Claim Objections
Claims 4, 6, and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, in lines 3-5, and Claim 12 in lines 3-4, recite “a second fastener of the one or more fasteners extends through a hole in the second attachment tab and a hole in second side wall of the side walls”, it should read: a second fastener of the one or more fasteners extends through a hole in the second attachment tab and a hole in the second side wall of the side walls, for clarity and consistency purposes.
Claim 6, in line 2, recites “the wall of the junction box is adjacent to the wall of the driver housing”, in order to avoid lack of antecedent basis issues, it should read: a wall of the junction box is adjacent to a wall of the driver housing.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Major (US 11032893 B2, and Major hereinafter) in view of Haugaard et al. (US 6394869 B1, and Haugaard hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Major discloses a pivotable junction box and driver housing unit, comprising:
a junction box (108, fig. 3) having a junction box cavity (fig. 5);
a driver housing (110, fig. 3) having a driver housing cavity to contain a light fixture driver (fig. 5, “In other examples … the second compartment is configured to accommodate the driver 117”, Col. 5, ln. 57-60), wherein the junction box and the driver housing are attached to each other (figs. 1-5), and wherein the junction box and the driver housing are rotatable with respect to each other (see rotation axis 128 and rotation directions 126 and 133 in fig. 2), and wherein the junction box and the driver housing are rotatable to a linear position (fig. 8) such that a first wire opening in a wall of the junction box is aligned with a second wire opening in a wall of the driver housing (when 110 and 120 are in linear position shown in fig. 8, opening 135 located in vertical sidewall of 131 of 110, show in fig. 5, would be facing opening in vertical sidewall of 120 shown in fig. 4); and
at least one electrical cable extending between the driver housing and the junction box (implicitly disclosed, “the driver box 106 is connected to the light fixture 100 through wired connections 124”, Col. 4, ln. 47-48, and “the first compartment 108 is configured to accommodate the wire connections and the second compartment is configured to accommodate the driver 117”, Col. 5, ln. 57-60; see also fig. 1).
Major does not explicitly disclose the at least one electrical cable extending through the first wire opening and the second wire opening, wherein the pivotable junction box and driver housing unit includes a latch, wherein when the latch is releasably engaged to a latch post the latch retains the junction box and the driver housing in a linear position preventing the junction box and the driver housing from rotating relative to each other and preventing access to or strain on the at least one electrical cable extending between the junction box and driver housing.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have at least one electrical cable extending between the driver housing and the junction box through the first wire opening and the second wire opening, in order to provide adequate protection to the cable connecting the LED light fixture and its driver while minimizing its length. Having cables extending through openings of electrical junction boxes is a common practice in the art, that would lead to a predictable result of safely housing part of the cable (instead of being exposed outside of the boxes) in a space that is accessible to user, and thus, it would be considered obvious to try as part of a routine optimization process (MPEP § 2144.05, II, A-B).
Haugaard discloses a pivotable junction box (94, fig. 6) and driver housing unit (22, fig. 1) includes a latch (108, fig. 7), wherein when the latch is releasably engaged to a latch post (129, fig. 5) the latch retains the junction box and the driver housing in a linear position preventing the junction box and the driver housing from rotating relative to each other and preventing access to or strain on the at least one electrical cable extending between the junction box and driver housing (fig. 5 and Col. 6, ln. 47-53).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Major to incorporate the teachings of Haugaard so that the pivotable junction box and driver housing unit includes a latch, wherein when the latch is releasably engaged to a latch post the latch retains the junction box and the driver housing in a linear position preventing the junction box and the driver housing from rotating relative to each other and preventing access to or strain on the at least one electrical cable extending between the junction box and driver housing, in order to secure the junction box to the driver housing (“to secure junction box 94 to housing 22, as seen in figs. 5-7”, Col. 6, ln. 52-53).
Regarding Claim 2, Major/Haugaard discloses the pivotable junction box and driver housing unit of wherein the junction box comprises attachment tabs (arc-shaped ends of 108 that hold 130, fig. 3 of Major) that are positioned adjacent to side walls of the driver housing (fig. 3 of Major) and wherein one or more fasteners (“rods”, Col. 8, ln. 16 of Major) extend through holes in the attachment tabs and the side walls of the driver housing to rotatably attach the junction box and the driver housing to each other (fig. 2 of Major).
Regarding Claim 3, Major/Haugaard discloses the pivotable junction box and driver housing unit of Claim 2, wherein the attachment tabs comprise a first attachment tab that is adjacent to a first side wall of the side walls of the driver housing and a second attachment tab that is adjacent to a second side wall of the side walls of the driver housing (fig. 5 of Major, left and right tabs of 108).
Regarding Claim 6, Major/Haugaard discloses the pivotable junction box and driver housing unit of Claim 1, wherein the wall of the junction box is adjacent to the wall of the driver housing when the junction box and the driver housing are in the linear position (e.g. adjacent sidewalls of 108 and 110 shown in fig. 8 of Major).
Regarding Claim 8, Major/Haugaard discloses the pivotable junction box and driver housing unit of Claim 1, further comprising a mounting structure (surface on which 135 are positioned, fig. 4 of Major) having a mounting hole (135, fig. 4 of Major) for attaching the pivotable junction box and driver housing unit to a ceiling using a fastener that extends through the mounting hole (shape of holes 135 shown in fig. 4 of Major are a feature commonly known in the art, and typically fasteners are inserted through such holes to mount of fix the element containing said holes. See also figs. 5 and 8 of Major and “The light fixture 100 may commonly be mounted in or on a ceiling”, Col. 4, ln. 25-26).
Regarding Claim 9, Major discloses a light fixture driver assembly, comprising:
a pivotable junction box and driver housing unit, comprising:
a junction box (108, fig. 3) having a junction box cavity (fig. 5);
a driver housing (110, fig. 3) having a driver housing cavity, wherein the junction box and the driver housing are attached to each other (figs. 1-5), wherein the junction box and the driver housing are rotatable with respect to each other (see rotation axis 128 and rotation directions 126 and 133 in fig. 2), and wherein the junction box and the driver housing are rotatable to a linear position (fig. 8) such that a first wire opening in a wall of the junction box is aligned with a second wire opening in a wall of the driver housing (when 110 and 120 are in linear position shown in fig. 8, opening 135 located in vertical sidewall of 131 of 110, show in fig. 5, would be facing opening in vertical sidewall of 120 shown in fig. 4);
at least one electrical cable extends between the driver housing and the junction box (implicitly disclosed, “the driver box 106 is connected to the light fixture 100 through wired connections 124”, Col. 4, ln. 47-48, and “the first compartment 108 is configured to accommodate the wire connections and the second compartment is configured to accommodate the driver 117”, Col. 5, ln. 57-60; see also fig. 1); and
and a light fixture driver positioned in the driver housing cavity (“driver 117 (such as an LED driver) for the light fixture 100”, Col. 5, ln. 55-56 in view of “In other examples … the second compartment is configured to accommodate the driver 117”, Col. 5, ln. 57-60).
Major does not explicitly disclose the at least one electrical cable extending through the first wire opening and the second wire opening, wherein the pivotable junction box and driver housing unit includes a latch, wherein when the latch is releasably engaged to a latch post the latch retains the junction box and the driver housing in a linear position preventing the junction box and the driver housing from rotating relative to each other and preventing access to or strain on the at least one electrical cable extending between the junction box and driver housing.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have at least one electrical cable extending between the driver housing and the junction box through the first wire opening and the second wire opening, in order to provide adequate protection to the cable connecting the LED light fixture and its driver while minimizing its length. Having cables extending through openings of electrical junction boxes is a common practice in the art, that would lead to a predictable result of safely housing part of the cable (instead of being exposed outside of the boxes) in a space that is accessible to user, and thus, it would be considered obvious to try as part of a routine optimization process (MPEP § 2144.05, II, A-B).
Haugaard discloses a pivotable junction box (94, fig. 6) and driver housing unit (22, fig. 1) includes a latch (108, fig. 7), wherein when the latch is releasably engaged to a latch post (129, fig. 5) the latch retains the junction box and the driver housing in a linear position preventing the junction box and the driver housing from rotating relative to each other and preventing access to or strain on the at least one electrical cable extending between the junction box and driver housing (fig. 5 and Col. 6, ln. 47-53).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Major to incorporate the teachings of Haugaard so that the pivotable junction box and driver housing unit includes a latch, wherein when the latch is releasably engaged to a latch post the latch retains the junction box and the driver housing in a linear position preventing the junction box and the driver housing from rotating relative to each other and preventing access to or strain on the at least one electrical cable extending between the junction box and driver housing, in order to secure the junction box to the driver housing (“to secure junction box 94 to housing 22, as seen in figs. 5-7”, Col. 6, ln. 52-53).
Regarding Claim 10, Major/Haugaard discloses the light fixture driver assembly of Claim 9, wherein junction box comprises attachment tabs (arc-shaped ends of 108 that hold 130, fig. 3 of Major) that are positioned adjacent to side walls of the driver housing (fig. 3 of Major) and wherein one or more fasteners (“rods”, Col. 8, ln. 16 of Major) extend through holes in the attachment tabs and the side walls of the driver housing to rotatably attach the junction box and the driver housing to each other (fig. 2 of Major).
Regarding Claim 11, Major/Haugaard discloses the light fixture driver assembly of Claim 10, wherein the attachment tabs comprise a first attachment tab that is adjacent to a first side wall of the side walls of the driver housing and a second attachment tab that is adjacent to a second side wall of the side walls of the driver housing (fig. 5 of Major, left and right tabs of 108).
Regarding Claim 15, Major/Haugaard discloses the light fixture driver assembly of Claim 9, wherein the wall of the junction box is adjacent to the wall of the driver housing when the junction box and the driver housing are in the linear position (e.g. adjacent sidewalls of 108 and 110 shown in fig. 8 of Major).
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Major in view of Haugaard, further in view of Fujimoto (JP 2019021551 A, and Fujimoto hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 4, Major/Haugaard discloses the pivotable junction box and driver housing unit of Claim 3 but does not explicitly disclose a first fastener of the one or more fasteners extends through a hole in the first attachment tab and a hole in the first side wall of the side walls, and wherein a second fastener of the one or more fasteners extends through a hole in the second attachment tab and a hole in second side wall of the side walls.
Fujimoto discloses a first fastener (instance of 505 shown on the front sidewall of 501b, fig. 2), extends through a hole in a first attachment tab and a hole in a first side wall (figs. 2-4, rivet 505 goes through end portions of sidewalls 501b and 503b shown in fig. 2), and wherein a second fastener (instance of 505 shown on the rear sidewall of 501b, fig. 2) extends through a hole in the second attachment tab and a hole in a second side wall (figs. 2-4, rivet 505 goes through end portions of sidewalls 501b and 503b shown in fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Major and Haugaard to incorporate the teachings of Fujimoto so that a first fastener of the one or more fasteners extends through a hole in the first attachment tab and a hole in the first side wall of the side walls, and wherein a second fastener of the one or more fasteners extends through a hole in the second attachment tab and a hole in second side wall of the side walls, in order to reduce the length and weight of the fasteners and improve accessibility to each side of the hinge system for assembly/disassembly or maintenance purposes. Fujimoto’s dual fastener approach is a known technique that achieves similar hinge functionality as Major’s single shaft approach. Thus, substitution of the single fastener by a dual fastener system is a predictable design choice, and would be considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill (See MPEP § 2143, I).
Regarding Claim 12, Major/Haugaard discloses the light fixture driver assembly of Claim 11, but does not explicitly disclose a first fastener of the one or more fasteners extends through a hole in the first attachment tab and a hole in the first side wall of the side walls, and wherein a second fastener of the one or more fasteners extends through a hole in the second attachment tab and a hole in second side wall of the side walls.
Fujimoto discloses a first fastener (instance of 505 shown on the front sidewall of 501b, fig. 2), extends through a hole in a first attachment tab and a hole in a first side wall (figs. 2-4, rivet 505 goes through end portions of sidewalls 501b and 503b shown in fig. 2), and wherein a second fastener (instance of 505 shown on the rear sidewall of 501b, fig. 2) extends through a hole in the second attachment tab and a hole in a second side wall (figs. 2-4, rivet 505 goes through end portions of sidewalls 501b and 503b shown in fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Major and Haugaard to incorporate the teachings of Fujimoto so that a first fastener of the one or more fasteners extends through a hole in the first attachment tab and a hole in the first side wall of the side walls, and wherein a second fastener of the one or more fasteners extends through a hole in the second attachment tab and a hole in second side wall of the side walls, in order to reduce the length and weight of the fasteners and improve accessibility to each side of the hinge system for assembly/disassembly or maintenance purposes. Fujimoto’s dual fastener approach is a known technique that achieves similar hinge functionality as Major’s single shaft approach. Thus, substitution of the single fastener by a dual fastener system is a predictable design choice, and would be considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill (See MPEP § 2143, I).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Major in view of Haugaard, further in view of Rempel (US 8740412 B2, and Rempel hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 7, Major/Haugaard discloses the pivotable junction box and driver housing unit of Claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose a wire strain relief structure included with the junction box or driver housing.
Rempel discloses a wire strain relief structure (244, fig. 2) included with a driver housing (112, fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Major and Haugaard to incorporate the teachings of Rempel so that it further comprises a wire strain relief structure included with the junction box or driver housing, in order to control the length of wire that extends into the housing elements (“The one or more strain reliefs 244 may be used to control the amount of the second length 132b of the conductive wire 132 extending between the transformer housing 112 and the lamp housing 122”, Col. 6, ln. 26-29 of Rempel).
Conclusion
/MARTIN ANTONIO ASMAT UCEDA/Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841