DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. in view of Wang et al. US 20190283578 A1.
Regarding independent claim 1, Ahn et al. discloses [an electric drive module, comprising a differential 20 providing output torque to two drive shafts OS1, OS2,] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0041) [an electric drive motor MG,] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0045) [an electric torque vectoring motor TVCM,] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0041) and [a pinion DG, in which the pinion is drivingly connected to the differential, via a reduction gear 10.] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0047; As shown in Fig. 1, Ahn et al. illustrates a drive pinion that connects the motor MG to the speed reduction unit 10, which is further connected to the differential unit 20.)
Ahn et al. does not disclose wherein the pinion is configured to receive drive torque from a prop shaft.
Wang et al. teaches [wherein the pinion is configured to receive drive torque from a prop shaft;] (Fig. 1-2; Paragraph 0060; Wang et al. discloses a drivetrain configuration in which a prop shaft 2001 transmits torque into a gear system. In particular, it is described that a prop shaft 2001 is connected at a front end to a universal transmission device 2002 and at a rear end to another universal transmission device 2003. The rear universal transmission device 2003 is further connected to an output shaft 3205, which in turn is connected to a sun gear 3203. This arrangement demonstrates that rotational torque is delivered from the prop shaft through intermediate transmission components to a gear element. The sun gear 3203 functions as an input gear within a planetary gear set and receives torque from the output shaft, thus transmitting that torque into the gear train.) [wherein the prop shaft extends between a first axle 1003, 1004 and a second axle 3701, 3702 of a vehicle;] (Fig. 1-2; Paragraph 0060) [a first axle, a second axle, and the prop shaft extending between the first axle and the second axle, and wherein the prop shaft connects to and receives the drive torque from the first axle.] (Fig. 1-2; Paragraph 0060)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the prop shaft torque input arrangement of Wang et al. with the electric drive module of Ahn et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for transmission of drive torque from a remote power source to the pinion through a conventional prop shaft and associated drivetrain components, thus enabling greater flexibility in drivetrain layout and component packaging.
Regarding claim 3, Ahn et al., as modified, further discloses [wherein the electric torque vectoring motor TVCM is arranged off-axis.] (Fig. 1 of Ahn et al.; As shown in Fig. 1, Ahn et al. illustrates wherein the electric torque vectoring motor TVCM is arranged off-axis from the drive shaft OS1, OS2 axis.)
Regarding claim 4, Ahn et al., as modified, further discloses [wherein the electric torque vectoring motor is arranged in parallel with, but at a distance from, the two drive shafts OS1, OS2.] (Fig. 1 of Ahn et al.; As shown in Fig. 1, Ahn et al. illustrates wherein the electric torque vectoring motor TVCM is arranged off-axis, but at a distance form, the drive shafts OS1, OS2.)
Regarding claim 6, Ahn et al., as modified, further discloses [wherein the electric drive module further comprises a disconnect arranged between the electric drive motor and the differential.] (Fig. 1 of Ahn et al.; Paragraph 0054 of Ahn et al.; Ahn et al. discloses a disconnect SL positioned between the motor MG and the differential unit 20, which allows torque to be connected/disconnected between the motor and the differential.)
Regarding claim 7, Ahn et al., as modified, further discloses [wherein the electric torque vectoring motor TVCM is connected to one of the drive shafts OS2 as well as to the differential 20 via a double planetary gear set PG1, PG2] (Fig. 1 of Ahn et al.; Paragraph 0073 of Ahn et al.; As shown in Fig. 1, Ahn et al. illustrates wherein the first double planetary gear set PG1 is connected to the torque vectoring motor TVCM through an output gear OG and the first planetary gear PG1 is further mounted onto the right-side drive shaft OS2. The first planetary gear PG1 is also connected to the second planetary gear PG2 via a first connecting member CN1. This second planetary gear is attached to the differential unit. Therefore, connecting the electric torque vectoring motor TVCM to a drive shaftOS2 as well as the differential 20 through the planetary gear sets PG1, PG2.)
Regarding claim 8, Ahn et al., as modified, further discloses [wherein a vehicle, comprising an electric drive module.] (Fig. 1 of Ahn et al.; Paragraph 0043 of Ahn et al.)
Regarding claim 11, Ahn et al., as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitations, including the prop shaft arrangement recited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 13, Ahn et al., as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitations, including [wherein the electric drive module is provided on the second axle OS1, OS2] (Fig. 1 of Ahn et al.; Paragraph 0044 of Ahn et al.) and the first axle, second axle, and prop shaft configuration recited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claims 2, 5, 9-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. and Wang et al. and further in view of Bando US 20190176609 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Ahn et al., as modified, discloses [an electric drive motor MG.] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0045)
Ahn et al., as modified, does not disclose wherein the electric drive motor is arranged coaxially with the two drive shafts.
Bando teaches [wherein the electric drive motor is arranged coaxially with the two drive shafts.] (Fig. 2; As shown in Fig. 2, Bando illustrates an electric drive motor 3 that is coaxial with both the drive shafts DRL, DRR.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the coaxial of motor arrangement of Bando with the electric drive module of Ahn et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a more compact drivetrain layout by aligning the motor with the drive shaft, thus reducing complexity and mechanical losses.
Regarding claim 5, Ahn et al., as modified, does not disclose wherein the electric drive motor is drivingly connected to the differential via a planetary gear set.
Bando teaches [wherein the electric drive motor is drivingly connected to the differential via a planetary gear set;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0067; Bando discloses that a planetary gear set PS is mechanically connected to the motor 3 and the carrier C of the planetary gear set is connected to the differential RrD. Thus, drivingly connecting the rear motor 3 to the differential RrD through the planetary gear set PS and the carrier C.) [wherein the differential is configured to receive drive torque from the electric drive motor via the planetary gear set.] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0067)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the planetary gear set connection of Bando with the electric drive module of Ahn et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for effective torque and speed reduction in a compact configuration, thus improving driveline efficiency and packaging flexibility.
Regarding claim 9, Ahn et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the electric torque vectoring motor TVCM is arranged off-axis.] (Fig. 1 of Ahn et al.; As shown in Fig. 1, Ahn et al. illustrates wherein the electric torque vectoring motor TVCM is arranged off-axis from the drive shaft OS1, OS2 axis.)
Regarding claim 10, Ahn et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the electric torque vectoring motor is arranged in parallel with, but at a distance from, the two drive shafts OS1, OS2.] (Fig. 1 of Ahn et al.; As shown in Fig. 1, Ahn et al. illustrates wherein the electric torque vectoring motor TVCM is arranged off-axis, but at a distance form, the drive shafts OS1, OS2.)
Regarding claim 12, Ahn et al., as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitations, including [wherein the differential is configured to receive drive torque from the prop shaft via the pinion] (Fig. 1-2 of Wang et al.; Paragraph 0060 of Wang et al.; Wang et al. discloses a drivetrain configuration in which a prop shaft 2001 transmits torque into a gear system. In particular, it is described that a prop shaft 2001 is connected at a front end to a universal transmission device 2002 and at a rear end to another universal transmission device 2003. The rear universal transmission device 2003 is further connected to an output shaft 3205, which in turn is connected to a sun gear 3203. This arrangement demonstrates that rotational torque is delivered from the prop shaft through intermediate transmission components to a gear element. The sun gear 3203 functions as an input gear within a planetary gear set and receives torque from the output shaft, thus transmitting that torque into the gear train.) and the electric drive motors torque transfer to the planetary gear set recited in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 1-2 of Remarks, filed 03/17/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3-4, and 6-8 under 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Wang et al. US 20190283578 A1.
Applicant argues (Page 2, lines 5-11) that the cited prior art fails to disclose “a pinion configured to receive drive torque from a prop shaft,” and therefore asserts that independent claim 1 is not anticipated or rendered obvious by the applied references. In particular, Applicant argues that Ahn discloses a pinion that receives torque only from a motor-generator and not from a prop shaft. This argument is not persuasive. While Ahn discloses a pinion driven by a motor-generator, the rejection has been further support by Wang et al., which explicitly teaches a drivetrain configuration in which torque is transmitted from a prop shaft into a gear system. Wang discloses a prop shaft 2001 connected through universal transmission devices 2002, 2003 to an output shaft 3205, which is connected to a sun gear 3203. The sun gear receives torque from the prop shaft through these intermediate components and transmits power into a geartrain. The sun gear in Wang performs the same functional role as a pinion, namely receiving rotational input torque and transmitting it to other drivetrain components. Accordingly, Wang expressly teaches a gear element configured to receive drive torque from a prop shaft, as required by the claim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the prop shaft torque arrangement of Wang into the electric drive module of Ahn et al. because both references are directed to vehicle drivetrain systems and address the transmission of torque through gear mechanisms.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mohamed M Medani/Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611