DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 6/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 6/26/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by USPAP 2010/0120308 to Shi or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over USPAP 2010/0120308 to Shi in view of USPN 9,212,433 to Kano.
Claim 1, Shi discloses a biodegradable polyolefin fiber comprising: a core formed of polyolefin; and an oxide layer formed outside the core (see entire document including [0013], [0023]-[0028] and [0062]-[0064]). Specifically, Shi discloses that the fiber comprises polyolefin and titanium dioxide therefore an interior (core) section of the fiber is formed of polyolefin (and titanium dioxide) and an exterior (outside layer) section comprises polyolefin and titanium dioxide (is an oxide layer). In the event that it is shown that Shi alone does not sufficiently disclose the claimed fiber, Kano is cited for disclosing that it is known in the polyolefin fiber netting art to use a polyolefin fiber with a melt spinning temperature of 260 to 280ºC and a melt spinning speed of 500 to 3,000 m/min to produce a light-weight polyolefin fabric with improved color (see entire document including column 1, lines 8-33 and column 23, line 36 through column 24, line 32). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to construct the polyolefin fiber of Shi as taught by Kano, to produce a light-weight fabric with improved color. Considering that the current specification teaches an overlapping melt spinning temperature range and melt spinning speed, and discloses that said process variables are responsible for the creation of the claimed oxide layer, the applied prior art appears to teach the claimed polyolefin core/oxide layer fiber structure.
Claim 2, Shi discloses that the fiber comprises the polyolefin and an oxo-biodegradable additive at a ratio of 95 to 99.5:0.5 to 5 based on the weight percent [0013].
Claim 3, Shi discloses that the oxide layer comprises an oxo-biodegradable additive [0013].
Claim 4, Shi discloses that the oxo-biodegradable additive is at least one selected from the group consisting of iron, manganese, copper, cobalt, and cesium ([0023] and [0028]).
Claim 5, Kano discloses that the fiber is drawn at a draw ratio of 1.5 or less and has a melt index of 20 to 50 (column 5, lines 40-53 and column 24, lines 20-32).
Claim 6, Kano discloses that the fiber may have a tensile strength of 1.8 to 4.0 g/d and an elongation ratio of 300% to 500% (column 14, lines 15-49).
Claim 7, considering that the applied prior art discloses a substantially identical fiber in terms of structure and materials, the claimed property appears to be inherent. The Patent and Trademark Office can require applicants to prove that prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess characteristics of claimed products where claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes; burden of proof is on applicants where rejection based on inherency under 35 U.S.C. § 102 or on prima facie obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, and Patent and Trademark Office’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products evidences fairness of this rejection.
Conclusion
The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art: USPN 5,318,735 to Kozulla and USPAP 2002/0006502 to Nagaoka.
/ANDREW T PIZIALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789