DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 1, 2025.
Double Patenting
The following claims are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the corresponding claims in the chart of U.S. Patent No. 12,410,320 in view of Shimura et al (US 10,005,911).
Current invention claims
Patent claims
1
1
2
2
3
3
4
4
5
5
6
7
10
9
11
10
12
11
13
12
14
13
21
21
22
23
28
25
29
26
The claims of the patent does not contain the compound (H) containing at least one hydroxyl group. Shimura teaches a curable composition for ink-jet printing that contains a photopolymerization initiator and a hydroxyl group containing (meth)acrylate compound (abstract). Shimura teaches the motivation for adding the hydroxyl group containing (meth)acrylate to be because it shows excellent adhesion and protection performance to a substrate (column 4, lines 48-60). The patent and Shimura are analogous in the art of ink-jet curable compositions. In light of the benefit above, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to add the hydroxyl group containing monomer of Shimura to the patent, thereby, obtaining the present invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 21-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US 2015/0064417).
With regards to claims 1-3 and 5, Choi teaches a composition applicable for inkjet printing (abstract) that contains a (meth)acryloyl group containing monomer, a block isocyanate, and a photo-polymerization initiator (abstract) wherein the composition contains a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate (reading on claimed (N)) with a monofunctional (meth)acrylate (0051) (reading on claimed (M)) and the addition of a (meth)acrylate having an OH group (0046) (reading on claimed (H)). Choi teaches the number of acrylate groups to be 5 and the number of isocyanate groups to be 2 (0146 example 4) reading on a ratio of acrylate to isocyanate groups to be 2.5.
Choi does not teach the molar concentration of the acrylate groups and the molar concentration of the acryloyl groups in claimed compound (N).
However, in looking at example 4 of Choi, the amount of polyfunctional monomer to be 30 parts in a composition having 87.1 total parts (reading on 34%), the amount of monofunctional monomer to be 20 parts (reading on 23%) and the amount of hydroxyl containing monomer to be 20 parts (reading on 23%) which provides 2.9 mol/kg of acrylate groups and the amount molar concentration of the acryloyl groups in the claimed compound (N) to be 20% (0146 example 4).
With regards to claims 4 and 21, Choi teaches the compound reading on claimed (N) to be pentaerythritol triacrylate (0152) as the only compound having more than one acryloyl group and thus reading on 100% of claimed (N) not having more than 3 functional groups.
With regards to claim 6, Choi teaches the photo-polymerization initiator to include phosphine oxide compounds (0069).
With regards to claims 7 and 23, Choi teaches the isocyanate groups of the isocyanate compound to be blocked (0056).
With regards to claims 8 and 26, Choi teaches the amount of hydroxyl groups per compound in the composition to be 2 and the number of isocyanate groups per isocyanate compound to be 2 (0146 example 4) reading on a ratio of 1.
With regards to claims 9 and 27, Choi teaches the hydroxyl containing (meth)acrylate to include diol compounds (0045).
With regards to claims 10 and 28, Choi teaches the only compound not included in claimed (M), (N), (R), (D), and (H) to be a leveling agent at a concentration of 0.1 parts in a composition having 87.1 total parts (reading on 0.11%) (0146 example 4) reading on 99.9% of the claimed compounds present in the composition.
With regards to claim 11, Choi teaches the viscosity of the inkjet ink to be 150 mPas or less (0083).
With regards to claim 12, Choi teaches the only initiator to be a photo-polymerization initiator that is not a cationic or anionic initiator (0146 example 4 and 0160-0161).
With regards to claims 13 and 29, Choi teaches the only polymerizable compounds to contain acrylate groups (0146 example 4).
With regards to claim 14, Choi teaches the addition of a polymerization inhibitor (0079).
With regards to claim 22, Choi teaches the initiator to include 2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl diphenylphosphine oxide (0069).
With regards to claims 24 and 25, Choi teaches the blocking agent for the isocyanate compound to include caprolactam (0064).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following reference teaches the composition, however, the isocyanate is reacted to form a urethane prior to putting in the composition: Yoshihiro et al (JP 2006298952).
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763