DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. This office action is in response to application number 18/283,003 filed on 09/20/2023, in which the amendments and arguments filed on 08/20/2025.
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-11, 13-15, 19, and 20 has been amended.
Claims 21-24 have been added.
Claims 2-3 and 16-18 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-11, 13-15, 19, and 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/20/2023 and 06/14/2024
have been received and considered.
Response to Amendment
4. Applicant' s amendments to the Claims have not overcome the rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 05/21/2025. Applicants arguments, see page 13-19 filed on 05/21/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 4-15 under 35 USC 112(f) are persuasive. Furthermore, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 20 under 35 USC 101 is persuasive, rejection(s) of claim 1-20 under USC 103 is also persuasive, and finally all objections have been persuasive. Therefore, a new grounds for rejection is made under 35 USC 103 as necessitated by amendment as being unpatentable over Jung (US 20160061613 A1) in view of Iida (US 20200408559 A1) further in view of Wan (US 11127373 B2) further in view of Osterhout (US 20120194551 A1) further in view of Mase (JP 2015217798 A) and further in view of Beaurepaire (US 20210389152 A1).
Examiner Notes
5. Examiner cites particular paragraphs (or columns and lines) in the references as applied to Applicant’s claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the Applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP §2163.06. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Claim Objections
6. Claim 15 and claim 23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 depends on cancelled claim 3.
Claim 23 reads “user% in response” this appears to be a typo and should read “user in response”.
Appropriate correction is required.
For purpose of examinations the examiner is rejecting claim 15 over Osterhout (US 20120194551 A1) because claim 15 is dependent on cancelled claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 19, and 20-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20160061613 A1) to Jung et al. (hereinafter Jung) in view of (US 20200408559 A1) to Iida et al. (hereinafter Iida) and further in view of (US 11127373 B2) to Wan et al. (hereinafter Wan).
Regarding claim 1, Jung discloses An information processing device comprising: circuitry configured to determine a movement state of a user, that indicates whether the user is in a manual driving state, an autonomous driving state, or a walking state, (Jung Paragraph 0023: “According to an example associated with the present disclosure, the controller may determine whether or not the user gets off the vehicle prior to arriving at the destination of the vehicle, and activate a pedestrian mode to output a walking direction to the destination of the vehicle through the output unit when the user gets off the vehicle prior to arriving at the destination of the vehicle.”) […] control to switch automatically, between a vehicle-mounted display and a user- wearable Augmented Reality (AR) device, to display navigation information based on the movement state of the user (Jung Paragraph 0023: “According to an example associated with the present disclosure, the controller may determine whether or not the user gets off the vehicle prior to arriving at the destination of the vehicle, and activate a pedestrian mode to output a walking direction to the destination of the vehicle through the output unit when the user gets off the vehicle prior to arriving at the destination of the vehicle.”) (Jung Paragraph 0027: “According to an example associated with the present disclosure, the controller may activate the pedestrian mode when the mobile terminal is away from the vehicle by more than a predetermined distance.”) (Jung Paragraph 0078: “FIGS. 16A through 16C are views illustrating a mobile terminal for providing a pedestrian mode according to an embodiment disclosed in the present disclosure.”) (Jung Paragraph 0230: “In such a manner, the image output through the display unit 251″ may be viewed while overlapping with the general visual field. The mobile terminal 200″ may provide an augmented reality (AR) by overlaying a virtual image on a realistic image or background using the display.”) (Jung Paragraph 0285: “In this case, the wearable device may include a communication unit that performs communication with the vehicle control apparatus installed in the vehicle and a body worn on the user's wrist portion and formed to always contact with the wrist portion.”) (Jung Paragraph 0387: “the vehicle control apparatus 400 is configured to include one first display unit D100 in front of the driver seat,”) (Jung Paragraph 0454: “All the functions (for example, including the navigation function) that are performed by the vehicle 400 described above are performed the mobile terminal 100 or the wearable device 200 that is connected to the vehicle control apparatus 400 in a wired or wireless manner.”) (Jung Paragraph 0455: “In addition, the vehicle control apparatus 400 and the mobile terminal 100 performs all the functions in cooperation with each other or in conjunction with each other.”) […] control to display the navigation information on the user-wearable AR device, under a condition that the determined movement state of the user is the walking state, (Jung Paragraph 0023: “According to an example associated with the present disclosure, the controller may determine whether or not the user gets off the vehicle prior to arriving at the destination of the vehicle, and activate a pedestrian mode to output a walking direction to the destination of the vehicle through the output unit when the user gets off the vehicle prior to arriving at the destination of the vehicle.”) (Jung Paragraph 0027: “According to an example associated with the present disclosure, the controller may activate the pedestrian mode when the mobile terminal is away from the vehicle by more than a predetermined distance.”) (Jung Paragraph 0078: “FIGS. 16A through 16C are views illustrating a mobile terminal for providing a pedestrian mode according to an embodiment disclosed in the present disclosure.”) (Jung Paragraph 0230: “In such a manner, the image output through the display unit 251″ may be viewed while overlapping with the general visual field. The mobile terminal 200″ may provide an augmented reality (AR) by overlaying a virtual image on a realistic image or background using the display.”) (Jung Paragraph 0285: “In this case, the wearable device may include a communication unit that performs communication with the vehicle control apparatus installed in the vehicle and a body worn on the user's wrist portion and formed to always contact with the wrist portion.”) (Jung Paragraph 0387: “the vehicle control apparatus 400 is configured to include one first display unit D100 in front of the driver seat,”) (Jung Paragraph 0454: “All the functions (for example, including the navigation function) that are performed by the vehicle 400 described above are performed the mobile terminal 100 or the wearable device 200 that is connected to the vehicle control apparatus 400 in a wired or wireless manner.”) (Jung Paragraph 0455: “In addition, the vehicle control apparatus 400 and the mobile terminal 100 performs all the functions in cooperation with each other or in conjunction with each other.”)
Jung does not teach […] determine whether a plurality of occupants is detected in a vehicle on which the user rides, in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state; […] and the determination of the plurality of occupants, […] control to display the navigation information on the vehicle-mounted display, under a condition that the plurality of occupants is detected in the vehicle in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state, and control to display the navigation information on the user-wearable AR device, under a condition that only the user is detected in the vehicle in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state.
However, Iida does teach […] determine whether a plurality of occupants is detected in a vehicle on which the user rides, in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state, (Iida Paragraph 0005: “The present disclosure provides a method for controlling a vehicle navigation system, the vehicle navigation system including: an in-vehicle camera configured to capture at least one occupant in a vehicle”) (Iida Paragraph 0027: “The vehicle C1 according to the first embodiment is not limited to a vehicle manually driven by a driver, and may be an automated driving vehicle.”) (Iida Paragraph 0035: “The camera CR performs an image processing on a captured image in the vehicle C1, and detects a destination of a line of sight (hereinafter, referred to as line-of-sight direction) of an occupant positioned in a driver seat (hereinafter, referred to as driver) among occupants in the vehicle C1.”) […] and the determination of the plurality of occupants, (Iida Paragraph 0005: “The present disclosure provides a method for controlling a vehicle navigation system, the vehicle navigation system including: an in-vehicle camera configured to capture at least one occupant in a vehicle”) (Iida Paragraph 0035: “The camera CR performs an image processing on a captured image in the vehicle C1, and detects a destination of a line of sight (hereinafter, referred to as line-of-sight direction) of an occupant positioned in a driver seat (hereinafter, referred to as driver) among occupants in the vehicle C1.”) […] control to display the navigation information on the vehicle-mounted display, under a condition that the plurality of occupants is detected in the vehicle in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state, (Iida Paragraph 0005: “The present disclosure provides a method for controlling a vehicle navigation system, the vehicle navigation system including: an in-vehicle camera configured to capture at least one occupant in a vehicle”) (Iida Paragraph 0027: “The vehicle C1 according to the first embodiment is not limited to a vehicle manually driven by a driver, and may be an automated driving vehicle.”) (Iida Paragraph 0035: “The camera CR is installed at a position where the occupant in the vehicle C1 can be captured, and is communicably connected to the in-vehicle device CN1. The camera CR performs an image processing on a captured image in the vehicle C1, and detects a destination of a line of sight (hereinafter, referred to as line-of-sight direction) of an occupant positioned in a driver seat (hereinafter, referred to as driver) among occupants in the vehicle C1. The camera CR transmits the captured image and the detected line-of-sight direction of the driver to the in-vehicle device CN1.”) (Iida Paragraph 0037: “The in-vehicle device CN1 generates, for example, information on a route to an optional destination set by the occupant and outputs the generated route information to a monitor 24.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung to include […] determine whether a plurality of occupants is detected in a vehicle on which the user rides, in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state, […] and the determination of the plurality of occupants, […] control to display the navigation information on the vehicle-mounted display, under a condition that the plurality of occupants is detected in the vehicle in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state, taught by Iida. This would have been for the benefit to perform the input operation and the information provision in consideration of safety according to the vehicle information and the traveling state of the vehicle. [Iida Paragraph 0006]
Iida does not teach […] and control to display the navigation information on the user-wearable AR device, under a condition that only the user is detected in the vehicle in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state.
However, Wan does teach […] and control to display the navigation information on the user-wearable AR device, under a condition that only the user is detected in the vehicle in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state. (Wan Column 2, line number 30-34: “The systems and methods disclosed herein describe a wearable integrated augmented reality (AR) system for a vehicle configured to display road-side information in front of the wearer's direct gaze when they are driving and/or riding in the vehicle,”) (Wan Column 5, line number 60-64: “The sensor(s) 125 may include any number of devices configured or programmed to generate signals that help navigate the vehicle 105 while operating in a manual and/or an autonomous (e.g., driverless) mode.”) (Wan Column 6, line number 37-40: “The AR controller 120, as described herein, may do this by receiving, from one or more integrated cameras (not shown in FIG. 1) associated with the AR wearable system 145, a video feed of the interior surfaces of the vehicle 105,”) (Wan Column 10, line number 34-42: “The occupant ID system 226 may identify one or more riders and/or drivers (collectively occupants) when they enter the vehicle, and retrieve occupant identifiers associated with the one or more occupants. The occupant ID system 226 may assign a unique ID to individual users such that the occupant identifier includes occupant-specific information that may be used to provide a unique AR experience to each vehicle occupant. Example information may include, for example, navigation preferences,”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung in view of Iida to include […] and control to display the navigation information on the user-wearable AR device, under a condition that only the user is detected in the vehicle in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state taught by Wan. This would have been for the benefit to provide The AR system may determine an identity of a user of the AR wearable system, and generate, based at least in part on the user ID associated with the user of the AR wearable device, a first virtual representation of the roadside object aligned with a GPS location and a direction of the vehicle. [Wan Column 2, line number 52-57]
Regarding claim 4, Jung discloses The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to control to display the navigation information indicating a traveling direction is superimposed on a real or on-screen roadway as the navigation to the user (Jung Paragraph 0262: “The vehicle control apparatus disclosed in the present specification is described below referring to FIGS. 6A to 8C.”) (Jung Paragraph 0391: “FIG. 8A illustrates a case where the vehicle control apparatus 400 is realized as in the form of an image display apparatus, a head unit of the vehicle, or a telematics terminal.”) (Jung Paragraph 0392: “As illustrated in FIG. 8A, a vehicle control apparatus 400′ is configured to include a main board 410′. A controller (for example, a central processing unit (CPU) 412′ that controls all operations of the vehicle control apparatus 400′, a program for processing or controlling the controller 412′, a key controller 411′ that controls various key signals, and an LCD controller 414′ that controls a liquid crystal display (LCD) are built into the main board 410′.”) (Jung Paragraph 0393: “Map information (map data) for displaying directions-suggestion information on a digital map is stored in the memory 413′.”) (Jung Paragraph 0443: “As illustrated in FIG. 8C, an icon I1 indicating a compass direction of the map is displayed on one region of the screen on the display unit to which a screen associated with the navigation function is provided. The map is displayed on the display unit to which the screen associated with the navigation function is provided, in such a manner that a specific direction (for example, the true north direction of the Earth), a moving direction of a moving object, a direction of the destination point”)
Jung does not teach in a case where the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state.
However, Iida does teach in a case where the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state. (Iida Paragraph 0027: “The vehicle C1 according to the first embodiment is not limited to a vehicle manually driven by a driver, and may be an automated driving vehicle.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung to include where the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state, taught by Iida. This would have been for the benefit to perform the input operation and the information provision in consideration of safety according to the vehicle information and the traveling state of the vehicle. [Iida Paragraph 0006]
Regarding claim 5, Jung discloses The information processing device according to claim 4, wherein the circuitry is configured to control to display, as the navigation information, traffic information regarding a destination or traffic information regarding a road on which the user is currently moving (Jung Paragraph 0262: “The vehicle control apparatus disclosed in the present specification is described below referring to FIGS. 6A to 8C.”) (Jung Paragraph 0391: “FIG. 8A illustrates a case where the vehicle control apparatus 400 is realized as in the form of an image display apparatus, a head unit of the vehicle, or a telematics terminal.”) (Jung Paragraph 0392: “As illustrated in FIG. 8A, a vehicle control apparatus 400′ is configured to include a main board 410′. A controller (for example, a central processing unit (CPU) 412′ that controls all operations of the vehicle control apparatus 400′, a program for processing or controlling the controller 412′, a key controller 411′ that controls various key signals, and an LCD controller 414′ that controls a liquid crystal display (LCD) are built into the main board 410′.”) (Jung Paragraph 0443: “As illustrated in FIG. 8C, an icon I1 indicating a compass direction of the map is displayed on one region of the screen on the display unit to which a screen associated with the navigation function is provided. The map is displayed on the display unit to which the screen associated with the navigation function is provided, in such a manner that a specific direction (for example, the true north direction of the Earth), a moving direction of a moving object, a direction of the destination point”) (Jung Paragraph 0445: “An icon I3 indicating whether or not a path search function is activated that is in accordance with Transport Portal Experts Group (TPEG) specifications for transmission of traffic information is displayed on one region of the screen on the display unit.”)
However, Iida does teach in a case where the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state. (Iida Paragraph 0027: “The vehicle C1 according to the first embodiment is not limited to a vehicle manually driven by a driver, and may be an automated driving vehicle.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung to include where the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state, taught by Iida. This would have been for the benefit to perform the input operation and the information provision in consideration of safety according to the vehicle information and the traveling state of the vehicle. [Iida Paragraph 0006]
Regarding claim 6, Jung discloses The information processing device according to claim 4, wherein the circuitry is configured to control to display, as the navigation information, vehicle information regarding the vehicle (Jung Paragraph 0041: “According to an example associated with the present disclosure, the vehicle information may be information associated with at least one of an air-conditioning function for the vehicle, whether or not a door is open or closed, whether or not a window is open or closed, whether or not a sunroof is open or closed, a battery charging state of the vehicle, a parking position of the vehicle, a navigation function provided in the vehicle, a theft state of the vehicle, and a fueling state of the vehicle.”) (Jung Paragraph 0433: “The image information (or directions-suggestion map) included in the direction-suggestion information generated by the controller 407 is displayed on the display unit 405″. At this point, the display unit 405 is configured to include the touch sensor (touch screen) and the proximity sensor. In addition, the directions-suggestion information includes not only the map data, but also the various types of information relating to driving, such as the traffic lane information, the speed limit information, the turn-by-turn (TBT) information, the traffic safety information, the traffic condition information, the vehicle information, the path-finding information and the like.”)
However, Iida does teach i on which the user rides in a case where the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state (Iida Paragraph 0027: “The vehicle C1 according to the first embodiment is not limited to a vehicle manually driven by a driver, and may be an automated driving vehicle.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung to include on which the user rides in a case where the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state, taught by Iida. This would have been for the benefit to perform the input operation and the information provision in consideration of safety according to the vehicle information and the traveling state of the vehicle. [Iida Paragraph 0006]
Regarding claim 7, The information processing device according to claim 6, wherein the vehicle information includes information on a speed or remaining energy of the vehicle. (Jung Paragraph 0359: “In addition, the vehicle information is configured to further include at least information relating to at least one, among current driving speed of the vehicle,”) (Jung Paragraph 0433: “The image information (or directions-suggestion map) included in the direction-suggestion information generated by the controller 407 is displayed on the display unit 405″. At this point, the display unit 405 is configured to include the touch sensor (touch screen) and the proximity sensor. In addition, the directions-suggestion information includes not only the map data, but also the various types of information relating to driving, such as the traffic lane information, the speed limit information, the turn-by-turn (TBT) information, the traffic safety information, the traffic condition information, the vehicle information, the path-finding information and the like.”)
Regarding claim 19, Jung discloses An information processing method comprising: (Jung Paragraph 0049: “A control method of a mobile terminal for providing a navigation function according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may include”) determining a movement state of a user, that indicates whether the user is in a manual driving state, an autonomous driving state, or a walking state; (Jung Paragraph 0023: “According to an example associated with the present disclosure, the controller may determine whether or not the user gets off the vehicle prior to arriving at the destination of the vehicle, and activate a pedestrian mode to output a walking direction to the destination of the vehicle through the output unit when the user gets off the vehicle prior to arriving at the destination of the vehicle.”) […] controlling to switch automatically, between a vehicle-mounted display and a user- wearable Augmented Reality (AR) device, to display navigation information based on the movement state of the user (Jung Paragraph 0023: “According to an example associated with the present disclosure, the controller may determine whether or not the user gets off the vehicle prior to arriving at the destination of the vehicle, and activate a pedestrian mode to output a walking direction to the destination of the vehicle through the output unit when the user gets off the vehicle prior to arriving at the destination of the vehicle.”) (Jung Paragraph 0027: “According to an example associated with the present disclosure, the controller may activate the pedestrian mode when the mobile terminal is away from the vehicle by more than a predetermined distance.”) (Jung Paragraph 0078: “FIGS. 16A through 16C are views illustrating a mobile terminal for providing a pedestrian mode according to an embodiment disclosed in the present disclosure.”) (Jung Paragraph 0230: “In such a manner, the image output through the display unit 251″ may be viewed while overlapping with the general visual field. The mobile terminal 200″ may provide an augmented reality (AR) by overlaying a virtual image on a realistic image or background using the display.”) (Jung Paragraph 0285: “In this case, the wearable device may include a communication unit that performs communication with the vehicle control apparatus installed in the vehicle and a body worn on the user's wrist portion and formed to always contact with the wrist portion.”) (Jung Paragraph 0387: “the vehicle control apparatus 400 is configured to include one first display unit D100 in front of the driver seat,”) (Jung Paragraph 0454: “All the functions (for example, including the navigation function) that are performed by the vehicle 400 described above are performed the mobile terminal 100 or the wearable device 200 that is connected to the vehicle control apparatus 400 in a wired or wireless manner.”) (Jung Paragraph 0455: “In addition, the vehicle control apparatus 400 and the mobile terminal 100 performs all the functions in cooperation with each other or in conjunction with each other.”) […] controlling to display the navigation information on the user-wearable AR device, under a condition that the determined movement state of the user is the walking state, (Jung Paragraph 0023: “According to an example associated with the present disclosure, the controller may determine whether or not the user gets off the vehicle prior to arriving at the destination of the vehicle, and activate a pedestrian mode to output a walking direction to the destination of the vehicle through the output unit when the user gets off the vehicle prior to arriving at the destination of the vehicle.”) (Jung Paragraph 0027: “According to an example associated with the present disclosure, the controller may activate the pedestrian mode when the mobile terminal is away from the vehicle by more than a predetermined distance.”) (Jung Paragraph 0078: “FIGS. 16A through 16C are views illustrating a mobile terminal for providing a pedestrian mode according to an embodiment disclosed in the present disclosure.”) (Jung Paragraph 0230: “In such a manner, the image output through the display unit 251″ may be viewed while overlapping with the general visual field. The mobile terminal 200″ may provide an augmented reality (AR) by overlaying a virtual image on a realistic image or background using the display.”) (Jung Paragraph 0285: “In this case, the wearable device may include a communication unit that performs communication with the vehicle control apparatus installed in the vehicle and a body worn on the user's wrist portion and formed to always contact with the wrist portion.”) (Jung Paragraph 0387: “the vehicle control apparatus 400 is configured to include one first display unit D100 in front of the driver seat,”) (Jung Paragraph 0454: “All the functions (for example, including the navigation function) that are performed by the vehicle 400 described above are performed the mobile terminal 100 or the wearable device 200 that is connected to the vehicle control apparatus 400 in a wired or wireless manner.”) (Jung Paragraph 0455: “In addition, the vehicle control apparatus 400 and the mobile terminal 100 performs all the functions in cooperation with each other or in conjunction with each other.”)
Jung does not teach […] determining whether a plurality of occupants is detected in a vehicle on which the user rides, in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state; […] and the determination of the plurality of occupants, […] controlling to display the navigation information on the vehicle-mounted display, under a condition that the plurality of occupants is detected in the vehicle in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state, and controlling to display the navigation information on the user-wearable AR device, under a condition that only the user is detected in the vehicle in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state.
However, Iida does teach […] determining whether a plurality of occupants is detected in a vehicle on which the user rides, in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state; (Iida Paragraph 0005: “The present disclosure provides a method for controlling a vehicle navigation system, the vehicle navigation system including: an in-vehicle camera configured to capture at least one occupant in a vehicle”) (Iida Paragraph 0027: “The vehicle C1 according to the first embodiment is not limited to a vehicle manually driven by a driver, and may be an automated driving vehicle.”) (Iida Paragraph 0035: “The camera CR performs an image processing on a captured image in the vehicle C1, and detects a destination of a line of sight (hereinafter, referred to as line-of-sight direction) of an occupant positioned in a driver seat (hereinafter, referred to as driver) among occupants in the vehicle C1.”) […] and the determination of the plurality of occupants, (Iida Paragraph 0005: “The present disclosure provides a method for controlling a vehicle navigation system, the vehicle navigation system including: an in-vehicle camera configured to capture at least one occupant in a vehicle”) (Iida Paragraph 0035: “The camera CR performs an image processing on a captured image in the vehicle C1, and detects a destination of a line of sight (hereinafter, referred to as line-of-sight direction) of an occupant positioned in a driver seat (hereinafter, referred to as driver) among occupants in the vehicle C1.”) […] controlling to display the navigation information on the vehicle-mounted display, under a condition that the plurality of occupants is detected in the vehicle in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state, (Iida Paragraph 0005: “The present disclosure provides a method for controlling a vehicle navigation system, the vehicle navigation system including: an in-vehicle camera configured to capture at least one occupant in a vehicle”) (Iida Paragraph 0027: “The vehicle C1 according to the first embodiment is not limited to a vehicle manually driven by a driver, and may be an automated driving vehicle.”) (Iida Paragraph 0035: “The camera CR is installed at a position where the occupant in the vehicle C1 can be captured, and is communicably connected to the in-vehicle device CN1. The camera CR performs an image processing on a captured image in the vehicle C1, and detects a destination of a line of sight (hereinafter, referred to as line-of-sight direction) of an occupant positioned in a driver seat (hereinafter, referred to as driver) among occupants in the vehicle C1. The camera CR transmits the captured image and the detected line-of-sight direction of the driver to the in-vehicle device CN1.”) (Iida Paragraph 0037: “The in-vehicle device CN1 generates, for example, information on a route to an optional destination set by the occupant and outputs the generated route information to a monitor 24.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung to include […] determining whether a plurality of occupants is detected in a vehicle on which the user rides, in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state, […] and the determination of the plurality of occupants, […] controlling to display the navigation information on the vehicle-mounted display, under a condition that the plurality of occupants is detected in the vehicle in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state, taught by Iida. This would have been for the benefit to perform the input operation and the information provision in consideration of safety according to the vehicle information and the traveling state of the vehicle. [Iida Paragraph 0006]
Iida does not teach […] and controlling to display the navigation information on the user-wearable AR device, under a condition that only the user is detected in the vehicle in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state.
However, Wan does teach […] and controlling to display the navigation information on the user-wearable AR device, under a condition that only the user is detected in the vehicle in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state. (Wan Column 2, line number 30-34: “The systems and methods disclosed herein describe a wearable integrated augmented reality (AR) system for a vehicle configured to display road-side information in front of the wearer's direct gaze when they are driving and/or riding in the vehicle,”) (Wan Column 5, line number 60-64: “The sensor(s) 125 may include any number of devices configured or programmed to generate signals that help navigate the vehicle 105 while operating in a manual and/or an autonomous (e.g., driverless) mode.”) (Wan Column 6, line number 37-40: “The AR controller 120, as described herein, may do this by receiving, from one or more integrated cameras (not shown in FIG. 1) associated with the AR wearable system 145, a video feed of the interior surfaces of the vehicle 105,”) (Wan Column 10, line number 34-42: “The occupant ID system 226 may identify one or more riders and/or drivers (collectively occupants) when they enter the vehicle, and retrieve occupant identifiers associated with the one or more occupants. The occupant ID system 226 may assign a unique ID to individual users such that the occupant identifier includes occupant-specific information that may be used to provide a unique AR experience to each vehicle occupant. Example information may include, for example, navigation preferences,”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung in view of Iida to include […] and controlling to display the navigation information on the user-wearable AR device, under a condition that only the user is detected in the vehicle in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state taught by Wan. This would have been for the benefit to provide The AR system may determine an identity of a user of the AR wearable system, and generate, based at least in part on the user ID associated with the user of the AR wearable device, a first virtual representation of the roadside object aligned with a GPS location and a direction of the vehicle. [Wan Column 2, line number 52-57]
Regarding claim 20, Jung discloses […] determining a movement state of a user, that indicates whether the user is in a manual driving state, an autonomous driving state, or a walking state; (Jung Paragraph 0023: “According to an example associated with the present disclosure, the controller may determine whether or not the user gets off the vehicle prior to arriving at the destination of the vehicle, and activate a pedestrian mode to output a walking direction to the destination of the vehicle through the output unit when the user gets off the vehicle prior to arriving at the destination of the vehicle.”) […] controlling to switch automatically, between a vehicle-mounted display and a user- wearable Augmented Reality (AR) device, to display navigation information based on the movement state of the user (Jung Paragraph 0023: “According to an example associated with the present disclosure, the controller may determine whether or not the user gets off the vehicle prior to arriving at the destination of the vehicle, and activate a pedestrian mode to output a walking direction to the destination of the vehicle through the output unit when the user gets off the vehicle prior to arriving at the destination of the vehicle.”) (Jung Paragraph 0027: “According to an example associated with the present disclosure, the controller may activate the pedestrian mode when the mobile terminal is away from the vehicle by more than a predetermined distance.”) (Jung Paragraph 0078: “FIGS. 16A through 16C are views illustrating a mobile terminal for providing a pedestrian mode according to an embodiment disclosed in the present disclosure.”) (Jung Paragraph 0230: “In such a manner, the image output through the display unit 251″ may be viewed while overlapping with the general visual field. The mobile terminal 200″ may provide an augmented reality (AR) by overlaying a virtual image on a realistic image or background using the display.”) (Jung Paragraph 0285: “In this case, the wearable device may include a communication unit that performs communication with the vehicle control apparatus installed in the vehicle and a body worn on the user's wrist portion and formed to always contact with the wrist portion.”) (Jung Paragraph 0387: “the vehicle control apparatus 400 is configured to include one first display unit D100 in front of the driver seat,”) (Jung Paragraph 0454: “All the functions (for example, including the navigation function) that are performed by the vehicle 400 described above are performed the mobile terminal 100 or the wearable device 200 that is connected to the vehicle control apparatus 400 in a wired or wireless manner.”) (Jung Paragraph 0455: “In addition, the vehicle control apparatus 400 and the mobile terminal 100 performs all the functions in cooperation with each other or in conjunction with each other.”) […] controlling to display the navigation information on the user-wearable AR device, under a condition that the determined movement state of the user is the walking state, (Jung Paragraph 0023: “According to an example associated with the present disclosure, the controller may determine whether or not the user gets off the vehicle prior to arriving at the destination of the vehicle, and activate a pedestrian mode to output a walking direction to the destination of the vehicle through the output unit when the user gets off the vehicle prior to arriving at the destination of the vehicle.”) (Jung Paragraph 0027: “According to an example associated with the present disclosure, the controller may activate the pedestrian mode when the mobile terminal is away from the vehicle by more than a predetermined distance.”) (Jung Paragraph 0078: “FIGS. 16A through 16C are views illustrating a mobile terminal for providing a pedestrian mode according to an embodiment disclosed in the present disclosure.”) (Jung Paragraph 0230: “In such a manner, the image output through the display unit 251″ may be viewed while overlapping with the general visual field. The mobile terminal 200″ may provide an augmented reality (AR) by overlaying a virtual image on a realistic image or background using the display.”) (Jung Paragraph 0285: “In this case, the wearable device may include a communication unit that performs communication with the vehicle control apparatus installed in the vehicle and a body worn on the user's wrist portion and formed to always contact with the wrist portion.”) (Jung Paragraph 0387: “the vehicle control apparatus 400 is configured to include one first display unit D100 in front of the driver seat,”) (Jung Paragraph 0454: “All the functions (for example, including the navigation function) that are performed by the vehicle 400 described above are performed the mobile terminal 100 or the wearable device 200 that is connected to the vehicle control apparatus 400 in a wired or wireless manner.”) (Jung Paragraph 0455: “In addition, the vehicle control apparatus 400 and the mobile terminal 100 performs all the functions in cooperation with each other or in conjunction with each other.”)
Jung does not teach A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including computer executable instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by an information processing device, cause the information processing device to perform a method, the method comprising […] determining whether a plurality of occupants is detected in a vehicle on which the user rides, in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state; […] and the determination of the plurality of occupants, […] controlling to display the navigation information on the vehicle-mounted display, under a condition that the plurality of occupants is detected in the vehicle in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state, and controlling to display the navigation information on the user-wearable AR device, under a condition that only the user is detected in the vehicle in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state.
However, Iida does teach […] determining whether a plurality of occupants is detected in a vehicle on which the user rides, in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state; (Iida Paragraph 0005: “The present disclosure provides a method for controlling a vehicle navigation system, the vehicle navigation system including: an in-vehicle camera configured to capture at least one occupant in a vehicle”) (Iida Paragraph 0027: “The vehicle C1 according to the first embodiment is not limited to a vehicle manually driven by a driver, and may be an automated driving vehicle.”) (Iida Paragraph 0035: “The camera CR performs an image processing on a captured image in the vehicle C1, and detects a destination of a line of sight (hereinafter, referred to as line-of-sight direction) of an occupant positioned in a driver seat (hereinafter, referred to as driver) among occupants in the vehicle C1.”) […] and the determination of the plurality of occupants, (Iida Paragraph 0005: “The present disclosure provides a method for controlling a vehicle navigation system, the vehicle navigation system including: an in-vehicle camera configured to capture at least one occupant in a vehicle”) (Iida Paragraph 0035: “The camera CR performs an image processing on a captured image in the vehicle C1, and detects a destination of a line of sight (hereinafter, referred to as line-of-sight direction) of an occupant positioned in a driver seat (hereinafter, referred to as driver) among occupants in the vehicle C1.”) […] controlling to display the navigation information on the vehicle-mounted display, under a condition that the plurality of occupants is detected in the vehicle in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state, (Iida Paragraph 0005: “The present disclosure provides a method for controlling a vehicle navigation system, the vehicle navigation system including: an in-vehicle camera configured to capture at least one occupant in a vehicle”) (Iida Paragraph 0027: “The vehicle C1 according to the first embodiment is not limited to a vehicle manually driven by a driver, and may be an automated driving vehicle.”) (Iida Paragraph 0035: “The camera CR is installed at a position where the occupant in the vehicle C1 can be captured, and is communicably connected to the in-vehicle device CN1. The camera CR performs an image processing on a captured image in the vehicle C1, and detects a destination of a line of sight (hereinafter, referred to as line-of-sight direction) of an occupant positioned in a driver seat (hereinafter, referred to as driver) among occupants in the vehicle C1. The camera CR transmits the captured image and the detected line-of-sight direction of the driver to the in-vehicle device CN1.”) (Iida Paragraph 0037: “The in-vehicle device CN1 generates, for example, information on a route to an optional destination set by the occupant and outputs the generated route information to a monitor 24.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung to include […] determining whether a plurality of occupants is detected in a vehicle on which the user rides, in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state, […] and the determination of the plurality of occupants, […] controlling to display the navigation information on the vehicle-mounted display, under a condition that the plurality of occupants is detected in the vehicle in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state, taught by Iida. This would have been for the benefit to perform the input operation and the information provision in consideration of safety according to the vehicle information and the traveling state of the vehicle. [Iida Paragraph 0006]
Iida does not teach A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including computer executable instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by an information processing device, cause the information processing device to perform a method, the method comprising […] and controlling to display the navigation information on the user-wearable AR device, under a condition that only the user is detected in the vehicle in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state.
However, Wan does teach A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including computer executable instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by an information processing device, cause the information processing device to perform a method, the method comprising (Wan Column 16, line number 30-36: “A computer-readable medium (also referred to as a processor-readable medium) includes any non-transitory (e.g., tangible) medium that participates in providing data (e.g., instructions) that may be read by a computer (e.g., by a processor of a computer). Such a medium may take many forms, including, but not limited to, nonvolatile media and volatile media.”) […] and controlling to display the navigation information on the user-wearable AR device, under a condition that only the user is detected in the vehicle in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state. (Wan Column 2, line number 30-34: “The systems and methods disclosed herein describe a wearable integrated augmented reality (AR) system for a vehicle configured to display road-side information in front of the wearer's direct gaze when they are driving and/or riding in the vehicle,”) (Wan Column 5, line number 60-64: “The sensor(s) 125 may include any number of devices configured or programmed to generate signals that help navigate the vehicle 105 while operating in a manual and/or an autonomous (e.g., driverless) mode.”) (Wan Column 6, line number 37-40: “The AR controller 120, as described herein, may do this by receiving, from one or more integrated cameras (not shown in FIG. 1) associated with the AR wearable system 145, a video feed of the interior surfaces of the vehicle 105,”) (Wan Column 10, line number 34-42: “The occupant ID system 226 may identify one or more riders and/or drivers (collectively occupants) when they enter the vehicle, and retrieve occupant identifiers associated with the one or more occupants. The occupant ID system 226 may assign a unique ID to individual users such that the occupant identifier includes occupant-specific information that may be used to provide a unique AR experience to each vehicle occupant. Example information may include, for example, navigation preferences,”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung in view of Iida to include A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including computer executable instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by an information processing device, cause the information processing device to perform a method, the method comprising […] and controlling to display the navigation information on the user-wearable AR device, under a condition that only the user is detected in the vehicle in a case that the user is in the manual driving state or the autonomous driving state taught by Wan. This would have been for the benefit to provide The AR system may determine an identity of a user of the AR wearable system, and generate, based at least in part on the user ID associated with the user of the AR wearable device, a first virtual representation of the roadside object aligned with a GPS location and a direction of the vehicle. [Wan Column 2, line number 52-57]
Regarding claim 21, Jung discloses The information processing device according to claim 1, further comprising: a sensor configured to detect a position or a posture of the information processing device to determine the movement of the user. wherein the sensor is a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) sensor including at least one of a global positioning system (GPS) sensor, a Global Navigation Satellite System (GLONASS) sensor, a Galileo sensor, or a quasi-zenith satellite system (QZSS) sensor. (Jung Paragraph 0110: “The location information module 115 denotes a module for detecting or calculating a location of a mobile terminal. An example of the location information module 115 may include a Global Positioning System (GPS) module”) (Jung Paragraph 0173: “FIG. 2A further depicts several Global Positioning System (GPS) satellites 300. Such satellites 300 facilitate locating the position of at least one of plural mobile terminal s 100”)
Regarding claim 22, Jung discloses The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the vehicle is at least one of an automobile, a bus, a truck, a bicycle, a motorcycle, a train, or a linear motor car. (Jung Paragraph 0369: “the vehicle 500”)
Regarding claim 23, Jung discloses The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to start determination of the movement state of the user in response to a request for dispatch from the user, the circuitry is configured to further display dispatch information including dispatch position information indicating a meeting place or vehicle information of an arranged vehicle. (Jung Paragraph 0671: “Furthermore, API with route information may be provided. Accordingly, when a route is requested, a query/request can be made to receive route information including each waypoint from the departure to the destination. To this end, associated information may be received from a map developer.” ) (Jung Paragraph 688: “Furthermore, when getting off the vehicle prior to arriving at the destination, route guidance that has been carried out through the vehicle navigation apparatus is carried out through the mobile terminal 200 (activation of a pedestrian mode).”) (Jung Paragraph 0692: “Referring to FIG. 16A, when the pedestrian mode IND10 is activated, the controller 180 may output a walking direction to the destination of the vehicle through the display unit 151.”) (Jung Paragraph 0693: “In this case, the display unit 151 may display an arrow indicating the walking direction in a turn-by-turn (TBT) manner on the screen (refer to FIG. 16A).”)
Regarding claim 24, Jung discloses The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to display the navigation information on a windshield or a side glass of the vehicle. (Jung Paragraph 0038: “the vehicle control apparatus may perform a navigation function for the vehicle,”) (Jung Paragraph 0319: “In addition, the display unit 451 is formed on not only the external surface of the windshield glasses and of the window, but also on the internal surface. Then, information that is processed in the vehicle control apparatus 400 may be displayed (or output) on the display unit 451 that is formed on the internal surface.”)
8. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 20160061613 A1) in view of Iida (US 20200408559 A1) further in view of Wan (US 11127373 B2) and further in view of (US 20120194551 A1) to Osterhout et al. (hereinafter Osterhout).
Regarding claim 8, Jung in view of Iida and further in view of Wan teaches claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated above.
Jung in view of Iida and further in view of Wan does not teach The information processing device according to claim 1, the circuitry is configured to control to display information of a store on a route to a destination as the navigation information.
However, Osterhout teaches The information processing device according to claim 1, the circuitry is configured to control to display information of a store on a route to a destination as the navigation information. (Osterhout Paragraph 0534: “Based on options provided, the wearer may select a place that suits him the best for shopping based on such as offers and discounts and the like.”) (Osterhout Paragraph 0535: “The wearer may give a voice command to navigate toward the place and the wearer may then be guided toward it. The wearer may also receive advertisements and offers automatically or based on request regarding current deals, promotions and events in the interested location such as a nearby shopping store.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung in view of Iida further in view of Wan to include The information processing device according to claim 1, the circuitry is configured to control to display information of a store on a route to a destination as the navigation information taught by Osterhout. This would have been for the benefit of providing an eyepiece may be an interactive head-mounted eyepiece worn by a user wherein the eyepiece includes and optical assembly through which the user may view a surrounding environment and displayed content. [Osterhout Paragraph 0023]
9. Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 20160061613 A1) in view of Iida (US 20200408559 A1) further in view of Wan (US 11127373 B2) and further in view of Mase (JP 2015217798 A).
Regarding claim 9, Jung in view of Iida and further in view of Wan teaches claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated above.
Jung in view of Iida and further in view of Wan does not teach The information processing device according to claim l, wherein the circuitry is configured to control not to display the navigation information in a case where the vehicle on which the user rides is in the autonomous driving state.
However, Mase teaches The information processing device according to claim l, wherein the circuitry is configured to control not to display the navigation information in a case where the vehicle on which the user rides is in the autonomous driving state. (Mase Paragraph 0030: “During the driving assistance of the automatic driving level 2, the information control unit 4 according to the automatic driving level 2 setting information, the information on the speedometer and the tachometer acquired by the vehicle information acquisition unit 26 among the information displayed on the instrument panel 53. Is displayed, and instead, the traffic information and POI information acquired by the navigation information acquisition unit 25 are displayed. In addition, the information control unit 4 hides the navigation information displayed on the HUD 52.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung in view of Iida further in view of Wan to include The information processing device according to claim l, wherein the circuitry is configured to control not to display the navigation information in a case where the vehicle on which the user rides is in the autonomous driving state taught by Mase. This would have been for the benefit of having the display mode should not disturb the driver's attention when in the manual driving mode, and the display mode should be designed so that the viewer is more comfortable and not bored than when driving in the automatic driving mode. [Mase Paragraph 0033]
Regarding claim 10, Jung in view of Iida further in view of Wan and further in view of Mase teaches claim 9, accordingly, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated above.
Jung does not teach The information processing device according to claim 9, wherein in a case where the vehicle on which the user is riding is in the autonomous driving state, the circuitry is configured to display a content including entertainment or facility information instead of the navigation information and set a region in which the content is displayed to a non- transmissive state.
However, Iida does teach The information processing device according to claim 9, wherein in a case where the vehicle on which the user is riding is in the autonomous driving state, the circuitry is configured to display a content including entertainment or facility information instead of the navigation information (Iida Paragraph 0146: “FIG. 11 is a diagram showing an example of an output screen Sr3 of the substitute object information (details). The output screen Sr3 shown in FIG. 11 shows an example in which a more detailed image Ac3 is displayed for substitute object information for which it is determined that the occupant has a high degree of interest. The display region Ac2 shows an example in which each of the evaluation information Ev1 to Ev3 for each substitute object information is not displayed, and description thereof will be omitted.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung to include The information processing device according to claim 9, wherein in a case where the vehicle on which the user is riding is in the autonomous driving state, the circuitry is configured to display a content including entertainment or facility information instead of the navigation information taught by Iida. This would have been for the benefit to perform the input operation and the information provision in consideration of safety according to the vehicle information and the traveling state of the vehicle. [Iida Paragraph 0006]
Iida in view of Wan does not teach […] and set a region in which the content is displayed to a non- transmissive state.
However, Mase does teach […] and set a region in which the content is displayed to a non- transmissive state. (Mase Paragraph 0035: “Therefore, in the automatic operation mode, the brightness and dynamic range of the display device are changed to provide a display form with higher visibility and rich gradation, and provide an environment where the viewer can enjoy more images.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung in view of Iida further in view of Wan to include […] and set a region in which the content is displayed to a non- transmissive state taught by Mase. This would have been for the benefit of having the display mode should not disturb the driver's attention when in the manual driving mode, and the display mode should be designed so that the viewer is more comfortable and not bored than when driving in the automatic driving mode. [Mase Paragraph 0033]
Regarding claim 11, Jung in view of Iida and further in view of Wan teaches claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated above.
Jung in view of Iida and further in view of Wan does not teach The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the navigation information includes route information in a case where the vehicle on which the user rides is in the manual driving state, the circuitry is configured to make a size of a display region in which the route information is displayed smaller than a size of the display region in a case where the vehicle is in the autonomous driving state.
However, Mase teaches The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the navigation information includes route information in a case where the vehicle on which the user rides is in the manual driving state, the circuitry is configured to make a size of a display region in which the route information is displayed smaller than a size of the display region in a case where the vehicle is in the autonomous driving state. (Mase Paragraph 0011: “The navigation information acquisition unit 25 acquires navigation information such as destination peripheral information,”) (Mase Paragraph 0027: “In addition, the information control unit 4 displays the navigation information acquired by the navigation information acquisition unit 25 (for example, information that guides the traveling direction) on the HUD 52 that is easy for the driver to visually recognize.”) (Mase Paragraph 0034: “The navigation information indicating the traveling direction and the like is displayed on the HUD 52.”) (Mase Paragraph 0039: “For example, the information control unit 4 controls the projection position of the HUD 52 to be low and the projection size to be small so as not to hinder driving in the manual driving mode, while the driver pays attention to the front of the vehicle in the automatic driving mode. Since the necessity is reduced, the projection size is enlarged to the full extent of the windshield 103.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung in view of Iida further in view of Wan to include The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the navigation information includes route information in a case where the vehicle on which the user rides is in the manual driving state, the circuitry is configured to make a size of a display region in which the route information is displayed smaller than a size of the display region in a case where the vehicle is in the autonomous driving state taught by Mase. This would have been for the benefit of having the display mode should not disturb the driver's attention when in the manual driving mode, and the display mode should be designed so that the viewer is more comfortable and not bored than when driving in the automatic driving mode. [Mase Paragraph 0033]
Regarding claim 12, Jung discloses The information processing device according to claim 11, wherein the display region is in a transmissive state. (Jung Paragraph 0117: “The display unit 151 may output information processed in the mobile terminal 100.”) (Jung Paragraph 0121: “The display unit 151 may also be implemented as a stereoscopic display unit 152 for displaying stereoscopic images.”) (Jung Paragraph 0123: “The stereoscopic display unit 152 may employ a stereoscopic display scheme such as stereoscopic scheme (a glass scheme), an auto-stereoscopic scheme (glassless scheme), a projection scheme (holographic scheme),”) (Jung Paragraph 0124: “The auto-stereoscopic scheme includes, for example, a parallax barrier scheme, a lenticular scheme, an integral imaging scheme, or the like. The projection scheme includes a reflective holographic scheme, a transmissive holographic scheme, or the like.”)
10. Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 20160061613 A1) in view of Iida (US 20200408559 A1) further in view of Wan (US 11127373 B2) and further in view of Beaurepaire (US 20210389152 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Jung in view of Iida and furth in view of Wan teaches claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated above.
Jung in view of Iida and furth in view of Wan does not teach The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to display the navigation information indicating a traveling direction is superimposed on a real or on-screen sidewalk as the navigation to the user in a case where the user is in the walking state.
However, Beaurepaire The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to display the navigation information indicating a traveling direction is superimposed on a real or on-screen sidewalk as the navigation to the user in a case where the user is in the walking state. (Beaurepaire Paragraph 0027: “Current navigation systems can provide route guidance (e.g., via a mobile device, an embedded navigation system, etc.) to enable a user to travel between locations (e.g., origin, destination, and/or waypoints) via various means or modes of transportation (e.g., walking, biking, vehicles, public transportation, etc.).”) (Beaurepaire Paragraph 0031: “In one embodiment, the system 100 enables a user to pre-select a surface (for example, a sidewalk surface) as a default type of surface to project an AR overlay 101 of navigation guidance on an live image depicted on an user interface 103 of an user equipment (UE) 105,”) (Beaurepaire Paragraph 0045: “The AR overlay 101 may be a graphic indicia (e.g., traffic and/or directional symbols such as turn, stop, etc., such as a straight arrow sign in a hexagon box), a textual description or explanation of the navigation guidance along an route (e.g., “500 m” in a rectangular box), etc. In one embodiment, the system 100 adapts the color, texture, size of the AR overlay 101 based on the color, size, and other restriction of the respective surface (e.g., a sidewalk surface) it is projected on,”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung in view of Iida further in view of Wan to include The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to display the navigation information indicating a traveling direction is superimposed on a real or on-screen sidewalk as the navigation to the user in a case where the user is in the walking state taught by Beaurepaire. This would have been for the benefit to provide a method comprising creating and/or modifying (1) at least one device user interface element and/or (2) at least one device user interface functionality, the (1) at least one device user interface element and/or (2) at least one device user interface functionality based at least in part on data and/or information resulting from one or any combination of methods (or processes) disclosed in this application as relevant to any embodiment of the invention, and/or at least one signal resulting from one or any combination of methods (or processes) disclosed in this application as relevant to any embodiment of the invention. [Beaurepaire Paragraph 0011]
11. Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 20160061613 A1) in view of Iida (US 20200408559 A1) further in view of Wan (US 11127373 B2) further in view of Beaurepaire (US 20210389152 A1) and further in view of Osterhout (US 20120194551 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Jung in view of Iida further in view of Wan and further in view of Beaurepaire teaches claim 13, accordingly, the rejection of claim 13 is incorporated above.
Jung in view of Iida further in view of Wan and further in view of Beaurepaire does not teach The information processing device according to claim 13, wherein the circuitry is configured to display information of a store near the user in a case where the user is in the walking state.
However, Osterhout teaches The information processing device according to claim 13, wherein the circuitry is configured to display information of a store near the user in a case where the user is in the walking state. (Osterhout Paragraph 0481: “The eyepiece may be used in military applications, gaming, image recognition applications, to view/order e-books, GPS Navigation (Position, Direction, Speed and ETA),”) (Osterhout Paragraph 0527: “ As the wearer walks by the stores, the advertising providing facilities may trigger the delivery of an advertisement to the wearer based on a known location of the user determined by an integrated location sensor of the eyepiece, such as a GPS.”) (Osterhout Paragraph 0527: “For example, a user on a ground floor of a mall may receive certain advertisements if the magnetometer and GPS readings place the user in front of a particular store.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung in view of Iida further in view of Wan and further in view of Beaurepaire to include The information processing device according to claim 13, wherein the circuitry is configured to display information of a store near the user in a case where the user is in the walking state taught by Osterhout. This would have been for the benefit of providing an eyepiece may be an interactive head-mounted eyepiece worn by a user wherein the eyepiece includes and optical assembly through which the user may view a surrounding environment and displayed content. [Osterhout Paragraph 0023]
12. Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osterhout (US 20120194551 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Osterhout teaches The information processing device according to claim 3, wherein the movement state of the user includes information indicating whether or not the user is walking indoors in a case where the user is in the walking state, and in a case where the user is walking indoors, the circuitry is configured to display product information of a store indoors. (Osterhout Paragraph 0533: “For example, a viewer may be walking though a clothing store, and as they walk are provided with information on the clothes on the rack, where the information is provided through the product's RFID tag. In embodiments, the information may be delivered as a list of information, as a graphic representation, as audio and/or video presentation, and the like.”)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.J.H./Junior Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664