DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maebuchi USPGPub 20130071541 and Shirreffs “The optimal sports drink”, Schweizerische Zeitschrift für Sportmedizin und Sporttraumatologie 51 (1), 25–29, 2003.
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Maebuchi teaches a liquid soy protein composition comprising a polyglycerol fatty acid ester with an average polymerization degree of 10, a constituent fatty acid having 14 carbon atoms and an HLB of 16. [0023,0032]
The composition is prepared by mixing the ingredients and heating the solution to 85°C for 30 minutes. These heating conditions fall within the ranges of time and temperature identified in [0027] of applicant’s specification as filed as providing sterilization.
Maebuchi therefore explicitly teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 3 except for the addition of a salt containing seasoning.
Maebuchi further teaches that ingesting peptide in drink form is convenient and that sports beverages are a known type of beverage for ingesting peptides.
Shirreffs teaches sports beverages contain sodium in quantities ranging from 5-45 mmol/L.
Maebuchi and Shirreffs are both directed to sports beverages. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have included a sodium salt containing seasoning in the beverage of Maebuchi where the sodium is present at a concentration ranging from 5-45 mmol/L as taught by Shirreffs since these values were conventional in the art at the time the application was filed. Present claims 1 and 3 require sodium to be present in an amount of 0.5 wt% or greater in terms of dietary salt equivalent which when converted to a molar concentration of sodium requires 0.8 mmol/L or greater. (0.005 g NaCl/100g bev x 1 mol NaCl/58.44 g NaCl x 1 mol Na/1 mol NaCl x 10 (100g bev)/1 L bev) As such, modifying Maebuchi with the concentration of sodium suggested by Shirreffs satisfies this limitation. Therefore, claims 1 and 3 are rendered obvious by the modification of Maebuchi with Shirreffs.
Regarding claim 2, Maebuchi teaches a content of vegetable protein in the beverage of 5 wt% [0032] and that emulsifier can be present in the range of 1-10 wt% with respect to the peptide content. [0029]
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1-3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michele L Jacobson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793