DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Amendment, filed 02/23/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. In the Amendment, claims 1, 6-7, 11-12, and 17-19 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (“Park”, Pub. No. US 2014/0178028), and CHO et al. (“Cho”, Pub. No. US 2013/0082827), and Lambourne et al. (“Lambourne”, Pat. No. 7,571,014).
Per claim 1, Park teaches an information processing terminal comprising circuitry configured to:
cause a selection screen for an operation target to be displayed, the selection screen including information concerning a group including multiple devices selected from among devices in a server and information concerning another device that does not belong to the group (figs. 5A-7B; [0057]; [0058]; [0088]; [0089]-[0097]; which show a group including devices such as Group A, and another device as a single piece that does not belong to the group such as Group 25 and non-group 17. [0058]… In performing the content sharing function, the terminal device 100 may act as a Digital Multimedia Server (DMS) to provide a content. The external device may act as a Digital Multimedia Renderer (DMR) or a Digital Multimedia Player (DMP) to play back the content provided from the terminal device 100.);
request the server to collectively control the multiple devices configuring the group and request the server to control the another device, according to a selected operation target (figs. 8A-9C; [0057]; [0058]; [0102]-[0109]; which show the user request to collectively play Music A on multiple devices 29 and to play Music C on a single device 31 as shown in fig. 9C).
in a case where the group is selected to be the operation target, a first operation screen that is used for operation of the group, to be displayed, in a case where the another device is selected to be the operation target, a second operation screen that is used for operation of the another device, to be displayed (Park, figs 8A-8C and 9A-9C; [0101]; [0107]; which shows a first screen 8B (i.e. a first operation screen) that is used for selecting music A (i.e. operation) for Group A in response to the user selecting the Group A by a touch input 13 of Fig. 8A, and a second screen 9B (i.e. a second operation screen) that is used for selecting music C (i.e. operation ) for one of the devices as a single piece (for example Tablet PC 31) in response to the user selecting a group of single device by touch input 13 of Fig. 9A .)
Park fairly suggests a server for managing devices in a network environment ([0057]; [0058], but does not specifically teach devices registered in the server.
However, Cho teaches selection screen for managing and controlling of multiple devices selected from among devices in a server and one of the devices that does not belong to the group and wherein the server system stores group information associating the multiple devices with the group and performs the collective control in response to the request (fig. 1-5 and 14-19; [0049]-[0051]; [0054]; [0160]; [0171]; [0173]; [0174]; which shows the device management apparatus 200 manages the collected device information and provide the collected device information to the portable terminal 300 and/or the cloud server 400. The device management apparatus 200 may store and manage the aggregation information in an internal storage; [0050]… the device management apparatus 200 processes the individual control or batch control of the electronic devices 100, according to the control event. Particularly, in an embodiment of the present invention, the device management apparatus 200 may control a group of electronic devices indicated by the group information, acquired internally or externally among the electronic devices 100; FIGS. 13 to 15 are directed to the user interfaces of the portable terminal 300, the user interfaces may be provided for managing and controlling a device and/or group of devices. figs. 13-15; [0160]; which further show if the user selects a group item in FIG. 13, a user interface may be provided with only the group region having the objects representing the electronic devices belonging to the first group).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Cho in the invention of Park to provide the user with a cloud server that may store and manage interoperability information about interoperable electronic devices over a network. Thus, this would enhance user’s interactions for controlling and managing one or more devices over the network.
The modified Park does not specifically teach selectively configure and control a group including multiple devices and another device that does not belong to any group.
However, Lambourne teaches selectively configure and control a group including multiple devices and another device that does not belong to any group (fig. 6, Step 610, Grouped? Yes or No. col. 13, lines 12-13 and lines 32-37; which show the process 600 splits into two branches depending on whether a single zone player or a group of zone players is to be controlled at 610. If it is for a single zone player, a volume meter is presented at 612. At 614, the end user has option to adjust the volume for the zone player with one of the volume control buttons and if process 600 is for a group of zone players, then the process 600 moves to the zone group branch at 622, in which a plurality of volume meters is presented. The plurality of volume meters includes one for each of the zone players in the zone group, plus one more for the entire zone group). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Lambourne in the invention of the modified Park to include a device that does not belong to a group merely as a choice of implementation, because doing so would enhance user’s experience for controlling and managing a single device or a group of devices over a network.
Per claim 2, the modified Park teaches the information processing terminal according to claim 1, wherein the first operation screen and the second operation screen have different layout (fig. 6; col. 13, lines 12-13 and lines 32-37; which show the process 600 splits into two branches depending on whether a single zone player or a group of zone players is to be controlled at 610. If it is for a single zone player, a volume meter is presented at 612. At 614, the end user has option to adjust the volume for the zone player with one of the volume control buttons and if process 600 is for a group of zone players, then the process 600 moves to the zone group branch at 622, in which a plurality of volume meters is presented. The plurality of volume meters includes one for each of the zone players in the zone group, plus one more for the entire zone group). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Lambourne in the invention of the modified Park to include a device that does not belong to a group merely as a choice of implementation, because doing so would enhance user’s experience for controlling and managing a single device or a group of devices over a network.
Per claim 3, the modified Park teaches the information processing terminal according to claim 2, wherein the circuitry is further configured to cause the first operation screen to have different contents according to the multiple devices configuring the group (Park, figs 8A-8C; [0101]; which shows a first screen 8B of different contents for Group A).
Per claim 4, the modified Park teaches the information processing terminal according to claim 1, the circuitry is further configured to create the group in response to the multiple devices configuring the group and a name to be set for the group being selected by a user (Park [0097]; which show the terminal device 100 may additionally display a window through which a group name is input ).
Per claim 5, the modified Park teaches the information processing terminal according to claim 4, wherein the circuitry is further configured to transmit information representing request for creation of the group or information representing request for change of the multiple devices configuring the group to the server (Park, [0096]; A group addition item 23 may be displayed under the non-group setting region 17. The screen illustrated in FIG. 7B is an example and at least one of various items such as a group deletion item, a group editing item, and a canceling item may be displayed in addition to the group addition item 23; Cho, fig. 1-5 and 14-19; [0049]-[0051]; [0054]; [0160]; [0171]; [0173]; [0174]; which shows the device management apparatus 200 manages the collected device information and provide the collected device information to the portable terminal 300 and/or the cloud server 400).
Per claim 6, the modified Park teaches the information processing terminal according to claim 4, wherein the circuitry is further configured to add some other device of the register device that does not belong to any group, as the multiple devices configuring the group (Park, fig. 6A-6C; [0091]; [0092]; [0093]; [0096]; which show the user can add or remove a device based on touch and drag. In addition, A group addition item 23 may be displayed under the non-group setting region 17. The screen illustrated in FIG. 7B is an example and at least one of various items such as a group deletion item, a group editing item, and a canceling item may be displayed in addition to the group addition item 23; Cho, [0161]).
Per claim 7, the modified Park teaches the information processing terminal according to claim 4, wherein, in a case where the operation for creating the group is performed in a state in which some other device of the registered device that does not belong to any group is selected, the circuitry is further configured to newly create the group including the selected device (Park, fig. 6A-6C; [0091]; [0092]; [0093]; [0096]; which show the user can add or remove a device based on touch and drag. In addition, A group addition item 23 may be displayed under the non-group setting region 17. The screen illustrated in FIG. 7B is an example and at least one of various items such as a group deletion item, a group editing item, and a canceling item may be displayed in addition to the group addition item 23; Cho, [0161]).
Per claim 8, the modified Park teaches the information processing terminal according to claim 4, wherein the circuitry is further configured to change one of the devices configuring the group to a different one of the register devices that does not belong to the group, according to operation which is performed by the user (Park, fig. 6A-6C; [0091]; [0092]; [0093]; [0096]; which show the user can add or remove a device based on touch and drag. In addition, A group addition item 23 may be displayed under the non-group setting region 17. The screen illustrated in FIG. 7B is an example and at least one of various items such as a group deletion item, a group editing item, and a canceling item may be displayed in addition to the group addition item 23; Cho, [0161]).
Per claim 9, the modified Park teaches the information processing terminal according to claim 1, wherein the multiple devices configuring the group are changed by the server according to a result of recognition of a context based on sensor data (Park, fig. 14A-14B; [0057]; [0058]; [0069]; [0109]; [0110]; [0133]-0134]; [0184]; which show when tagged with a new external device, the terminal device 100 can display the grouping screen. Upon a user's command, when one of the plurality of groups displayed on the grouping screen is selected, the terminal device 100 can include the tagged new external device in the selected group. The playback of the content of the third external device 100c may be synchronized with the playback of the content of the first and second external devices 100a and 100b, and the content may be played back. The third external device 100c may display an application for synchronizing and playing back by a tagging operation. The terminal device 100 may act as a Digital Multimedia Server (DMS) to provide a content. The external device may act as a Digital Multimedia Renderer (DMR) or a Digital Multimedia Player (DMP) to play back the content provided from the terminal device 100. The terminal device 100 may transmit a synchronization (sync) signal to the external device along with the content. Accordingly, the external device synchronizes the received content and plays it back. That is, the synchronization signal is a signal to synchronize the external device with the content playback time on a real time basis; Cho, fig. 1-5 and 14-19; [0049]-[0051]; [0054]; [0160]; [0171]; [0173]; [0174]; which shows the device management apparatus 200 manages the collected device information and provide the collected device information to the portable terminal 300 and/or the cloud server 400 ).
Per claim 10, the modified Park teaches the information processing terminal according to claim 9, wherein the server recognizes at least one of a state of a user and a state of the multiple devices, as the context data (Park, fig. 14A-14B; [0057]; [0058]; [0069]; [0109]; [0110]; [0133]-0134]; [0184]; which show when tagged with a new external device, the terminal device 100 can display the grouping screen. Upon a user's command, when one of the plurality of groups displayed on the grouping screen is selected, the terminal device 100 can include the tagged new external device in the selected group. The playback of the content of the third external device 100c may be synchronized with the playback of the content of the first and second external devices 100a and 100b, and the content may be played back. The third external device 100c may display an application for synchronizing and playing back by a tagging operation. The terminal device 100 may act as a Digital Multimedia Server (DMS) to provide a content. The external device may act as a Digital Multimedia Renderer (DMR) or a Digital Multimedia Player (DMP) to play back the content provided from the terminal device 100. The terminal device 100 may transmit a synchronization (sync) signal to the external device along with the content. Accordingly, the external device synchronizes the received content and plays it back. That is, the synchronization signal is a signal to synchronize the external device with the content playback time on a real time basis; Cho, fig. 1-5 and 14-19; [0049]-[0051]; [0054]; [0160]; [0171]; [0173]; [0174]; which shows the device management apparatus 200 manages the collected device information and provide the collected device information to the portable terminal 300 and/or the cloud server 400 ).
Claims 11 and 12 individually is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Claims 13 and 14 individually is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Claims 15-20 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 3-8 respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s primary argument is that in Park, Cho, and Lambourne individually does not teach the limitations of “in a case where the another device that does not belong to any group is selected to be the operation target, cause a second operation screen that is used for operation of the another device that does not belong to any group, to be displayed" and “wherein the server system stores group information associating the multiple devices with the group and performs the collective control in response to the request”.
The examiner does not agree for the following reasons:
During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given >their< broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." > In re Hyatt, 211 F.3d 1367, 1372, 54 USPQ2d 1664, 1667 (Fed. Cir. 2000). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant always has the opportunity to amend the claims during prosecution, and broad interpretation by the examiner reduces the possibility that the claim, once issued, will be interpreted more broadly than is justified. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-51 (CCPA 1969).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this case, Lambourne teaches selectively configure and control a group including multiple devices and another device that does not belong to any group (fig. 6, Step 610, Grouped? Yes or No. col. 13, lines 12-13 and lines 32-37; which show the process 600 splits into two branches depending on whether a single zone player or a group of zone players is to be controlled at 610. If it is for a single zone player, a volume meter is presented at 612. At 614, the end user has option to adjust the volume for the zone player with one of the volume control buttons and if process 600 is for a group of zone players, then the process 600 moves to the zone group branch at 622, in which a plurality of volume meters is presented. The plurality of volume meters includes one for each of the zone players in the zone group, plus one more for the entire zone group).)
Furthermore, Cho teaches wherein the server system stores group information associating the multiple devices with the group and performs the collective control in response to the request (fig. 1-5 and 14-19; [0049]-[0051]; [0054]; [0160]; [0171]; [0173]; [0174]; which shows the device management apparatus 200 manages the collected device information and provide the collected device information to the portable terminal 300 and/or the cloud server 400. The device management apparatus 200 may store and manage the aggregation information in an internal storage; [0050]… the device management apparatus 200 processes the individual control or batch control of the electronic devices 100, according to the control event. Particularly, in an embodiment of the present invention, the device management apparatus 200 may control a group of electronic devices indicated by the group information, acquired internally or externally among the electronic devices 100; FIGS. 13 to 15 are directed to the user interfaces of the portable terminal 300, the user interfaces may be provided for managing and controlling a device and/or group of devices. figs. 13-15; [0160]; which further show if the user selects a group item in FIG. 13, a user interface may be provided with only the group region having the objects representing the electronic devices belonging to the first group).
Accordingly, the combination of Park, Cho and Lambourne teach the limitations of “in a case where the another device that does not belong to any group is selected to be the operation target, cause a second operation screen that is used for operation of the another device that does not belong to any group, to be displayed" and “wherein the server system stores group information associating the multiple devices with the group and performs the collective control in response to the request.”
Inquiries
/THANH T VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179