DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 is indefinite because there isn’t a unit recited with the range of “0.01 to 10”.
Claim13 recites “second flavor”. This is indefinite because there was no previous reference to a first flavor. Thus, it is unclear of there is a first flavor in the composition.
Double Patenting
__________________________________________________________________
Claims 1, 2, 7 and 9-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 9 and 11 of copending Application No. 18/282,618
With respect to claims 1 and 7¸ copending Application No. 18/282,618 claims a tobacco material comprising: a core comprising a first tobacco mixture; and a shell surrounding at least a portion of the core and comprising a second tobacco mixture, wherein the first tobacco mixture comprises first tobacco particles and a flavor substance, the second tobacco mixture comprises second tobacco particles, and the shell has a surface roughness (Ra) of about 5.0 to about 10.0 (Claim 1).
With respect to claim 2, copending Application No. 18/282,618 claims the tobacco material comprises about 5.0 wt% to about 8.0 wt% of moisture, based on a total weight of the tobacco material (Claim 5).
With respect to claim 9, copending Application No. 18/282,618 claims A method of manufacturing a tobacco material, the method comprising: a first operation of manufacturing a core by using a first composition comprising a flavor substance; and a second operation of forming a shell surrounding at least a portion of the core (Claim 8) and wherein the first operation comprises growing the first composition by spraying the first composition in a fluidized-bed reactor at a temperature of about 30 °C to about 60 °C and under an air pressure of 1.5 bar or less (Claim 9).
With respect to claim 10, copending Application No. 18/282,618 claims wherein the first operation comprises growing the first composition by spraying the first composition in a fluidized-bed reactor (e.g., chamber) at a temperature of about 30 °C to about 60 °C and under an air pressure of 1.5 bar or less (Claim 9).
With respect to claim 11, copending Application No. 18/282,618 claims wherein the second operation comprises: positioning the core in a fluidized-bed reactor (e.g., chamber); and coating a surface of the core with a second composition by spraying the second composition in the fluidized-bed reactor at a temperature of about 50 0C to about 90 °C and under an air pressure of 1.5 bar or less (Claim 11).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
______________________________________________________________
Claims 3, 5, 12 and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of copending Application No. 18/282,618 in view of SUN et al. (US 2010/0170522).
With respect to claim 3, copending Application No. 18/282,618 does not explicitly claim that the second tobacco mixture has a flavoring material. SUN et al. discloses tobacco granules (Abstract; Title) comprising a core, 12, comprising a flavorant and first tobacco material in a matrix (e.g., tobacco mixture) (Paragraph [0026]; Figures 1A-1D) and a shell, 14, formed around the core and comprising second tobacco particles and flavorants and binders in a mixture (Paragraphs [0028] and [0032]; Figures 1A-1D).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide flavoring material in the second tobacco mixture of copending Application No. 18/282,618, as taught by SUN et al., so as to provide the desired flavor profile.
With respect to claim 5¸ copending Application No. 18/282,618 claims a size of core (Claim 3), but not necessarily overlapping with the claimed ranges. SUN et al. discloses that the core has a diameter of 300 microns (e.g., 0.3 mm) (Paragraph [0007]) and the shell has a diameter of 500 microns (e.g., 0.5 mm) (Paragraph [0010]). Specifically, the overall diameter is 500 microns, and since the shell is the outer component of the granule, the shell also has this diameter. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the sizes for the core and shell of copending Application No. 18/282,618, as disclosed by SUN et al., so as to provide the desired tactile feel to the user (Paragraph [0032]).
With respect to claim 12, copending Application No. 18/282,618 does not explicitly claim the flavor concentration. SUN et al. discloses that the core materials (e.g., first composition) comprises flavoants that may be adjusted to give a desired flavor release profile (Paragraphs [0037] and [0054]). The flavor profile can be controlled by the concentration of flavorant (Paragraph [0055]) and the profiles and properties are nearly limitless (Paragraphs [0058]-[0059]). Very high concentrations of flavorant create a flavor spike (Paragraph [0056]; Figures 2A and 2B .
While the volume concentration of the flavoring is unknown in SUN et al., the courts have generally held that generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05, II, A.
In the instant case, SUN et al. recognizes the concentration of flavorant as a result effective variable for controlling the spike in flavor, as seen in figures 2A and 2B. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a lower concentration through routine optimization, such as between 0.1% and 20% by volume as claimed, so as to provide a lower flavor spike and more subtle flavor tones.
With respect to claim 13, copending Application No. 18/282,618 does not explicitly disclose the claimed third operation. SUN et al. discloses a third operation of adding a second flavor to the shell (Paragraphs [0050]-[0056]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to perform the third coating as taught by SUN et al. so that the desired flavor can be provided to the tobacco.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
____________________________________________________________________
Claims 1-3, 5-9 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-10 of copending Application No. 18/279,511 in view of SUN et al. (US 2010/0170522)
With respect to claim 1¸ copending Application No. 18/279,511 claims A tobacco material comprising: a core comprising a natural flavor material and a shell formed around the core and comprising a tobacco mixture, wherein the tobacco mixture comprises tobacco particles and moisture (Claim 1).
copending Application No. 18/279,511 does not explicitly claim tobacco material in the core. SUN et al. discloses tobacco granules (Abstract; Title) comprising a core, 12, comprising a flavorant and first tobacco material in a matrix (e.g., tobacco mixture) (Paragraph [0026]; Figures 1A-1D) and a shell, 14, formed around the core and comprising second tobacco particles and flavorants and binders in a mixture (Paragraphs [0028] and [0032]; Figures 1A-1D).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide tobacco in the core of copending Application No. 18/279,511, as taught by SUN et al. so that the desired flavor profile can be provided.
With respect to claim 2, copending Application No. 18/279,511 claims the tobacco material comprises 5.0 to 10.0 parts by weight of moisture with respect to 100 parts by weight of the total tobacco material (Claim 4).
With respect to claim 3, SUN et al. discloses tobacco granules (Abstract; Title) comprising a core, 12, comprising a flavorant and first tobacco material in a matrix (e.g., tobacco mixture) (Paragraph [0026]; Figures 1A-1D) and a shell, 14, formed around the core and comprising second tobacco particles and flavorants and binders in a mixture (Paragraphs [0028] and [0032]; Figures 1A-1D).
Claim 5 is rejected by claim 5 of copending Application No. 18/279,511.
Claim 6 is rejected by claim 6 of copending Application No. 18/279,511.
Claim 7 is rejected by claim 7 of copending Application No. 18/279,511.
With respect to claim 8, copending Application No. 18/279,511 claims A smoking article comprising: a tobacco rod comprising the tobacco material according to claim 1; and a filter segment (Claim 8).
With respect to claim 9, copending Application No. 18/279,511 claims a method of preparing a tobacco material, the method comprising: a first operation of forming a core comprising a natural flavor material; and a second operation of forming a shell surrounding the core (Claim 9)
With respect to claim 11, copending Application No. 18/279,511 claims wherein the second operation comprises: placing the core in a chamber; introducing a tobacco composition into the chamber; and growing the tobacco composition around the core in the chamber under conditions of a temperature in a range of about 50 *C to about 90 *C, and an air pressure less than or equal to about 1.5 bar (Claim 10).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SUN et al. (US 2010/0170522).
With respect to claim 1, SUN et al. discloses tobacco granules (Abstract; Title) comprising a core, 12, comprising a flavorant and first tobacco material in a matrix (e.g., tobacco mixture) (Paragraph [0026]; Figures 1A-1D) and a shell, 14, formed around the core and comprising second tobacco particles and flavorants and binders in a mixture (Paragraphs [0028] and [0032]; Figures 1A-1D).
With respect to claim 3, SUN et al. discloses that the second tobacco mixture comprises a second flavor material (Paragraphs [0028], [0032).
With respect to claim 5¸ SUN et al. discloses that the core has a diameter of 300 microns (e.g., 0.3 mm) (Paragraph [0007]) and the shell has a diameter of 500 microns (e.g., 0.5 mm) (Paragraph [0010]). Specifically, the overall diameter is 500 microns, and since the shell is the outer component of the granule, the shell also has this diameter.
With respect to claim 9¸ SUN et al. discloses tobacco granules (Abstract; Title) comprising a core, 12, comprising a flavorant (Paragraph [0026]; Figures 1A-1D) and a shell, 14, formed around the core and comprising tobacco particles (Paragraph [0028]; Figures 1A-1D).
SUN et al. further discloses a method (Paragraph [0017]) for forming said granules. The method comprises a first operation of forming the core (Paragraph [0015]) by growing in a fluid bed reactor (Paragraphs [0050]-[0053]) to form the desired size and a second operation of forming the shell surrounding the core (Paragraph [0016]).
With respect to claim 13, SUN et al. discloses a third operation of adding a second flavor to the shell (Paragraphs [0050]-[0056]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
____________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 2, 4, 6, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN et al. (US 2010/0170522) in view of STRICKLAND et al. (US 2006/0191548).
With respect to claim 2, SUN et al. does not explicitly disclose that the moisture content is 5-10 parts by weight to 100 parts of the tobacco material. STRICKLAND et al. discloses that a moisture content of 2-50 % of the final product (Paragraph [0208]) so that the products are sufficiently rigid so as to be easily handled. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the coating of SUN et al. with a moisture content of between 2 and 50 percent of the weight of the tobacco product, as taught by STRICKLAND et al., so that it can be easily handled.
With respect to claim 4, SUN et al. discloses that the core comprises a flavor compound (Paragraphs [0026] and [0027]) but does not specify the concentration of said flavor compound in the core.
STRICKLAND et al. discloses a composition having 2 grams of cinnamon flavor to 100 parts of other materials to form the tobacco composition (Paragraph [0339]) which provide the user with tobacco satisfaction (Paragraph [0024]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the flavoring in the core of SUN et al. in an amount of 2 parts by weight, as taught by STRICKLAND et al. so as to provide the user with a desired tobacco satisfaction.
With respect to claim 6¸ SUN et al. discloses that the formulations forming the granules can be sprayed (Paragraphs [0015], [0016]) but does not explicitly disclose the viscosity of the tobacco material. STRICKLAND et al. discloses that spraying is performed with a liquid having a viscosity of 50 cPs (Paragraph [0335]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the tobacco material with a viscosity of 50 cPs, as taught by STRICKLAND et al. so that it can be sprayed.
With respect to claim 10, SUN et al. does not explicitly disclose the claimed chamber and processing temperature and pressure.
STRICKLAND et al. discloses placing the ingredients of the core in a chamber and grown to a desired size (Paragraphs [0162]-[0168) in a chamber (Paragraphs [0164]-[0167]) under 22 psi and a temperature of 43 degrees Celsius (Paragraph [0168]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a chamber, growing the core of SUN et al. in the chamber, introducing the tobacco material coating into the chamber at a temperature of 43 degrees Celsius and a pressure of 22 psi (e.g., about 1.5 bar), as taught by STRICKLAND et al., so that the granules can be produced having the desired size.
With respect to claim 11, SUN et al. discloses that the core is formed in a fluid bed processor and then the coatings are sprayed onto the core (Paragraphs [0015], [0016]) at a temperature of between 10 and 80 degrees (Paragraph [0083]) but does not explicitly disclose the claimed chamber and processing pressure.
STRICKLAND et al. discloses spraying of a tobacco composition that takes place in a chamber and under a pressure of 22 psi (e.g., about 1.5 bar) and a temperature of about 43 degrees Celsius (Paragraphs [0162]-[0168. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a chamber, spray the coating of SUN et al. in a chamber, at a temperature of 43 degrees Celsius and a pressure of 22 psi (e.g., about 1.5 bar), as taught by STRICKLAND et al., so that the granules can be produced having the desired size.
_______________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN et al. (US 2010/0170522) in view of ROJO-CALDERON et al. (US 2018/0295885) and ONNO (US 2012/0167901).
With respect to claim 7, SUN et al. does not explicitly disclose the surface roughness of the tobacco material.
ROJO-CALDERON et al. discloses an aerosol generating article comprising aerosol pellets (Abstract; Title). The particles may be provided with a desired rough or smooth surface finish (Paragraphs [0039], [0041], [0083], [0127]) to form compacted particles. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the particles of SUN et al. with a rough surface, as taught by ROJO-CALDERON et al. so as to provide the desired compacting properties.
ONNO discloses a tobacco product (Abstract). The surface of the tobacco layer has a roughness, Ra, of below about 0.002 microns (Paragraph [0047]) to provide a smooth surface. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the roughness of the coating surface of SUN et al. with a roughness, Ra, of greater than 0.002 microns, as taught by ONNO so as to provide a rough surface.
The courts have generally held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) and In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05, I. Thus, a surface roughness of greater than 0.002 microns implicitly overlaps with the claimed range of 0.1 to 10.
______________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN et al. (US 2010/0170522) in view of ZHUANG et al. (US 2007/0000505).
With respect to claim 8, SUN et al. does not explicitly disclose the claimed smoking article comprising the tobacco material of claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1).
ZHUANG et al. discloses a smoking article with tobacco beads (e.g., tobacco material) (Abstract; Title). The smoking article comprises a tobacco rod having the tobacco material therein ((Paragraphs [0002], [0020], [0027], [0050]-[0052]) and a filter segment (Paragraphs [0019]-[0021]). Such a configuration allows the flavor of the cigarette to be enhanced (Paragraph [0043]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a tobacco rod, having the tobacco particles of modified SUN et al. therein, and a filter segment to form a smoking article, as taught by ZHUANG et al. so that the flavor of a cigarette can be enhanced.
______________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN et al. (US 2010/0170522).
With respect to claim 12¸ SUN et al. discloses that the core materials (e.g., first composition) comprises flavoants that may be adjusted to give a desired flavor release profile (Paragraphs [0037] and [0054]). The flavor profile can be controlled by the concentration of flavorant (Paragraph [0055]) and the profiles and properties are nearly limitless (Paragraphs [0058]-[0059]). Very high concentrations of flavorant create a flavor spike (Paragraph [0056]; Figures 2A and 2B .
While the volume concentration of the flavoring is unknown in SUN et al., the courts have generally held that generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05, II, A.
In the instant case, SUN et al. recognizes the concentration of flavorant as a result effective variable for controlling the spike in flavor, as seen in figures 2A and 2B. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a lower concentration through routine optimization, such as between 0.1% and 20% by volume as claimed, so as to provide a lower flavor spike a more subtle flavor tones.
Conclusion
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745