2. This communication is responsive to Application No. 18/283,058 and the amendments filed on 1/23/2026.
3. Claims 1-10 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/20/2023, 4/4/2024, and 8/21/2025 have been fully considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 with respect to referencing US 20140277679 A1 to Weinberg have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding independent claim 1, the Applicant argues that US 20140277679 A1 to Weinberg fails to teach the limitation “the controller calculates the movement direction for performing the force control and the position of the workpiece tip point serving as the control point for performing the force control before actual work including the force control, and the control point is a reference point for the force control,” specifically, for failing to teach the concept of force control as explained earlier in claim 1. While the Examiner disagrees with these arguments against Weinberg for the reasons stated on pages 9-12 of the Final Rejection mailed 10/1/2025 and the Advisory Action mailed 1/5/2026, after updated searching and consideration was performed, a new ground of rejection concerning this limitation has been determined, in which will be described later.
Further, Applicant's arguments filed 1/23/2026 with respect to claiming that the combination of US 20210213627 A1 to Nabeto, US 20200147787 A1 to Takahashi, US 20080312769 A1 to Sato '769, and US 20140277679 A1 to Weinberg fails to teach the amended limitations of the claim have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claim 1, the Applicant argues that the combination of Nabeto, Takahashi, Sato ‘769, and Weinberg fails to teach the amended limitation of “in the force control, a position and an orientation of the robot are controlled so that force applied to the control point in a direction other than a direction parallel to a predetermined movement direction and a moment around the control point are less than predetermined determination values.” However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As will be described later below, the Examiner submits that at least Sato ‘769 teaches this concept among others of claim 1.
For these reasons, claim 1 is still rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103, in which will be described later.
Regarding independent claim 2, as this claim contains similar limitations as claim 1, is still rejected for similar reasons as claim 1 is, in which will be described later.
Regarding dependent claims 3-10, as all of these claims depend from claim 1, are still rejected, in which will be described later.
Claim Objections
6. Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 2, the term “a position and an orientation of the robot are controller” recited in line 22 of claim 2 should read “a position and an orientation of the robot are controlled.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nabeto et al. (US 20210213627 A1 hereinafter Nabeto) in view of Takahashi (US 20200147787 A1 hereinafter Takahashi), Sato et al. (US 20080312769 A1 hereinafter Sato '769), and Ueda et al. (US 20180029234 A1 hereinafter Ueda).
Regarding Claim 1, Nabeto teaches a controller ([0036] via “As an example, the end effector device 1 includes … a control device 100 that controls the drive device 30, ….”) configured to calculate a parameter for performing force control when a robot moves a first workpiece toward a second workpiece ([0077] via “The position shift direction determination unit 120 determines in which direction the object being grasped 60 is position-shifted with respect to the fitting recess 71 based on the detection result detected by each of the tactile sensor units 13 in a case where at least one of the external forces in at least three axial directions detected by each tactile sensor unit 13 is a specified value or more when the palm 11 approaches the fitting recess 71 of the object to be assembled 70 in a state where the object being grasped 60 is grasped …”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the object being grasped 60 as the first workpiece and the object to be assembled 70 as the second workpiece. Further, the Examiner interprets the contact force manipulation between the first and second workpieces as the force control.), comprising:
a force detector configured to detect force applied to one of the first workpiece and the second workpiece when the robot brings the first workpiece into contact with the second workpiece ([0050] via “The fitting control unit 110 further includes a fitting determination unit 111 that determines whether the fitting of the object being grasped 60 into the fitting recess 71 is completed based on the detection result detected by each tactile sensor unit 13 when pressing the object being grasped 60 against the object to be assembled 70 with the pressing surface 16 to fit the object being grasped 60 into the fitting recess 71.”), ([0051] via “For example, when the palm 11 approaches the fitting recess 71 of the object to be assembled 70 from the Z direction in a state where the object being grasped 60 is grasped by each finger 12, the fitting determination unit 111 determines that the pressing surface 16 of the force-receiving portion 14 contacts with the opening edge 72 of the object to be assembled 70, as shown in FIG. 5, when the force in the Z direction detected by each tactile sensor unit 13 is a specified value (for example, 2N) or more.”); and
a parameter calculating unit configured to calculate a movement direction in which the first workpiece moves with respect to the second workpiece when the force control is performed and a position of a workpiece tip point serving as a control point in the force control ([0077] via “The position shift direction determination unit 120 determines in which direction the object being grasped 60 is position-shifted with respect to the fitting recess 71 based on the detection result detected by each of the tactile sensor units 13 in a case where at least one of the external forces in at least three axial directions detected by each tactile sensor unit 13 is a specified value or more when the palm 11 approaches the fitting recess 71 of the object to be assembled 70 in a state where the object being grasped 60 is grasped by each finger 12 and fitting the object being grasped 60 into the fitting recess 71 (for example, in a case where the force in the Z direction detected by each tactile sensor unit 13 is 2N or more, and it is determined by the fitting determination unit 111 that the object being grasped 60
and the opening edge 72 of the fitting recess 71 are in contact with each other).”), ([0079] via “In this case, the position shift direction determination unit 120 determines in which of the three axial directions the position shift of the object being grasped 60 with respect to the fitting recess 71 occurs based on a sum or difference of the forces in the X, Y, and Z directions detected by each tactile sensor unit 13 when it is determined that the object being grasped 60 contacts with the opening edge 72 of the fitting recess 71.”), wherein:
the force detector detects force during a period in which the robot brings the workpiece tip point of the first workpiece into contact with the second workpiece and presses the first workpiece along a predetermined pressing direction ([0051] via “For example, when the palm 11 approaches the fitting recess 71 of the object to be assembled 70 from the Z direction in a state where the object being grasped 60 is grasped by each finger 12, the fitting determination unit 111 determines that the pressing surface 16 of the force-receiving portion 14 contacts with the opening edge 72 of the object to be assembled 70, as shown in FIG. 5, when the force in the Z direction detected by each tactile sensor unit 13 is a specified value (for example, 2N) or more.”).
Nabeto is silent on wherein the force detector is configured to detect force applied to one of the first workpiece and the second workpiece including a corner portion; the force detector detects force of the workpiece tip point of the first workpiece into contact with the corner portion of the second workpiece; the parameter calculating unit acquires the force that is detected by the force detector and corresponds to each of a plurality of pressing directions when the first workpiece is pressed to the second workpiece in the plurality of pressing directions, and calculates the movement direction of the first workpiece and the position of the workpiece tip point of the first workpiece based on the force corresponding to the plurality of pressing directions, the controller calculates the movement direction for performing the force control and the position of the workpiece tip point serving as the control point for performing the force control before actual work including the force control, and the control point is a reference point for the force control, and in the force control, a position and an orientation of the robot are controlled so that force applied to the control point in a direction other than a direction parallel to a predetermined movement direction and a moment around the control point are less than predetermined determination values.
However, Takahashi teaches wherein the force detector is configured to detect force applied to one of the first workpiece and the second workpiece including a corner portion; and the force detector detects force of the workpiece tip point of the first workpiece into contact with the corner portion of the second workpiece ([0078] via “Then, as illustrated in the right side of FIG. 6, when P2 is reached, the reaction force changes to be temporarily immensely smaller in the state in which the gripped workpiece 51 is at the corner of the recess portion of the assembly target workpiece 52. Since the impedance control of the present embodiment enables the teaching operator to feel the change in the reaction force as change in the resistance force with high sensitivity by hand, the teaching operator can easily sense that the corner of the recess portion has been reached. Since the assembly target workpiece reaching the corner portion can be sensed, the teaching operator can change the orientation of the hand without overrun, and move onto the operation of insertion into the recess portion.”).
Further, Sato ‘769 teaches the parameter calculating unit acquires the force that is detected by the force detector and corresponds to each of a plurality of pressing directions when the first workpiece is pressed to the second workpiece in the plurality of pressing directions ([0037] via “In fitting apparatus 10 according to the present invention, the maximum values of force F(FX, FY, FZ) and moment M(MX, MY, MZ) detected by force detector 14 while workpiece W1 fixed to table 18 and workpiece W2 held by gripper 20 are in contact with each other are stored or held in force and moment holding unit 36. In every control cycle, force and moment holding unit 36 compares the components of force F(FX, FY, FZ) and moment M(MX, MY, MZ) detected by force detector 14 with the corresponding components of force F'(F'X, F'Y, F'Z) and moment M'(M'X, M'Y, M'Z) stored or held in force and moment holding unit 36.”), and
calculates the movement direction of the first workpiece and the position of the workpiece tip point of the first workpiece based on the force corresponding to the plurality of pressing directions ([0043] via “Next, X- and Y-axis forces FX, FY and moments MX, MY around X- and Y-axes detected by force detector 14 are compared with predetermined threshold values TFX, TFY, TMX, TMY, respectively, in every control cycle, and if any of the former values is larger than a predetermined corresponding threshold value, the process of step S104 is repeated in every control cycle and the correction of the position and orientation of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 is continued until all of FX, FY, MX, MY satisfy following Equation (6) (step S106).”), ([0044] via “On the other hand, if all of forces FX, FY and moments MX, MY detected by force detector 14 become less than or equal to predetermined threshold values TFX, TFY, TMX, TMY, respectively, and Equation (6) comes to be satisfied, it is judged that the error correction of the position and orientation of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 has been completed (step S108). When the correction of the position and orientation of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 has been completed, axis 38 of protrusion 24 of workpiece W2 held by gripper 20 is aligned with center axis 28 of fitting hole 26 of workpiece W1 fixed to table 18. Therefore, by moving gripper 20 and workpiece W2 in the fitting direction while keeping this position and orientation, protrusion 24 of workpiece W2 held by gripper 20 can be smoothly inserted into fitting hole 26 of workpiece W1 fixed to table 18, as shown in FIG. 4D, thereby completing the fitting operation (step S110).”), (Note: See Figure 3 of Sato ‘769 as well.), and
in the force control, a position and an orientation of the robot are controlled so that force applied to the control point in a direction other than a direction parallel to a predetermined movement direction and a moment around the control point are less than predetermined determination values ([0043] via “Next, X- and Y-axis forces FX, FY and moments MX, MY around X- and Y-axes detected by force detector 14 are compared with predetermined threshold values TFX, TFY, TMX, TMY, respectively, in every control cycle, and if any of the former values is larger than a predetermined corresponding threshold value, the process of step S104 is repeated in every control cycle and the correction of the position and orientation of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 is continued until all of FX, FY, MX, MY satisfy following Equation (6) (step S106).”), ([0044] via “On the other hand, if all of forces FX, FY and moments MX, MY detected by force detector 14 become less than or equal to predetermined threshold values TFX, TFY, TMX, TMY, respectively, and Equation (6) comes to be satisfied, it is judged that the error correction of the position and orientation of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 has been completed (step S108). When the correction of the position and orientation of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 has been completed, axis 38 of protrusion 24 of workpiece W2 held by gripper 20 is aligned with center axis 28 of fitting hole 26 of workpiece W1 fixed to table 18.”), ([0059] via “In fitting apparatus 10 according to the present invention, controller 16, in every control cycle, corrects the operation command for robot arm 12 based on maximum values F', M' of the force and the moment detected by force detector 14 while two workpieces W1, W2 are in contact with each other or force F0 and moment M0 detected by force detector 14 when two workpieces W1, W2 first come into contact with each other, so that the position of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 in the direction perpendicular to the fitting direction and the orientation of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 around the axis perpendicular to the fitting direction are corrected until force F and moment M detected by force detector 14 become less than or equal to predetermined threshold values TF, TM, respectively.”).
Further, Ueda teaches wherein the controller calculates the movement direction for performing the force control and the position of the workpiece tip point serving as the control point for performing the force control before actual work including the force control ([0040] via “Next, the position control unit 42 moves the screwdriver 21 to an insertion start position and tilts the screw 30 (Step S110). That is, a plurality of screw holes H is formed in the workpiece W shown in FIG. 1, and a position above each screw hole H is suggested as the start position for the work at the time of inserting the screw 30 into each screw hole H.”), ([0041] via “The position control unit 42 also outputs a control signal to the motors and thus drives the arm 10 to put the screwdriver 21 in the suggested attitude. In the embodiment, the suggested attitude is an attitude tilted from the center axis of the screw hole H. FIG. 5
schematically shows the insertion start position and the attitude before the work of inserting the screw 30 into the screw hole H in the workpiece W is started (where the cover 21a is illustrated). As shown in FIG. 5, the insertion start position is set to a position where the probability of the distal end of the screw 30 entering the screw hole H is high when the screw 30 is moved in the negative z-axis direction from the insertion start position. Also, a tilt angle is set in such a way that the center axis A.sub.s of the screw 30 is tilted by an angle θ (for example, 7 degrees) from the center axis A.sub.H of the screw hole H.”), (Note: See Figures 4 and 5 of Ueda as well.), and the control point is a reference point for the force control ([0033] via “The position control unit 42 controls each joint of the arm 10 in such a way that the position of a preset TCP (Tool Center Point, a reference site which moves with the arm 10) reaches a target position and that the attitude of a site having the TCP becomes a target attitude.”), ([0036] via “With the foregoing configuration, the control unit 40a can control the arm 10 in such a way that the force applied to another object by the screwdriver 21 or the screw 30 reaches a target force. Also, the control unit 40a can move the TCP of the screw 30
attached to the screwdriver 21 to the target position and cause the screwdriver 21 to take a target attitude, using the TCP as the reference point.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the TCP of Ueda as the control point.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Takahashi wherein the force detector is configured to detect force applied to one of the first workpiece and the second workpiece including a corner portion; and the force detector detects force of the workpiece tip point of the first workpiece into contact with the corner portion of the second workpiece. Doing so detects changes in forces with respect to changes in geometry between the first and second workpieces, as stated above by Takahashi.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Sato ‘769 wherein the parameter calculating unit acquires the force that is detected by the force detector and corresponds to each of a plurality of pressing directions when the first workpiece is pressed to the second workpiece in the plurality of pressing directions, and calculates the movement direction of the first workpiece and the position of the workpiece tip point of the first workpiece based on the force corresponding to the plurality of pressing directions, and in the force control, a position and an orientation of the robot are controlled so that force applied to the control point in a direction other than a direction parallel to a predetermined movement direction and a moment around the control point are less than predetermined determination values. Doing so ensures a smooth alignment of the first and second workpieces by confirming whether the positions and orientations of the workpieces satisfy certain force and moment constraints, as stated above by Sato ‘769 in paragraph [0044].
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ueda wherein the controller calculates the movement direction for performing the force control and the position of the workpiece tip point serving as the control point for performing the force control before actual work including the force control, and the control point is a reference point for the force control. Doing so optimizes the force control in such a way that increases the probability of an initial successful fitting of the workpieces, as stated above by Ueda in paragraph [0041].
Regarding Claim 2, Nabeto teaches a controller ([0036] via “As an example, the end effector device 1 includes … a control device 100 that controls the drive device 30, ….”) configured to calculate a parameter for performing force control when a robot moves a second workpiece toward a first workpiece ([0077] via “The position shift direction determination unit 120 determines in which direction the object being grasped 60 is position-shifted with respect to the fitting recess 71 based on the detection result detected by each of the tactile sensor units 13 in a case where at least one of the external forces in at least three axial directions detected by each tactile sensor unit 13 is a specified value or more when the palm 11 approaches the fitting recess 71 of the object to be assembled 70 in a state where the object being grasped 60 is grasped …”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the object to be assembled 70 as the first workpiece and the object being grasped 60 as the second workpiece. Further, the Examiner interprets the contact force manipulation between the first and second workpieces as the force control.), comprising:
a force detector configured to detect force applied to one of the first workpiece and second workpiece when the robot brings the second workpiece into contact with the first workpiece ([0050] via “The fitting control unit 110 further includes a fitting determination unit 111 that determines whether the fitting of the object being grasped 60 into the fitting recess 71 is completed based on the detection result detected by each tactile sensor unit 13
when pressing the object being grasped 60 against the object to be assembled 70 with the pressing surface 16 to fit the object being grasped 60 into the fitting recess 71.”), ([0051] via “For example, when the palm 11 approaches the fitting recess 71 of the object to be assembled 70 from the Z direction in a state where the object being grasped 60 is grasped by each finger 12, the fitting determination unit 111 determines that the pressing surface 16 of the force-receiving portion 14 contacts with the opening edge 72 of the object to be assembled 70, as shown in FIG. 5, when the force in the Z direction detected by each tactile sensor unit 13 is a specified value (for example, 2N) or more.”); and
a parameter calculating unit configured to calculate a movement direction in which the second workpiece moves with respect to the first workpiece when the force control is performed and a position of a workpiece tip point serving as a control point in the force control ([0077] via “The position shift direction determination unit 120 determines in which direction the object being grasped 60 is position-shifted with respect to the fitting recess 71 based on the detection result detected by each of the tactile sensor units 13 in a case where at least one of the external forces in at least three axial directions detected by each tactile sensor unit 13 is a specified value or more when the palm 11 approaches the fitting recess 71 of the object to be assembled 70 in a state where the object being grasped 60 is grasped by each finger 12 and fitting the object being grasped 60 into the fitting recess 71 (for example, in a case where the force in the Z direction detected by each tactile sensor unit 13 is 2N or more, and it is determined by the fitting determination unit 111 that the object being grasped 60
and the opening edge 72 of the fitting recess 71 are in contact with each other).”), ([0079] via “In this case, the position shift direction determination unit 120 determines in which of the three axial directions the position shift of the object being grasped 60 with respect to the fitting recess 71 occurs based on a sum or difference of the forces in the X, Y, and Z directions detected by each tactile sensor unit 13 when it is determined that the object being grasped 60 contacts with the opening edge 72 of the fitting recess 71.”), and
wherein the force detector detects force during a period in which the robot brings the second workpiece into contact with the workpiece tip point of the first workpiece and presses the second workpiece along a predetermined pressing direction ([0051] via “For example, when the palm 11 approaches the fitting recess 71 of the object to be assembled 70 from the Z direction in a state where the object being grasped 60 is grasped by each finger 12, the fitting determination unit 111 determines that the pressing surface 16 of the force-receiving portion 14 contacts with the opening edge 72 of the object to be assembled 70, as shown in FIG. 5, when the force in the Z direction detected by each tactile sensor unit 13 is a specified value (for example, 2N) or more.”).
Nabeto is silent on wherein the force detector is configured to detect force applied to one of the first workpiece and the second workpiece including a corner portion; wherein the force detector detects force of the workpiece tip point of the first workpiece into contact with the corner portion of the second workpiece; the parameter calculating unit acquires the force that is detected by the force detector and corresponds to each of a plurality of pressing directions when the second workpiece is pressed to the first workpiece in the plurality of pressing directions, and calculates the movement direction of the second workpiece and the position of the workpiece tip point of the first workpiece based on the force corresponding to the plurality of pressing directions, the controller calculates the movement direction for performing the force control and the position of the workpiece tip serving as the control point for performing the force control before actual work including the force control, and the control point is a reference point for the force control, and in the force control, a position and an orientation of the robot are controller so that force applied to the control point in a direction other than a direction parallel to a predetermined movement direction and a moment around the control point are less than predetermined determination values.
However, Takahashi teaches wherein the force detector is configured to detect force applied to one of the first workpiece and the second workpiece including a corner portion; and wherein the force detector detects force of the workpiece tip point of the first workpiece into contact with the corner portion of the second workpiece ([0078] via “Then, as illustrated in the right side of FIG. 6, when P2 is reached, the reaction force changes to be temporarily immensely smaller in the state in which the gripped workpiece 51 is at the corner of the recess portion of the assembly target workpiece 52. Since the impedance control of the present embodiment enables the teaching operator to feel the change in the reaction force as change in the resistance force with high sensitivity by hand, the teaching operator can easily sense that the corner of the recess portion has been reached. Since the assembly target workpiece reaching the corner portion can be sensed, the teaching operator can change the orientation of the hand without overrun, and move onto the operation of insertion into the recess portion.”).
Further, Sato ‘769 teaches the parameter calculating unit acquires the force that is detected by the force detector and corresponds to each of a plurality of pressing directions when the second workpiece is pressed to the first workpiece in the plurality of pressing directions ([0037] via “In fitting apparatus 10 according to the present invention, the maximum values of force F(FX, FY, FZ) and moment M(MX, MY, MZ) detected by force detector 14 while workpiece W1 fixed to table 18 and workpiece W2 held by gripper 20 are in contact with each other are stored or held in force and moment holding unit 36. In every control cycle, force and moment holding unit 36 compares the components of force F(FX, FY, FZ) and moment M(MX, MY, MZ) detected by force detector 14 with the corresponding components of force F'(F'X, F'Y, F'Z) and moment M'(M'X, M'Y, M'Z) stored or held in force and moment holding unit 36.”), and
calculates the movement direction of the second workpiece and the position of the workpiece tip point of the first workpiece based on the force corresponding to the plurality of pressing directions ([0043] via “Next, X- and Y-axis forces FX, FY and moments MX, MY around X- and Y-axes detected by force detector 14 are compared with predetermined threshold values TFX, TFY, TMX, TMY, respectively, in every control cycle, and if any of the former values is larger than a predetermined corresponding threshold value, the process of step S104 is repeated in every control cycle and the correction of the position and orientation of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 is continued until all of FX, FY, MX, MY satisfy following Equation (6) (step S106).”), ([0044] via “On the other hand, if all of forces FX, FY and moments MX, MY detected by force detector 14 become less than or equal to predetermined threshold values TFX, TFY, TMX, TMY, respectively, and Equation (6) comes to be satisfied, it is judged that the error correction of the position and orientation of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 has been completed (step S108). When the correction of the position and orientation of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 has been completed, axis 38 of protrusion 24 of workpiece W2 held by gripper 20 is aligned with center axis 28 of fitting hole 26 of workpiece W1 fixed to table 18. Therefore, by moving gripper 20 and workpiece W2 in the fitting direction while keeping this position and orientation, protrusion 24 of workpiece W2 held by gripper 20 can be smoothly inserted into fitting hole 26 of workpiece W1 fixed to table 18, as shown in FIG. 4D, thereby completing the fitting operation (step S110).”), (Note: See Figure 3 of Sato ‘769 as well.), and
in the force control, a position and an orientation of the robot are controller so that force applied to the control point in a direction other than a direction parallel to a predetermined movement direction and a moment around the control point are less than predetermined determination values ([0043] via “Next, X- and Y-axis forces FX, FY and moments MX, MY around X- and Y-axes detected by force detector 14 are compared with predetermined threshold values TFX, TFY, TMX, TMY, respectively, in every control cycle, and if any of the former values is larger than a predetermined corresponding threshold value, the process of step S104 is repeated in every control cycle and the correction of the position and orientation of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 is continued until all of FX, FY, MX, MY satisfy following Equation (6) (step S106).”), ([0044] via “On the other hand, if all of forces FX, FY and moments MX, MY detected by force detector 14 become less than or equal to predetermined threshold values TFX, TFY, TMX, TMY, respectively, and Equation (6) comes to be satisfied, it is judged that the error correction of the position and orientation of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 has been completed (step S108). When the correction of the position and orientation of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 has been completed, axis 38 of protrusion 24 of workpiece W2 held by gripper 20 is aligned with center axis 28 of fitting hole 26 of workpiece W1 fixed to table 18.”), ([0059] via “In fitting apparatus 10 according to the present invention, controller 16, in every control cycle, corrects the operation command for robot arm 12 based on maximum values F', M' of the force and the moment detected by force detector 14 while two workpieces W1, W2 are in contact with each other or force F0 and moment M0 detected by force detector 14 when two workpieces W1, W2 first come into contact with each other, so that the position of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 in the direction perpendicular to the fitting direction and the orientation of gripper 20 and workpiece W2 around the axis perpendicular to the fitting direction are corrected until force F and moment M detected by force detector 14 become less than or equal to predetermined threshold values TF, TM, respectively.”).
Further, Ueda teaches the controller calculates the movement direction for performing the force control and the position of the workpiece tip serving as the control point for performing the force control before actual work including the force control ([0040] via “Next, the position control unit 42 moves the screwdriver 21 to an insertion start position and tilts the screw 30 (Step S110). That is, a plurality of screw holes H is formed in the workpiece W shown in FIG. 1, and a position above each screw hole H is suggested as the start position for the work at the time of inserting the screw 30 into each screw hole H.”), ([0041] via “The position control unit 42 also outputs a control signal to the motors and thus drives the arm 10 to put the screwdriver 21 in the suggested attitude. In the embodiment, the suggested attitude is an attitude tilted from the center axis of the screw hole H. FIG. 5
schematically shows the insertion start position and the attitude before the work of inserting the screw 30 into the screw hole H in the workpiece W is started (where the cover 21a is illustrated). As shown in FIG. 5, the insertion start position is set to a position where the probability of the distal end of the screw 30 entering the screw hole H is high when the screw 30 is moved in the negative z-axis direction from the insertion start position. Also, a tilt angle is set in such a way that the center axis A.sub.s of the screw 30 is tilted by an angle θ (for example, 7 degrees) from the center axis A.sub.H of the screw hole H.”), (Note: See Figures 4 and 5 of Ueda as well.), and the control point is a reference point for the force control ([0033] via “The position control unit 42 controls each joint of the arm 10 in such a way that the position of a preset TCP (Tool Center Point, a reference site which moves with the arm 10) reaches a target position and that the attitude of a site having the TCP becomes a target attitude.”), ([0036] via “With the foregoing configuration, the control unit 40a can control the arm 10 in such a way that the force applied to another object by the screwdriver 21 or the screw 30 reaches a target force. Also, the control unit 40a can move the TCP of the screw 30
attached to the screwdriver 21 to the target position and cause the screwdriver 21 to take a target attitude, using the TCP as the reference point.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the TCP of Ueda as the control point.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Takahashi wherein the force detector is configured to detect force applied to one of the first workpiece and the second workpiece including a corner portion; and wherein the force detector detects force of the workpiece tip point of the first workpiece into contact with the corner portion of the second workpiece. Doing so detects changes in forces with respect to changes in geometry between the first and second workpieces, as stated above by Takahashi.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Sato ‘769 wherein the parameter calculating unit acquires the force that is detected by the force detector and corresponds to each of a plurality of pressing directions when the second workpiece is pressed to the first workpiece in the plurality of pressing directions, and calculates the movement direction of the second workpiece and the position of the workpiece tip point of the first workpiece based on the force corresponding to the plurality of pressing directions, and in the force control, a position and an orientation of the robot are controller so that force applied to the control point in a direction other than a direction parallel to a predetermined movement direction and a moment around the control point are less than predetermined determination values. Doing so ensures a smooth alignment of the first and second workpieces by confirming whether the positions and orientations of the workpieces satisfy certain force and moment constraints, as stated above by Sato ‘769 in paragraph [0044].
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ueda wherein the controller calculates the movement direction for performing the force control and the position of the workpiece tip serving as the control point for performing the force control before actual work including the force control, and the control point is a reference point for the force control. Doing so optimizes the force control in such a way that increases the probability of an initial successful fitting of the workpieces, as stated above by Ueda in paragraph [0041].
Regarding Claim 3, modified reference Nabeto teaches the controller of claim 1, but is silent on wherein the force detector includes a six-axis force sensor attached to the robot or a work stand supporting the workpiece.
However, Sato ‘769 teaches wherein the force detector includes a six-axis force sensor attached to the robot or a work stand supporting the workpiece ([0027] via “Force detector 14 is mounted on the wrist of robot arm 12 so that force F and moment M received by workpiece W2 held by gripper 20 can be detected. For example, force detector 14 can be a 6-axis force sensor, which is mounted between the forward end of robot arm 12 and gripper 20 and adapted to be able to detect forces in directions along three orthogonal axes and moments around three orthogonal axes.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Sato ‘769 wherein the force detector includes a six-axis force sensor attached to the robot or a work stand supporting the workpiece. Doing so allows the robot to detect forces and moments in three orthogonal axes each, as stated above by Sato ‘769.
Regarding Claim 5, modified reference Nabeto teaches the controller of claim 1, but is silent on wherein the force detector is arranged between a workpiece supported by the work stand and a surface of the work stand.
However, Takahashi teaches wherein the force detector is arranged between a workpiece supported by the work stand and a surface of the work stand ([0113] via “The present embodiment is different in that a force applied to the work target object by the hand is measured by using, as a second sensor, a force sensor incorporated in the assembly base 107 on which the assembly target workpiece 106 is placed. That is, the assembly target workpiece 106 is set on the assembly base 107 incorporating the force sensor as a second sensor, and the force applied to the work target object by the robot hand is measured by the incorporated force sensor. The force applied to the work target object by the hand and the reaction force that the hand receives from the work target object have a mutual action-reaction relationship, and have the same magnitude and opposite directions.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Takahashi wherein the force detector is arranged between a workpiece supported by the work stand and a surface of the work stand. Doing so calculates the reaction force applied to the robot hand, as stated by Takahashi ([0114] via “Therefore, the robot controller is capable of calculating the reaction force applied to the hand, on the basis of the measurement result of the force sensor incorporated in the assembly base 107.”).
Regarding Claim 6, modified reference Nabeto teaches the controller of claim 1, but is silent on wherein the robot is an articulated robot including a plurality of drive axes, and the force detector includes a torque sensor arranged at each of the plurality of drive axes.
However, Takahashi teaches wherein the robot is an articulated robot including a plurality of drive axes, and the force detector includes a torque sensor arranged at each of the plurality of drive axes ([0027] via “The robot arm 11 is an articulated robot arm including a plurality of shafts, and each joint shaft thereof includes a torque sensor therein and incorporates a motor and an encoder that are not illustrated. Although a six-axis arm is used in the present embodiment, the arm may have a different configuration than this.”), ([0029] via “The torque sensor incorporated in each shaft of the robot arm 11 is capable of detecting a force applied to the robot arm 11. That is, each torque sensor is capable of measuring a torque applied to each joint shaft and communicating the measurement result with the robot controller 14 at a predetermined period.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Takahashi wherein the robot is an articulated robot including a plurality of drive axes, and the force detector includes a torque sensor arranged at each of the plurality of drive axes. Doing so calculates the applied torque at each joint of the articulated robot during robot control, as stated above by Takahashi in paragraph [0029].
Regarding Claim 9, modified reference Nabeto teaches the controller of claim 1, wherein the parameter calculating unit calculates a line of action on which the workpiece tip point is present, based on force that is detected by a detector and corresponds to each of the plurality of pressing directions, and calculates the position of the workpiece tip point based on distance from a plurality of the lines of action, when at least one of the plurality of lines of action does not intersect another line of action of the plurality of lines of action ([0084] via “The position shift direction determination unit 120 determines whether to complete the correction of position shift of the object being grasped 60 with respect to the fitting recess 71
based on whether one or more of or all of a sum and differences of the external forces in the same axial direction among the external forces in the three axial directions detected by each tactile sensor unit 13 (for example, FX1−FX2, FY1−FY2, FZ1−FZ2, FX1+FX2) are a specified value (for example, 0.1N) or less.”), ([0093] via “In this position shift correction, as shown in FIG. 15, the position shift correction unit 130 determines whether the sum of forces in the Z direction (that is, FZ1+FZ2) detected by each tactile sensor unit 13 exceeds the first specified value (for example, 2N) (step S21). When it is determined that the sum of forces in the Z direction detected by each tactile sensor unit 13 exceeds the first specified value, the position shift correction unit 130 does not perform the position shift correction, and moves the object being grasped 60 in the Z direction as well as a direction away from the fitting recess 71 of the object to be assembled 70, until the sum of forces in the Z direction detected by each tactile sensor unit 130 is the first specified value or less (step S22).”), (Note: See Figure 13 of Nabeto. Since the forces F1 and F2 are in the same axial directions, they do not intersect.).
Regarding Claim 10, modified reference Nabeto teaches the controller of claim 1, further comprising an operation control unit configured to control a motion of the robot ([0036] via “As an example, the end effector device 1 includes … a control device 100 that controls the drive device 30, …. The control device 100 controls drive of the end effector 10 and the arm 20 by outputting a command to the drive device 30 based on operation received by the operation unit 40.”),
wherein the operation control unit performs a control of fitting a workpiece supported by the robot to a workpiece fixed to a work stand ([0047] via “The fitting control unit 110
presses the object being grasped 60 against the object to be assembled 70 with the pressing surface 16 so that the object being grasped 60 is fitted into the fitting recess 71 when the tactile sensor unit 13 detects that the pressing surface 16 of the force-receiving portion 14 contacts with an opening edge 72 of the fitting recess 71 in a case where the palm 11 approaches a fitting recess 71 of an object to be assembled 70 (see FIG. 4) from the Z direction (that is, the palm 11 moves in an arrow A direction in FIG. 4) and the object being grasped 60 is fitted into the fitting recess 71 in a state where the object being grasped 60 is grasped by each finger 12.”),
based on the position of the workpiece tip point and the movement direction calculated by the parameter calculating unit ([0077] via “The position shift direction determination unit
120 determines in which direction the object being grasped 60 is position-shifted with respect to the fitting recess 71 based on the detection result detected by each of the tactile sensor units 13 in a case where at least one of the external forces in at least three axial directions detected by each tactile sensor unit 13 is a specified value or more when the palm 11
approaches the fitting recess 71 of the object to be assembled 70 in a state where the object being grasped 60 is grasped by each finger 12 and fitting the object being grasped 60 into the fitting recess 71 (for example, in a case where the force in the Z direction detected by each tactile sensor unit 13 is 2N or more, and it is determined by the fitting determination unit 111
that the object being grasped 60 and the opening edge 72 of the fitting recess 71 are in contact with each other).”), ([0079] via “In this case, the position shift direction determination unit 120 determines in which of the three axial directions the position shift of the object being grasped 60 with respect to the fitting recess 71 occurs based on a sum or difference of the forces in the X, Y, and Z directions detected by each tactile sensor unit 13
when it is determined that the object being grasped 60 contacts with the opening edge 72 of the fitting recess 71.”).
10. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nabeto et al. (US 20210213627 A1 hereinafter Nabeto) in view of Takahashi (US 20200147787 A1 hereinafter Takahashi), Sato et al. (US 20080312769 A1 hereinafter Sato '769), and Ueda et al. (US 20180029234 A1 hereinafter Ueda), and further in view of Sato (US 9889561 B2 hereinafter Sato '561).
Regarding Claim 4, modified reference Nabeto teaches the controller of claim 1, but is silent on wherein the robot includes a wrist part including a flange, and the force detector is arranged between the flange and an operation tool.
However, Sato ‘561 teaches wherein the robot includes a wrist part including a flange, and the force detector is arranged between the flange and an operation tool (Col. 3 line 62 – Col. 4 line 5, where “For example, robot 12 is a multi-joint robot having six axes, and has a robot arm 20, a work tool 22 such as an abrasive tool … attached to robot arm 20, and a force detecting part (or a force sensor) 24 for detecting a force acting between work tool 22 and workpiece 18. In the illustrated embodiment, force sensor 24 is attached between a front end (or a wrist element) of robot arm 20 and abrasive tool 22, so as to detect the force applied to a working point of workpiece 18 (as explained below) by abrasive tool 22 (at the moment) when the abrasive tool passes through the working point.”), (Col. 4 lines 54-67, where “In detail, FIG. 3a shows an example in which abrasive tool 22 is pressed to workpiece 18 while the posture of abrasive tool 22 is always vertical (90 degrees) relative to the surface of workpiece 18. … The position of working point 30 may be geometrically calculated, from a center point of a mechanical flange 32 of robot 12, based on the shape and dimension of abrasive tool 22, alternatively, may be determined by using a conventional method such as a three-point teaching method or a six-point teaching method for calculating a tool center point (TCP).”), (Note: See Figures 3a and 3b of Sato ‘561 wherein the force detector 24 is located between the flange 32 and the abrasive tool 22.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Sato ‘561 wherein the robot includes a wrist part including a flange, and the force detector is arranged between the flange and an operation tool. Doing so incorporates a structure that detects the force applied to a point on the workpiece by the operation tool, as stated above by Sato ‘561 in Col. 3 line 62 – Col. 4 line 5.
11. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nabeto et al. (US 20210213627 A1 hereinafter Nabeto) in view of Takahashi (US 20200147787 A1 hereinafter Takahashi), Sato et al. (US 20080312769 A1 hereinafter Sato '769), and Ueda et al. (US 20180029234 A1 hereinafter Ueda), and further in view of Ouchi et al. (US 20180029232 A1 hereinafter Ouchi).
Regarding Claim 7, modified reference Nabeto teaches the controller of claim 1, but is silent on the controller further comprising: a display part configured to display an image of the robot; and a display control unit configured to control the image displayed on the display part, wherein the display control unit acquires the pressing direction calculated by the parameter calculating unit during a period in which the robot is driven so as to press one of the first workpiece and the second workpiece toward another one of the first workpiece and the second workpiece, and displays the pressing direction superimposed on the image of the robot.
However, Ouchi teaches a display part configured to display an image of the robot ([0091] via “Hereinafter, the operational screen that the information processing device 50
causes the display unit 55 to display based on operation received from the user will be described with reference to FIG. 4 to FIG. 10. FIG. 4 is a view illustrating an operational screen P1, which is an example of the operational screen.”), ([0097] via “In the example illustrated in FIG. 4, the image CM1 is a moving image showing operation of the robot 20 pressing an object gripped by the robot 20 to another object.”), (Note: See Figure 4 of Ouchi as well.); and
a display control unit configured to control the image displayed on the display part ([0094] via “In a case where the user clicks (taps) the task category information C1 …, the display control unit 61 causes information indicating the selection of the task category information C1 to be displayed on the operational screen P1. For example, as the information indicating the selection, the display control unit 61 changes the color of the surroundings of the task category information C1 into a color different from the color of the surroundings of other task category information.”),
wherein the display control unit acquires the pressing direction calculated by the parameter calculating unit during a period in which the robot is driven so as to press one of the first workpiece and the second workpiece toward another one of the first workpiece and the second workpiece, and displays the pressing direction superimposed on the image of the robot ([0103] via “The image CM2 is a still image or a moving image that shows operation common to tasks classified as the task category indicated by the task category information C2. This operation is operation of the robot 20. In the example illustrated in FIG. 4, the image CM2 is a moving image showing operation of the robot 20 inserting an object gripped by the robot 20
into another object.”), ([0149] via “In addition, in a case where the user clicks (taps) the tab TB1, the display control unit 61 displays an image according to the tab TB1 in the region MM1. In the example illustrated in FIG. 6, the image displayed by the display control unit 61
in the region MM1 is a three-dimensional still image showing the state of the target object O1 gripped by the end effector E and the target object O2, which is before the target object O1 is inserted, in a state where the position and orientation of the target object O1 (that is, the control point T) matches the task start position and the task start orientation.”), (Note: See Figure 4 of Ouchi where the pressing direction is displayed on the images of the display unit.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ouchi wherein the controller further comprises: a display part configured to display an image of the robot; and a display control unit configured to control the image displayed on the display part, wherein the display control unit acquires the pressing direction calculated by the parameter calculating unit during a period in which the robot is driven so as to press one of the first workpiece and the second workpiece toward another one of the first workpiece and the second workpiece, and displays the pressing direction superimposed on the image of the robot. Doing so displays the force and position information the robot is experiencing with the workpiece pressing actions to a user, as stated by Ouchi ([0091] via “Hereinafter, the operational screen that the information processing device 50 causes the display unit 55 to display based on operation received from the user will be described with reference to FIG. 4 to FIG. 10. FIG. 4 is a view illustrating an operational screen P1, which is an example of the operational screen.”), wherein the user is able to select and view various information related to the pressing action, as stated by Ouchi ([0094] via “In a case where the user clicks (taps) the task category information C1 (that is, once the selection of the task category information C1 is received), the display control unit 61
causes information indicating the selection of the task category information C1 to be displayed on the operational screen P1. For example, as the information indicating the selection, the display control unit 61 changes the color of the surroundings of the task category information C1 into a color different from the color of the surroundings of other task category information.”).
12. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nabeto et al. (US 20210213627 A1 hereinafter Nabeto) in view of Takahashi (US 20200147787 A1 hereinafter Takahashi), Sato et al. (US 20080312769 A1 hereinafter Sato '769), and Ueda et al. (US 20180029234 A1 hereinafter Ueda), and further in view of Sato et al. (US 20110225787 A1 hereinafter Sato '787).
Regarding Claim 8, modified reference Nabeto teaches the controller of claim 1, but is silent on wherein the parameter calculating unit calculates a line of action on which the workpiece tip point is present, based on force that is detected by a detector and corresponds to each of the plurality of pressing directions, and calculates an intersection point between a plurality of the lines of action as the workpiece tip point.
However, Sato ‘787 teaches wherein the parameter calculating unit calculates a line of action on which the workpiece tip point is present, based on force that is detected by a detector and corresponds to each of the plurality of pressing directions, and calculates an intersection point between a plurality of the lines of action as the workpiece tip point ([0038] via “Since the position and the orientation of workpiece W2 usually have an error, in many cases, the fitting operation is carried out while center axis 28 of fitting hole 26 of workpiece W1 does not coincide with the axis of protruding portion 24 of workpiece W2 gripped by hand 20. In such a case, when workpiece W2 is pushed against workpiece W1 in the fitting direction (step S2), forces F1 and F2, and moment M are applied to workpiece W2 gripped by hand 20 (see FIG. 3). In detail, as shown in FIG. 3, the workpieces contact each other while axis 36 of protruding portion 24 of workpiece W2 is inclined relative to center axis 28 of fitting hole 26 of workpiece W1, force F1 generated at a contact point 32 between the workpieces, force F2 generated at a contact point 34 between the workpieces and moment M about an axis perpendicular to the fitting direction, are applied to workpiece W2.”), ([0039] via “In detail, as shown in FIG. 3, forces F1 and F2 applied to workpiece W2 are detected, and then the moment about a control point P, which is set on workpiece W2, is detected or calculated based on the magnitudes of forces F1 and F2 and positions of the application points 32 and 34. Although control point P is determined at the center of an end surface (circular surface) in the fitting direction of cylindrical workpiece W2 in FIG. 3, this is a preferred embodiment and a non-limited example. It is preferable that the control point is set on or near center axis 36 of the fitting workpiece (if the workpiece is a prismatic or elliptic column, an axis extending through a center of gravity of an end surface thereof). Further, in order to calculate the moment about the control point, it is preferable that the control point is positioned near application points 32 and 34 of forces F1 and F2. For example, control point P may be positioned within a region defined by end surface 30 in the fitting direction of the workpiece and a boundary surface 38 parallel to end surface 30 and separated from end surface 30 by a distance corresponding to 1/2, 1/3 or 1/4 of a fitting depth D, and further, control point P may be positioned on or near center axis 36 (if the workpiece is a prismatic or elliptic column, an axis extending through a center of gravity of an end surface thereof).”), (Note: See Figure 3 of Sato ‘787 as well.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Sato ‘787 wherein the parameter calculating unit calculates a line of action on which the workpiece tip point is present, based on force that is detected by a detector and corresponds to each of the plurality of pressing directions, and calculates an intersection point between a plurality of the lines of action as the workpiece tip point. Doing so incorporates a method that smoothly performs the fitting process between two workpieces by calculating the proper orientation of the protruding workpiece into the second workpiece, as stated by Sato ‘787 ([0036] via “In the present invention, a proper orientation of the fitting workpiece, which is suitable for smoothly carrying out the fitting process as described below, may be judged. In other words, in the invention, the operation for searching the proper orientation is stopped when the proper orientation is obtained, and then the conventional force control, wherein the operation for searching the proper orientation, may be carried out (step S102 of FIG. 7). However, in the invention, since the proper orientation is obtained by the searching operation, it is not necessary to carry out the force control, and thus merely pushing operation of the workpiece may be carried out while maintaining the proper orientation of the workpiece.”).
Examiner’s Note
13. The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the
references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the
specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific
limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is
respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references
in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the
context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP
2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole,
including portions that would lead away from the claimed Invention. W.L. Gore & Associates,
Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851
(1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to BYRON X KASPER whose telephone number is (571)272-3895.
The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8 am - 5 pm EST.
using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Adam Mott can be reached on (571) 270-5376. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available
to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for
more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for
information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO
Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BYRON XAVIER KASPER/Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657