DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 are pending, and claims 1-4 are currently under review.
Claims 5-6 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-4, in the reply filed on 2/03/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/03/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites the term “main phase”, which is indefinite because it is unclear whether “main” requires some particular numerical amount, whether “main” just requires a majority amount or a greatest amount relative to other microstructural phases, or something else entirely. The examiner interprets the aforementioned term to be met by any of the above interpretations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. (WO2019009410, US 2021/0140005 referred to as English translation) alone or alternatively further in view of Shuto et al. (US 2017/0145538).
Regarding claims 1-2, Yoshida et al. discloses a hot rolled steel sheet having a composition as seen in table 1 below [abstract, 0017-0036]. Yoshida et al. is silent regarding any required inclusions of O, which one of ordinary skill would understand to mean that O is absent (ie. 0%) or only present in impurity amounts, which meets the claimed ranges. The examiner notes that the overlap between the composition of Yoshida et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Yoshida et al. further teaches a microstructure of ferrite in an amount of up to 55%, which meets the limitation of “main phase” as claimed [0037].
Yoshida et al. does not expressly teach a feature of maximum orientation density of grains in a plane measured as claimed. However, one of ordinary skill would readily understand that grain features are directly influenced by steel composition, microstructure, and manufacturing parameters. Yoshida et al. discloses an overlapping steel composition and microstructure as explained above. Yoshida et al. also teaches an overlapping, substantially similar method of manufacturing as further shown below in table 1 below. Therefore, an overlapping, substantially similar range of maximum orientation density of grains would have naturally flowed from the overlapping steel composition, microstructure, and manufacturing parameters of Yoshida et al. absent concrete evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2144.05(I) & MPEP 2112.
Alternatively, Yoshida et al. does not specify an amount of O as claimed. Shuto et al. discloses a hot rolled sheet having good hole expandability and stretch flanging workability [abstract]; wherein it is known to control O amounts to be 0 to 0.01 weight percent to balance economic efficiency with desired formability [0102-0103]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the steel of Yoshida et al. by controlling O for the aforementioned benefit disclosed by Shuto et al. The examiner notes that the overlap between the O amount of Shuto et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 1 (wt.%)
Yoshida et al. (wt.%)
C
0 – 0.1
0.02 – 0.2
Si
0 – 2
0.005 – 2
Mn
0 – 2
1.3 – 2.4
P
0 – 0.1
0 – 0.1
S
0 – 0.02
0 – 0.01
Al
0 – 1.5
0.001 – 1
O
0 – 0.0025
0
0 – 0.01 (Shuto et al.)
Fe & Impurities
Balance
Balance
Processing parameters
Instant specification [0039-0051]
Yoshida et al. [0146-]
Slab heating at 1100 to 1350 degrees C
Slab heating at 1150 to 1350 degrees C
Hot rolling with:
6 passes or more at a reduction of at least 15% per pass at 1000 degrees C or more
3 passes or more at a reduction of at least 15% per pass at lower than 1000 degrees C
rolling for less than 2 seconds at less than 1000 degrees C
a finish delivery temperature of 850 to 940 degrees C
Hot rolling with:
at least 2 passes at a reduction of at least 50% per pass at a temperature of FT+50 to FT+150 degrees C (overlapping temperature)
at least 2 passes at a reduction of at least 50% per pass at a temperature of FT to FT+50 degrees C (overlapping temperature)
rolling for 0.5 to 10 seconds at FT to FT+50 (overlapping temperature)
finish rolling temperature at AR3 to 1100 degrees C (overlapping temperature)
Cool to 700 degrees C or lower at 50 degrees C per second or faster
Cool to lower than Ms at 20 degrees C per second or faster
Coil at 580 to 700 degrees C
General coiling (overlapping temperatures as would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill)
Regarding claims 3-4, the aforementioned prior art discloses the steel of claims 1-2 (see previous). Yoshida et al. further teaches an inclusion of Cr of up to 2 weight percent among others, which overlaps with the claimed range [0096-0097]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda et al. (US 2014/0000766) alone or alternatively further in view of Shuto et al. (US 2017/0145538).
Regarding claim 1, Maeda et al. discloses a hot rolled steel sheet having a composition as seen in table 2 below [abstract, 0028-0051]. Maeda et al. is silent regarding any required inclusions of O, which one of ordinary skill would understand to mean that O is absent (ie. 0%) or only present in impurity amounts, which meets the claimed ranges. The examiner notes that the overlap between the composition of Maeda et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Maeda et al. further teaches a microstructure of ferrite in an amount of at least 70%, which meets the limitation of “main phase” as claimed [abstract]. Maeda et al. also teaches controlling x-ray random intensity ratios to be 1.5 or less, which meets the claimed range [0052].
Alternatively, Maeda et al. does not specify an amount of O as claimed. Shuto et al. discloses a hot rolled sheet having good hole expandability and stretch flanging workability [abstract]; wherein it is known to control O amounts to be 0 to 0.01 weight percent to balance economic efficiency with desired formability [0102-0103]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the steel of Maeda et al. by controlling O for the aforementioned benefit disclosed by Shuto et al. The examiner notes that the overlap between the O amount of Shuto et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 1 (wt.%)
Maeda et al. (wt.%)
C
0 – 0.1
0.03 – 0.1
Si
0 – 2
0.5 – 1.5
Mn
0 – 2
0.5 – 2
P
0 – 0.1
0 – 0.05
S
0 – 0.02
0 – 0.01
Al
0 – 1.5
0 – 0.3
O
0 – 0.0025
0
0 – 0.01 (Shuto et al.)
Fe & Impurities
Balance
Balance
Regarding claim 2, the aforementioned prior art discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). The examiner notes that the aforementioned x-ray random intensity ratios of Maeda et al. pertain to the 211 plane which one of ordinary skill would understand to correspond to the claimed plane. The examiner’s position is further bolstered by the same mechanical properties of tensile strength (~500 MPa) and hole expansion (greater than 100%) achieved by Maeda et al. [0091-0093, table4] relative to the instant specification, wherein the instant specification expressly teaches the claimed feature to directly affect said properties [table3 instant spec.].
Regarding claims 3-4, the aforementioned prior art discloses the steel of claims 1-2 (see previous). Maeda et al. further teaches an inclusion of Cr of up to 1 weight percent among others, which overlaps with the claimed range [0048]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734