DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement s (IDS) submitted on 09/20/2023 and 03/06/2025 w ere considered by the examiner. Claim Objections Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities: The term ‘portions’ is unclear. In light of the specification and Figure 7, examiner has interpreted this term to refer to portions of a spot or illumination pattern . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.— The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim 2 recites the limitation " the number of segments " in line 2 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1- 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Den Heuvel (EP 2,539,735 B1) . Regarding Claim 1, Van Den Heuvel discloses a sensor device comprising ( [0015]: “Figure 2 shows a laser radar device comprising…” ) : a scanning unit ( [0015]: “ Adjustable platform 20 comprises a platform azimuth adjustment motor 200 and a platform elevation adjustment motor 202 to rotate adjustable platform 20 around the vertical axis and an axis perpendicular to the vertical (perpendicular to the plane of figure 1), to provide for different azimuth and elevation angles respectively. ”; [0016]: “ Beam forming optics 24 comprises a splitter 240, a rotatable reflector 242 and an angle actuator 249 arranged to adjust the orientation of reflector 242 relative to the beam from splitter 240. ”; [0017]; [0034]: “ it should be appreciated that instead one or both of these angles may be changed on the platform, for example by means of a rotatable mirror or by means of relative movement of laser 22 and a lens. ” ) ; a light detecting unit configured to detect reflected light of a spot generated by the scanning unit ( Figure 2, element 28; [0018]; [0037] ) ; and a control unit configured to vary a drive waveform of a scanning angle of the scanning unit, which is used to move an irradiation position of the spot, according to a size of an overall field of view of the light detecting unit ( Figure 2, element 29; [0017]: “ Reflector 242 redirects the second beam axis 246 along a third beam axis 248 at an adjustable angle to first beam axis 244. Angle actuator 249 is used to vary this angle. Angle actuator 249 may comprise an electric motor for example, any driver mechanism with a coil, a piezo-electric actuator etc. ”; [0020]: “ Control computer 29 is configured to control angle actuator 249 to make the angle between first and third beam axes 244, 248 smaller when control computer 29 controls platform elevation adjustment motor 202 to make the elevation angle closer to the horizontal. ” ) . Regarding Claim 2, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Van Den Heuvel further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to increase the number of segments in a predetermined direction followed by the irradiation position in a case where a length of the overall field of view in the predetermined direction is a predetermined first length ( [0025] ) , as compared with the number of segments in the predetermined direction followed by the irradiation position in a case where the length of the overall field of view in the predetermined direction is a second length shorter than the first length ( [0025]: “ In an embodiment the detector used with the objective 260b with the smallest focal length is tilted and/or this objective 260b is configured to provide for image size expansion on the detector in the direction perpendicular to the elevation direction relative to the image size in the elevation direction. The expansion may be set in correspondence with the anisotropy of the beam profile. This improves signal to noise ratio. ” ) . Regarding Claim 3, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Van Den Heuvel further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to expand a range followed by the irradiation position in a case where the size of the overall field of view is a predetermined first size, as compared with a range followed by the irradiation position in a case where the size of the overall field of view is a second size smaller than the first size ( [0025]: “ In an embodiment the detector used with the objective 260b with the smallest focal length is tilted and/or this objective 260b is configured to provide for image size expansion on the detector in the direction perpendicular to the elevation direction relative to the image size in the elevation direction. The expansion may be set in correspondence with the anisotropy of the beam profile. This improves signal to noise ratio.” ). Regarding Claim 4, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Van Den Heuvel further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to emit a plurality of portions arranged in a predetermined direction within the spot to the irradiation position in a predetermined time section, and to emit at least one portion of the plurality of portions to a position located between positions irradiated with the plurality of portions in the predetermined time section, in the other time section different from the predetermined time section ( Figure 3; [0021]: “ The width of the beam profile transverse to the elevation direction is substantially kept constant, but the height of the beam profile in the elevation direction is increased with increased deviation between the elevation angle of the beam axis and the horizontal. A variation a height to width ratio of the beam profile from one to two may be used for example. ” Illumination of different elevation angles necessarily occurs at different times. ) . Regarding Claim 5, Van Den Heuvel discloses a control device comprising ( Figure 2, Element 29, “control computer” ) : a control unit configured to vary a drive waveform of a scanning angle of a scanning unit, which is used to move an irradiation position of a spot generated by the scanning unit ( Figure 2, element 29; [0017]: “Reflector 242 redirects the second beam axis 246 along a third beam axis 248 at an adjustable angle to first beam axis 244. Angle actuator 249 is used to vary this angle. Angle actuator 249 may comprise an electric motor for example, any driver mechanism with a coil, a piezo-electric actuator etc.”; [0020]: “Control computer 29 is configured to control angle actuator 249 to make the angle between first and third beam axes 244, 248 smaller when control computer 29 controls platform elevation adjustment motor 202 to make the elevation angle closer to the horizontal.” ) , according to a size of an overall field of view of a light detecting unit configured to detect reflected light of the spot ( [0024]: “ In an embodiment control computer 29 is configured to switch between using the outputs of different detectors of detection arrangement 28 in correspondence with control of elevation adjustment motor 202. This is used to adjust the size of the field of view captured by detection arrangement 28. This is used to adjust the field of view captured by detection arrangement 28. ”; [0025]: “ Preferably, the size of the range of elevation angles that is imaged onto the sensitive area is made to correspond to size of the range of elevation angles toward points on surface 12 that are illuminated by the beam profile. ” ) . Regarding Claim 6, Van Den Heuvel discloses a control method comprising ( Figure 2, Element 29, “control computer” ; [0019]: “ Control computer 29 has a memory with a control program to control operation. ” ): causing a computer to vary a drive waveform of a scanning angle of a scanning unit, which is used to move an irradiation position of a spot generated by the scanning unit ( Figure 2, element 29; [0017]: “Reflector 242 redirects the second beam axis 246 along a third beam axis 248 at an adjustable angle to first beam axis 244. Angle actuator 249 is used to vary this angle. Angle actuator 249 may comprise an electric motor for example, any driver mechanism with a coil, a piezo-electric actuator etc.”; [0020]: “Control computer 29 is configured to control angle actuator 249 to make the angle between first and third beam axes 244, 248 smaller when control computer 29 controls platform elevation adjustment motor 202 to make the elevation angle closer to the horizontal.” ), according to a size of an overall field of view of a light detecting unit configured to detect reflected light of the spot ( [0024]: “In an embodiment control computer 29 is configured to switch between using the outputs of different detectors of detection arrangement 28 in correspondence with control of elevation adjustment motor 202. This is used to adjust the size of the field of view captured by detection arrangement 28. This is used to adjust the field of view captured by detection arrangement 28.”; [0025]: “Preferably, the size of the range of elevation angles that is imaged onto the sensitive area is made to correspond to size of the range of elevation angles toward points on surface 12 that are illuminated by the beam profile.” ). Regarding Claim 8, Van Den Heuvel discloses a non-transitory storage medium storing a program causing a computer to have ( Figure 2, Element 29, “control computer”; [0019]: “Control computer 29 has a memory with a control program to control operation.” ): a function of varying a drive waveform of a scanning angle of a scanning unit, which is used to move an irradiation position of a spot generated by the scanning unit ( Figure 2, element 29; [0017]: “Reflector 242 redirects the second beam axis 246 along a third beam axis 248 at an adjustable angle to first beam axis 244. Angle actuator 249 is used to vary this angle. Angle actuator 249 may comprise an electric motor for example, any driver mechanism with a coil, a piezo-electric actuator etc.”; [0020]: “Control computer 29 is configured to control angle actuator 249 to make the angle between first and third beam axes 244, 248 smaller when control computer 29 controls platform elevation adjustment motor 202 to make the elevation angle closer to the horizontal.” ) , according to a size of an overall field of view of a light detecting unit configured to detect reflected light of the spot ( [0024]: “In an embodiment control computer 29 is configured to switch between using the outputs of different detectors of detection arrangement 28 in correspondence with control of elevation adjustment motor 202. This is used to adjust the size of the field of view captured by detection arrangement 28. This is used to adjust the field of view captured by detection arrangement 28.”; [0025]: “Preferably, the size of the range of elevation angles that is imaged onto the sensitive area is made to correspond to size of the range of elevation angles toward points on surface 12 that are illuminated by the beam profile.” ) . Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. O’Keefe (US 2018/0156896 A1) discloses dynamically steering a laser in a FOV to generate dense scan regions with increased density of laser pulses relative to the average pulse density in the remainder of the FOV . Magee (US 2017/0328990 A1) discloses a system with a scalable field of view which performs a coarse scan over a large region followed by a fine scan over a restricted field of view corresponding to target objects. Steinberg (US 10,191,156 B2) discloses a LiDAR system with variable flux allocation within a field of view. Eichenholz (US 2020/0025923 A1) disclose a scan that includes scan lines separated by a certain angular offset, and scan lines separated by a second, smaller angular offset. Honkanen (US 2019/0250273 A1) discloses subsequent frames of a scanning device which have a smaller angular extent but an increased density of reflection points. Danziger (US 2019/0107607 A1) discloses adjustable scan patterns with non-uniform spot distributions. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT BENJAMIN WADE CLOUSER whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-0378 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 7:30 - 5:00 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ISAM ALSOMIRI can be reached at (571) 272-6970 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /B.W.C./ Examiner, Art Unit 3645 /ISAM A ALSOMIRI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645