DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed on September 20, 2023 is acknowledged. Claims 23-41 are pending and under examination in this Office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 23, 2025 and April 18, 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23, 30-36, and 39-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pantaleo US Patent 9,670,506) in view of Keller et al. US Patent Application Publication (US 2020/0325182).
Regarding Claims 23-24, 30-36. Pantaleo teaches a recombinant NYVAC vector comprising a promoter operably connected to a translation enhancing element (TEE) and a polynucleotide encoding a severe acute respiratory syn- drome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) antigen; and a polynucleotide encoding C7L identical with present SEQ ID NO:2 adjacent to a polynucleotide encoding K1L identical with present SEQ ID NO:3, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. (see sequence alignment below, claims 1-17, Figure 3B, columns 10-29 and Examples 1 and 2).
Panteleo teaches The recombinant NYVAC vector of claim 4, wherein the tumor target antigen is selected from the group consisting of: a gp100 (MART-1/Melan A), gp75 (TRP-1), tyrosinase, NY-ESO-1, melanoma proteoglycan, a MAGE family antigen, a BAGE family antigen, a GAGE family antigen, a RAGE family antigens, N-acetylglucosaminyltransferase-V, p15, β-catenin, MUM-1, cyclin dependent kinase-4 (CDK4), p21-ras, BCR-abl, p53, p185 (HER2/neu), epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR), carcinoembryonic antigen (CEA), a carcinoma-associated mutated mucin, MUC-1, prostate specific antigen (PSA), prostate specific membrane antigen (PSMA), KSA, kinesin 2, HIP-55, TGFβ-1 anti-apoptotic factor, tumor protein D52, H1FT, NY-BR-1, NY-BR-62, NY-BR-75, NY-BR-85, NY-BR- 87, NY-BR-96, and a pancreatic cancer antigen (see claim 13).
Pantaleo teaches "A recombinant NYVAC vector") comprising a promoter operably connected to a polynucleotide encoding a [viral antigen] (col 14 In 60-66; "Expression vectors typically comprise one or more flanking polynucleotides "operably linked" to a heterologous polynucleotide encoding a polypeptide. As used herein, the term "operably linked" refers to a linkage between polynucleotide elements in a functional relationship such as when promoter or enhancer affects transcription of a polynucleotide of interest (e.g., a coding sequence)"; claim 4; "The recombinant NYVAC vector of claim 3, wherein the immunogen directs an immune response against an antigen selected from the group consisting of a viral target antigen") and a polynucleotide encoding C7L (SEQ ID NO:2) adjacent to a polynucleotide encoding K1L (SEQ ID NO:3)
Pantaleo teaches (claim 1; "A recombinant NYVAC vector encoding in its genome C7L (SEQ ID NO: 17) and K1L (SEQ ID NO: 27), wherein the C7L (SEQ ID NO: 17) and K1L (SEQ ID NO: 27) coding sequences are adjacent to one another in the genome"; SEQ ID NO: 17 AA 1-150 100% sequence identity to instant application SEQ ID NO: 2; SEQ ID NO:27 AA 1-284 100% sequence identity to instant application SEQ ID NO: 3).
Regarding Claims 36, and 39-41. Pantaleo teaches A method of inducing an immune response in a host against a viral target antigen, a bacterial target antigen, a parasitic target antigen, or a tumor target antigen comprising administering an effective amount of the composition (see claim 15).
Pantaleo does not disclose the viral antigen is a SARS-CoV-2 antigen or a translation enhancing element (TEE).
Keller discloses the viral antigen is a SARS-coronavirus antigen (claim 5; "A recombinant attenuated poxvirus comprising a genome with a nucleic acid insertion that encodes a SARS Coronavirus polypeptide consisting essentially of SEQ ID NO:1, 3, 4, 6 or 7").
Present SEQ ID NO: 3 and SEQ ID NO: 27 in Pantaleo
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1458; Length 284;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 284; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MDLSRINTWKSKQLKSFLSSKDTFKADVHGHSALYYAIA DNNVRLVCTLLNAGALKNLLE 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MDLSRINTWKSKQLKSFLSSKDTFKADVHGHSALYYAIA DNNVRLVCTLLNAGALKNLLE 60
Qy 61 NEFPLHQAATLEDTKIVKILLFSGMDDSQFDDKGNTALYYAVDSGNMQTVKLFVKKNWRL
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 NEFPLHQAATLEDTKIVKILLFSGMDDSQFDDKGNTALYYAVDSGNMQTVKLFVKKNWRL 120
Qy 121 MFYGKTGWKTSFYHAVMLNDVSIVSYFLSEIPSTFDLAILLSCIHTTIKNGHVDMMILLL
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 MFYGKTGWKTSFYHAVMLNDVSIVSYFLSEIPSTFDLAILLSCIHTTIKNGHVDMMILLL 180
Qy 181 DYMTSTNTNNSLLFIPDIKLAIDNKDIEMLQALFKYDINIYSVNLENVLLDDAEITKMII
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 DYMTSTNTNNSLLFIPDIKLAIDNKDIEMLQALFKYDINIYSVNLENVLLDDAEITKMII 240
Qy 241 EKHVEYKSDSYTKDLDIVKNNKLDEIISKNKELRLMYVNCVKKN 284
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 EKHVEYKSDSYTKDLDIVKNNKLDEIISKNKELRLMYVNCVKKN 284
An artisan of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a polynucleotide encoding a SARS-CoV-2 antigen could have substituted for the coronavirus antigen disclosed by Keller.
Thus, the present invention would have been prima facie obvious at the time the invention was made.
Claims 23-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pantaleo US Patent 9,670,506) in view of Keller et al. US Patent Application Publication (US 2020/0325182), Langedijk et al. (US Patent 11,498,944), Chaput et al. (US Patent 9,234,197) and Bettencourt et al. (US Patent 10,023,862).
Pantaleo and Keller teach the claimed invention as discussed above. They do not teach present SEQ ID NO: 1 or SEQ ID NO: 5.
Regarding present claims 24-29 and 37-38. Langedijk et al. teaches a polynucleotide encoding a sequence identical with present SEQ ID NO: 1 (see SEQ ID NO: 121 in Langedijk et al.
Present SEQ ID NO: 1 and SEQ ID NO: 121 in Langedijk et al.
Alignment Scores:
Length: 3819
Score: 6722.00 Matches: 1273
Percent Similarity: 100.0% Conservative: 0
Best Local Similarity: 100.0% Mismatches: 0
Query Match: 100.0% Indels: 0
Gaps: 0
US-18-283-042-1 (1-1273) x US-17-163-357-121 (1-3819)
Qy 1 MetPheValPheLeuValLeuLeuProLeuValSerSerGlnCysValAsnLeuThrThr 20
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 ATGTTCGTGTTTCTGGTGCTGCTGCCTCTGGTGTCCAGCCAGTGTGTGAACCTGACCACC 60
Qy 21 ArgThrGlnLeuProProAlaTyrThrAsnSerPheThrArgGlyValTyrTyrProAsp 40
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 AGAACACAGCTGCCTCCAGCCTACACCAACAGCTTTACCAGAGGCGTGTACTACCCCGAC 120
Qy 41 LysValPheArgSerSerValLeuHisSerThrGlnAspLeuPheLeuProPhePheSer 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 AAGGTGTTCAGATCCAGCGTGCTGCACTCTACCCAGGACCTGTTCCTGCCTTTCTTCAGC 180
Qy 61 AsnValThrTrpPheHisAlaIleHisValSerGlyThrAsnGlyThrLysArgPheAsp 80
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 AACGTGACCTGGTTCCACGCCATCCACGTGTCCGGCACCAATGGCACCAAGAGATTCGAC 240
Qy 81 AsnProValLeuProPheAsnAspGlyValTyrPheAlaSerThrGluLysSerAsnIle 100
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 AACCCCGTGCTGCCCTTCAACGACGGGGTGTACTTTGCCAGCACCGAGAAGTCCAACATC 300
Qy 101 IleArgGlyTrpIlePheGlyThrThrLeuAspSerLysThrGlnSerLeuLeuIleVal 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 ATCAGAGGCTGGATCTTCGGCACCACACTGGACAGCAAGACCCAGAGCCTGCTGATCGTG 360
Qy 121 AsnAsnAlaThrAsnValValIleLysValCysGluPheGlnPheCysAsnAspProPhe 140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 AACAACGCCACCAACGTGGTCATCAAAGTGTGCGAGTTCCAGTTCTGCAACGACCCCTTC 420
Qy 141 LeuGlyValTyrTyrHisLysAsnAsnLysSerTrpMetGluSerGluPheArgValTyr 160
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 CTGGGCGTCTACTACCACAAGAACAACAAGAGCTGGATGGAAAGCGAGTTCCGGGTGTAC 480
Qy 161 SerSerAlaAsnAsnCysThrPheGluTyrValSerGlnProPheLeuMetAspLeuGlu 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 AGCAGCGCCAACAACTGCACCTTCGAGTACGTGTCCCAGCCTTTCCTGATGGACCTGGAA 540
Qy 181 GlyLysGlnGlyAsnPheLysAsnLeuArgGluPheValPheLysAsnIleAspGlyTyr 200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 GGCAAGCAGGGCAACTTCAAGAACCTGCGCGAGTTCGTGTTCAAGAACATCGACGGCTAC 600
Qy 201 PheLysIleTyrSerLysHisThrProIleAsnLeuValArgAspLeuProGlnGlyPhe 220
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 TTCAAGATCTACAGCAAGCACACCCCTATCAACCTCGTGCGGGATCTGCCTCAGGGCTTC 660
Qy 221 SerAlaLeuGluProLeuValAspLeuProIleGlyIleAsnIleThrArgPheGlnThr 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 661 TCTGCTCTGGAACCCCTGGTGGATCTGCCCATCGGCATCAACATCACCCGGTTTCAGACA 720
Qy 241 LeuLeuAlaLeuHisArgSerTyrLeuThrProGlyAspSerSerSerGlyTrpThrAla 260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 721 CTGCTGGCCCTGCACAGAAGCTACCTGACACCTGGCGATAGCAGCAGCGGATGGACAGCT 780
Qy 261 GlyAlaAlaAlaTyrTyrValGlyTyrLeuGlnProArgThrPheLeuLeuLysTyrAsn 280
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 781 GGTGCCGCCGCTTACTATGTGGGCTACCTGCAGCCTAGAACCTTCCTGCTGAAGTACAAC 840
Qy 281 GluAsnGlyThrIleThrAspAlaValAspCysAlaLeuAspProLeuSerGluThrLys 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 841 GAGAACGGCACCATCACCGACGCCGTGGATTGTGCTCTGGATCCTCTGAGCGAGACAAAG 900
Qy 301 CysThrLeuLysSerPheThrValGluLysGlyIleTyrGlnThrSerAsnPheArgVal 320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 901 TGCACCCTGAAGTCCTTCACCGTGGAAAAGGGCATCTACCAGACCAGCAACTTCCGGGTG 960
Qy 321 GlnProThrGluSerIleValArgPheProAsnIleThrAsnLeuCysProPheGlyGlu 340
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 961 CAGCCCACCGAATCCATCGTGCGGTTCCCCAATATCACCAATCTGTGCCCCTTCGGCGAG 1020
Qy 341 ValPheAsnAlaThrArgPheAlaSerValTyrAlaTrpAsnArgLysArgIleSerAsn 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1021 GTGTTCAATGCCACCAGATTCGCCTCTGTGTACGCCTGGAACCGGAAGCGGATCAGCAAT 1080
Qy 361 CysValAlaAspTyrSerValLeuTyrAsnSerAlaSerPheSerThrPheLysCysTyr 380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1081 TGCGTGGCCGACTACTCCGTGCTGTACAACTCCGCCAGCTTCAGCACCTTCAAGTGCTAC 1140
Qy 381 GlyValSerProThrLysLeuAsnAspLeuCysPheThrAsnValTyrAlaAspSerPhe 400
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1141 GGCGTGTCCCCTACCAAGCTGAACGACCTGTGCTTCACAAACGTGTACGCCGACAGCTTC 1200
Qy 401 ValIleArgGlyAspGluValArgGlnIleAlaProGlyGlnThrGlyLysIleAlaAsp 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1201 GTGATCCGGGGAGATGAAGTGCGGCAGATTGCCCCTGGACAGACAGGCAAGATCGCCGAC 1260
Qy 421 TyrAsnTyrLysLeuProAspAspPheThrGlyCysValIleAlaTrpAsnSerAsnAsn 440
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1261 TACAACTACAAGCTGCCCGACGACTTCACCGGCTGTGTGATTGCCTGGAACAGCAACAAC 1320
Qy 441 LeuAspSerLysValGlyGlyAsnTyrAsnTyrLeuTyrArgLeuPheArgLysSerAsn 460
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1321 CTGGACTCCAAAGTCGGCGGCAACTACAATTACCTGTACCGGCTGTTCCGGAAGTCCAAT 1380
Qy 461 LeuLysProPheGluArgAspIleSerThrGluIleTyrGlnAlaGlySerThrProCys 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1381 CTGAAGCCCTTCGAGCGGGACATCTCCACCGAGATCTATCAGGCCGGCAGCACCCCTTGT 1440
Qy 481 AsnGlyValGluGlyPheAsnCysTyrPheProLeuGlnSerTyrGlyPheGlnProThr 500
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1441 AACGGCGTGGAAGGCTTCAACTGCTACTTCCCACTGCAGTCCTACGGCTTTCAGCCCACA 1500
Qy 501 AsnGlyValGlyTyrGlnProTyrArgValValValLeuSerPheGluLeuLeuHisAla 520
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1501 AATGGCGTGGGCTATCAGCCCTACAGAGTGGTGGTGCTGAGCTTCGAACTGCTGCATGCC 1560
Qy 521 ProAlaThrValCysGlyProLysLysSerThrAsnLeuValLysAsnLysCysValAsn 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1561 CCTGCCACAGTGTGCGGCCCTAAGAAAAGCACCAATCTCGTGAAGAACAAATGCGTGAAC 1620
Qy 541 PheAsnPheAsnGlyLeuThrGlyThrGlyValLeuThrGluSerAsnLysLysPheLeu 560
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1621 TTCAACTTCAACGGCCTGACCGGCACCGGCGTGCTGACAGAGAGCAACAAGAAGTTCCTG 1680
Qy 561 ProPheGlnGlnPheGlyArgAspIleAlaAspThrThrAspAlaValArgAspProGln 580
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1681 CCATTCCAGCAGTTTGGCCGGGATATCGCCGATACCACAGACGCCGTTAGAGATCCCCAG 1740
Qy 581 ThrLeuGluIleLeuAspIleThrProCysSerPheGlyGlyValSerValIleThrPro 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1741 ACACTGGAAATCCTGGACATCACCCCTTGCAGCTTCGGCGGAGTGTCTGTGATCACCCCT 1800
Qy 601 GlyThrAsnThrSerAsnGlnValAlaValLeuTyrGlnAspValAsnCysThrGluVal 620
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1801 GGCACCAACACCAGCAATCAGGTGGCAGTGCTGTACCAGGACGTGAACTGTACCGAAGTG 1860
Qy 621 ProValAlaIleHisAlaAspGlnLeuThrProThrTrpArgValTyrSerThrGlySer 640
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1861 CCCGTGGCCATTCACGCCGATCAGCTGACACCTACATGGCGGGTGTACTCCACCGGCAGC 1920
Qy 641 AsnValPheGlnThrArgAlaGlyCysLeuIleGlyAlaGluHisValAsnAsnSerTyr 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1921 AATGTGTTTCAGACCAGAGCCGGCTGTCTGATCGGAGCCGAGCACGTGAACAATAGCTAC 1980
Qy 661 GluCysAspIleProIleGlyAlaGlyIleCysAlaSerTyrGlnThrGlnThrAsnSer 680
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1981 GAGTGCGACATCCCCATCGGCGCTGGCATCTGTGCCAGCTACCAGACACAGACAAACAGC 2040
Qy 681 ProArgArgAlaArgSerValAlaSerGlnSerIleIleAlaTyrThrMetSerLeuGly 700
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2041 CCCAGACGGGCCAGATCTGTGGCCAGCCAGAGCATCATTGCCTACACAATGTCTCTGGGC 2100
Qy 701 AlaGluAsnSerValAlaTyrSerAsnAsnSerIleAlaIleProThrAsnPheThrIle 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2101 GCCGAGAACAGCGTGGCCTACTCCAACAACTCTATCGCTATCCCCACCAACTTCACCATC 2160
Qy 721 SerValThrThrGluIleLeuProValSerMetThrLysThrSerValAspCysThrMet 740
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2161 AGCGTGACCACAGAGATCCTGCCTGTGTCCATGACCAAGACCAGCGTGGACTGCACCATG 2220
Qy 741 TyrIleCysGlyAspSerThrGluCysSerAsnLeuLeuLeuGlnTyrGlySerPheCys 760
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2221 TACATCTGCGGCGATTCCACCGAGTGCTCCAACCTGCTGCTGCAGTACGGCAGCTTCTGC 2280
Qy 761 ThrGlnLeuAsnArgAlaLeuThrGlyIleAlaValGluGlnAspLysAsnThrGlnGlu 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2281 ACCCAGCTGAATAGAGCCCTGACAGGGATCGCCGTGGAACAGGACAAGAACACCCAAGAG 2340
Qy 781 ValPheAlaGlnValLysGlnIleTyrLysThrProProIleLysAspPheGlyGlyPhe 800
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2341 GTGTTCGCCCAAGTGAAGCAGATCTACAAGACCCCTCCTATCAAGGACTTCGGCGGCTTC 2400
Qy 801 AsnPheSerGlnIleLeuProAspProSerLysProSerLysArgSerPheIleGluAsp 820
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2401 AATTTCAGCCAGATTCTGCCCGATCCTAGCAAGCCCAGCAAGCGGAGCTTCATCGAGGAC 2460
Qy 821 LeuLeuPheAsnLysValThrLeuAlaAspAlaGlyPheIleLysGlnTyrGlyAspCys 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2461 CTGCTGTTCAACAAAGTGACACTGGCCGACGCCGGCTTCATCAAGCAGTATGGCGATTGT 2520
Qy 841 LeuGlyAspIleAlaAlaArgAspLeuIleCysAlaGlnLysPheAsnGlyLeuThrVal 860
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2521 CTGGGCGACATTGCCGCCAGGGATCTGATTTGCGCCCAGAAGTTTAACGGACTGACAGTG 2580
Qy 861 LeuProProLeuLeuThrAspGluMetIleAlaGlnTyrThrSerAlaLeuLeuAlaGly 880
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2581 CTGCCTCCTCTGCTGACCGATGAGATGATCGCCCAGTACACATCTGCCCTGCTGGCCGGC 2640
Qy 881 ThrIleThrSerGlyTrpThrPheGlyAlaGlyAlaAlaLeuGlnIleProPheAlaMet 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2641 ACAATCACAAGCGGCTGGACATTTGGAGCTGGCGCCGCTCTGCAGATCCCCTTTGCTATG 2700
Qy 901 GlnMetAlaTyrArgPheAsnGlyIleGlyValThrGlnAsnValLeuTyrGluAsnGln 920
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2701 CAGATGGCCTACCGGTTCAACGGCATCGGAGTGACCCAGAATGTGCTGTACGAGAACCAG 2760
Qy 921 LysLeuIleAlaAsnGlnPheAsnSerAlaIleGlyLysIleGlnAspSerLeuSerSer 940
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2761 AAGCTGATCGCCAACCAGTTCAACAGCGCCATCGGCAAGATCCAGGACAGCCTGAGCAGC 2820
Qy 941 ThrAlaSerAlaLeuGlyLysLeuGlnAspValValAsnGlnAsnAlaGlnAlaLeuAsn 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2821 ACAGCAAGCGCCCTGGGAAAGCTGCAGGACGTGGTCAACCAGAATGCCCAGGCACTGAAC 2880
Qy 961 ThrLeuValLysGlnLeuSerSerAsnPheGlyAlaIleSerSerValLeuAsnAspIle 980
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2881 ACCCTGGTCAAGCAGCTGTCCTCCAACTTCGGCGCCATCAGCTCTGTGCTGAACGATATC 2940
Qy 981 LeuSerArgLeuAspLysValGluAlaGluValGlnIleAspArgLeuIleThrGlyArg 1000
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2941 CTGAGCAGACTGGACAAGGTGGAAGCCGAGGTGCAGATCGACAGACTGATCACCGGAAGG 3000
Qy 1001 LeuGlnSerLeuGlnThrTyrValThrGlnGlnLeuIleArgAlaAlaGluIleArgAla 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3001 CTGCAGTCCCTGCAGACCTACGTTACCCAGCAGCTGATCAGAGCCGCCGAGATTAGAGCC 3060
Qy 1021 SerAlaAsnLeuAlaAlaThrLysMetSerGluCysValLeuGlyGlnSerLysArgVal 1040
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3061 TCTGCCAATCTGGCCGCCACCAAGATGTCTGAGTGTGTGCTGGGCCAGAGCAAGAGAGTG 3120
Qy 1041 AspPheCysGlyLysGlyTyrHisLeuMetSerPheProGlnSerAlaProHisGlyVal 1060
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3121 GACTTTTGCGGCAAGGGCTACCACCTGATGAGCTTCCCTCAGTCTGCCCCTCACGGCGTG 3180
Qy 1061 ValPheLeuHisValThrTyrValProAlaGlnGluLysAsnPheThrThrAlaProAla 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3181 GTGTTTCTGCACGTGACATACGTGCCCGCTCAAGAGAAGAATTTCACCACCGCTCCAGCC 3240
Qy 1081 IleCysHisAspGlyLysAlaHisPheProArgGluGlyValPheValSerAsnGlyThr 1100
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3241 ATCTGCCACGACGGCAAAGCCCACTTTCCTAGAGAAGGCGTGTTCGTGTCCAACGGCACC 3300
Qy 1101 HisTrpPheValThrGlnArgAsnPheTyrGluProGlnIleIleThrThrAspAsnThr 1120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3301 CATTGGTTCGTGACCCAGCGGAACTTCTACGAGCCCCAGATCATCACCACCGACAACACC 3360
Qy 1121 PheValSerGlyAsnCysAspValValIleGlyIleValAsnAsnThrValTyrAspPro 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3361 TTCGTGTCTGGCAACTGCGACGTCGTGATCGGCATTGTGAACAATACCGTGTACGACCCT 3420
Qy 1141 LeuGlnProGluLeuAspSerPheLysGluGluLeuAspLysTyrPheLysAsnHisThr 1160
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3421 CTGCAGCCCGAGCTGGACAGCTTCAAAGAGGAACTGGATAAGTACTTTAAGAACCACACA 3480
Qy 1161 SerProAspValAspLeuGlyAspIleSerGlyIleAsnAlaSerValValAsnIleGln 1180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3481 AGCCCCGACGTGGACCTGGGCGATATCAGCGGAATCAATGCCAGCGTCGTGAACATCCAG 3540
Qy 1181 LysGluIleAspArgLeuAsnGluValAlaLysAsnLeuAsnGluSerLeuIleAspLeu 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3541 AAAGAGATCGACCGGCTGAACGAGGTGGCCAAGAATCTGAACGAGAGCCTGATCGACCTG 3600
Qy 1201 GlnGluLeuGlyLysTyrGluGlnTyrIleLysTrpProTrpTyrIleTrpLeuGlyPhe 1220
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3601 CAAGAACTGGGGAAGTACGAGCAGTACATCAAGTGGCCCTGGTACATCTGGCTGGGCTTT 3660
Qy 1221 IleAlaGlyLeuIleAlaIleValMetValThrIleMetLeuCysCysMetThrSerCys 1240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3661 ATCGCCGGACTGATTGCCATCGTGATGGTCACAATCATGCTGTGTTGCATGACCAGCTGC 3720
Qy 1241 CysSerCysLeuLysGlyCysCysSerCysGlySerCysCysLysPheAspGluAspAsp 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3721 TGTAGCTGCCTGAAGGGCTGTTGTAGCTGTGGCAGCTGCTGCAAGTTCGACGAGGACGAT 3780
Qy 1261 SerGluProValLeuLysGlyValLysLeuHisTyrThr 1273
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3781 TCTGAGCCCGTGCTGAAGGGCGTGAAACTGCACTACACA 3819
Regarding present claim 30. Bettencourt teaches a translation enhancing element identical with present SEQ ID NO: 4 (see SEQ ID NO: 2994).
Query Match 100.0%; Score 11; Length 12;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 11; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 AAAACTGCTAA 11
|||||||||||
Db 12 AAAACTGCTAA 2
It would have been prima facie obvious to provide Pantaleos and Keller’s recombinant NYVAC vector comprising Bettencourt translation enhancing element identical with present SEQ ID NO: 4 (see SEQ ID NO: 2994) because Bettencourt teaches a translation enhancing element aids in transcription of proteins (see Example 3).
Regarding present claim 32. Chaput teaches SLP comprising a nucleic acid sequence identical with present SEQ ID NO: 5 (see SEQ ID NO: 1 in Chaput and the sequence alignment below).
Present SEQ ID NO: 5 and SEQ ID NO: 1 in Chaput.
Query Match 100.0%; Score 26; Length 37;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 26; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 CATATTGAAGAGACAGAGTGATATAT 26
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 CATATTGAAGAGACAGAGTGATATAT 26
It would have been prima facie obvious to provide Pantaleos and Keller’s recombinant NYVAC vector comprising Chaput’s SLP comprising a nucleic acid sequence identical with present SEQ ID: 5 because Chaput teaches recombinant expression constructs comprising synthetic late promoter enhancing protein translation (see Example 1).
Thus, the present invention would have been prima facie obvious at the time the invention was made.
Pertinent references
Weltzin et al. (US Patent 7,645,456) teaches a sequence identical with present SEQ ID NO: 2
Present SEQ ID NO: 2 and SEQ ID NO: 56 in Weltzin et al.
Query Match 100.0%; Score 802; Length 150;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 150; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MGIQHEFDIIINGDIALRNLQLHKGDNYGCKLKIISNDYKKLKFRFIIRPDWSEIDEVKG 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MGIQHEFDIIINGDIALRNLQLHKGDNYGCKLKIISNDYKKLKFRFIIRPDWSEIDEVKG 60
Qy 61 LTVFANNYAVKVNKVDDTFYYVIYEAVIHLYNKKTEILIYSDDENELFKHYYPYISLNMI
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 LTVFANNYAVKVNKVDDTFYYVIYEAVIHLYNKKTEILIYSDDENELFKHYYPYISLNMI 120
Qy 121 SKKYKVKEENYSSPYIEHPLIPYRDYESMD 150
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 SKKYKVKEENYSSPYIEHPLIPYRDYESMD 150
Contact Information
/AGNIESZKA BOESEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1648