Claim status
Claims 1-4 and 15 have been amended.
Claims 5-14 have been canceled.
Claims 16-26 have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/30/2026 have been fully considered, but are moot in view of a new ground of rejection presented in this office action which is necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 15-16, 19-20 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (US 20220369388 A1) in view of Rastegardoost et al. (US 20230060894 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
LIU discloses “A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising” (See [0003] a method for random access by a user equipment is disclosed): “receiving, from a base station (BS), at least one configuration for a random access” (See [0019] The UE 202 may obtain a plurality of random access channel resource sets, the plurality of random access channel resource sets may be configured by the WANN 204, and then the WANN 204 may transmit the plurality of random access channel resource sets to the UE 202), “wherein each of the at least one configuration associates a set of random access resources with a feature combination” (See [0035] according to the feature information of the UE 202, the UE 202 may be classified as one of the following classifications of user equipment: a full capability UE without enabling coverage enhancement, a full capability UE enabling coverage enhancement, a reduced capability UE without enabling coverage enhancement or coverage recovery, a reduced capability UE enabling coverage recovery, or a reduced capability UE enabling coverage enhancement and coverage recovery. [0036] The UE 202 may be configured with a RACH resource set configuration option. The RACH resource set configuration option may include mapping information between the random access channel resource sets and classifications of user equipment. See tables 2A-2H), “and wherein a feature in the feature combination corresponds to any one of a plurality of values including reduced capability, small data transmission, or msg3-repetition” (See [0035] according to the feature information of the UE 202, the UE 202 may be classified as one of the following classifications of user equipment: a full capability UE without enabling coverage enhancement, a full capability UE enabling coverage enhancement, a reduced capability UE without enabling coverage enhancement or coverage recovery, a reduced capability UE enabling coverage recovery, or a reduced capability UE enabling coverage enhancement and coverage recovery. See tables 2A-2H. [0044] to improve the transmission performance of Msg3, the UE 202 may repetitively transmit the Msg3 for multiple times. Note: LIU discloses the UE features include reduced capability and coverage enhancement, and also discloses the UE enabling Msg3 repetition, and a POSITA would have understood Msg3 repetition to be included among the coverage enhancement features available to the UE); “determining a set of random access resources from the at least one configuration, based on a feature combination of the UE” (See [0033] the UE 202 may select the first random access channel resource set from the plurality of random access channel resource sets based on a feature information of the UE 202); “and performing a random access procedure, based on the determined set of random access resources” (See [0040] after selecting the first random access channel resource set, the UE 202 may perform a random access to the wireless communication network 200 by transmitting a random access preamble, i.e., Msg1 on the first random access channel resource set to the WANN 204).
LIU does not explicitly disclose that the set of random-access resources comprise a random-access preamble and a random-access occasion.
However, Rastegardoost discloses “wherein the set of random access resources comprises at least one random access preamble and at least one random access channel (RACH) occasion, associated with the feature combination” (See [0237] a network may pre-configure multiple random access resources (e.g. preamble formats, preamble groups, random access channel occasions) associated with/mapped to multiple coverage enhancement (CE) levels. [0239] To differentiate or identify wireless devices of a first type (e.g., having a first CE level, or having a first capability such as reduced capability UEs or the enhanced UEs that support Rel-17 coverage enhancement) during initial access, the scheduler may configure separate random access resources mapped to different UE types (e.g., CE levels or capabilities), for example, separate time/frequency resources for RACH occasions and/or preambles. [0257] The first RACH resource set may comprise the first preamble and/or a first RACH occasion. [0262] The second RACH resource set may comprise the first preamble and/or a first RACH occasion).
LIU discloses associating different UE feature combinations with different RACH resource sets, and Rastegardoost discloses that a RACH resource set comprises at least one random access preamble and at least one RACH occasion, and further teaches configuring different RACH resource sets for different coverage enhancement levels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of LIU with the teachings of Rastegardoost by implementing the feature-based RACH mapping using well defined RACH resource set configurations comprising preambles and RACH occasions, and the motivation to do so would have been to provide differentiated, reliable and operable random access, and enable/enhance successful/efficient/reliable/low latency communication based on the category requirements (Rastegardoost [0235]).
Regarding claim 2,
LIU in view of Rastegardoost discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein the performing comprises; identifying a RACH occasion and a random access preamble from the determined set of random access resources; and transmitting, to the BS, the random access preamble on the RACH occasion” (See Rastegardoost [0229] The wireless device, based on the RA resource selection, may transmit the preamble using the selected RACH occasion. [0260] In response to determining the first CE level, the wireless device may select random access resources (e.g. preamble/RO/PO) from the first RACH resource set associated with the second SSB to initiate the random access procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of LIU with the teachings of Rastegardoost, and the motivation to do so would have been to provide differentiated, reliable and operable random access, and enable/enhance successful/efficient/reliable/low latency communication based on the category requirements (Rastegardoost [0235]).
Regarding claim 15,
LIU discloses “A method performed by a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system” (See [0003] method related to wireless communication, for performing random access in a wireless communication system), “the method comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), at least one configuration for a random access” (See [0019] The UE 202 may obtain a plurality of random access channel resource sets, the plurality of random access channel resource sets may be configured by the WANN 204, and then the WANN 204 may transmit the plurality of random access channel resource sets to the UE 202), “wherein each of the at least one configuration associates a set of random access resources with a feature combination” (See [0035] according to the feature information of the UE 202, the UE 202 may be classified as one of the following classifications of user equipment: a full capability UE without enabling coverage enhancement, a full capability UE enabling coverage enhancement, a reduced capability UE without enabling coverage enhancement or coverage recovery, a reduced capability UE enabling coverage recovery, or a reduced capability UE enabling coverage enhancement and coverage recovery. [0036] The UE 202 may be configured with a RACH resource set configuration option. The RACH resource set configuration option may include mapping information between the random access channel resource sets and classifications of user equipment. See tables 2A-2H), “wherein a feature in the feature combination corresponds to any one of a plurality of values including reduced capability, small data transmission, or msg3-repetition” (See [0035] according to the feature information of the UE 202, the UE 202 may be classified as one of the following classifications of user equipment: a full capability UE without enabling coverage enhancement, a full capability UE enabling coverage enhancement, a reduced capability UE without enabling coverage enhancement or coverage recovery, a reduced capability UE enabling coverage recovery, or a reduced capability UE enabling coverage enhancement and coverage recovery. See tables 2A-2H. [0044] to improve the transmission performance of Msg3, the UE 202 may repetitively transmit the Msg3 for multiple times. Note: LIU discloses the UE features include reduced capability and coverage enhancement, and also discloses the UE enabling Msg3 repetition, and a POSITA would have understood Msg3 repetition to be included among the coverage enhancement features available to the UE); “and wherein a set of random access resources is determined from the at least one configuration, by the UE, based on a feature combination of the UE” (See [0033] the UE 202 may select the first random access channel resource set from the plurality of random access channel resource sets based on a feature information of the UE 202); “and receiving at least one random access preamble for a random access procedure, from the UE, wherein the random access procedure is based on the determined set of random access resources” (See [0040] after selecting the first random access channel resource set, the UE 202 may perform a random access to the wireless communication network 200 by transmitting a random access preamble, i.e., Msg1 on the first random access channel resource set to the WANN 204).
LIU does not explicitly disclose that the set of random-access resources comprise a random-access preamble and a random-access occasion.
However, Rastegardoost discloses “wherein the set of random access resources comprises at least one random access preamble and at least one random access channel (RACH) occasion, associated with the feature combination” (See [0237] a network may pre-configure multiple random-access resources (e.g. preamble formats, preamble groups, random access channel occasions) associated with/mapped to multiple coverage enhancement (CE) levels. [0239] To differentiate or identify wireless devices of a first type (e.g., having a first CE level, or having a first capability such as reduced capability UEs or the enhanced UEs that support Rel-17 coverage enhancement) during initial access, the scheduler may configure separate random access resources mapped to different UE types (e.g., CE levels or capabilities), for example, separate time/frequency resources for RACH occasions and/or preambles. [0257] The first RACH resource set may comprise the first preamble and/or a first RACH occasion. [0262] The second RACH resource set may comprise the first preamble and/or a first RACH occasion).
LIU discloses associating different UE feature combinations with different RACH resource sets, and Rastegardoost discloses that a RACH resource set comprises at least one random access preamble and at least one RACH occasion, and further teaches configuring different RACH resource sets for different coverage enhancement levels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of LIU with the teachings of Rastegardoost by implementing the feature-based RACH mapping using well defined RACH resource set configurations comprising preambles and RACH occasions, and the motivation to do so would have been to provide differentiated, reliable and operable random access, and enable/enhance successful/efficient/reliable/low latency communication based on the category requirements (Rastegardoost [0235]).
Regarding claim 16,
LIU in view of Rastegardoost discloses “The method of claim 15, wherein the receiving comprises receiving, from the UE, a random access preamble on a RACH occasion, and wherein the RACH occasion and the random access preamble are identified from the determined set of random access resources” (See Rastegardoost [0229] The wireless device, based on the RA resource selection, may transmit the preamble using the selected RACH occasion. [0260] In response to determining the first CE level, the wireless device may select random access resources (e.g. preamble/RO/PO) from the first RACH resource set associated with the second SSB to initiate the random access procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of LIU with the teachings of Rastegardoost, and the motivation to do so would have been to provide differentiated, reliable and operable random access, and enable/enhance successful/efficient/reliable/low latency communication based on the category requirements (Rastegardoost [0235]).
Regarding claim 19,
LIU discloses “A user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the UE to” (See Fig. 2, UE 202): “receive, from a base station (BS), at least one configuration for a random access” (See [0019] The UE 202 may obtain a plurality of random access channel resource sets, the plurality of random access channel resource sets may be configured by the WANN 204, and then the WANN 204 may transmit the plurality of random access channel resource sets to the UE 202), “wherein each of the at least one configuration associates a set of random access resources with a feature combination” (See [0035] according to the feature information of the UE 202, the UE 202 may be classified as one of the following classifications of user equipment: a full capability UE without enabling coverage enhancement, a full capability UE enabling coverage enhancement, a reduced capability UE without enabling coverage enhancement or coverage recovery, a reduced capability UE enabling coverage recovery, or a reduced capability UE enabling coverage enhancement and coverage recovery. [0036] The UE 202 may be configured with a RACH resource set configuration option. The RACH resource set configuration option may include mapping information between the random access channel resource sets and classifications of user equipment. See tables 2A-2H), “and wherein a feature in the feature combination corresponds to any one of a plurality of values including reduced capability, small data transmission, or msg3-repetition” (See [0035] according to the feature information of the UE 202, the UE 202 may be classified as one of the following classifications of user equipment: a full capability UE without enabling coverage enhancement, a full capability UE enabling coverage enhancement, a reduced capability UE without enabling coverage enhancement or coverage recovery, a reduced capability UE enabling coverage recovery, or a reduced capability UE enabling coverage enhancement and coverage recovery. See tables 2A-2H. [0044] to improve the transmission performance of Msg3, the UE 202 may repetitively transmit the Msg3 for multiple times. Note: LIU discloses the UE features include reduced capability and coverage enhancement, and also discloses the UE enabling Msg3 repetition, and a POSITA would have understood Msg3 repetition to be included among the coverage enhancement features available to the UE); “determine a set of random access resources from the at least one configuration, based on a feature combination of the UE” (See [0033] the UE 202 may select the first random access channel resource set from the plurality of random access channel resource sets based on a feature information of the UE 202); “and perform a random access procedure, based on the determined set of random access resources” (See [0040] after selecting the first random access channel resource set, the UE 202 may perform a random access to the wireless communication network 200 by transmitting a random access preamble, i.e., Msg1 on the first random access channel resource set to the WANN 204).
LIU does not explicitly disclose that the set of random-access resources comprise a random-access preamble and a random-access occasion.
However, Rastegardoost discloses “wherein the set of random access resources comprises at least one random access preamble and at least one random access channel (RACH) occasion, associated with the feature combination” (See [0237] a network may pre-configure multiple random-access resources (e.g. preamble formats, preamble groups, random access channel occasions) associated with/mapped to multiple coverage enhancement (CE) levels. [0239] To differentiate or identify wireless devices of a first type (e.g., having a first CE level, or having a first capability such as reduced capability UEs or the enhanced UEs that support Rel-17 coverage enhancement) during initial access, the scheduler may configure separate random access resources mapped to different UE types (e.g., CE levels or capabilities), for example, separate time/frequency resources for RACH occasions and/or preambles. [0257] The first RACH resource set may comprise the first preamble and/or a first RACH occasion. [0262] The second RACH resource set may comprise the first preamble and/or a first RACH occasion).
LIU discloses associating different UE feature combinations with different RACH resource sets, and Rastegardoost discloses that a RACH resource set comprises at least one random access preamble and at least one RACH occasion, and further teaches configuring different RACH resource sets for different coverage enhancement levels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of LIU with the teachings of Rastegardoost by implementing the feature-based RACH mapping using well defined RACH resource set configurations comprising preambles and RACH occasions, and the motivation to do so would have been to provide differentiated, reliable and operable random access, and enable/enhance successful/efficient/reliable/low latency communication based on the category requirements (Rastegardoost [0235]).
Regarding claim 20,
LIU in view of Rastegardoost discloses “The UE of claim 19, wherein the UE is further caused to: identify a RACH occasion and a random access preamble from the determined set of random access resources; and transmit, to the BS, the random access preamble on the RACH occasion” (See Rastegardoost [0229] The wireless device, based on the RA resource selection, may transmit the preamble using the selected RACH occasion. [0260] In response to determining the first CE level, the wireless device may select random access resources (e.g. preamble/RO/PO) from the first RACH resource set associated with the second SSB to initiate the random access procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of LIU with the teachings of Rastegardoost, and the motivation to do so would have been to provide differentiated, reliable and operable random access, and enable/enhance successful/efficient/reliable/low latency communication based on the category requirements (Rastegardoost [0235]).
Regarding claim 23,
LIU discloses “A base station (BS) in a wireless communication system, the BS comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the BS to” (See Fig. 2, WANN 204): “transmit, to a user equipment (UE), at least one configuration for a random access” (See [0019] The UE 202 may obtain a plurality of random access channel resource sets, the plurality of random access channel resource sets may be configured by the WANN 204, and then the WANN 204 may transmit the plurality of random access channel resource sets to the UE 202), “wherein each of the at least one configuration associates a set of random access resources with a feature combination” (See [0035] according to the feature information of the UE 202, the UE 202 may be classified as one of the following classifications of user equipment: a full capability UE without enabling coverage enhancement, a full capability UE enabling coverage enhancement, a reduced capability UE without enabling coverage enhancement or coverage recovery, a reduced capability UE enabling coverage recovery, or a reduced capability UE enabling coverage enhancement and coverage recovery. [0036] The UE 202 may be configured with a RACH resource set configuration option. The RACH resource set configuration option may include mapping information between the random access channel resource sets and classifications of user equipment. See tables 2A-2H), “wherein a feature in the feature combination corresponds to any one of a plurality of values including reduced capability, small data transmission, or msg3-repetition” (See [0035] according to the feature information of the UE 202, the UE 202 may be classified as one of the following classifications of user equipment: a full capability UE without enabling coverage enhancement, a full capability UE enabling coverage enhancement, a reduced capability UE without enabling coverage enhancement or coverage recovery, a reduced capability UE enabling coverage recovery, or a reduced capability UE enabling coverage enhancement and coverage recovery. See tables 2A-2H. [0044] to improve the transmission performance of Msg3, the UE 202 may repetitively transmit the Msg3 for multiple times. Note: LIU discloses the UE features include reduced capability and coverage enhancement, and also discloses the UE enabling Msg3 repetition, and a POSITA would have understood Msg3 repetition to be included among the coverage enhancement features available to the UE), “and wherein a set of random access resources is determined from the at least one configuration, by the UE, based on a feature combination of the UE” (See [0033] the UE 202 may select the first random access channel resource set from the plurality of random access channel resource sets based on a feature information of the UE 202); “and receive at least one random access preamble for a random access procedure, from the UE, wherein the random access procedure is based on the determined set of random access resources” (See [0040] after selecting the first random access channel resource set, the UE 202 may perform a random access to the wireless communication network 200 by transmitting a random access preamble, i.e., Msg1 on the first random access channel resource set to the WANN 204).
LIU does not explicitly disclose that the set of random-access resources comprise a random-access preamble and a random-access occasion.
However, Rastegardoost discloses “wherein the set of random access resources comprises at least one random access preamble and at least one random access channel (RACH) occasion, associated with the feature combination” (See [0237] a network may pre-configure multiple random-access resources (e.g. preamble formats, preamble groups, random access channel occasions) associated with/mapped to multiple coverage enhancement (CE) levels. [0239] To differentiate or identify wireless devices of a first type (e.g., having a first CE level, or having a first capability such as reduced capability UEs or the enhanced UEs that support Rel-17 coverage enhancement) during initial access, the scheduler may configure separate random access resources mapped to different UE types (e.g., CE levels or capabilities), for example, separate time/frequency resources for RACH occasions and/or preambles. [0257] The first RACH resource set may comprise the first preamble and/or a first RACH occasion. [0262] The second RACH resource set may comprise the first preamble and/or a first RACH occasion).
LIU discloses associating different UE feature combinations with different RACH resource sets, and Rastegardoost discloses that a RACH resource set comprises at least one random access preamble and at least one RACH occasion, and further teaches configuring different RACH resource sets for different coverage enhancement levels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of LIU with the teachings of Rastegardoost by implementing the feature-based RACH mapping using well defined RACH resource set configurations comprising preambles and RACH occasions, and the motivation to do so would have been to provide differentiated, reliable and operable random access, and enable/enhance successful/efficient/reliable/low latency communication based on the category requirements (Rastegardoost [0235]).
Regarding claim 24,
LIU in view of Rastegardoost discloses “The BS of claim 23, wherein the BS is further caused to receive, from the UE, a random access preamble on a RACH occasion, and wherein the RACH occasion and the random access preamble are identified from the determined set of random access resources” (See Rastegardoost [0229] The wireless device, based on the RA resource selection, may transmit the preamble using the selected RACH occasion. [0260] In response to determining the first CE level, the wireless device may select random access resources (e.g. preamble/RO/PO) from the first RACH resource set associated with the second SSB to initiate the random access procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of LIU with the teachings of Rastegardoost, and the motivation to do so would have been to provide differentiated, reliable and operable random access, and enable/enhance successful/efficient/reliable/low latency communication based on the category requirements (Rastegardoost [0235]).
Claims 3, 17, 21 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (US 20220369388 A1) in view of Rastegardoost et al. (US 20230060894 A1) and further in view of PARK (US 20230007702 A1).
Regarding claims 3, 17, 21 and 25,
LIU in view of Rastegardoost discloses claim 3 of “The method of claim 1”, claim 17 of “The method of claim 15”, claim 21 of “The UE of claim 19” and claim 25 of “The BS of claim 23”, but does not explicitly disclose that for more than RACH occasions corresponding to a SSB, allocating at least one RACH occasion for a specific combination.
However, PARK discloses “in case that more than one RACH occasion corresponds to a synchronization signal block (SSB) at least one RACH occasion of the more than one RACH occasion is allocated for a specific feature combination” (See [0218] The UE may select one or more ROs to be used for repetitive transmission of a random access preamble from among ROs associated with the selected single SSB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of LIU and Rastegardoost, with the teachings of PARK to implement the feature-based RACH resource differentiation by allocating at least a RACH occasion corresponding to an SSB, thereby ensuring operable beam-aligned random access.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 18, 22 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SALMA AYAD/Examiner, Art Unit 2462
/YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462