Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 6166859 B2 (JP 859), in view of Ohkura et al. US 5,554,439.
JP 859 a process for producing a taste-masked powder comprising an active pharmaceutical ingredient (API) and silica particles. API powders are core particles that contain an active pharmaceutical ingredient (API) with an undesirable taste. API core particles have a much larger particle size than silica particles. The API core particles can have a volume average median particle size in the range of, for example, 1 μm to 200 μm, 5 μm to 150 μm, or 10 μm to 100 μm. The API core particle is composed of a plurality of particles having a narrow particle size distribution. This is because API core particles having a broad size distribution including both microparticles and coarse particles are more likely to agglomerate during mixing and coating. See Abstract. JP 859 further teaches coating with a softer and more variable material with flaking and smears should also be used instead of coating with nanoparticles, as one or both of the above factors can cause a decrease in cohesion. Such coating comprising materials such as magnesium stearate, stearic acid, leucine, amino acids, and other materials commonly used for inhalation applications that impart dispersibility through hydrophobic and / or low adhesion materials. You may do it. See, for example, US Pat. No. 6,475,523, which includes a comprehensive list of surfactant molecules, the disclosure of which is incorporated herein by reference. Thus, such materials replace silica or nano-sized discrete particles with variable / flaky materials. The decrease in cohesion is caused by a decrease in the surface energy of the dispersion and may also be due to a reduction in surface roughness resulting from a softer material filling the rough voids resulting in a smoother surface. The claimed coating polymers and the claimed active agents are found in the Examples. Coating polymer solution comprising silica particles are found in the Examples.
JP 859 does not expressly teach film coating comprising the claimed flaky material such as potassium aluminum silicate, fine silicon dioxide, aluminum silicate, and magnesium aluminum silicate. However, the use of such materials in a film coating is known in the art.
Ohkura teaches a coating composition comprising a liquid medium containing a titanium dioxide pigment and a coating film formation resin said titanium dioxide pigment being in the form of flaky or fin-like small pieces of silicon dioxide covered by titanium dioxide and having a diameter of 1 to 300 microns and a thickness of 0.001 to 1 micron, a considerable portion of said silicon dioxide being dissolved out from said titanium dioxide-coated silicon dioxide small pieces. See Abstract. Column 2 shows flake like or fin like silicon dioxide coated with pigment and having the claimed diameter and thickness ratio.
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include flaky, pigment, and silica materials in view of the teaching in Ohkura with the expectation to obtain a coating useful in pharmaceutical art. This is because the Okura reference teaches the use of flaky silicon dioxide coated with titanium dioxide in a coating composition is known and desired in pharmaceutical art, and this is because the JP 859 teaches the desirability for adding flaky material into the coating composition to obtain a film coating layer useful for the delivery of a wide variety of active agents. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to, by routine experimentation select to include the flake like silicon dioxide cover with titanium dioxide in a coating composition with the expectation of at least similar result.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/19/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Pertinent Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jones is cited for the teaching of a coated perlite flakes having particle size of up to 50 µm.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/SUSAN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615