DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. in view of Wang et al. US 20190283578 A1.
Regarding independent claim 1, Ahn et al. discloses [an electric drive module, comprising a differential 20 providing output torque to two drive shafts OS1, OS2,] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0041) [an electric drive motor MG,] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0045) [drivingly connected to the differential;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0042 and 0046) [an electric torque vectoring motor TVCM,] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0041) [drivingly connected to one of the two drive shafts and drivingly connected to the differential;] (Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0062, 0071, and 0076) and [a pinion DG, in which the pinion is drivingly connected to the differential, via a reduction gear 10.] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0047; As shown in Fig. 1, Ahn et al. illustrates a drive pinion that connects the motor MG to the speed reduction unit 10, which is further connected to the differential unit 20.)
Ahn et al. does not disclose wherein the pinion is configured to receive drive torque from a prop shaft.
Wang et al. teaches [wherein the pinion is configured to receive drive torque from a prop shaft;] (Fig. 1-2; Paragraph 0060; Wang et al. discloses a drivetrain configuration in which a prop shaft 2001 transmits torque into a gear system. In particular, it is described that a prop shaft 2001 is connected at a front end to a universal transmission device 2002 and at a rear end to another universal transmission device 2003. The rear universal transmission device 2003 is further connected to an output shaft 3205, which in turn is connected to a sun gear 3203. This arrangement demonstrates that rotational torque is delivered from the prop shaft through intermediate transmission components to a gear element. The sun gear 3203 functions as an input gear within a planetary gear set and receives torque from the output shaft, thus transmitting that torque into the gear train.) [wherein the prop shaft extends between a first axle 1003, 1004 and a second axle 3701, 3702 of a vehicle;] (Fig. 1-2; Paragraph 0060) [a first axle, a second axle, and the prop shaft extending between the first axle and the second axle, and wherein the prop shaft connects to and receives the drive torque from the first axle.] (Fig. 1-2; Paragraph 0060)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the prop shaft torque input arrangement of Wang et al. with the electric drive module of Ahn et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for transmission of drive torque from a remote power source to the pinion through a conventional prop shaft and associated drivetrain components, thus enabling greater flexibility in drivetrain layout and component packaging.
Regarding claim 3, Ahn et al., as modified, further discloses [wherein the electric torque vectoring motor TVCM is arranged off-axis.] (Fig. 1 of Ahn et al.; As shown in Fig. 1, Ahn et al. illustrates wherein the electric torque vectoring motor TVCM is arranged off-axis from the drive shaft OS1, OS2 axis.)
Regarding claim 4, Ahn et al., as modified, further discloses [wherein the electric torque vectoring motor is arranged in parallel with, but at a distance from, the two drive shafts OS1, OS2.] (Fig. 1 of Ahn et al.; As shown in Fig. 1, Ahn et al. illustrates wherein the electric torque vectoring motor TVCM is arranged off-axis, but at a distance form, the drive shafts OS1, OS2.)
Regarding claim 6, Ahn et al., as modified, further discloses [wherein the electric drive module further comprises a disconnect arranged between the electric drive motor and the differential.] (Fig. 1 of Ahn et al.; Paragraph 0054 of Ahn et al.; Ahn et al. discloses a disconnect SL positioned between the motor MG and the differential unit 20, which allows torque to be connected/disconnected between the motor and the differential.)
Regarding claim 7, Ahn et al., as modified, further discloses [wherein the electric torque vectoring motor TVCM is drivingly connected to one of the drive shafts OS2 as well as to the differential 20 via a double planetary gear set PG1, PG2] (Fig. 1 of Ahn et al.; Paragraph 0073 of Ahn et al.; As shown in Fig. 1, Ahn et al. illustrates wherein the first double planetary gear set PG1 is connected to the torque vectoring motor TVCM through an output gear OG and the first planetary gear PG1 is further mounted onto the right-side drive shaft OS2. The first planetary gear PG1 is also connected to the second planetary gear PG2 via a first connecting member CN1. This second planetary gear is attached to the differential unit. Therefore, connecting the electric torque vectoring motor TVCM to a drive shaft OS2 as well as the differential 20 through the planetary gear sets PG1, PG2.)
Regarding claim 8, Ahn et al., as modified, further discloses [wherein a vehicle, comprising an electric drive module.] (Fig. 1 of Ahn et al.; Paragraph 0043 of Ahn et al.)
Regarding claim 11, Ahn et al., as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitations, including the prop shaft arrangement recited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 13, Ahn et al., as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitations, including [wherein the electric drive module is provided on the second axle OS1, OS2] (Fig. 1 of Ahn et al.; Paragraph 0044 of Ahn et al.) and the first axle, second axle, and prop shaft configuration recited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claims 2, 5, 9-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. and Wang et al. and further in view of Bando US 20190176609 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Ahn et al., as modified, discloses [an electric drive motor MG.] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0045)
Ahn et al., as modified, does not disclose wherein the electric drive motor is arranged coaxially with the two drive shafts.
Bando teaches [wherein the electric drive motor is arranged coaxially with the two drive shafts.] (Fig. 2; As shown in Fig. 2, Bando illustrates an electric drive motor 3 that is coaxial with both the drive shafts DRL, DRR.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the coaxial of motor arrangement of Bando with the electric drive module of Ahn et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a more compact drivetrain layout by aligning the motor with the drive shaft, thus reducing complexity and mechanical losses.
Regarding claim 5, Ahn et al., as modified, does not disclose wherein the electric drive motor is drivingly connected to the differential via a planetary gear set.
Bando teaches [wherein the electric drive motor is drivingly connected to the differential via a planetary gear set;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0067; Bando discloses that a planetary gear set PS is mechanically connected to the motor 3 and the carrier C of the planetary gear set is connected to the differential RrD. Thus, drivingly connecting the rear motor 3 to the differential RrD through the planetary gear set PS and the carrier C.) [wherein the differential is configured to receive drive torque from the electric drive motor via the planetary gear set.] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0067)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the planetary gear set connection of Bando with the electric drive module of Ahn et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for effective torque and speed reduction in a compact configuration, thus improving driveline efficiency and packaging flexibility.
Regarding claim 9, Ahn et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the electric torque vectoring motor TVCM is arranged off-axis.] (Fig. 1 of Ahn et al.; As shown in Fig. 1, Ahn et al. illustrates wherein the electric torque vectoring motor TVCM is arranged off-axis from the drive shaft OS1, OS2 axis.)
Regarding claim 10, Ahn et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the electric torque vectoring motor is arranged in parallel with, but at a distance from, the two drive shafts OS1, OS2.] (Fig. 1 of Ahn et al.; As shown in Fig. 1, Ahn et al. illustrates wherein the electric torque vectoring motor TVCM is arranged off-axis, but at a distance form, the drive shafts OS1, OS2.)
Regarding claim 12, Ahn et al., as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitations, including [wherein the differential is configured to receive drive torque from the prop shaft via the pinion] (Fig. 1-2 of Wang et al.; Paragraph 0060 of Wang et al.; Wang et al. discloses a drivetrain configuration in which a prop shaft 2001 transmits torque into a gear system. In particular, it is described that a prop shaft 2001 is connected at a front end to a universal transmission device 2002 and at a rear end to another universal transmission device 2003. The rear universal transmission device 2003 is further connected to an output shaft 3205, which in turn is connected to a sun gear 3203. This arrangement demonstrates that rotational torque is delivered from the prop shaft through intermediate transmission components to a gear element. The sun gear 3203 functions as an input gear within a planetary gear set and receives torque from the output shaft, thus transmitting that torque into the gear train.) and the electric drive motors torque transfer to the planetary gear set recited in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments (Page 4-5 on Remarks) filed 06/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (Page 4-5 on Remarks) that Ahn fails to disclose “an electric torque vectoring motor, drivingly connected to one of the two drive shafts and drivingly connected to the differential,” because the torque vectoring motor (TVCM) drives the ring gear (N6) of the planetary gearset (PG2), which drives the output shaft (OS2), but allegedly does not drive the differential. This argument is not persuasive. Ahn discloses a drivetrain in which the torque vectoring motor TVCM is mechanically coupled to the planetary gearset PG2 through the ring gear N6 (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0062, 0071, and 0076). The planetary gear set is mechanically integrated with the differential assembly such that torque transmitted through the planetary gear set is transferred within the differential drivetrain to the associated drive shaft. The claim merely requires that the torque vectoring motor to be drivingly connected to the differential; it does not require the torque vectoring motor to directly drive the differential or to serve as the primary input to the differential. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the phrase “drivingly connected “encompasses both direct and indirect mechanical connections through the intermediate drivetrain components, including gears and planetary gearsets. Since the torque vectoring motor transmits torque through the planetary gear set to components of the differential assembly and ultimately to the associated drive shaft, Ahn discloses a driving connection between the torque vectoring motor and the differential.
Conclusion
/Mohamed M Medani/Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/JACOB D KNUTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611