DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-16 are pending in the application. Claims 6-10, 13, 15, and 16 stand withdrawn as directed to a non-elected invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As discussed in the rejection of record, Constanz discusses flue gas as a source of CO2 for fortification of the stream. While Constanz does not explicitly teach the CO2 content of flue gas employed in the invention, in the experiments run by Constanz (see section starting [Col. 15, EXPERIMENTAL]) on forming precipitates by bubbling CO2-containing gas through water and maintaining high pH, the CO2-containing gas has a content of about 10% CO2 (specifically, 10% CO2 and 90% compressed air; such air might be expected to itself contain less than 1% additional CO2) [Col. 15 lines 33-49; Col. 17 lines 55-67; Col. 18 lines 21-36]. In view of this, employing a gas source which contains about 10% CO2 in carrying out the process of the invention is at minimum obvious over the guidance of Constanz.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Constantz et al (US 7,931,809 B2) in view of Polizzotti et al (US PGPub 2012/0152546 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Constantz teaches desalination and softening methods [Abs] in which a feed water may be subjected to carbonate precipitation prior to desalination (and desalination reject may further be subject to these same conditions). The source may be any convenient source of salt water e.g. seawater [Col. 3 line 53-Col. 4 line 12]. The methods include raising the pH of a feed water to alkaline levels e.g. up to 10 or higher [Col. 6 lines 18-20] which may be accomplished using a buffer agent (NaOH) [Col. 6 lines 50-54]. The stream is fortified with CO2 from sources such as flue gas sources [Col. 3 lines 46-52] as well as from other sources such as boilers [Col. 4 lines 54-Col. 5 line 29] such that employing any non-condesables already present in the system from thermal desalination, if not already encompassed, would at minimum have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
The stream can then be fed to a suitable reactor for precipitation (which may be the same or different reactor from that which facilitates CO2 contact) [Col. 8 line 57-Col. 9 line 14]. This may include precipitation of sulfates when flue gas is used as a CO2 source [Col. 5 lines 14-29]. The precipitate may then be filtered, washed, and dried as needed to facilitate recovery [Col. 9 lines 15-57]. If the taught steps are considered insufficient to anticipate the claimed process e.g. regarding washing sequence, see MPEP 2144.04 IV.C; “In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results);” performing a washing step before separating would have been an obvious engineering choice, particularly as Constantz already suggests that the washing step may enhance removal of e.g. NaCl, such that passing the wash water to desalination (along with the other separated water) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Water which is separated from the precipitate by filtration or the like (and hence would be free of the precipitated divalent ions) is then directed to a desalination step (42) [Fig. 1] which may employ thermal desalination using e.g. flash, multi-effect evaporators, vapor compression, or similar technologies [Col. 4 lines 13-26]. The waste brine produced by desalination may then be returned to the process start for further carbonate compound precipitation, and portions of it may otherwise separated for zero (or near-zero) discharge of depleted brine [Col. 10 lines 55-67], and portions may be discarded as blowdown e.g. by returning to a source or to a tailings pond or the like [Col. 11 lines 1-26].
Constantz teaches as above, but does not explicitly teach that the brine from the desalination reject (which may be processed for zero discharge e.g. to produce halite or in chlor-alkali processes or similar) is processed using a brine crystallizer.
However, Polizzotti teaches a water treatment process [Abs] and teaches that, to achieve zero discharge, the process may employ a brine concentrator and a connected crystallizer to treat blowdown [0026], where such crystallizer may act using a thermal process such as mechanical vapor compression. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Constantz to explicitly include a crystallizer to act on concentrated brine (after desalination) because, as in Polizzotti, this facilitates zero discharge treatment of concentrated brines, and because Constantz already suggests recovering products from reject brine and aiming to achieve zero discharge.
Applicant amended to require that the flue gas includes CO2 at a concentration in the range of 5-15%. Constanz does not explicitly teach the CO2 content of flue gas when employed in the invention; however, in the experiments run by Constanz (see section starting [Col. 15, EXPERIMENTAL]) on forming precipitates by bubbling CO2-containing gas through water and maintaining high pH, the CO2-containing gas has a content of about 10% CO2 (specifically, 10% CO2 and 90% compressed air; such air might be expected to itself contain less than 1% additional CO2) [Col. 15 lines 33-49; Col. 17 lines 55-67; Col. 18 lines 21-36]. In view of this, employing a gas source which contains about 10% CO2 in carrying out the process of the invention is at minimum obvious over the guidance of Constanz.
With respect to claim 2, Constantz teaches that when flue gas is employed and the steps may be staged in a combined manner, the products may include CaCO3, MgCO3 as well as CaSO4 and MgSO4 [Col. 5 lines 14-29].
With respect to claim 3, as above the use of mechanical vapor compression for crystallization of reject brine is at minimum obvious in view of Polizzotti.
With respect to claim 5, Constantz teaches that the desulfurization step may be staged to occur before carbonate precipitation [Col. 5 lines 14-29].
With respect to claim 11, Constantz teaches that the precipitation may occur at elevated temperature, with ranges topping out above 65⁰ C i.e. up to 100⁰ C [Col. 6 lines 1-17]. Further, employment of thermal desalination e.g. flash distillation or the like would similarly imply such elevated temperatures or, at minimum, render them obvious.
With respect to claim 12, as above the carbon dioxide source may include flue gas from industrial plants e.g. power plants.
Claim 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Constantz et al in view of Polizzotti et al, further in view of Boryta et al (US PGPub 2004/0005267 A1).
Constantz and Polizzotti teach as above but are silent to specific crystallization steps employing BaCl2, or specific precipitation of BaSO4.
However, Boryta teaches methods of brine processing and teaches that, to facilitate recovery of lithium in brines which contain it, it is desirable to first chemically remove sulfates among other species by treating with barium chloride (BaCl2) and precipitating barium sulfate (BaSO4); lithium can then be recovered via pond or other crystallization process [0127-0128].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Constantz to provide a step of crystallizing using barium chloride, to precipitate barium sulfate and thereby remove any remaining sulfates and enhance the ability to recover species such as lithium when present, as suggested by Boryta.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY R SPIES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777