POLYMER FILMS
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/282,809 Art Unit: 1727 October 6, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Response to Election/Restriction filed on Jue 02, 2026 has been received. Claims 1-28 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claim 14 in the reply filed on June 02, 2026 is acknowledged. Applicant’s election of Species 2-1; 3-1; 7-1; 7-n2; 7-p1; 7-Z2; 9-Z3 are acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would be no serious search burden because ethe groups are interrelated. This is not found persuasive because Although the chemical compounds of Groups I-VII share a common structure of an ionic compound comprising a bis(sulfonyl)imide group, the common structure is not a significant structural element because it represents only a small portion of the compound structures and does not constitute a structurally distinctive portion in view of Gonzalez et al. who teaches of a polymer comprising bis(styrenesulfonyl)imide (Abstract). Further, the compounds of these groups do not belong to a recognized class of chemical compounds because Applicant does not state that they are obvious variants of each other.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Accordingly, claims 1-13 and 15-28 are withdrawn from consideration.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inomata et al. (US 2016/0354771 A1; as found in IDS dated 09/19/2023) in view of Gonzalez et al. (US 2016/0168086 A1).
As to Claim 14, Inomata discloses an ion-exchange membrane, comprising: a curable composition having a hydrogenated styrene-butadiene triblock copolymer (curable non-ionic compound having vinyl groups) (Abstract and paragraphs [0171 and 0431]). Inomata does not specifically disclose wherein the curable non-ionic compound comprises at least 4 vinyl groups. However, Inomata teaches wherein the molecular weight of the non-ionic compound can be from 1,000 to 1,000,000 (paragraphs [0166-0176]). The styrene-butadiene triblock copolymer of Inomata encompasses the claimed compound for number of vinyl groups.
In the alternative, the compound of Inomata is at least very close in structural and will have similar properties. The courts have held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities, see MPEP 2144.09, I. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the curable non-ionic compound of Inomata to comprise at least four vinyl groups because Inomata teaches that a curable composition that has excellent performances for an ion exchange membrane is provided (paragraph [0015]).
Inomata does not specifically disclose wherein the composition comprises a curable ionic compound comprising a bis(sulfonyl)imide group.
However, Gonzalez teaches of a composition for forming an ion exchange membrane, comprising a crosslinking monomer comprising bis(styrenesulfonyl)imide (curable ionic compound) that is used to produce an ion conductive copolymer (Abstract). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the composition of Inomata to comprise a bis(sulfonyl)imide group because Gonzalez teaches that a membrane with improve security and inflammability properties is provided (Abstract).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inomata et al. (US 2016/0354771 A1; as found in IDS dated 09/19/2023) in view of Yusuku et al. (JP 2018-043936 A; as found in IDS dated 09/19/2023 and using machine translation for citation purposes).
As to Claim 14, Inomata discloses an ion-exchange membrane, comprising: a curable composition having a hydrogenated styrene-butadiene triblock copolymer (curable non-ionic compound having vinyl groups) (Abstract and paragraphs [0171 and 0431]). Inomata does not specifically disclose wherein the curable non-ionic compound comprises at least 4 vinyl groups. However, Inomata teaches wherein the molecular weight of the non-ionic compound can be from 1,000 to 1,000,000 (paragraphs [0166-0176]). The styrene-butadiene triblock copolymer of Inomata encompasses the claimed compound for number of vinyl groups.
In the alternative, the compound of Inomata is at least very close in structural and will have similar properties. The courts have held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities, see MPEP 2144.09, I. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the curable non-ionic compound of Inomata to comprise at least four vinyl groups because Inomata teaches that a curable composition that has excellent performances for an ion exchange membrane is provided (paragraph [0015]).
Inomata does not specifically disclose wherein the composition comprises a curable ionic compound comprising a bis(sulfonyl)imide group.
However, Yusuke teaches of a composition for forming an ion exchange membrane, comprising a crosslinking monomer comprising bis-(4-styrenesulfonyl)imide (curable ionic compound) that is used to produce an ion conductive copolymer (Abstract and paragraph [0032]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the composition of Inomata to comprise a bis(sulfonyl)imide group because Yusuke teaches that a such a monomer has excellent radical polymerizability, cation exchangeability and high water-solubility (Abstract and paragraph [0032]).
Conclusion
/ADAM A ARCIERO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727