079]), and
based on said monitoring of the reference signals: providing multiple channel quality indicators from the wireless communication device to the node, each channel quality indicator of the multiple channel quality indicators being indicative of a respective modulation and/or coding value for said communicating of the data in accordance with a respective one of multiple target error rates ("At step 314, the wireless device determines a first channel quality index using the signal to noise ratio and a first target BLER. (e.g., 10%). For example, wireless device 110 may look up a channel quality index in a first table associated with the first target BLER (e.g., 10%), or wireless device 100 may scale a value in a common channel quality index table by a scaling value associated with the first target BLER..."[¶0080], see also, "At step 316, the wireless device determines a second channel quality index using the signal to noise ratio and a second target BLER (e.g., 0.1%). For example, wireless device 110 may look up a channel quality index in a table associated with the second target BLER (e.g., 0.1%), wireless device 100 may scale a value in the common channel quality index table by a scaling value associated with the second target BLER, or wireless device 110 may scale the first CQI by a scaling factor." [¶0081].
Kittichokechai doesn’t explicitly disclose, wherein the at least one settinq comprises a pointer to a mapping table selected by the wireless communication device from a plurality of candidate mapping tables based on the target error rate, each candidate mapping table mappinq values of the channel quality indicator to a respective modulation and/or coding value, different ones of the plurality of candidate mapping tables beinq associated with different ones of multiple auxiliary target error rates, and wherein the pointer is communicated from the wireless communication device to the node.
Soldati in related art discloses, wherein the at least one settinq comprises a pointer to a mapping table selected by the wireless communication device from a plurality of candidate mapping tables based on the target error rate, each candidate mapping table mappinq values of the channel quality indicator to a respective modulation and/or coding value, different ones of the plurality of candidate mapping tables beinq associated with different ones of multiple auxiliary target error rates ("...FIG. 5 shows an illustration of the method. In FIG. 5, a network node 500, upon receiving a link adaptation report message from a user device 502, can determine an allocation of resources for the user device based on the link adaptation report." [¶0076], see also, "Therefore, the network node may use the reported link adaptation parameters values estimated or preferred by the user device, either in isolation or combined with other information available at the network node, for determining an allocation of radio resources for a communicating with the user device. In some embodiments, the network node selects one of the reported MCS index values reported by the user device for determining an allocation of physical resource blocks, code rate and transport block size for communicating with the user device, either in uplink or downlink, in a transmission time interval. In another example, the network node may combine the preference or estimates of MCS index values reported by the user device with another channel state information (CSI), such as the channel quality indicator (CQI), the rank and the precoding matrix indicator (PMI), for determining an allocation of radio resources for a communicating with the user device." [¶0086], see also, “In some embodiments, the link adaptation report may comprise a set of at least one MCS index values associated with different transmission rank values. For instance, one set of preferred or estimated one MCS index values associated with rank-1 transmission (i.e., in case the network node communicates with the user device using a single spatial layer), one set of preferred or estimated one MCS index values associated with rank-2 transmission (i.e., in case the network node communicates with the user device using two spatial layers), and so on…” [¶0091], see also, “Embodiment 24: The method of embodiment 1, wherein determining the scheduling grant comprises combining a preference or estimate of MCS index values reported by the user device with another channel state information (CSI), wherein the CSI comprise one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank, and a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) for determining an allocation of radio resources for communicating with the user device.” [¶0207], and
wherein the pointer is communicated from the wireless communication device to the node (“According to some embodiments, when the user device is capable of transmitting (in uplink) or receiving (in downlink) multiple spatial layers with a MIMO transmission, the link adaptation report may comprise one or more set of estimated or preferred link adaptation parameters, with each set of link adaptation parameter associated with a transmission rank value. Examples of link adaptation parameters that can be reported in association with a specific transmission rank may comprise one or more of the following: Modulation order; MCS index; Code rate.” [¶0087-¶0090]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Kittichokechai with the idea where wireless device dynamically selects and points to a specific channel quality look-up table based on an error rate target, then tells the network base station which table it is using as disclosed by Soldati. The rationale for using this approach is to make sure that dynamic link adaptation works with minimal signaling overhead, which allows a wireless device to quickly optimize its data throughput.
Regarding Claim 13, combination of Kittichokechai and Soldati disclose the method of claim 12.
Kittichokechai also teaches, wherein the multiple channel quality indicators are included in multiple channel quality report messages that are provided at different reporting rates to the node ("Particular embodiments include a UE reporting multiple CQI levels. For example, a network may configure a UE for multiple CQI reporting processes with different target BLER levels. The configuration can be done semi-statically over radio resource control (RRC). The multiple processes may have different target BLERS, as well as other parameters, such as reporting periodicity, assumed transmission modes, or antenna usage, etc. The UE supporting multiple CQI processes may have multiple sets of SNR-to-CQI mappings for different BLER targets (see example in Table 1)..." [¶0055], see also, "...In another example, the UE reports both values at the same time in the same message explicitly, or one “reference” CQI value and a “differential” CQI specifying the difference between another value and the reference." [¶0057]).
Regarding Claim 15, combination of Kittichokechai and Soldati disclose the method of claim 12.
Kittichokechai also teaches, further comprising: communicating, between the wireless communication device and the node, an indication of the multiple target error rates ("At step 416, the network node receives, from the wireless device, a first channel quality index associated with the reference signal and the first transport block error probability (e.g., BLER), and a second channel quality index associated with the reference signal and the second transport block error probability (e.g., BLER). For example, network node 120 may receive the first and second channel quality indices as described with respect to step 318 of FIG. 3, or according to any of the embodiments and examples described above." [¶0089]).
Regarding Claim 16, Kittichokechai discloses, a wireless communication device for communicating data with a node of a communications network, the wireless communication device comprising a control circuitry (processing circuitry 1420), the control circuitry being configured to:
communicate, to the node and from the wireless communication device, at least one setting to be used at the wireless communication device for determining a channel quality indicator (Fig. 3, Step 314, 316, "At step 314, the wireless device determines a first channel quality index using the signal to noise ratio and a first target BLER. (e.g., 10%). For example, wireless device 110 may look up a channel quality index in a first table associated with the first target BLER (e.g., 10%), or wireless device 100 may scale a value in a common channel quality index table by a scaling value associated with the first target BLER." [¶0080]), the channel quality indicator being indicative of at least one modulation and/or coding value for said communicating of the data in accordance with a target error rate of said communicating of the data ("...In particular embodiments at the UE, the CQI report includes one or multiple CQI values and a scaling factor, which can belong to one or multiple CQI processes. The CQI values of different CQI processes or multi-level CQI of one process correspond to different preconfigured BLER targets (e.g., 10% and 0.1%). The scaling factor information describes the factor used to scale the rate of the reported CQI. In particular embodiments at the gNB, given the desired BLER target and multiple BLER target CQIs, the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) is selected as a function of available CQI values and a scaling factor." [¶0009]),
monitor reference signals transmitted by the node to the wireless communication device ("At step 312, the wireless device measures a reference signal to determine a signal to noise ratio. For example, wireless device 110 may measure a CSI-RS transmitted from network node 120 to determine a channel quality, such as a signal to noise ratio." [¶0079]), and
based on said monitoring of the reference signals: provide, from the wireless communication device to the node, the channel quality indicator determined in accordance with the communicated at least one setting (Fig.3, steps 314-318, "At step 316, the wireless device determines a second channel quality index using the signal to noise ratio and a second target BLER (e.g., 0.1%). For example, wireless device 110 may look up a channel quality index in a table associated with the second target BLER (e.g., 0.1%), wireless device 100 may scale a value in the common channel quality index table by a scaling value associated with the second target BLER, or wireless device 110 may scale the first CQI by a scaling factor." [¶0081], see also, "At step 318, the wireless device reports the first channel quality index and the second channel quality index to a network node..." [¶0083]).
Kittichokechai doesn’t explicitly disclose, wherein the at least one settinq comprises a pointer to a mapping table selected by the wireless communication device from a plurality of candidate mapping tables based on the target error rate, each candidate mapping table mappinq values of the channel quality indicator to a respective modulation and/or coding value, different ones of the plurality of candidate mapping tables beinq associated with different ones of multiple auxiliary target error rates, and wherein the pointer is communicated from the wireless communication device to the node.
Soldati in related art discloses, wherein the at least one settinq comprises a pointer to a mapping table selected by the wireless communication device from a plurality of candidate mapping tables based on the target error rate, each candidate mapping table mappinq values of the channel quality indicator to a respective modulation and/or coding value, different ones of the plurality of candidate mapping tables beinq associated with different ones of multiple auxiliary target error rates ("...FIG. 5 shows an illustration of the method. In FIG. 5, a network node 500, upon receiving a link adaptation report message from a user device 502, can determine an allocation of resources for the user device based on the link adaptation report." [¶0076], see also, "Therefore, the network node may use the reported link adaptation parameters values estimated or preferred by the user device, either in isolation or combined with other information available at the network node, for determining an allocation of radio resources for a communicating with the user device. In some embodiments, the network node selects one of the reported MCS index values reported by the user device for determining an allocation of physical resource blocks, code rate and transport block size for communicating with the user device, either in uplink or downlink, in a transmission time interval. In another example, the network node may combine the preference or estimates of MCS index values reported by the user device with another channel state information (CSI), such as the channel quality indicator (CQI), the rank and the precoding matrix indicator (PMI), for determining an allocation of radio resources for a communicating with the user device." [¶0086], see also, “In some embodiments, the link adaptation report may comprise a set of at least one MCS index values associated with different transmission rank values. For instance, one set of preferred or estimated one MCS index values associated with rank-1 transmission (i.e., in case the network node communicates with the user device using a single spatial layer), one set of preferred or estimated one MCS index values associated with rank-2 transmission (i.e., in case the network node communicates with the user device using two spatial layers), and so on…” [¶0091], see also, “Embodiment 24: The method of embodiment 1, wherein determining the scheduling grant comprises combining a preference or estimate of MCS index values reported by the user device with another channel state information (CSI), wherein the CSI comprise one or more of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank, and a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) for determining an allocation of radio resources for communicating with the user device.” [¶0207], and
wherein the pointer is communicated from the wireless communication device to the node (“According to some embodiments, when the user device is capable of transmitting (in uplink) or receiving (in downlink) multiple spatial layers with a MIMO transmission, the link adaptation report may comprise one or more set of estimated or preferred link adaptation parameters, with each set of link adaptation parameter associated with a transmission rank value. Examples of link adaptation parameters that can be reported in association with a specific transmission rank may comprise one or more of the following: Modulation order; MCS index; Code rate.” [¶0087-¶0090]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Kittichokechai with the idea where wireless device dynamically selects and points to a specific channel quality look-up table based on an error rate target, then tells the network base station which table it is using as disclosed by Soldati. The rationale for using this approach is to make sure that dynamic link adaptation works with minimal signaling overhead, which allows a wireless device to quickly optimize its data throughput.
Regarding claim [16] “Control circuitry”, are rejected under the same reasoning as claim [1] “Method”, where Kittichokechai and Soldati teach Method/ “Control circuitry”.
Claims 3-5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kittichokechai and Soldati in view of Gutman et al. (US 20210091881 A1), hereinafter, Gutman).
Regarding Claim 3, combination of Kittichokechai and Soldati disclose the method of claim 1.
Kittichokechai doesn’t explicitly disclose, wherein the at least one setting comprises values of weighting parameters of a weighted combination of multiple temporary channel quality indicators determined for multiple auxiliary target error rates of said communicating of the data, to thereby obtain the channel quality indicator.
Gutman, in analogous art discloses, wherein the at least one setting comprises values of weighting parameters of a weighted combination of multiple temporary channel quality indicators determined for multiple auxiliary target error rates of said communicating of the data, to thereby obtain the channel quality indicator ("The weight determination circuitry 708 is configured to determine one or more weights 710 for application to existing mapping values. For example, according to some implementations, the weight determination circuitry can 708 determines weights to be applied to each of two or more predefined tables 714, each mapping SPEF threshold values to CQI for a particular channel type. Weights used for the various tables may be the same or differing values..." [¶0087]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Kittichokechai and Soldati with an approach which provides a more robust and reliable CQI than a single, simple measurement by combining multiple temporary CQIs, each evaluated under a different assumption about the communication channel's condition as disclosed by Gutman. The rationale for doing so will be "...Using a variety of weighting factors enables use of fewer tables thereby helping to efficiently use memory and processing resources." [¶0087].
Regarding Claim 4, combination of Kittichokechai, Soldati and Gutman disclose the method of Claim 3.
Kittichokechai, doesn’t explicitly disclose, wherein the values of the weighting parameters are set by the communications network and communicated from the node to the wireless communication device, and/or wherein the target error rate is set by the communications network and communicated from the node to the wireless communication device.
Gutman teaches, wherein the values of the weighting parameters are set by the communications network and communicated from the node to the wireless communication device, and/or wherein the target error rate is set by the communications network and communicated from the node to the wireless communication device ("A method for wireless communication at a scheduled entity in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: estimating a wireless channel between the scheduled entity and a scheduling entity to obtain a channel estimate; determining a respective weight associated with each of two or more predefined spectral efficiency-channel quality indicator (SPEF-CQI) mappings based on the channel estimate, wherein each of the two or more predefined SPEF-CQI mappings comprises a respective mapping between spectral efficiency (SPEF) threshold values and channel quality indicators (CQIs); calculating respective weighted sums of corresponding ones of the SPEF threshold values across the two or more predefined SPEF-CQI mappings using the respective weights to produce a blended SPEF-CQI mapping for the wireless channel; calculating a current SPEF value for the wireless channel; identifying a current CQI from the blended SPEF-CQI mapping that maps to the current SPEF value; and transmitting the current CQI to the scheduling entity." [Claim 1]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Kittichokechai and Soldati with the idea that the value of the weighted parameters and target error rates are set by the network and send to the device as disclosed by Gutman. The rationale for using this process which allows the network to adapt to changing conditions and optimize communication links.
Regarding Claim 5, combination of Kittichokechai, Soldati and Gutman disclose the method of Claim 3.
Kittichokechai, doesn’t explicitly disclose, wherein the values of the weighting parameters are set by the wireless communication device and communicated from the wireless communication device to the node, and/or wherein the target error rate is set by the wireless communication device and communicated from the wireless communication device to the node.
Gutman teaches, wherein the values of the weighting parameters are set by the wireless communication device and communicated from the wireless communication device to the node, and/or
wherein the target error rate is set by the wireless communication device and communicated from the wireless communication device to the node (Fig. 9, see also, "At block 906, the scheduled entity may then calculate respective weighted sums of corresponding ones of the SPEF threshold values across the two or more predefined SPEF-CQI mappings using the respective weights to produce a blended SPEF-CQI mapping for the wireless channel. In some examples, the scheduled entity may multiply the respective weight associated with each predefined SPEF-CQI mapping by each of the SPEF threshold values in that SPEF-CQI mapping to produce weighted SPEF threshold values for that SPEF-CQI mapping..." [¶0111], see also, "At block 912, the scheduled entity may transmit the current CQI to the scheduling entity. In some examples, the current CQI may be transmitted within the CSF to the scheduling entity. For example, the communication and processing circuitry 842, together with the transceiver 810, shown and described above in connection with FIG. 8 may transmit the current CQI to the scheduling entity." [¶0114]). Here the scheduled entity is a communication device or a UE.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Kittichokechai and Soldati with the concept that device autonomously manages and transmits key performance parameters to a network node as disclosed by Gutman. This capability allows the device to self-optimize and inform the network about its performance objectives and channel conditions, which can lead to more efficient and dynamic resource allocation.
Regarding Claim 9, combination of Kittichokechai and Soldati disclose the method of claim1.
Kittichokechai doesn’t explicitly disclose, wherein the at least one setting comprises a parameter value of a parameter of a parameterized ruleset for determining the channel quality indicator at the wireless communication device, wherein the parameter value is set by the wireless communication device based on the target error rate, wherein the parameter value is communicated from the wireless communication device to the node.
Gutman discloses, wherein the at least one setting comprises a parameter value of a parameter of a parameterized ruleset for determining the channel quality indicator at the wireless communication device ("...Each of the two or more predefined SPEF-CQI mappings can include a respective mapping between spectral efficiency (SPEF) threshold values and channel quality indicators (CQIs). The method also includes calculating respective weighted sums of corresponding ones of the SPEF threshold values across the two or more predefined SPEF-CQI mappings using the respective weights to produce a blended SPEF-CQI mapping for the wireless channel, calculating a current SPEF value for the wireless channel, and identifying a current CQI from the blended SPEF-CQI mapping that maps to the current SPEF value." [¶0008]),
wherein the parameter value is set by the wireless communication device based on the target error rate ("At 510, for example, the scheduled entity 504 may determine a CQI from the SPEF. The CQI may include an index (e.g., a CQI index) ranging from 0 to 15. The CQI index may indicate, for example, the highest MCS at which the Block Error Rate (BLER) of the channel does not exceed 10%..."[¶0076], see also, "...The scheduled entity 504 may correspond, for example, to a UE or other scheduled node as shown in FIGS. 1 and/or 2." [¶0073]),
wherein the parameter value is communicated from the wireless communication device to the node ("Once selected, a CQI index can be fed back. For example, at 512, the scheduled entity 504 may transmit the CSF, including the selected CQI, along with a RI and PMI, to the scheduling entity 502."[¶0077], see also, "...The scheduling entity 502 may correspond, for example, to a base station (e.g., gNB or eNB) or other scheduling entity as shown in FIGS. 1 and/2..." [¶0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of Kittichokechai and Soldati with the idea where wireless device sets the parameter value for this ruleset based on the target error rate (BLER) and provides feedback to the network node as disclosed by Gutman. By allowing the device to adjust the CQI ruleset based on a target error rate, the system can balance between high data throughput and transmission reliability.
Claims 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kittichokechai, Soldati and Gutman further in view of Chandran et al. (US 20220123853 A1, hereinafter Chandran)
Regarding Claim 6, combination of Kittichokechai, Soldati and Gutman disclose the method of Claim 3.
Kittichokechai doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the values of the weighting parameters are set based on a difference between the multiple auxiliary target error rates and the target error rate.
Chandran, in related art relates, wherein the values of the weighting parameters are set based on a difference between the multiple auxiliary target error rates and the target error rate (" FIG. 15, The Neural network uses the parameters (medium-term PDSCH/PUSCH Symbol usage, observed BLER, target BLER, UE mobility, CQI, SINR) and stored past output data from its memory. Based on these input parameters, trained weights are computed and neural network, for throughput improvement, (i) predicts whether additional DMRS/CSI-RS are needed to be added or removed, and (ii) predicts which is a better choice between Link Adaptation and Reference signal adaptation." [¶0139]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Kittichokechai, Soldati and Gutman with the idea where weighting parameters are set according to the difference between multiple auxiliary target error rates and a standard target Block Error Rate (BLER) as disclosed by Chandran. The rational for using the weighted parameters, rather than just a single target BLER, enables the system to make better decisions about which MCS to use. This can lead to better throughput under varying conditions, such as near the cell edge.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kittichokechai, Soldati and Gutman in view of Islam et al. (US 20190253121 A1, hereinafter, Islam)
Regarding Claim 10, combination of Kittichokechai, Soldati and Gutman disclose the method of Claim 9.
Kittichokechai doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the at least one setting comprises an indicator indicative of the parameterized ruleset wherein the indicator indicative of the parameterized ruleset is communicated from the node to the wireless communication device.
Islam in related art teaches, wherein the at least one setting comprises an indicator indicative of the parameterized ruleset wherein the indicator indicative of the parameterized ruleset is communicated from the node to the wireless communication device ("FIG. 2 illustrates a communication exchange between a base station and user equipment for separate configuration of CQI and MCS tables, in accordance with some aspects. Referring to FIG. 2, the communication exchange 200 takes place between a base station such as gNB 111 and UE 101..." [¶0095], see also, "...One or more of the configuration messages mentioned above can be appended to another configuration message which provides other configuration information such as CSI resource setting, bandwidth part, PDSCH or PUSCH configuration setting, etc. For example, an MCS table for use can be indicated (e.g., by an mcs-Table parameter) as part of the PDSCH or PUSCH configuration information element as part of RRC configuration such as listed below where an entry is added in the PDSCH information element, as follows:" [¶0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of Kittichokechai, Soldati, and Gutman with the idea where eNB/ gNB selects the optimal ruleset from its set of options and sends an indicator for that ruleset to the UE as disclosed by Islam. The rationale for sending this ruleset indicator from base station to the device is to helps the UE to apply the corresponding transmission parameters to properly receive and decode the upcoming data transmission.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kittichokechai and Soldati in view of Wu et al. (US-20230239869 A1, hereinafter, Wu)
Regarding Claim 11, combination of Kittichokechai and Soldati disclose the method of claim 1.
Kittichokechai doesn’t explicitly disclose, wherein the at least one setting is at least partly included in a channel quality report message that further comprises the channel quality indicator.
Wu is related art relates, wherein the at least one setting is at least partly included in a channel quality report message that further comprises the channel quality indicator (“For example, the CQI offset transmitted by the terminal to the base station may be a certain offset adjusted additionally on the basis of the received instantaneous CQI reported by the terminal, which is suggested by the terminal for the base station, and perform downlink scheduling based on the adjusted CQI value. Here, the CQI offset may be, for example, an offset for only lowering CQI (i.e., only a negative value), or an offset for lowering or raising CQI (i.e., a positive value or a negative value). For example, the CQI table suggested by the terminal transmitted by the terminal to the base station may be that the terminal suggests that the base station interpret the CQI reported by the terminal based on the table, or suggests that the base station configure the CQI reporting of the terminal based on the table.” [¶0151- ¶0152]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of Kittichokechai and Soldati, with the idea that device packs configuration settings and channel quality information into the exact same report before sending it as disclosed by Wu. The rationale for doing this approach is to make dynamic link adaptation with minimal signaling overhead, which make it more efficient.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kittichokechai and Soldati in view of Qu; Xi (US 20220173875 A1, hereinafter, Qu)
Regarding Claim 14, combination of Kittichokechai and Soldati disclose the method of claim13.
Kittichokechai doesn’t explicitly disclose, wherein the multiple channel quality indicators are aggregated in a shared channel quality report message.
Qu, in related art relates, wherein the multiple channel quality indicators are aggregated in a shared channel quality report message ("The base station 22 configures association relationships between multiple combinations of CQI and RI and identifiers for the transmitting UE 21, where each combination of CQI and RI is represented by log 2N bits, and N is the number of combinations. The base station 22 may further configure a same report resource for multiple combinations of CQI and RI, and the transmitting UE 21 may report the resource allocation auxiliary information in the form of the identifier of the combination of CQI and RI and the destination identifier index on the report resource." [¶0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the idea of Kittichokechai and Soldati with the idea of reporting various types of channel quality feedback, which are all aggregated and reported together based on how the network has configured the UE as disclosed by Qu. This process is a key part of the dynamic link adaptation protocol, where the gNB uses the feedback to adjust parameters like modulation and coding schemes for the downlink.
Conclusion
References cited but not used: Li et al. (US 20200052861 A1 can be used for independent claims 1, 12 and 16 in addition to the one used.
References cited but not used: Li et al. Yasukawa et al. (US 20200169902 A1 (¶0038 and ¶0045) can be used for independent claims 1, 12 and 16 in addition to the one used.
References cited but not used: Li et al. KITTICHOKECHAI et al. (US 20210175999 can be used for independent claims 1, 12 and 16 in addition to the one used.
References cited but not used: Sarkis et al. US 20190305911 A1 can be used for independent claims 1, 12 and 16 in addition to the one used.
/MUHAMMAD AINUL HUDA/Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/HASSAN A PHILLIPS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2467