DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment filed on 09/20/2023 is acknowledged. Claims 9-17 are cancelled. Claims 1-8 and 18-23 are pending in the application and are considered on merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8 and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mariyappan et al. (Journal of Fluorescence, 2019) (Mariyappan) in view of Petrus et al. (Dalton Transactions, 2013) (Petrus).
Regarding claim 1, Mariyappan teaches a fluorescence sensing method using a salicylate derivative for detecting Zn2+ and observing fluorescence as the salicylate derivative binds Zn2+ (Fig. 8 & 9, page 742). Mariyappan teaches that zinc compound selectively recognizes salicylate while other ions do not (Fig. 7 & 9, page 734). Petrus shows that methyl salicylate chelates with Zn2+ (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to rely on the established Zn–salicylate chelation chemistry of Petrus when designing or interpreting the salicylate Zn sensor of Mariyappan, since Petrus demonstrates that salicylate ligands form stable Zn complexes via O,O′ chelation — the same interaction underlying Mariyappan’s sensing mechanism.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use Zn2+ for bind methyl salicylate and observe fluorescence indicating the binding. The result is predictable.
Regarding claim 2, a person skilled in the art would have recognized that the compound listed in claim 2 all contains Zn2+, therefore can be used for sensing methyl salicylate.
Regarding claim 3, Mariyappan teaches that wherein the sensing utilizes a phenomenon in which methyl salicylate reacts with the zinc compound to form a complex and exhibit fluorescence emission (Fig. 7-8).
Regarding claim 4, Mariyappan teaches that wherein the sensing utilizes a phenomenon in which methyl salicylate reacts with the zinc compound to form a complex and exhibit fluorescence emission (Fig. 7-8). When fluorescence emission changes, the electrochemical behavior is also changed, because changes in fluorescence emission are fundamentally linked to changes in the electrochemical behavior (redox state) of molecules, a relationship utilized in techniques like fluorescence-enabled electrochemical microscopy (FEEM) and electrochemical fluorescence switching. When an applied electrochemical potential alters a molecule's redox state, it often changes its structure and ability to fluoresce (bright or dim), which can be directly correlated to the electron transfer occurring at an electrode.
Regarding claim 5, since methyl salicylate reacts with the zinc compound to form a complex and exhibit electrochemical change, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a change in current value caused by a reaction of the zinc compound and methyl salicylate for sensing salicylate derivative. The result is predictable.
Regarding claim 6, Mariyappan-Petrus fairly suggests a methyl salicylate sensor for detecting methyl salicylate, at least comprising:
i) a recognition section for methyl salicylate that comprises a zinc compound (Fig. 7-8); and
ii) a detection section that detects recognition of methyl salicylate by the recognition section (Fig. 7-8).
Regarding claim 8, Mariyappan fairly suggests the detection section comprising an optical and/or electrochemical detection element and a computer, wherein the methyl salicylate sensor has a program that causes the computer to execute:
i) receiving a signal from the optical and/or electrochemical detection element (Fig. 8);
ii) analyzing the received signal to determine presence or absence of methyl salicylate and/or a concentration thereof (Fig. 9); and
iii) outputting an analysis result (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 18, Mariyappan fairly suggests that wherein the detection section comprises an optical detection section that optically detects recognition of methyl salicylate by the recognition section (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 19, Mariyappan teaches that wherein the optical detection section at least comprises an excitation light source and a detection element (page 739, par 1).
Regarding claim 20, Mariyappanfairly suggests that wherein the detection section comprises an electrochemical detection section that electrochemically detects recognition of methyl salicylate by the recognition section.
Regarding claim 21, Mariyappan fairly suggests that wherein the electrochemical detection section comprises an electrochemical cell having an electrode that detects a current caused by oxidation of a complex formed by the zinc compound and methyl salicylate.
Claim(s) 7 and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mariyappan in view of Petrus as applied to claims 1-6, 8 and 18-21, and further in view of Ramasamy et al. (US 2018/0142277, IDS) (Ramasamy).
Regarding claim 7, Mariyappan teaches that wherein the methyl salicylate sensor at least comprises:
i) a recognition section for methyl salicylate that comprises a zinc compound (Fig. 8); and
ii) a detection section that detects recognition of methyl salicylate by the recognition section (page 739, par 1).
Mariyappan does not specifically teach that the method can be used for detecting pathogen infection in a crop.
However, Ramasamy teaches that the method can be used for detecting pathogen infection in a crop (Fig. 9, par [0008]), comprising installing methyl salicylate sensor in a vicinity of the crop, and detecting methyl salicylate by the methyl salicylate sensor (Fig. 9, par [0008]).
Regarding claim 22, Mariyappan teaches/suggests that the detection section comprising an optical and/or electrochemical detection element and a computer, wherein the methyl salicylate sensor has a program that causes the computer to execute:
i) receiving a signal from the optical and/or electrochemical detection element (page 739, par 1);
ii) analyzing the received signal to determine presence or absence of methyl salicylate and/or a concentration thereof (page 739, par 1); and
iii) outputting an analysis result (page 739, par 1).
Regarding claim 23, Ramasamy teaches that wherein the methyl salicylate sensor is installed near the crop (par [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art o optimize the distance between the methyl salicylate sensor and the crop by routine experimentation.
Conclusion
/XIAOYUN R XU, Ph.D./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797