DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 3 and 5 have been amended. Claims 1-6 and 8-9 are currently pending and under examination.
The 112(b) rejection is withdrawn, as applicants have deleted the limitation in question.
The prior art rejections, as set forth in the previous office action, are deemed proper and are therefore maintained.
The texts of those sections of Title 35 U.S. Code are not included in this section and can be found in a prior Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FR 2608616 in view of JP 2014-210904, and further in view of Zeng (US 2014/0044918).
FR ‘616 teaches a polyphenylene oxide resin composition comprising an inorganic filler, which can be used to form a printed circuit wiring substrate, the composition comprising 10-95 parts of polyphenylene oxide; 1-90 parts of at least one crosslinking polymer, such as styrene butadiene copolymer, a crosslinking monomer, such as triallyl isocyanurate, or mixture thereof, which meets applicants’ (B) curing agent; and from 1-200 parts by weight of an inorganic filler of a high relative dielectric constant to be more than 10 (p. 5, l. 205). FR ‘616 teaches the mineral filler to include silicon dioxide, where titanium dioxide is listed as an alternative, as well as barium titanate, strontium titanate, calcium titanate, etc. (p. 3, l. 120 to p. 4).
JP ‘904 teaches an insulating resin composition for a printed wiring board having low thermal expansion and dielectric loss coefficients, teaching that these properties can be obtained by mixing a first inorganic filler having a low thermal expansion coefficient and a second inorganic filler having a low dielectric loss coefficient, where the first inorganic filler is listed to include silica, and the second inorganic filler is listed to include barium and calcium titanates. JP ‘904 teaches the ratio of first filler to second filler as 1:0.5 to 1.5, which is the same as about 67:33 to 40:60, teaching that when the ratio is outside of this range, the dielectric loss rate and the thermal expansion coefficient can both be kept low.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a combination of silica and calcium titanate as the inorganic filler in FR ‘616, as JP ‘904 teaches that such a combination allows for a low coefficient of thermal expansion, which is similarly desired by FR ‘616 (p. 12, l. 486 and Tables).
Strontium titanate is a functional equivalent of calcium titanate, as taught by FR ‘616, above; therefore, choosing a combination of strontium titanate and silica is prima facie obvious.
FR ‘616 does not teach the structure of the PPO, as claimed.
Zheng teaches that polyphenylene ether resins have good dielectric properties and heat resistance, making them suitable for use in printed circuit substrates; however, because of their high melting point and poor flowability, their applications are limited, particularly in multilayer printed circuit boards (p. 1, [0004]). Zheng teaches that by reducing the molecular weight, flowability can be improved, but heat resistance is impaired (Id.). Zheng goes onto to teach that by using a vinylphenyl functionalized polyphenylene ether resin, a prepreg and laminate having excellent dielectric properties and high glass transition temperature can be prepared; however, because this composition uses isocyanuric acid triallyl (TAIC) as the crosslinking agent, it is not good for stably manufacturing prepregs and laminates due to its low molecular weight and is easily volatilized.
Zheng teaches that by using a functionalized polyphenylene ether having unsaturated double bonds at the molecule terminal and an olefin crosslinking agent, such as styrene-butadiene, a composition having excellent dielectric properties, good heat resistance and moisture resistance which is fit for multilayered printed circuit boards can be provided (p. 11, [0092]).
Zheng teaches the polyphenylene ether resin as being functionalized with one of the following terminal groups (p. 3, [0031]):
.
Zheng teaches the crosslinking agent to include styrene butadiene copolymers (p. 6, [0048]-[0049]) and the filler to include silica and barium titanate (p. 7, [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used the functionalized polyphenylene ether of Zheng in place of the polyphenylene ether and TAIC of FR ‘616, as Zheng teaches that the elimination of the TAIC reduces volatility, improves peel strength, while providing a composition having excellent dielectric properties, which is similarly desired by FR ‘616.
While the examiner recognizes that JP ‘904 uses an epoxy resin, Zheng teaches that epoxy resins have relatively high dielectric constants and dielectric loss tangent, inadequate high-frequency characteristics, teaching that polyphenylene ether resins have better dielectric properties (p. 1, [0004]), which is confirmed by FR ‘616. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the combination of a high dielectric filler with low dielectric loss and silica, with a low thermal expansion to provide the same effects in the polyphenylene ether of FR ‘616 as that of the epoxy resin in JP ‘904, as these are known resins and fillers used in the art for resin compositions of printed circuit boards.
FR ‘616 in view of JP ‘904, and further in view of Zheng is prima facie obvious over instant claim 1.
As to claim 2 , FR ‘616 teaches the inorganic filler having a dielectric constant greater than 10 to include strontium titanate (K=300) and calcium titanate (K>10,000) (p. 4, l. 132).
As to claims 3 and 5, FR ‘616 teaches that the filler can include a mixture of two or more of the mineral fillers. Strontium titanate and calcium titanate are viewed as functional equivalents; therefore, using a mixture of strontium titanate and calcium titanate as the high dielectric filler is prima facie obvious.
As to claim 4, FR ‘616 teaches the curing agent to include modified polybutadiene, allyl compounds, acrylate compounds, etc. (p. 3, l. 101).
As to claim 6, FR ‘616 teaches treating the inorganic filler with a silane or titanium coupling agent (p. 5, l. 196).
As to claim 8, FR ‘616 teaches that the unfilled composition has a dielectric constant of 2.6 and a dissipation fact of 0.002, whereas that comprising 255 parts barium titanate has a dielectric constant of 9.2 and a dissipation factor of 0.009 (p. 5, l. 216 to p. 6). FR ‘616 teaches that in consideration of the relative dielectric constant of 2000 of barium titanate itself, the relative dielectric constant of the composition obtained can be adjusted in practice by means of the composition ratio of barium titanate, that is, of the inorganic filler, teaching that in other words, the composition ratio of the inorganic filler with respect to the PPO resin composition should be selected for obtained a desired relative dielectric constant (Id.).
Therefore, choosing a dielectric constant between 2.6-9.2 is prima facie obvious, and overlaps with the claimed range of 3.5-7, and it has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness.
As to claim 9, FR ‘616 teaches that the composition is suitable for use as a substrate for printed wiring. While FR ‘616 does not teach the use of the composition specifically as an insulating layer between 10 or more wiring layers, this is an intended use.
During examination, statements reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. See MPEP 2111.02 (II).
The claimed intended use does not result in a structural difference between the composition of the claimed invention and that of the prior art; therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the composition of FR ‘616 in view of JP ‘904 and further in view of Zheng to be suitable for use as an insulating layer between 10 or more wiring layers, as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the instant invention have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on CN ‘739, which was specifically challenged in the argument.
However, the above rejection is being reapplied from a previous office action, mailed February 12, 2025. Applicant’s arguments are reconsidered from the response filed May 12, 2025, below:
Applicants argue that JP ‘904 fails to teach or suggest the use of strontium titanate particles and a silica together.
The examiner agrees; however, strontium titanate, calcium titanate and barium titanate are viewed as functionally equivalent fillers with high dielectric constant in the art of printed circuit boards; therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the same effect when using a combination of calcium titanate and silica as strontium titanate and silica.
Applicants examples also confirm the functional equivalency of strontium titanate and calcium titanate. Compare instant Examples 3 and 7.
Applicants argue that JP ‘904 desires to achieve improvement in the modulus of the board and low dielectric loss characteristics at the same time, unlike the present invention which desires a cured product having a high relative dielectric constant, a low dielectric loss tangent and excellent heat resistance.
Applicants measure heat resistance by the amount of delamination after exposure to heat. Applicants show that the cured product with the lowest coefficient of thermal expansion have the highest heat resistance. This is expected, as a higher coefficient of thermal expansion would result in greater warpage of the layers resulting in delamination. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compositions of JP ‘904 to also possess excellent heat resistance.
Conclusion
/Brieann R Johnston/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766