DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 40 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Applicant recites “the carrier” in lines 2,3 and 4, respectively, where it appears applicant intended “the carriers” in each instance in order to be consistent with the terminology recited in claim 36. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the cross-linking agent" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the emulsifier" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the filler" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 9-12, 14, 17, 21-23, 27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Menashe (WO 2012/160526) in view of Chin et al. (US 2021/0061692).
Per claim 1, Menashe disclose a method for the removal of noxious taste or odor compounds (TOCs) (page 40, first paragraph…removal of poisonous or otherwise harmful substances, such as noxious chemicals, from the water) from water of an aquaculture system (page 40, third full paragraph…aquaculture water), the method comprising contacting the water with a carrier (claim 1, (i) at least one inner core which comprises a solid matrix of nutrients for microorganism growth) comprising a hydrophobic agent (page 13, FIG. 8 is a graph depicting water penetration flow rate (% of total particle maximum weight after injecting water into the particles). Two types of 8 % Ethyl cellulose (EC) coated particles were examined: one particle was coated with 15 ml and the other with 13 ml of the polymer solution (1.2 gr or 1.04 gr of ethyl cellulose and caster oil).; page 68…castor oil) inherently “configured” to adsorb said noxious TOCs; and a hydrocolloid (page 68…ethyl cellulose, cellulose acetate), wherein the carrier is adapted for the colonization of microorganisms which are capable of degrading said TOCs (page 40, 5th and 6th paragraphs, According to one aspect of the present invention, there is provided a method of purifying municipal wastewater, the method comprising contacting the municipal wastewater with a plurality of particles, wherein the plurality of particles comprise a first population of dried microorganisms selected for purification of municipal wastewater and a second population of dried microorganisms selected for purification of petroleum wastewater, under conditions that allow the microorganisms to decontaminate the municipal wastewater, thereby purifying the municipal wastewater. As used herein, the term "municipal wastewater" refers to the subset of wastewater that is contaminated with feces or urine.). Menashe also discloses microorganisms suitable for degrading the compounds include Pseudomonas (page 22, Pseudomonas spp.). Menashe does not explicitly disclose wherein said TOCs comprise a terpenoid which are degraded by the microorganisms.
Chin et al., also directed to utilizing a carrier (abstract, The water deodorizer includes a powder having a porous structure, and multiple microorganism strains mixed with the powder. The powder has an interior provided with a plurality of pores. The powder is made of a natural seashell which is processed at a high temperature, and is ground and screened to form the porous structure. The microorganism strains are filled in the pores of the powder and cover outer surfaces of the pores of the powder.) for a method of removal of noxious taste or odor compounds from water ([0020] In general, the special odor (or smell) comes from diverse sources, including aliphatic hydrocarbons, aromatic hydrocarbons, aliphatic hydrocarbon oxygenated derivatives, oxygenated hydrocarbons, halogen-containing hydrocarbons, reduced sulfur compounds, and reduced nitrogen compounds. The smell sources also includes oxygenated metabolites secreted by various algae, such as 2-methyl isoborneol or isobutanol (MIB) and geosmin (GEO).) disclose providing microorganisms capable of degrading TOCs [0021] In the preferred embodiment of the present invention, the microorganism strains 3 are selected from micrococcus spp. (spp. means the genus includes multiple undefined species), flavobacterium spp., brevibacterium spp. and pseudomonas sp. (sp. means the genus includes one undefined species), and are used to reduce the 2-methyl isoborneol (MIB). Preferably, micrococcus spp., flavobacterium spp., brevibacterium spp. and pseudomonas sp., are used to reduce the MIB of about 98.4%, 96.3%, 95.0% and 92.8%.) in order to, for example, deodorize the water.
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the method of Menashe such that it includes wherein TOCs comprise a terpenoid and microorganisms to capable of degrading the terpenoids in order to, for example, deodorize the water.
Per claim 2, wherein the hydrocolloid is configured to entrap the hydrophobic agent or wherein the hydrocolloid is dispersed within the hydrophobic agent (page 68, The cellulose acetate polymer solution was prepared using a mix of two solvents, methanol and acetone, along with a plasticizer such as caster oil. The protocol of the polymer solution: Solution solvents (92 %): 80 % acetone and 20 % methanol. Suspended solids (8 %): caster oil (12 %) and cellulose acetate (88 %) (EASTMAN, Switzerland). The prepared solution was mixed with a stirrer for at least half an hour.).
Per claim 4, wherein the hydrophobic agent is selected from the group consisting of an oil, wax, fatty acid, fatty alcohol, and combinations thereof (page 13, FIG. 8 is a graph depicting water penetration flow rate (% of total particle maximum weight after injecting water into the particles). Two types of 8 % Ethyl cellulose (EC) coated particles were examined: one particle was coated with 15 ml and the other with 13 ml of the polymer solution (1.2 gr or 1.04 gr of ethyl cellulose and caster oil); page 68…castor oil).
Per claim 9, Menashe, as modified by Chine et al., does not disclose wherein the hydrophobic agent comprises at least one of soybean oil, sunflower oil, and beeswax.
It is submitted that it would have been a routine matter of design choice to modify the method of Menashe, as modified by Chin et al., such that it comprises at least one of soybean oil, sunflower oil, and beeswax in order to, for example, perform the role of the hydrophobic agent used by Menashe. Further, applicant has not provided for the record a proper showing (e.g., comparative test data) of any new and unexpected result obtained by using at least one of soybean oil, sunflower oil, and beeswax.
Per claim 10, Menashe, as modified by Chin et al., do not disclose wherein the hydrophobic agent is present in the carrier in a weight percent ranging from about 10% to about 40% out of the total wet weight of the carrier.
Absent a proper showing of criticality with respect to the recited weight percentage range, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust the weight percentage through routine experimentation in order to achieve a weight percentage that allows for a balance of microorganism culturing on the carrier and wastewater purification, depending on the anticipated contaminant loading and the results desired. Moreover, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Per claim 11, Menashe, as modified by Chin et al., do not disclose wherein said carrier comprises soybean oil, which is present in a weight percent of about 30% out of the total wet weight of the carrier.
Absent a proper showing of criticality with respect to the specific oil recited weight percentage, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select soybean oil and adjust the weight percentage of the oil through routine experimentation in order to select an oil that is hydrophobic and achieve a weight percentage that allows for a balance of microorganism culturing on the carrier and wastewater purification, depending on the anticipated contaminant loading and the results desired. Moreover, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Per claim 12, Menashe, as modified by Chin et al., do not disclose wherein the hydrophobic agent is present in the carrier in a weight percent ranging from about 88% to about 99.5% out of the total dry weight of the carrier.
Absent a proper showing of criticality with respect to the recited weight percentage range, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust the weight percentage range of the oil through routine experimentation in order to achieve a weight percentage that allows for a balance of microorganism culturing on the carrier and wastewater purification, depending on the anticipated contaminant loading and the results desired. Moreover, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Per claim 14, wherein the hydrocolloid comprises alginate (page 32, The water-soluble polymer may be a natural water-soluble polymer or a synthetic water-soluble polymer. Examples of such include, but are not limited to, gelatin, agar, polyethylene glycol, acrylic acid polymers, polysaccharide, polysaccharide gum and sodium alginate.).
Per claim 17, Menashe, as modified by Chin et al., do not disclose wherein the carrier further comprises a cross-linking agent selected from the group consisting of calcium ion, magnesium ion, potassium ion, barium ion, aluminum ion, copper ion, lead ion, strontium ion, chitosan, poly(L-lysine), polyethyleneimine (PEI), and combinations thereof.
It would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan to utilize a cross-linking agent selected from the group consisting of calcium ion, magnesium ion, potassium ion, barium ion, aluminum ion, copper ion, lead ion, strontium ion, chitosan, poly(L-lysine), polyethyleneimine (PEI), and combinations thereof in order to, for example, create strong bonds between polymer chains of the carrier and potentially enhance the performance of the carrier.
Per claim 21, Menashe discloses that the carrier further comprises filler in order to, for example, increase the weight of the carrier and to provide additional surface area for biofilm formation (page 67, Other inner particle components Glass beads (1 mm diameter) were added to the particles to increase the weight of the particle and to provide additional surface area for biofilm formation.). Menashe, as modified by Chin et al., does not disclose wherein the carrier further comprises a filler selected from bentonite, kaolin, and any combination thereof.
It is submitted that it would a routine matter of design choice to have the filler comprise bentonite, kaolin and any combination thereof in order to, for example, increase the weight of the carrier and to provide additional surface area for biofilm formation, absent a proper showing of any new and unexpected result.
Per claim 22, as described above, Menashe disclose wherein the carrier comprises hydrophobic and hydrocolloid agents. Menashe, as modified by Chin et al., do not disclose wherein the carrier comprises:
from about 10% (w/w) to about 40% (w/w) of the hydrophobic agent;
from about 0.1% (w/w) to about 5% (w/w) of the hydrocolloid;
from about 0.1% (w/w) to about 5% (w/w) of [[the]]a cross-linking agent;
from about 0.001% (w/w) to about 1% (w/w) of [[the]]an emulsifier; and from about 50% (w/w) to about 95% (w/w) water, out of the total wet weight of the carrier.
It is submitted that it would have been obvious for the skilled artisan to use crosslinking agents in order to, for example, create strong bonds between polymer chains of the carrier and potentially enhance the performance of the carrier and use emulsifiers in order to, for example, improve the mixing and reduce the surface tension of liquids.
Regarding the carrier having the recited percentages of hydrophobic and hydrocolloid agents, cross-linking agent and emulsifier, absent a proper showing of criticality with respect to the recited weight percentage ranges, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust the weight percentage range of the h hydrophobic and hydrocolloid agents, cross-linking agent and emulsifier through routine experimentation in order to achieve a weight percentage that allows for a balance of microorganism culturing on the carrier and wastewater purification, depending on the anticipated contaminant loading and the results desired. Moreover, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Per claim 23, it is known in the art that soybean oil is a hydrophobic agent, alginate is a hydrocolloid and calcium ions may be used as a cross-linking agent. Accordingly, absent a proper showing of criticality with respect to the specifically recited hydrophobic agent, hydrocolloid agent and cross-linking agent, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize soybean oil as the hydrophobic agent, alginate as the hydrocolloid agent and calcium ions as the cross-linking agent in order to, for example, ultimately facilitate microorganism culturing on the carrier and wastewater purification, depending on the anticipated contaminant loading and the results desired.
Per claim 27, as described above, Menashe disclose wherein the carrier comprises hydrophobic and hydrocolloid agents. Menashe further disclose the carrier may comprise a filler in order to, for example, increase the weight of the carrier and to provide additional surface area for biofilm formation (page 67, Other inner particle components Glass beads (1 mm diameter) were added to the particles to increase the weight of the particle and to provide additional surface area for biofilm formation.). Menashe, as modified by Chin et al., do not disclose wherein the carrier comprises:
from about 88% (w/w) to about 99.5% (w/w) of the hydrophobic agent;
from about 0.1% (w/w) to about 2% (w/w) of the hydrocolloid; and
from about 0.1% (w/w) to about 10% (w/w) of [[the]]a filler,
out of the total dry weight of the carrier.
Regarding the carrier having the recited percentages of hydrophobic and hydrocolloid agents and filler, absent a proper showing of criticality with respect to the recited weight percentage ranges, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust the weight percentage range of the hydrophobic and hydrocolloid agents and filler through routine experimentation in order to achieve a weight percentage that allows for a balance of microorganism culturing on the carrier and wastewater purification, depending on the anticipated contaminant loading and the results desired. Moreover, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Per claim 29, Menashe, as modified by Chin et al., do not disclose wherein said microorganisms are endemic to the aquaculture system.
It is submitted that it would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan to modify the method of Menashe, as modified by Chin et al., such that it comprises wherein said microorganisms are endemic to the aquaculture system in order to, for example, use microorganisms that withstand the conditions within the RAS and degrade contaminants typically found in the water of the RAS.
Claims 36-38, 40, 45 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bawden (GB 2464686) in view of Menashe (WO 2012/160526).
Per claim 36, Bawden disclose a recirculating aquaculture system (RAS) for maintaining aquaculture species (abstract, A system 10 and method for filtering water for use in an aquaculture system is disclosed.; Fig. 2),
comprising: a reservoir holding water and aquaculture species (12, “fish tanks”); at least one of a solids removing filter (page 8, The method may further comprise removing solids and/or particulate matter from the first water stream and the system may comprise a filter for removing solids and/or particulate matter from the first water stream. The solids filter may be of any suitable form. For example, the solids filter may comprise media beds, screens or membrane filters. In particular embodiments, the solids filter may partially or wholly comprise a settlement tank filter.; Fig. 2), mechanical filter (page 8, The method may further comprise removing solids and/or particulate matter from the first water stream and the system may comprise a filter for removing solids and/or particulate matter from the first water stream. The solids filter may be of any suitable form. For example, the solids filter may comprise media beds, screens or membrane filters. In particular embodiments, the solids filter may partially or wholly comprise a settlement tank filter.; Fig. 2), and biological filter (3; page 8, The biological filter may be of any suitable form. For example, the biological filter may comprise an aerobic marine biofilter or the like, though any suitable filter including, for example, a fluidised media, submerged static bed, trickle static bed or activated sludge biological filter may be used where appropriate.); and a plurality of carriers (36, 38; Figs. 3-4); comprising a hydrophobic agent configured to adsorb noxious taste or order compounds (TOCs) (page 9, For example, lipids may be introduced into at least one of the vessel and the first water stream prior to operation of the filtration system and/or where a shut-down has occurred. Alternatively, lipids may be introduced into at least one of the vessel and the first water stream during operation of the filtration system. In particular embodiments, lipids may be introduced to assist in the removal of geosmin and 2-Methylisoborneol from the vessel and/or the first water stream.; page 14, In the embodiment shown in Figure 3, a lipid surface 38, for example, a membrane impregnated with lipids 36, or a floating layer of lipid is introduced into the fish culture water flow (shown by arrow 40) and through adsorption and/or absorption processes, the lipid surface 38 removes the taint forming compounds 34 from the fish culture water. It will be understood that the ability of the lipid surface 38 to retain the taint-forming compounds 34 is likely to diminish over time and, in use, the lipid surface 38 can be replaced or processed to remove the taint-forming compounds 34. Referring now in particular to Figure 4, the lipids 36 (shown by white circles in Figure 4) are introduced directly into the fish culture water as droplets and/or particles. An agitator 42 operates to mixes the lipids 36 with the water column and the taint-forming compounds 34 in the water attach themselves to, or are absorbed into, the lipid droplets or particles 36. Following this, the lipid droplets and/or particles 36 can be removed to facilitate removal of the taint-forming compounds 34 from the fish culture water.). Bawden does not explicitly disclose the carrier further comprising a hydrocolloid, wherein said carriers are adapted for the colonization of microorganisms which are capable of degrading or transforming said TOCs.
Menashe, also directed to removing TOCs from aquaculture water (page 40, first paragraph…removal of poisonous or otherwise harmful substances, such as noxious chemicals, from the water; page 40, third full paragraph…aquaculture water), disclose providing a carrier (claim 1, (i) at least one inner core which comprises a solid matrix of nutrients for microorganism growth) with a hydrocolloid (page 13, FIG. 8 is a graph depicting water penetration flow rate (% of total particle maximum weight after injecting water into the particles). Two types of 8 % Ethyl cellulose (EC) coated particles were examined: one particle was coated with 15 ml and the other with 13 ml of the polymer solution (1.2 gr or 1.04 gr of ethyl cellulose and caster oil); page 68…ethyl cellulose, cellulose acetate) to build an outer membrane for the carrier (page 69, The inventor of the present invention used two types of polymers to construct the outer membrane, ethyl cellulose and cellulose acetate, and hence, constructed two types of particle prototypes. Ethyl cellulose or cellulose acetate, water insoluble porous polymers, were prepared as described in detail in the Materials and Experimental procedures section above.), wherein said carriers are adapted for the colonization of microorganisms which are capable of degrading or transforming said TOCs (page 40, 5th and 6th paragraphs, According to one aspect of the present invention, there is provided a method of purifying municipal wastewater, the method comprising contacting the municipal wastewater with a plurality of particles, wherein the plurality of particles comprise a first population of dried microorganisms selected for purification of municipal wastewater and a second population of dried microorganisms selected for purification of petroleum wastewater, under conditions that allow the microorganisms to decontaminate the municipal wastewater, thereby purifying the municipal wastewater. As used herein, the term "municipal wastewater" refers to the subset of wastewater that is contaminated with feces or urine.) in order to, for example, provide enhanced deodorization of the water.
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the system of Bawden such that it comprises the carrier further comprising a hydrocolloid in order to, for example, build an outer surface, wherein said carriers are adapted for the colonization of microorganisms which are capable of degrading or transforming said TOCs in order to, for example, facilitate enhanced deodorization of the water.
Per claim 37, Bawden, as modified by Menashe, does not explicitly disclose the system further comprising a reactor in fluid flow connection with the reservoir, and means for directing flow of a portion of the water from the reservoir to the reactor, wherein the reactor comprises the plurality of carriers.
It is submitted that it would have been a routine matter of system design to provide the system with a reactor in fluid flow connection with the reservoir, and means for directing flow of a portion of the water from the reservoir to the reactor, wherein the reactor comprises the plurality of carriers in order to, for example, mechanically transport the water and process the water downstream of the reservoir containing the aquaculture species.
Per claim 38, Bawden, as modified by Menashe, discloses that the hydrophobic agent is selected from the group consisting of an oil, wax, fatty acid, fatty alcohol, and combinations thereof (see Menashe, page 13, FIG. 8 is a graph depicting water penetration flow rate (% of total particle maximum weight after injecting water into the particles). Two types of 8 % Ethyl cellulose (EC) coated particles were examined: one particle was coated with 15 ml and the other with 13 ml of the polymer solution (1.2 gr or 1.04 gr of ethyl cellulose and caster oil); page 68…castor oil).
Per claim 40, Bawden, as modified by Menashe, does not disclose wherein the hydrophobic agent is present in the carrier in a weight percent ranging from about 10% to about 40% out of the total wet weight of the carrier or from about 88% to about 99.5% out of the total dry weight of the carrier.
It is submitted that it would have been a matter of routine optimization to provide the carriers such that wherein the hydrophobic agent is present in the carrier in a weight percent ranging from about 10% to about 40% out of the total wet weight of the carrier or from about 88% to about 99.5% out of the total dry weight of the carrier. It has been held that it is not inventive to discover optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation, In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Further, the examiner notes that applicant has not provided for the record a proper showing (e.g., comparative test data) of any new and unexpected result obtained by utilizing the recited ranges of elements.
Per claim 45, Bawden, as modified by Menashe, do not disclose wherein the plurality of carriers further comprise an emulsifier, selected from the group consisting of ethoxylated sorbitan esters of fatty acids, succinylated monoglycerides, sucrose esters of fatty acids, sucroglycerides, polyglycerol esters of fatty acids, polyglycerol polyricinoleate, propane-1,2-diol esters of fatty acids, propylene glycol esters of fatty acids, lactylated fatty acid esters of glycerol and propane-1, thermally oxidized soya bean oil interacted with mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids, dioctyl sodium sulfosuccinate, sodium stearoyl-2-lactylate, calcium stearoyl-2-lactylate, stearyl tartrate, stearyl citrate, sodium stearoyl fumarate, calcium stearoyl fumarate, sodium lauryl sulfate, ethoxylated mono- and di-glycerides, methyl glucoside-coconut oil ester, propane-1,2-diol, sorbitan monostearate, sorbitan tristearate, sorbitan monolaurate, sorbitan monooleate, sorbitan monopalmitate, sorbitan trioleate, polyoxypropylene-polyoxyethylene polymers, partial polyglycerol esters of polycondensed fatty acids of castor oil, stigmasterol-rich plant sterols, and combinations thereof.
It is submitted that it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the system of Bawden, as modified by Menashe, such that the carriers comprise an emulsifier, selected from the group consisting of ethoxylated sorbitan esters of fatty acids, succinylated monoglycerides, sucrose esters of fatty acids, sucroglycerides, polyglycerol esters of fatty acids, polyglycerol polyricinoleate, propane-1,2-diol esters of fatty acids, propylene glycol esters of fatty acids, lactylated fatty acid esters of glycerol and propane-1, thermally oxidized soya bean oil interacted with mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids, dioctyl sodium sulfosuccinate, sodium stearoyl-2-lactylate, calcium stearoyl-2-lactylate, stearyl tartrate, stearyl citrate, sodium stearoyl fumarate, calcium stearoyl fumarate, sodium lauryl sulfate, ethoxylated mono- and di-glycerides, methyl glucoside-coconut oil ester, propane-1,2-diol, sorbitan monostearate, sorbitan tristearate, sorbitan monolaurate, sorbitan monooleate, sorbitan monopalmitate, sorbitan trioleate, polyoxypropylene-polyoxyethylene polymers, partial polyglycerol esters of polycondensed fatty acids of castor oil, stigmasterol-rich plant sterols, and combinations thereof in order to, for example, decrease surface tension of the water in contact with the carriers and enhance mixing of different liquids in the water. Further, the examiner notes that applicant has not provided for the record a proper showing (e.g., comparative test data) of any new and unexpected result derived by utilizing the recited emulsifiers.
Per claim 48, Bawden disclose wherein a reactor may be selected from the group consisting of a packed bed reactor, fixed bed reactor, moving bed reactor, rotating bed reactor, and fluidized bed reactor (page 8, The biological filter may be of any suitable form. For example, the biological filter may comprise an aerobic marine biofilter or the like, though any suitable filter including, for example, a fluidised media, submerged static bed, trickle static bed or activated sludge biological filter may be used where appropriate.). Bawden does not explicitly disclose wherein the carriers adapted for degrading or transforming the TOCs are in reactors selected from the group consisting of a packed bed reactor, fixed bed reactor, moving bed reactor, rotating bed reactor, and fluidized bed reactor.
It is submitted that it would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan to modify the system of Bawden, as modified by Menashe, such that it includes wherein the reactor is selected from the group consisting of a packed bed reactor, fixed bed reactor, moving bed reactor, rotating bed reactor, and fluidized bed reactor in order to, for example, to prevent TOCs present in the biological filters from being introduced into the aquaculture species reservoir (page 5, Embodiments of the present invention permit use of a biological fitter to break down nitrogenous and organic compounds produced in the system while separating the biological filtration activity from the first water stream. Thus, in use, taint-forming compounds may be prevented from being introduced into the first water stream and the vessel.).
Conclusion
/FRED PRINCE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1779