DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O’Hora (US 20170279170).
Regarding claim 1, O’Hora teaches a swappable battery charging system (figure 15A shows a battery charging system), comprising:
a battery charging station having multiple battery charging ports (figure 15A item 110 with multiple charging ports defined in paragraph [0098] as a plurality of bay openings 1506), each battery charging port of the multiple battery charging ports configured to releasably receive a rechargeable battery pack therein (figure 15A shows wherein the charging ports, bay openings 1506 releasably receive battery packs item 106);
at least one rechargeable battery pack positioned within at least one battery charging port of the battery charging station (figure 15A shows a rechargeable battery pack item 106)and connected in parallel to at least one other rechargeable battery pack positioned within at least one other battery charging port of the battery charging station (figure 1 shows rechargeable battery packs in 106 connected in parallel within the charging station item 110); and
wherein the at least one rechargeable battery pack has its own battery management system and can independently control its own charging and discharging limits (figure 2 shows rechargeable battery pack item 102 with its own battery management system item 210 defined in paragraph [0051] as a processing system. Paragraphs [0051] – [0052] disclose wherein the processing system controls the charging and discharging states or limits of the battery).
O’Hora figure 15A shows a swappable charging station
O’Hora figure 2 shows a processor or battery management system 210 within a rechargeable battery pack item 102
Regarding claim 2, O’Hora teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one other rechargeable battery pack has its own battery management system and can also independently control its own charging and discharging limits (paragraph [0005] discloses wherein each of the plurality of battery sub-modules includes a processor to control its own charging and discharging)
Regarding claim 4, O’Hora teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one rechargeable battery pack independently controls its maximum charging and discharging limits based upon a state of health or temperature, to extend its own operating life (paragraph [0061] discloses wherein the processor controls the charging based on temperature, health or lifetime of the battery. Paragraph [0054] discloses wherein state of health sensors provide information for charging and discharging).
Regarding claim 5, O’Hora teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one rechargeable battery pack independently controls its maximum charging and discharging limits based upon impedance or current to avoid operating above its battery rating (paragraph [0061] discloses wherein the processor controls the charging based on maximum current).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Hora (US 20170279170) in view of Tang (US 20210281084)
Regarding claim 6, O’Hora teaches the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one rechargeable battery pack independently controls its maximum charging and discharging limits to control energy flow exchanged in parallel between itself at the at least one other rechargeable battery pack to achieve voltage equalization.
Tang teaches wherein the at least one rechargeable battery pack independently controls its maximum charging and discharging limits to control energy flow exchanged in parallel between itself at the at least one other rechargeable battery pack to achieve voltage equalization (paragraph [0052] discloses wherein a power input panel 114 is used to charge the plurality of battery packs. Paragraph [0069] discloses balancing operation corresponding to threshold voltage values).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the O’Hora reference with the charging system of the Tang reference so as to prevent a decrease in the run time for the portable power supply.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Tang reference in paragraph [0003] wherein preventing a decrease in runtime is taught.
Regarding claim 7, O’Hora teaches the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one rechargeable battery pack has a circuit to boost voltage to maintain an acceptable voltage level during high load applications, or when a voltage level is not sufficient to meet the high load application's voltage requirement.
Tang teaches wherein the at least one rechargeable battery pack has a circuit to boost voltage to maintain an acceptable voltage level during high load applications, or when a voltage level is not sufficient to meet the high load application's voltage requirement (paragraph [0062] discloses wherein a converter circuit is configured to boost the voltage to provide a high power to meet a specific load requirement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the O’Hora reference with the charging system of the Tang reference so as to prevent a decrease in the run time for the portable power supply.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Tang reference in paragraph [0003] wherein preventing a decrease in runtime is taught.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Hora (US 20170279170) in view of Newman (US 20180201152).
Regarding claim 8, O’Hora teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one rechargeable battery pack independently controls its own charging current (disclosed in paragraph [0057] wherein the battery packs are individually or independently charged) but does not explicitly teach wherein the battery charging station controls float voltage of the at least one rechargeable battery pack.
Newman teaches wherein the battery charging station controls float voltage of the at least one rechargeable battery pack (defined in paragraph [0083] wherein a float voltage is controlled within a plurality of battery packs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Tang reference with the charging system of the Newman reference so the total interruption of power is prevented
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Newman reference in paragraph [0054] wherein preventing an interruption of power is taught.
6. Claims 14, 17, 19 – 21 and 24 – 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US 20210281084) in view of Newman (US 20180201152)
Regarding claim 14, Tang teaches a non-swappable battery charging system (figure 2 shows a non-swappable battery charging system), comprising:
a plurality of battery packs connected in parallel having same or different capacity (figure 2 items 125A defined in paragraph [0055] as a subcore module which may be connected in parallel. Paragraph [0057] discloses wherein the voltage capacities may be different), wherein each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs has its own battery management system to independently control its own charging and discharging limits (figure 2 item 127A defined as a subcore monitoring circuit which controls its own charging and discharging limits); and
a battery charger operably coupled to a power source and at least one battery pack of the plurality of battery packs, wherein the battery charger is configured to charge the plurality of battery packs (paragraph [0052] discloses wherein a power input panel 114 is used to charge the plurality of battery packs. Paragraph [0069] discloses balancing operation corresponding to a float voltage, interpreted as balancing threshold voltage values).
Tang does not explicitly teach to control a float voltage of the plurality of battery packs to charge the plurality of battery packs in parallel.
Newman teaches a system which controls a float voltage of the plurality of battery packs to charge the plurality of battery packs in parallel (defined in paragraph [0083] wherein a float voltage is controlled within a plurality of battery packs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Tang reference with the charging system of the Newman reference so the total interruption of power is prevented
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Newman reference in paragraph [0054] wherein preventing an interruption of power is taught.
Tang figure 2 shows
Regarding claim 17, Tang teaches the system of claim 14, wherein each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs can control its maximum charging and discharging limits based upon a state of health or temperature, to extend its operating life (defined in paragraph [0058] wherein the charging and discharging control is based on the temperature of the battery).
Regarding claim 19, Tang teaches the system of claim 14, wherein each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs independently controls its maximum charging and discharging limits to control exchanged energy flow to achieve voltage equalization across the plurality of battery packs in parallel (paragraph [0052] discloses wherein a power input panel 114 is used to charge the plurality of battery packs. Paragraph [0069] discloses balancing operation corresponding to threshold voltage values).
Regarding claim 20, Tang teaches the system of claim 14, wherein each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs has a circuit to boost voltage to maintain an acceptable voltage level during high load applications, or when a voltage level is not sufficient to meet the high load application's voltage requirement (paragraph [0062] discloses wherein a converter circuit is configured to boost the voltage to provide a high power to meet a specific load requirement).
Regarding claim 21, Tang teaches the system of claim 14, wherein each of the plurality of battery packs independently controls its own charging current (figure 2 item 127A defined as a subcore monitoring circuit which controls its own charging and discharging limits).
Regarding claim 24, Tang teaches the method for charging or discharging batteries in a battery charging system (figures 6 and 10 disclose a method of charging or discharging batteries in a charging system), comprising:
coupling a plurality of rechargeable battery packs together in parallel (figure 2 shows rechargeable battery packs in parallel items 126);
determining which of the plurality of rechargeable battery packs has either a lowest impedance or voltage, or a highest impedance or voltage (figure 2 show a monitoring circuit 127 which monitors the voltage level of the battery packs and a lowest or highest voltage value is determined. Paragraph [0073] discloses wherein the maximum and minimum voltage of the battery packs are determined); and
setting a charging strategy for each of the plurality of rechargeable battery packs individually to control maximum charging and discharging limits for at least one particular rechargeable battery pack of the plurality of the rechargeable battery packs to extend its operating life (paragraph [0059] discloses wherein the controller implements methods implemented by the voltage values determined by the monitoring circuits), and
to provide voltage equalization and control energy flow among the plurality of rechargeable battery packs (paragraph [0069] discloses wherein a voltage balancing operation is performed amongst the batteries).
Regarding claim 25, Tang teaches the method of claim 24, but does not explicitly teach further comprising setting a float voltage for each of the plurality of rechargeable battery packs individually.
Newman teaches setting a float voltage for each of the plurality of rechargeable battery packs individually (defined in paragraph [0083] wherein a float voltage is controlled within a plurality of battery packs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Tang reference with the charging system of the Newman reference so the total interruption of power is prevented
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Newman reference in paragraph [0054] wherein preventing an interruption of power is taught.
Regarding claim 26, Tang teaches the method of claim 24, further comprising determining an age, temperature, or state of health (SoH) for each of the plurality of rechargeable battery packs (defined in paragraph [0058] wherein the charging and discharging control is based on the temperature of the battery).
Regarding claim 27, Tang teaches the method of claim 24, wherein each battery pack of the plurality of rechargeable battery packs shares different amounts of current and delivers its max current in a constant supply (paragraph [0077] discloses wherein different amounts of current is shared or drawn from the battery packs).
Regarding claim 28, Tang teaches the method of claim 24, wherein discharge current of the at least one particular rechargeable battery pack is limited to a value which is different than that of other battery packs of the plurality of the rechargeable battery packs to avoid depleting the at least one particular rechargeable battery pack over its rating (paragraph [0088] discloses wherein when a battery pack decreases or discharges to a limit defined as a termination threshold, the battery pack is deactivated so to avoid depletion).
Regarding claim 29, Tang teaches the method of claim 24, wherein setting a charging strategy for each of the plurality of rechargeable battery packs individually simplifies a charging circuit and hardware requirements (paragraph [0110] discloses wherein the battery packs are charged individually).
Regarding claim 30, Tang teaches the method of claim 24, wherein a battery pack of the plurality of the rechargeable battery packs having a lowest voltage automatically receives maximum charging current from other rechargeable battery packs of the plurality of the rechargeable battery packs to control exchanged energy flow (paragraph [0088] discloses wherein when a battery pack decreases or discharges to a limit defined as a termination threshold, the battery pack is deactivated so to avoid depletion. Paragraph [0079] discloses wherein in response to falling to a termination threshold, the battery is charged at a maximum current defined as an active mode of operation).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US 20210281084) in view of Takatsuka (US 20190041467).
Regarding claim 18, Tang teaches the system of claim 14, but does not explicitly teach wherein each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs independently controls its maximum charging and discharging limits based upon impedance to avoid operating above its own battery rating.
Takatsuka teaches wherein each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs independently controls its maximum charging and discharging limits based upon impedance to avoid operating above its own battery rating (defined in paragraph [0043] wherein a sensor within a battery management system in a battery pack measures impedance. This sensor information is used to control the charging of the battery pack).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Tang reference with the charging system of the Takatsuka reference so that the state of charge of the battery pack is more accurately measured.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Takatsuka reference in paragraph [0003] wherein determining the impedance provides a more accurate measurement of state of charge.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
Us 20220352559 A1 Battery Pack Aoki; Yonosuke Et Al.
Us 20150056475 A1 Modular Battery System Adrian; Jason D. Et Al.
Us 20110071932 A1 Electric Vehicle Network Agassi; Shai Et Al.
Us 20230187949 A1 Balancing Batteries Connected In Parallel Chang; Jung Moon
Us 5349535 A Battery Condition Monitoring Gupta; Om P.
Us 20160368464 A1 Modular Battery Interchanging System Hassounah; Khaled
Us 20210028503 A1 Voltage-Balancing System Hilligoss; Lawrence Et Al.
Us 20250047118 A1 Battery System Kim; Ji Eun Et Al.
Us 20230015794 A1 Battery Exchange Method Liao; En-Yi Et Al.
Us 20200227928 A1 Magazine-Type Charging Device Matsumoto; Takashi Et Al.
Us 20180012427 A1 Bifurcated Communications Ricci; Christopher P.
Us 20190299942 A1 Managing Batteries Shih; I-Fen Et Al.
Us 20220383402 A1 Battery Management System Takemura; Masashi Et Al.
Us 20150127206 A1 Vehicle And Battery Pack Tsuji; Shinji Et Al.
Us 20200185956 A1 Parallel Battery Charging Circuit Xiao; Chuan
Us 20200313249 A1 Modular Battery Packs Zhao; Ruichen
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859