DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed on September 20, 2023 is acknowledged. Claims 1-15 are pending and under examination in this Office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 20, 2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Mudgal et al. (Human Vaccines and Immunotherapeutics, 2020, Vol. 16, p. 2921-2931).
Regarding present claims 1-6, 9 and 14-15. Mudgal et al. discloses a method of prevention of COVID-19 in humans comprising administering a vaccine against SARS-CoV-2 comprising the SARS-CoV-2 S protein into the ocular and vaginal (urogenital) mucosa (see Design strategies for mucosal vaccine against SARS-CoV-2 on page 2922, page 2923 under Antigen selection).
Regarding present claim 7. Mudgal et al. discloses a method of prevention of COVID-19 comprising administering a vaccine against SARS-CoV-2 wherein the vaccine is in form of drops (see page 2927 under Concluding remarks).
Regarding present claim 10 and 11. Mudgal et al. discloses additional substances including additives, adjuvants and carriers (see table 1 on page 2924 and Mucosal Adjuvants on page 2925).
Thus, by this disclosure Mudgal et al. anticipate the present claims.
Claims 1-6, 9-11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Hsu et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2021/0346491).
Regarding present claims 1-6, 9 and 14-15. Hsu et al. discloses a method of prevention of COVID-19 in humans comprising administering a vaccine against SARS-CoV-2 comprising the SARS-CoV-2 S protein into vaginal (urogenital) mucosa (see paragraph [0020], [0046], Examples 1-4).
Regarding present claim 10 and 11. Hsu et al. discloses additional substances including additives, adjuvants and carriers (see paragraph [0050] and Examples 2-4).
Thus, by this disclosure Hsu et al. anticipate the present claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mudgal et al. (Human Vaccines and Immunotherapeutics, 2020, Vol. 16, p. 2921-2931) or Hsu et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2021/0346491) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Yoon et al. (PLOS, 2015, p. 1-16 in IDS on 9/20/2023).
Mudgal et al. and Hsu teach the claimed invention as discussed above.
They don’t teach using an applicator or administering the vaccine after the administration of a first marker and before the administration of a second marker; or administering the vaccine to the ocular mucosa after at least one intramuscular administration.
Regarding present claim 8. Yoon teaches eye drop applicator for administering the eye drops for vaccination (see Materials and Methods).
It would have been prima facie obvious to use an applicator to administer eye drops for the vaccination purposes as taught by Yoon.
Regarding present claims 12-13. It would have been prima facie obvious to administer the vaccine to the ocular mucosa after at least one intramuscular administration because Hsu teaches administering SARS-CoV-2 vaccine intramuscularly and then mucosaly (see Examples 2-4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to administered the SARS-CoV-2 vaccine after the administration of a first marker and before the administration of a second marker because Hsu teaches measuring the immunization effects after immunization using immunological methods involving colorant markers (see Examples 2-4).
Present specification regarding the markers [0052] According to an embodiment, the immunogenic or vaccine composition according to the invention is characterized in that it is administered after the administration of the first marker (such as a colorant) and before the administration of the second marker (such as a colorant). The immunogenic or vaccine composition according to the invention is thus administered between two markers. The administration of these two markers, preferably different, serves to verify that the immunogenic or vaccine composition according to the invention was correctly administered to the mucosa, in particular ocular mucosa.
[0053] As an example, a preservative may be an antimicrobial preservative whose purpose is to block microbial contamination of the immunogenic or vaccine composition. According to the invention, the preservative is a preservative compatible with the mucosa.
[0054] According to the invention, a “marker” is understood to mean any measurable or indicating substance which may be administered in an immunogenic or vaccine composition. It therefore involves a pharmaceutically acceptable marker. The marker also serves to verify the quantity administered and/or the administration site, where this is done in order to assure a safe and effective application of the immunogenic or vaccine composition.
Thus, the present invention would have been prima facie obvious at the time the invention was made.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/283,067.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are drawn to A method for the prevention and/or the treatment of Covid-19, characterized in that it wherein an immunogenic or vaccine composition against SARS-CoV-2 is administered on the ocular mucosa and/or the urogenital mucosa.
The claims of the copending Application are drawn to A method for the prevention and/or the treatment of an infection caused by at least one pathogen, comprising a marker is administered on the ocular mucosa and/or the urogenital mucosa.
The present claims and the claims of the copending application recite methods of vaccination against viral infection via mucosa. Thus the present claims are obvious over the claims of the copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Contact Information
/AGNIESZKA BOESEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1648