DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18, 19 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by JP 2003096198 A (Santo) abstract and machine translation per IDS filed 02/11/2025 as evidenced by US 2014/0248557 (Yaguchi).
Santo discloses a process for reacting a (waste) silicone resin composed of organosiloxane bonds [0020] with water in a supercritical or subcritical state (meets Applicants’ process of reacting silicone waste with hydrothermal water or supercritical water) to produce silicone resin fine particles (meets Applicants’ solid mixture containing silicon) (e.g., abstract, examples, claims). Santo expressly exemplifies the organosilicone resin RSR213 having siloxane units.
As to claim 18, given that the same hydrothermal or supercritical conditions are disclosed by Santo, it would be expected that the Si-C and/or Si-O bonds of the silicone resin would be similarly cleaved.
As to claim 19, Santo’ organosilicone resin RSR213 does not contain halogens.
As to claim 21, given that the same hydrothermal or supercritical conditions are disclosed by Santo, it would be expected that methane would be similarly produced.
As to claim 22, in Example 1 Santo discloses a temperature of 400°C.
As to claim 23, Santo discloses the silicone resin fine particles can be reused/recycled [0001]/[0004].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2003096198 A (Santo) described hereinabove.
Santo discloses that the process involves cooling the resin particles to room temperature. It would have been within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to conduct the cooling over the course of more hours with the reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed August 14, 2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 102/103 rejections over JP 2003096198 A (Santo) have been withdrawn. Claim 1 has been amended to further recite that the silicone is reacted with hydrothermal water at a pressure of up to 160 bar. In contradistinction, Santo discloses a pressure of 20 MPa or more, i.e., over 200 bar. Santo does not suggest or provide any motivation of using a pressure of at most 160 bar as presently recited. An updated search has failed to reveal any additional prior art that would fairly teach, suggest or provide motivation to arrive at the presently claimed subject matter.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-13, 15-17, 25 and 27 are allowed.
Claims 20 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Santo does not disclose or suggest the limitations per claims 20 and 24.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANA L. WOODWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765