DETAILED ACTION
The Examiner of the present Application has changed to Agnieszka Boesen.
Restriction/Election
Applicant’s response filed on June 29, 2026 to the restriction requirement on January 29, 2026 is acknowledged. Applicant elected the species of ocular mucosa, a virus, a coronavirus, mRNA coding for one or more antigens and an envelope protein.
Claims 1-15 are pending and under examination in this Office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 20, 2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Yadavalli et al., (WO/2020/210376 in IDS on 9/20/23).
Regarding present claims 1-8 and 12. Yadavalli et al, disclose a method for the prevention and/or the treatment of a viral infection comprising administering to the ocular mucosa of a human a composition comprising a marker such as a dye and the viral antigen envelope protein in form of mRNA carbonized into the HPAC (see paragraphs [0035, 0085, 0093, 0131] and claims 1-89). Yadavalli et al, disclose a Coronavirus (see paragraph [00131]).
Regarding present claims 14-15. Yadavalli et al. discloses additional substances including additives, adjuvants and carriers (see claim 71).
Thus, by this disclosure Yadavalli et al. anticipate the present claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yadavalli et al., (WO/2020/210376 in IDS on 9/20/23) in view of Yoon et al. (PLOS, 2015, p. 1-16 in IDS on 9/20/2023).
Yadavalli et al. teach the claimed invention as discussed above, they don’t teach using an applicator or administering the vaccine.
Regarding present claims 10 and 11. Yoon teaches eye drop applicator for administering the eye drops for vaccination (see Materials and Methods).
It would have been prima facie obvious to use an applicator to administer eye drops for the vaccination purposes as taught by Yoon, because Yoon teaches generation of systemic and mucosal responses administered eyedrop live attenuated influenza vaccine (see Results and Figure 1).
Thus, the present invention would have been prima facie obvious at the time the invention was made.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/283,061.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are drawn to A method for the prevention and/or the treatment of an infection caused by at least one pathogen, comprising a marker is administered on the ocular mucosa and/or the urogenital mucosa.
The claims of the copending Application are drawn to A method for the prevention and/or the treatment of Covid-19, characterized in that it wherein an immunogenic or vaccine composition against SARS-CoV-2 is administered on the ocular mucosa and/or the urogenital mucosa.
The present claims and the claims of the copending application recite methods of vaccination against viral infection via mucosa. The species of SARS-CoV-2 in the copending application anticipates the genus of a viral pathogen recited in the present claims. Additionally, present claim 12 recites a coronavirus. Thus, the present claims are obvious over the claims of the copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Contact Information
/AGNIESZKA BOESEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1648