Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1 (claim 1-2, 4-9) in the reply filed on 04/27/2027 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Phaneuf does not teach certain elements of claim 1. This is not found persuasive because:
Point 1 – Phaneuf teaches dual heating filaments and each filament is deemed read on “a heating element”
Point 2 – Phaneuf teaches dual heating filaments in at different points in space and are deemed to be at different distances from the axis
Point 3 – the applicant argues “generating multiple heating zones” and this limitation is not recited in the claim language
Point 4 - the applicant argues “necessarily implies the presence of a plurality of distinct and separately addressable heating elements” and this limitation is not recited in the claim language. The examiner points out that the “and/or” claim language is interpreted as “or”. Furthermore, Phaneuf teaches a controller operating the dual heating filaments and is deemed to read on the “in groups” limitation
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/20/2023 was filed before the mailing date of the FAOM. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
claim 1 – “detection module” is revealed in the specification as a “detector designed to detect an electromagnetic radiation” or equivalents thereof.
claim 1 – “heating module” is revealed in the specification as “a plurality of heating elements” or equivalents thereof.
claims 5 and 9 – “measurement module” and “measurement element” are revealed in the specification as a plurality of measurement elements, the measurement element corresponding to an infra-red detector (Spec., para [0066]) or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Phaneuf et al (US Pat No. 10,406,528 B1 09/10/2019; hereinafter Phaneuf).
Regarding claim 1, Phaneuf teaches a control device (a system 3000 – Fig. 3B) comprising:
a device site (a lower enclosure 3015 – Fig. 3B) provided for placing a microfluidic device and rotating the microfluidic device about an axis (the lower enclosure 3015 holds and rotates a microfluidic disc 3005 – Fig. 3B), and comprising:
a detection area (a detection region above the detection module 3040 – Fig. 3B), and
a heating area (a mask 3003 to provide selective heating of assay areas – Fig. 3B);
a detection module (a detection module – column 8 line 12) comprising a detector designed to detect an electromagnetic radiation coming from the detection area (detection module may include a detector e.g., an optical detector – column 8 line 12); and
a heating module arranged to heat the heating area (an infrared emitter was used to heat aqueous samples – column 16 line 24 and Fig. 3B);
wherein the detection area being offset circumferentially from the heating area (the detection region and the mask 3003 are offset circumferentially – Fig. 3B), so that at least one portion of the microfluidic device, for example a chamber, can be moved between the detection area and the heating area by rotation about the axis (a chamber of the microfluidic disc 3005 can be moved between detection region and the mask 3003 – Fig. 3B); and
wherein the heating module comprises a plurality of heating elements located at different radial distances from the axis (carbon infrared emitter from Heraeus Noblelight Ltd., Hanau, Germany comprises multiple filaments – column 17 lines 11-12),
and wherein the control device further comprises a control unit (a controller, logic circuitry, and/or software for performing functionalities described herein – column 8 lines 46-48) configured to control the heating elements in groups and/or independently of one another (a method for uniformly heating an array of biological samples on a centrifugal microfluidic device using an infrared emitter – column 16 lines 60-62).
Regarding claim 2, Phaneuf teaches the control device as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least two of the heating elements are circumferentially offset from each other (the dual heating filaments in at different points in space and are deemed to be capable of being placed at different distances from the axis – column 17 lines 11-12).
Regarding claim 4, Phaneuf teaches the control device according to claim 1, wherein the heating module allows an electromagnetic heating, preferably by radiation or induction (the system employs an infrared emitter to provide non-contact heating – column 3 lines 51-53).
Regarding claim 5, Phaneuf teaches the control device according to claim 1, wherein the device site comprises a measurement area (a top surface of the disc – Fig. 6A and paragraph 37-39), the control device comprising a measurement module (an infrared camera – Fig. 6A and paragraph 37-39) arranged to measure a parameter on the measurement area (an infrared camera positioned above the disc to measure the top surface temperature of the disc – Fig. 6A and paragraph 37-39).
Regarding claim 6, Phaneuf teaches the control device according to claim 5, wherein the measurement area is offset circumferentially from the detection area and from the heating area (a portion of the top surface of the disc is offset circumferentially from the detection area and from the heating area – Fig. 6A and paragraph 37-39).
Regarding claim 7, Phaneuf teaches the control device according to claim 5, wherein the parameter is a temperature (an infrared camera positioned above the disc to measure the top surface temperature of the disc – Fig. 6A and paragraph 37-39).
Regarding claim 8, Phaneuf teaches the control device according to claim 7, arranged to control, at least in part, the heating module and/or a rotation of the microfluidic device (a controller, logic circuitry, and/or software for performing functionalities described herein – column 8 lines 46-48) as a function of the temperature measured by the measurement module (Collected data were correlated with true sample temperatures measured using the embedded thermocouple. This correlation, plotted in FIG. 6B, was then used for open loop operation of the disc – column 18 lines 42-45 ).
Regarding claim 9, Phaneuf teaches the control device according to claim 5, wherein the measuring module comprises a plurality of measuring elements (sample temperature measurements collected using an embedded micro-thermocouple – column 3 lines 5-6) (an infrared camera (FLIR T420, FLIR Systems, Inc., Boston, Mass.) – column 18 lines 37-38) located at different radial distances from the axis (the infrared camera is offset from the embedded micro-thermocouple and therefore located at different radial distances from the axis – Figs. 6 and 10).
Conclusion
/T.C.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798